Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.24

Awesome47.62%
Worth A Look: 36.63%
Just Average: 10.26%
Pretty Crappy: 3.3%
Sucks: 2.2%

17 reviews, 171 user ratings



Sleepy Hollow
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A Grand Guignol Ole Time At the Movies"
4 stars

Sleepy Hollow (*** ˝) – Tim Burton’s Sleepy Hollow may be the purest, most old-fashioned good time at the movies all year. Delightfully fun and imaginative, it even packs in the excitement that I missed in the latest James Bond film. Johnny Depp completes a most satisfying hat trick of projects with Burton, starting with Edward Scissorhands, slam dunking with Ed Wood and now Sleepy Hollow.

This would seem like the kind of role that Depp could sleepwalk through, seemingly the least complex of his trio of roles with Burton, but Depp finds the perfect note for Ichabod Crane and then some. Playing him as a detective with more theories than actual practice, he starts off eager and confident and ends up a cowardly mess. The scene directly after his first encounter with the Horseman and his approach to a witch’s lair are priceless moments from Depp. Christina Ricci has the more thankless role as the potential love interest and the scenes between the two of them are the least interesting, even if there are very few. The film is at its best when not only dealing with the beheadings, but the mystery behind them. Crane becomes somewhat of a frightened Sherlock Holmes and the script makes the case more intriguing than one would think. And part of what makes it so intriguing is the incredible supporting cast that Depp gets to work with in what is sort of a round table of classic film actors (recent and past). The Sleepy Hollow counsel includes Michael Gambon, Jeffrey Jones (veteran of several Burton films and known as Ed Rooney to some), Michael Gough (Alfred from the Batman series), and Ian MacDiarmid (The Emperor from the Star Wars series). But we also get horror vet Christopher Lee in an early cameo and the mother of all film cameos in who plays the Headless Horseman plus a head. I won’t spoil who it is, even though his name has been mentioned in several reviews as well as being plastered all over the film’s banner poster. Shame on you Paramount. But, back to the Horseman who is what this film is really centered around anyway. He becomes one of the great screen villains, ranking up there in the echelon with the legends of Darth Vader and Keyser Soze – to name a few. The theater comes alive every time he makes one of his thunderous charges through the woods and creates a couple of the most entertaining fight sequences of the year. One of my fears was that the rising head count was going to get repetitive. But I was wrong, and happily, as Burton finds a way to make each exceeding head lop different and more fun, including a couple of non-head lops that are truly entertaining. You may have heard how “gory” the film is and that it’s not a film for children. Maybe that’s true, but the blood in this movie is a kind of fun blood. It’s the kind of sick Halloween-type grossness that’s equivalent to a trip to a Haunted House. You may go “ewwwww” for a moment, but then find a way to smile with nervous excitement. Even though multiple murders occur in the film, there isn’t anything mean-spirited about the bloodletting, like in brainless slasher pictures. It’s a fairy tale. Burton is one of those rare directors that will always give you something interesting to watch in his films. Even his lesser thought-of works (Batman Returns and Mars Attacks) have their admirers, myself included. The cinematography and art direction are first-rate and should be nominated in February.

Essentially, take the basics you know about the classic Washington Irving story and Walt Disney cartoons, and now mix that up with the imagination of Burton, the chameleon-like acting of Depp, and a wonderfully written adaptation by the writer of Seven and you’ve got a damn good time at the movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2777&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 21:21:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/12/17 morris campbell entertaing good atmosphere & visuals 4 stars
10/29/13 The Big D Q: Is it a horror movie or a fairy tale? A: YES! (It's both) 3 stars
2/08/12 David Hollingsworth This how a good twist of a classic tale is made 5 stars
6/07/10 Kim Dobbertin Very scary, never boring. Johnny Depp very good. 4 stars
5/18/10 ikkin74 Lovely to look at!! 4 stars
4/06/10 PAUL SHORTT DEVOID OF ORIGINALITY DESPITE GOOD VISUALS AND ATMOSPHERE 2 stars
12/06/09 art IT IS A CARTOON! NOT A HORROR FILM! 1 stars
4/20/09 Dan Very scary but very good 4 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. hate gore, this was still good. if you hate gore, watch the TV edited version. 4 stars
10/12/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Story!! 5 stars
10/04/08 Samantha Pruitt great look, Johnny is great as usual, very haunting 4 stars
1/04/08 Pamela White great effects and plot 4 stars
12/30/07 Quigley Excellent Johnny Depp and stunning visuals, but all in all it is quite forgettable 3 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger Visually stunning. why aren't there any other movies in this style?? 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best horror movies ever!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini Ricci is hot! 3 stars
11/29/06 unlisted extremely gory, but a good story 4 stars
11/07/06 JESS It was a very well detailed movie. 5 stars
8/07/06 R.W.Welch Wild extrapolation of the old yarn works pretty well. 4 stars
5/07/06 chienne Oh, brilliant stuff!! Love it. Depp's a bit hammy, but loved it! 5 stars
1/02/06 cody the classic novel turn into a more of murder mystery , good movie l suppose 3 stars
12/05/05 Adam james lewis jones freddy pitcher Not very good 1 stars
8/16/05 ES the 2nd coolest villain of all time, spraying blood as a running gag, what's not to like 5 stars
8/08/05 jada great dark spooky film, great cast & scenery 4 stars
7/23/05 C Vega Some of Burtons best stuff is in this movie...the classic gothic story at its best. 5 stars
7/13/05 emily Depp and Ricci did AWESOME...i love this movie! 5 stars
2/04/05 D.J.O'Keefe A film for those who love to be enraptured by the feel of gothic darkness. 5 stars
1/21/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Johnny Depp is so good in this quirky film. Fun, fun, fun. 5 stars
1/17/05 Dark Lord This is the ONLY good Tim Buton film. 4 stars
10/30/04 JOE KENNEDY JOHNY DEPP AND BURTON A CAN'T MISS COMBO. THIS WAS WAY OVERLOOKED A PERFECT FILM 5 stars
9/24/04 Agent Sands Cinematography is the best quality of this drastically altered version of Irving's classic. 4 stars
8/29/04 Conor Crockford hauntingly gothic masterpiece 5 stars
8/19/04 DM Not scary, but stylish and darkly funny 4 stars
8/01/04 Raf Milis Good movie, although Ricci plays like a starving pig...great Christopher Walken!! 4 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound Telescopic night sight on a MUSKET? Oh, it's a comedy! Now I get it! 2 stars
6/20/04 Daveman Bo Welch's expressionistic visuals can't save this incredibly ordinary film. 2 stars
5/03/04 Annie This is such a great Tim Burton film, who is my 2nd fave peep after Johnny depp. 5 stars
3/16/04 CoLLeeN He just keeps fainting! Awesome movie. One that you like to watch over and over and over... 5 stars
3/09/04 Ash Without Depp's quirkiness, this film would be nothing! 5 stars
1/31/04 britney omg! this movie is the funniest ever and it deserves a 5 5 stars
1/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Dark,gothic and very stylish. Ricci is awful, though. 4 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 Christopher Walken scares me; Good movie! 5 stars
12/27/03 Caitlin I loved this movie! An amazing performance by Johnny Depp, who, is as hot as ever :) 5 stars
11/17/03 Sk8er Grl 101 I loved this movie its something to watch when there is nothing else.Like a last resort. 5 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert ricci doesn't manage to ruin this one. 4 stars
5/24/03 Timmy Excelent!!! 10 out of 10 5 stars
5/03/03 sleepy a real classic...have watched this film many times. 5 stars
3/26/03 Jen Very cool and creepy, Johnny Depp is HOT!! 5 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Another wildly uneven, poorly told Burton wank-fest. 2 stars
11/03/02 CVJ Class film!! its dark and exciting and Burton brings the famous tale to life Brilliantly 5 stars
10/25/02 Morally Sound The atmosphere of this movie, is in itself, is WOW! This movie kick ass! 5 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Burton redeems himself after "Mars Attacks" 5 stars
8/12/02 Monster W. Kung A decent film, but flaws in the script bring it down. 3 stars
7/20/02 sdjfsdkjf not too shabby at all. Depp holding the film up as usual. Wish Walken was in it more. 4 stars
7/03/02 KMG Walken looked like an action figure....what a stupid look he had on his face 4 stars
6/12/02 Cat Great dark fucking film, did I mention Johnny Depp is hot? 5 stars
5/26/02 Nicole Typical Burton....pretty decent flick 4 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean Always count on Burton for excellent dark cinematography,But Walken was underused. 4 stars
4/05/02 Junshi It isn't superb, but VERY GOOD. Coming from me, this is pretty rare. 4 stars
3/11/02 Emilia magnificient slow but magnificient!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Brilliant set design and Christina Ricci's cleavage can't make up for a half-baked script. 2 stars
2/28/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Set design and creepy atmosphere in search of a movie. 2 stars
1/15/02 Maddy Very funny and out of this world 5 stars
12/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Tim burton makes his movies darker & gothic but this is a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/14/01 Laura L. I loved the film, it brings out the midevil/gothic days fairlywell. 5 stars
12/08/01 Keith One of Burton's best. Very good acting and great visuals. 5 stars
12/08/01 JCPhoenix [http://vm1.2y.net/phoenixforever] Incredible movie..one of my favourites...also, check out Elfman's AMAZING score 5 stars
11/30/01 Mark Conway Not scary at all, more of a comedy, although jonny Depp is the one plus point. 3 stars
11/01/01 I love movies the plot is tough to follow but the movie often gets stylish and exciting on us... 4 stars
10/30/01 Sumixam It looks just how you'd imagin sleepy hollow to look. Johnny Depp's finest acting hour. 5 stars
10/17/01 Andrew Carden Overdone, Stupid, and Long Movie That Gets Nowhere, and Couldn't Scare A Nervous Hamster. 1 stars
9/30/01 Evil Bitchwoman Creepy but funny 5 stars
9/28/01 Connoisseur America's 2nd favorite director delivers again! VERY cool movie, big-time fun and thrills! 5 stars
9/17/01 Gary Thin characters & so-so acting in an over-familiar whodunnit story, but visually impressive 2 stars
8/23/01 Stonedog Visually stunning, brilliantly acted, superbly crafted with breathtaking gore-fx 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk The perfect movie for Burton to helm. So well directed...and the violence is top-notch. 5 stars
8/05/01 badfish This was just great! What a soundtrack! Depp delivers big time! Another Burton classic! 5 stars
8/03/01 sarah I was sitting on the edge of my seat. It was beautifully shot & highly recommend 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Never read the book, but this movie will be a Burton classic! 5 stars
6/15/01 JON THE SMELLY JEW already a classic... 5 stars
6/06/01 Rampage Johnny Depp owns! Highly recommended! 4 stars
5/21/01 Ray McCoy Pretty good, but relies on movie cliches at the end (villain explains her entire scheme, &c 4 stars
5/02/01 I love movies an incredible movie! entertaining, scary, suspenseful, and beautiful. 5 stars
3/29/01 BART the music is the best part here. 5 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L Depp is excellent!!!! Great direction!!! Ricci has a great chest and nothing else. 5 stars
3/11/01 james "bite me" womack burton is truely the master of cinematography. his visuals blew my mind 5 stars
2/23/01 Tara Johnny Depp does an AMAZING job!! 5 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi If you ask me, this story far surpasses the original. See it or else!!! 5 stars
1/13/01 GIJoel Usual good set and filming, but cartoonish reading of bad script by great cast 3 stars
12/10/00 The-Fider The horseman RULES! ^__^ (Coming form a girl ;) This movie will not dissapoint! 5 stars
11/28/00 The Evil Penguin What is Jed up to? This is one of Burton's better films. 5 stars
11/02/00 dan it looks nice, but... there's no plot. 3 stars
7/31/00 Jed Sorry I can only recomend this to burton & horror fans not the worst film ever though. 2 stars
6/12/00 Monday Morning Hey kids, this is scary. Beautifully filmed too. 4 stars
6/09/00 Mike It's a Wonderful piece of art, it's a feast for the eyes. 5 stars
6/02/00 Pynkie All I have to say is that Tim Burton needs some serious help. If he can take an old Washing 5 stars
5/30/00 danilo pretty good movie - if you can stand looking at a headless man going on a horse... 3 stars
4/23/00 Ryan Time Burton never lets me down... plus i want johnny and christina badly! 5 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs Johnny Depp was fantastic as was Christinna Ricci! 4 stars
3/03/00 John FANTASTIC 5 stars
2/29/00 PhilmPhreak I WANTED to love it! But just liked it. 3 stars
2/26/00 Sara Excellent 5 stars
2/16/00 Kylie Perfect 5 stars
2/09/00 James Great iece of work 5 stars
2/07/00 Andi Randell Heads will roll 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Tim Burton's variation is, by far, better than the Irving original 5 stars
1/29/00 Steve Another from the master 5 stars
1/25/00 Paul Excellent 5 stars
1/19/00 Joel Harwood I was expecting so much more 3 stars
1/18/00 Juud Gillet Scariest/Funniest film i've seen this Millenium, Brilliant 5 stars
1/17/00 Linnea Kamppi This movie is the greatest of the 21st century!!! 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Another brilliant film from a brilliant cast and a brilliant director/writer. WONDERFUL 5 stars
1/10/00 Matthew Bartley First great movie of the new century! 5 stars
1/09/00 mclennan Doesn't the rating speak for itself? Kudos to all players, esp Burton, Depp, & Ray Park. 5 stars
1/09/00 Truth Man Good stuff, I LOVE those teeth! 5 stars
1/08/00 stool god absolutely beautiful 5 stars
1/07/00 mike meyer never seen an actor be able to turn green on cue before, way to go Depp 5 stars
1/06/00 Michael McLennan An enormous entertainment 5 stars
1/04/00 John Walsh Could easily lose your head over this one 4 stars
1/03/00 Mic Atmospheric, but far far far too many shortcomings in the script. 3 stars
1/03/00 Danny & Sharon Tim & Johnny deliver the goods . Must see 5 stars
1/02/00 Nice Guy Eddie Not my favorite Burton flick, but definitely worth seeing on the big screen. Cool FX. 5 stars
1/01/00 hum looks great but doesnt seem to know what kind of film it is 3 stars
12/27/99 J.Z Green as usual Burton has pulled through with his nack for special effects but as far as a story? 3 stars
12/24/99 Tha Obsequious Bad Janatah Definitely one of the ten best films of the year. Perfectly rounded on every edge! 5 stars
12/23/99 R.E.Moore Excellent. If he wants you, there is NOTHING you can do about it...done deal! 5 stars
12/21/99 Jules Classic Tim Burton, but Johnny Depp reminds me of seeing Keanu in Dangerous Liasons. Ugly. 3 stars
12/17/99 Bubby Great art direction, but dialogue is painfully bad. Ughhh! 3 stars
12/16/99 Ezra Xenos This movie is beautiful, however the plot and acing is average. 3 stars
12/13/99 LadyNightOwl Sleepy Hollow is my favorite movie ever. It was beautiful, and exiting. 5 stars
12/13/99 Dorgon Almost great 4 stars
12/12/99 Lame-Oh it was okay. at least it kicks urban legend squaw in the nuts 3 stars
12/11/99 Obi Wan Tim's Best since Batman!! I liked the little BeetleJuice he threw in this! Horsemen Rock! 5 stars
12/10/99 Tony All I can say, is it was PHAT! 5 stars
12/07/99 Sean McHale pretty cool! 5 stars
12/05/99 Malbert was christina ricci trying to do an accent???...visually awesome 4 stars
11/30/99 SJKelley Just because we like Tim Burton, we anoint his work as genius? Loses its head at end.ct. 3 stars
11/29/99 JJ The best I can say is it was OK, The tree of death was cool. otherwise kinda dull 3 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel This was a terrific film, I loved the scenery and the costume- and the blood. 5 stars
11/27/99 Orville Wright This movie was horrible. Not only was it stupid, it didn't make any sense. 1 stars
11/25/99 Jenna Visually stunning! Yes, there's gore, but its fun! 5 stars
11/25/99 Dr. Acula More romantic mystery than horror,great Elfman score,outstanding visuals.Loved it! 5 stars
11/24/99 Biff Cool The return of storytelling to film 5 stars
11/23/99 sexychick pretty damn good!! 5 stars
11/23/99 DarkNyt Great movie from start to finish. Ricci rocks. 5 stars
11/23/99 [KingMob] WOW! Finally a movie that's pretty and intelligent... 5 stars
11/22/99 Jason S. Swordplay was awesome, Walken, Deep and Ricci were awesome and even Van Dien was okay 5 stars
11/22/99 Krissy It was amazing. So scientificly correct and they added alot of unsuspected humor Great end. 5 stars
11/22/99 Laura Baker This movie was great! Burton definitely focuses more on visuals than on reality! 5 stars
11/22/99 danimal awesome visuals, slow story 3 stars
11/22/99 Fenris This is the kind of movie I live for. 5 stars
11/22/99 JORGE GALLARDO The only scary part of this movie is that I paid to see it. 1 stars
11/22/99 Jon DeVos finally a good ghost story 5 stars
11/21/99 C.A.T.M. Better than I had hoped. Superb! 5 stars
11/21/99 Jo Awesome! But could have done w/o the Scooby-Doo ending... 5 stars
11/21/99 Joe Crane Fantastic, I enjoyed every second and was dazzled and amazed! 5 stars
11/21/99 fire-n-ice Great dark spooky film, but if ya got Johnny Dep and Casper van Dein 5 stars
11/21/99 N Podbrey utter SHIT - worst acting all year 1 stars
11/20/99 The Professor Burton is Back and in full effect 5 stars
11/20/99 elfpunkt goth eye candy. depp is such a prissy pussy. :-) 4 stars
11/20/99 Charlie Ruscoff Awesome! 5 stars
11/20/99 Pavlova27 Want to see creepy? Look no further, Tim Burton is da bomb! 5 stars
11/20/99 Biff Tyfsok Oh, for a little more story... 4 stars
11/20/99 JonnyAngel shoulders above the competition 4 stars
11/20/99 Alyssa Great film, great score, superb acting with subtle humor. 5 stars
11/19/99 Lame-Oh Almost makes you wish Goosebumps never happened. 'Nuff said. 3 stars
11/19/99 rachel is there anyone more sexy than Johnny Depp? 5 stars
11/19/99 Tha Obsequious Bad Janatah If I was a lesbian, I'd be all over Ricci! Oh, the movie is the bomb too! 5 stars
11/19/99 bee it was nice to look at, but that's about all. 2 stars
11/16/99 cory huff PURE FUCKING EYE-CANDY 5 stars
11/14/99 the future Mr. Van Tassel As if we'd forgotten, Tim Burton shows us he's the most breathtaking visual director around 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Nov-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast