Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome28.57%
Worth A Look: 16.19%
Just Average: 7.62%
Pretty Crappy: 22.86%
Sucks: 24.76%

5 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lost Highway
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"All the answers you need are contained within this review..."
1 stars

Read on gentle reader...

A hole. A black hole. A black hole that cries out for the light, that brings with it the truth that can't be denied. Go on through the hole. Go on, it won't hurt. The black is your friend. The hand you feel clasping yours? That's yours on my arm.

A face in the distance. A pinprick of possibility. Getting closer, moving forward like a dog chasing a midget. It gets closer and louder, until it's screaming, a screaming face shrieking at you "You belong to me!"

Do you have a face? Or is it a reflection of the brother you never had? Watch the midgets dance. Look at his feet they move, but are standing still. They look at you. Yes they do, don't argue. Get in the car. It's always been there. Make love to the woman. You've always been married to her. The wine trickles down the stairs into a huge reservoir, where swans play. They're looking for you. They need to give you your book back. You wrote the book, although it's not your name. Touch the wine, it'll tease you further.

Testing, testing the blackness. Don't worry you're nearly there. The car is speeding now. Faster and faster. Towards the wall that hangs in mid-air. It's ablaze. The midgets point and laugh. You're hurtling now, faster and faster and faster and faster until you hit it........ the point. Page 73. Jam.

Armadillo.

Told you it all made sense.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=285&reviewer=293
originally posted: 03/06/03 10:46:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 Dave An utterly ridiculous nightmare, but an effective one if you don't take it too seriously 4 stars
10/29/16 morris campbell strange surreal but if this is ur cup of tea check it out 4 stars
4/12/14 PAUL SHORTT SORDID, STRANGE AND SPOOKY 2 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Time travel,mutating into someone else. WOW! 4 stars
7/03/10 brian Wha? 3 stars
12/23/09 Jeff Wilder Great score but incomprehensible. Lynch's weakest effort. 2 stars
11/25/09 Artemis B Gone Brilliant film. One of my favorites of all time. Did MP think he was being clever? 5 stars
1/06/09 FrankNFurter Yikes!Sad to see Lynch parodying himself unintentionally.Mediocre excrement! 2 stars
9/30/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
12/23/07 mr.mike just watched it a third time , i am adding a star 3 stars
10/12/07 Ronald Newbold Not a film everyone will "get" but if you do it will always remain a favorite 5 stars
7/30/07 William Goss Two barely compelling halves come to little fruition. More watchable than satisfying. 3 stars
7/21/07 ben dover very strange great rammstein music though 4 stars
6/09/07 Bob Greatr Lynchian mindf*ck. Incredible flick. 5 stars
6/01/07 fools♫gold I didn't especially love it; hell, I even like "Eternal Sunshine" JUST A BIT better. 7/10 3 stars
12/30/06 mr.mike my least favorite lynch film 2 stars
10/26/06 Isaac Baranoff My favorite Lynch film. 5 stars
2/22/06 jp with love from david lynch 4 stars
10/24/05 ShadowFace5 It's a thinking man's movie and a damn good one. 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Lynch the man who still, somehow makes movies despite this 1 stars
6/20/05 R god forbid you fill in the fucking blanks. "i have to participate, so it's amateurish!" 5 stars
6/09/05 Indrid Cold All the atmosphere with no substance; Lynch at his worst. 2 stars
5/23/05 Mike Lynch disappearing up his own ass or a timeless avantgarde masterpiece? I can't decide. 3 stars
2/12/05 Mike Lynch a talented director doing the same, surreal style with no substance every time. 1 stars
1/04/05 dave t anyone else feel like the main character at the end? extremely interesting film from lynch. 5 stars
9/25/04 Naka Lynch tries waaaaay too hard with this pretentious, overly-surreal nonsense. 1 stars
8/15/04 jmsynth there was a time when Mr Lynch made clever films... that actually made sense 1 stars
6/18/04 Aftermath3.14 Lost Highway = $h1t 1 stars
6/04/04 MyGreenBed Makes "Mulholland" look like the joke that it is. Still has it's flaws. Interesting. 3 stars
5/27/04 Guido Egas Brilliant movie, but too gloomy and surreal for some people. This is D. Lynch at his best! 5 stars
1/17/04 John a good set up and eerie as you'd expect from Lynch but what does it all mean? 2 stars
12/06/03 Brian great film, this movie opened my mind to what movies CAN be, unbound and amazing 5 stars
10/13/03 John Linton Roberson How you feel when you finish a jigsaw but the last piece is deliberately missing. 4 stars
8/28/03 dtom challenging...not for literalists. 5 stars
5/25/03 .Choadushouse. Made me want to kill myself, and thats a GOOD THING! 5 stars
5/25/03 John40 Only Mulholland Drive tops this masterpiece 5 stars
5/05/03 Freddi Only Lynch can make nonsenses look great 5 stars
3/06/03 y2mckay Whether you understand fuck-all about it or not - still an awesome movie 5 stars
3/06/03 Dr. Bitterpants Too bad Lynch doesn't care about his work or the audience. Never did, never will. SUCKERS! 1 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby A fine beginning gives way to a pretentiously obscure follow-through. A real disappointment 2 stars
5/29/02 T-Money visually stunning. even better after you figure out what its about. not for all audiences 5 stars
5/15/02 SIGB just watch it - nothing I could possibly add to that 5 stars
4/17/02 Film Dude Made me want to kill myself. 1 stars
3/08/02 fi0na one of my biggest favs. I love it to death. 5 stars
3/06/02 ZenMasterFlash Took two tries to understand the story, but that's OK. A dark and surreal delight. 5 stars
11/27/01 Ian Barr Gets better on each viewing 4 stars
11/04/01 E-Funk Lynch's best since 'Peaks'. This movie is stimulating in every fashion and quite scary. 5 stars
11/03/01 Spankachu this movie is weird, really fucking weird 1 stars
6/06/01 King Jackass WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON!?!?!?!? 1 stars
5/25/01 Basil One of my favorite movies. 5 stars
5/08/01 weird v2.0 Mind-blowing, turns your brains 'on'. 5 stars
5/01/01 Morgie huh? 2 stars
4/15/01 Fafafoey Underrated mastpiece. Lynch is master of mood and environment. Underrated. 5 stars
3/23/01 Jay Gunn Bizzare, but intriging. A must see 5 stars
3/07/01 Jason Butler An eastern mythic take on true punishment. 5 stars
3/07/01 Mike Most people like shit like American Pie before art! 5 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Another underappreciated Lynch film...Excellent, yet hollow. 4 stars
11/02/00 Cristopher Revilla WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT? 21ST CENTURY NOIR?! BULLSHIT, BLUE VELVET IS BETTER! OR DID I .... 1 stars
10/16/00 Jorn L Excellent movie... requires a brain or an open mind to enjoy. 5 stars
5/31/00 the Grinch "Dick Laurent", Fred, and Pete are same person. Crone, Mother, Daughter. A logical nightmar 4 stars
12/26/99 katsumi puerile 2 stars
6/09/99 Elizaveta I don't really feel like trying to understand...indifference... 3 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Typical Lynch. 2nd viewing is the charm. Better than Stone's U-Turn crap. 4 stars
5/25/99 iyu Boring, pretentious bullshit. At least Blue Velvet made you uncomfortable. 1 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson If David Lynch was a rapper his name would be the Genius-psyche this movie sucked hard! 2 stars
2/17/99 Bishop What is wrong with David Lynch here? This film has no meaning, is it supposed to? 1 stars
1/22/99 TB David Lynch confuses "artsy" and "bad" frequently..... this ones a piece of shit 1 stars
11/24/98 Fred Sex galore, but what the hell was Trent thinking to bless this ... God knows what it was? 2 stars
11/14/98 Barrie Best film of 97. It has shitloads of meaning and metaphor. Incredible visuals. 5 stars
10/18/98 Tuxedo Steve I understand it. Email me - n2350947@sparrow.qut.edu.au for the solution. Loved it, BTW. 5 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee I sont comply with this "it's Lynch so it's ok" theory. I *WANT* to understand it. 1 stars
8/22/98 Superfly I give it this rating simply because it's different... very different. 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny Lynch rules, just watch and don't look for linear plot 5 stars
8/16/98 Miss Stress david lynch confuses the fuck out of me again, no big whoop! 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Very Lynch. Very weird. Completely lost. Beat head on desk. Me die now. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Feb-1997 (R)
  DVD: 25-Mar-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast