Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome55.91%
Worth A Look: 39.37%
Just Average: 3.15%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 1.57%

10 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Insider, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A Lot to Think About"
4 stars

The Insider (***) Ė A lot of thinking goes on during The Insider. Some by the viewer and a ton by the two main characters. So much thinking goes on during scenes in this movie that sometimes you forget if youíve heard any dialogue at all. And, for the most part, thatís OK, because this is a film that is more fascinating and intriguing than truly suspenseful.

The Insider being tauted as a thriller has as much credence as The Bone Collector being described as an actual movie. The Insider doesnít tense one up (at least not me) the way both All the Presidentís Men and The China Syndrome did, primarily because issues that occurred in those movies could affect me without any fault of my own. Tobacco companies are sons-of-bitches and the revelations of the 60 Minutes interview here only confirm that, but no one ďhasĒ to start smoking. That being said, The Insider is a terrific piece of filmmaking by the always-reliable Michael Mann. Al Pacino is terrific as always, mannered and determined, and not getting a chance to yell until the final hour. But Russell Crowe is the potential Oscar nominee with yet another complex performance communicating his inner anger and frustration without having to play it over-the-top. Christopher Plummer also gets his best role in years as newsman Mike Wallace. The real Wallace should be pleased with his interpretation. Frankly, I donít know what all the fuss is about over this filmís portrayal of 60 Minutes execs handling of the situation. Wallace comes off a lot better than stories you may have heard about him. I liked how the script allows its title to refer to both Lowell Bergman and Jeffrey Wigand and the information that threatens their organizations. And the relationship between those two wonderfully well-developed characters is tightly scripted and very satisfying.

I think my ultimate problem with the film was its pacing. It doesnít have the breakneck revelations of All the Presidentís Men or the noose-tightening suspense of The China Syndrome and it could easily have been trimmed by about 15 or 20 minutes. Of course, if youíre not a smoker then those 15 or 20 minutes donít really matter that much.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2773&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 00:02:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/16/13 Chris F Very good kept me interested right the way through 4 stars
10/02/12 decay I was transfixed the very first time I watched it. Top performances from Crowe and Pacino 5 stars
1/27/11 taker one of the greatest movies ever made 5 stars
3/16/10 PAUL SHORTT GRIPPING TRUE STORY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
8/17/08 mr.mike Good , if slightly overlong (Mann usually is). 4 stars
6/10/07 al smith incredible that american beauty beat this gem at the oscars 5 stars
7/04/06 Indrid Cold Whip smart and emotionally satisfying. Better than Network. 4 stars
10/29/05 Shenny S. Great performance by Crowe. 5 stars
8/19/05 ES This movie made me start smoking after having quit for a year, now that's power! 4 stars
1/04/05 Steve Newman Top class film - Wigand is an awesome man 5 stars
9/30/04 Archanist_101 Good film + it was worth seeing Gina Gershon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/11/04 Ath Not bad, bit lond and winded 3 stars
11/29/03 john gripping drama and superb acting - this one is great! 5 stars
7/05/03 Jack Sommersby Deeply flawed yet supremely entertaining. Great acting all around. 4 stars
6/08/03 Jon Lyrik Awesome movie. 5 stars
5/06/03 Layla Russell Crowe is great 4 stars
2/11/03 The Man No, it's far superior to All the President's Men. 5 stars
11/27/02 Karen total CRAP!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/09/02 BrodieMan Superb ! 5 stars
3/08/02 David Coates A great film. Should have beat American Beauty in the oscars race 5 stars
11/15/01 The Alter Ego This is one exceptionally beautiful piece of work by Michael Mann 5 stars
11/09/01 Steve Marquardt stunning cinematography , egde of your seat drama, fantasic editing and acting all-around 5 stars
8/28/01 Phil M. Afficianado very strong entertainment but it is a lot more than that too. see it. 5 stars
7/23/01 Monster W. Kung "All the president's men" it's not. 3 stars
6/13/01 Mattshat Michael Mann can do no wrong: a riveting 3 hours 5 stars
4/22/01 blllllssssstttttt I Literally slept through most of the movie 1 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye Check it out, if only to see an amazing performance by Crowe. 5 stars
2/26/01 Elvisfan Crowe miscast; interesting movie that took WAAAY too long to make its points 3 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Great writing, great acting, great movie. Russell Crowe is terrific in this flick. 4 stars
12/16/00 Mitja Podgajski very good... !! 4 stars
12/15/00 Stewart Ball The best film of 1999. The dialogue is very informative, interesting, and insightful. 5 stars
11/02/00 Cristopher Revilla Smart, Inteliigent, one of the best films of the year!!! 5 stars
10/08/00 Sas Filmed in an eerie way which spooked me. It was great. 4 stars
10/03/00 Leigh Whittaker It was splendiferously great 5 stars
8/26/00 Nanale inspirational for people who live by truth 5 stars
7/31/00 piz slow at times but engaging and gripping..an acting masterpiece. 4 stars
7/04/00 Bruce A superb piece of moviemaking 5 stars
7/04/00 Chris Drake Russell Crowe conveys more info w/one eyebrow than all of filmdom combined-mesmerizing! 5 stars
6/20/00 Dawn Ogden-Barnes A gripping movie. Once again Russell Crowe proves he is jaw-droppingly talented. 5 stars
5/20/00 Steve Kelley Christopher Plummer IS Mike Wallace. 5 stars
4/17/00 Howard West I loved it. I'm a big Russel Crowe fan since LA Confidential 5 stars
4/12/00 punkass Not just interesting & involving, a genuinley important movie 5 stars
3/14/00 Matthew Bartley Excellent thriller considering the subject matter 5 stars
3/08/00 Booyah! A very solid piece of work. Short on big thrills, but heavy on the interest. 5 stars
3/07/00 Pierce Lanson Hey Bitchslap!!-R. Crowe(Australia-N.Z.) is in the cast!!! GREAT film! 5 stars
3/05/00 Captain Highcrime My personal favorite of '99. Engrossing subj. matter, stellar performances & a killer sdtk. 5 stars
3/04/00 Malbert Very impressive, Pacino and Crowe were just *amazing* 5 stars
2/27/00 Tristan why is Russell Crowe's name not at the top - he was brilliant 5 stars
2/22/00 Joel Harwood It dragged on a bit i think AL PACINO should also be nominated 5 stars
2/14/00 Germanicus Pacino is good but Crowe disgusts me. Mann makes best of boring subject. 3 stars
1/28/00 Matthew Smith a rivetting film, superb performances from the two leads 5 stars
1/27/00 Mic Superior drama - up there with Quiz Show and All the President's Men. 5 stars
12/12/99 Beno Pacino at his best! 5 stars
12/11/99 Tyson Stewart It has a cool ambiance and great acting! Some scenes are unimportant. 4 stars
12/10/99 Heather Great, compelling movie, Plummer gave a convincing perf. of Mike Wallace 5 stars
12/09/99 schmegs Great film, really wonderful performances 5 stars
11/29/99 Bueller One of the best films of 1999. Al Pacino's performance has Oscar written all over it. 5 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel Great acting, I was suprised by Crowe, and Pacino didn't over dramatize his role. 4 stars
11/17/99 Janet Plummer should clear a space on his bookshelf for his Oscar. 5 stars
11/16/99 Jason T. Hollett Russell Crowe infuses this movie with an atmosphere that is its overarching achievement. 5 stars
11/13/99 Kevin Cho, movie-buff Great movie, much tension - simply a great movie. 5 stars
11/13/99 Lame-Oh outstanding, better than that trash Double Jeporady 5 stars
11/09/99 MAXOMENOS Stunningly well done. Out-suspenses Hitchcock, out-trips The Matrix. 5 stars
11/08/99 pipeman A bit long, but brilliant nonetheless. Well written, acted, directed. Excellent film! 5 stars
11/07/99 Cy Phlurm Pacino, Plummer, and Crowe just serve to crowd the Best Actor Oscar race even more 4 stars
11/07/99 Jackie Martin Long, but very engaging. Well told and acted. 5 stars
11/06/99 Roman A long movie but it pulls you in (watching Pacino get pissed is damn entertaining) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Nov-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jan-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Michael Mann

Written by
  Michael Mann
  Eric Roth

Cast
  Russell Crowe
  Al Pacino
  Diane Venora
  Debi Mazar
  Philip Baker Hall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast