Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome: 35.9%
Worth A Look53.85%
Just Average: 5.13%
Pretty Crappy: 5.13%
Sucks: 0%

2 reviews, 27 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Waiting for Guffman
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's a zen thing, like how many babies fit in a tire."
4 stars

This one's a gem.

And you probably overlooked it. For shame.

Waiting For Guffman is probably one of the better comedies of the 1990's, with funny as hell dialogue and decent performances from the most unlikely actors (Fred Willard? Catherine O'Hara? Eugene Levy?).

Yes, it's a movie about small town theater. But trust me, there's enough material to make plenty of funny movies.

Written and directed (with a light touch) by Christopher Guest of This Is Spinal Tap fame, Waiting For Guffman is funny, with occasional flashes of brilliance. Go see it, 'cause it's good.

And Parker Posey's in it, but I don't like her.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=274&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/09/98 10:35:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/06 Indrid Cold I liked all these Christopher Guest movies better when they were called "Spinal Tap" 4 stars
3/23/04 Lord Haw Haw They told me it was funny. They were wrong. 2 stars
8/22/03 R.W. Welch Good-natured satire. Droll, well-crafted script. 4 stars
6/07/03 earl hoffert brilliant 5 stars
3/23/02 JG This movie just killed me! 5 stars
2/19/02 Bart Shore Not as great as "Best in Show" but close. 5 stars
1/29/02 Phil M. Afficianado Fun, well made. See it and "Best in Show" by same people; I liked that even better. 4 stars
1/09/02 Spyguy2 "You people are BASTARD PEOPLE!" 5 stars
12/11/01 Charles Tatum As perfect as an overextended SNL short film can be 4 stars
8/12/01 David Stern Brilliantly written, directed, produced and acted. 5 stars
7/24/01 Bash BEST OF ITS KIND! 5 stars
3/08/01 gmh The funniest film in years 5 stars
1/17/01 Bub Much better than Spinal Tap. Much much better. 5 stars
10/09/00 Crystal Dennett my all time favorite movie! 5 stars
6/23/00 Aaron White Required viewing for all community theatre veterans. 5 stars
6/04/00 natasha My favorite part is the weather report in the crop circle 5 stars
1/10/00 Herb Schwarz One of my favorite comedies. So many underlying jokes. Good insight into small town USA 5 stars
10/29/99 hum funny 4 stars
10/10/99 Michel Lamblin 'Everybody Dance!', what a riot... best watched with thespian-ish friends! 5 stars
7/18/99 Chef ADogg God save me--I wasn't hip enough to enjoy this one. I thought it was kind of boring. 3 stars
6/20/99 Ed Wood Really, really, really funny 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson This is a really good, hilarious movie that was for the most part completely overlooked. 4 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob For all you 'play-geeks' from High School, this may hit too close to home! 4 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Couldn't watch it again, but it was funny enough. 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Bored me to tears. 2 stars
8/20/98 Pete Quiet enjoyable. Good cast. Very well written. 4 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Chris Guest always rules. Pretty funny, but no Spinal Tap. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Jan-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Apr-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast