Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.8

Awesome: 22.35%
Worth A Look: 27.06%
Just Average: 1.18%
Pretty Crappy: 7.06%
Sucks42.35%

6 reviews, 49 user ratings



Crash (1997)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Sex & crashes. 2 great tastes that taste great together. Right."
1 stars

You see a car crash. What do you do?

You stop your car and have wild, kinky sex with the first person you see, male or female.

Not your answer, you say? Thank Christ.

Welcome to Crash.

It's a movie about people who get off (literally and figuratively) on car crashes. A wee bit twisted? Yep. It's got James Spader, going full throttle creepy on us, Holly Hunter flashing tits for no apparent reason (other than to arouse the person in the car she just ran into) and Deborah Kara Unger looking vaguely like she's comatose.

Plot? Dumb.

Performances? Plastic.

Sex? Not the least bit steamy, especially the interlude between Spader and Elias Koteas. How awkward was that?

Unless you're a fan of bad film, skip it.

I guess a movie about sex and car crashes is better than a movie about necrophilia.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=299&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/31/98 11:42:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/24/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Drive my car takes on a whole new meaning. 1 stars
7/14/09 blah blah i wish kara unger would speak dirty to me while i fucked her.lovely hairy snatch 4 stars
7/05/08 dan halberg why the hate? decent movie 4 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Probably the riskiest, most audacious movie ever made.Simultaneously repellant & compelling 5 stars
2/22/07 David Pollastrini Porn pretending to be art! 2 stars
10/20/06 Pritchett Fuck all of you! Cronenberg has never made a bad film! 5 stars
9/11/06 Sepi53 awful piece of crap 1 stars
5/08/06 K. Sear Wonderful. My favourite Cronenburg to date. 5 stars
3/10/06 Karri genuine freakfest 1 stars
9/03/05 Le Hembe SteeLe Highly "striking". Cronenberg takes no "backseat". dues ex machina! 4 stars
6/15/05 Naruto Piece of shit. Cronenberg should be executed for such crap 1 stars
1/19/05 Aaron van de sande compulsions (like pornography) are frightneningly detached.what did you expect? 5 stars
10/05/04 Jackie Saw *3* Xs b/f I *got* it. Only time char. are 'involved' is in a crash. Interesting idea. 4 stars
8/16/04 Herolder Well, not a film for everybody, but I loved it 5 stars
7/11/04 L.H Erotically fascinating, however, horrifyingly unrealistic 4 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Cronenberg's worst: it's bizarre and kinky, but unfortunately uninvolving. 2 stars
4/14/04 Ingo Usual Cronenberg, which is always a treat. But not his best. 4 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. KINKY AS HELL. Great fucking , er I mean performances, from all! 5 stars
7/16/03 Fred Thumbs for the master of car crashes. 5 stars
7/08/03 natasha_theobald disturbing, hypnotic -- not for all tastes, but the cast is uniquely watchable 4 stars
3/19/03 Jack Sommersby Never manages to cross over and involve us in the characters. Cold, impersonal film. 2 stars
12/30/02 Fonq35 If the people involved in this film were burning to death, I wouldn't even piss on 'em 1 stars
10/14/02 Ken WTF? I"d rather eat my own eyeballs than watch that again. 1 stars
10/07/02 Mark Singer Beautiful to watch, and absolutely loathsome. DeSade would be proud. 5 stars
7/27/02 Charles Tatum Softcore porn dressed up with celebrities 2 stars
7/21/02 Zargo my first "sucks all ass" and it sure does deserve it 1 stars
4/02/02 Edfink Lombardo Uninspired sex scenes...The contraversy was more interesting than the film itself 1 stars
9/02/01 The-Dude cronenbergs worst film 1 stars
3/10/01 mad hatter This movie is awful. Nothing but a bad porn with car wrecks. 1 stars
12/07/00 Cristopher Revilla Hey, A Clockwork Orange is 100 times better than this shitbag 1 stars
11/16/00 D.C. Carnahan Good pit action. 5 stars
10/31/00 Damion Cain Worst movie I have ever seen in my life. 1 stars
10/14/00 Kathy Undeemable, empty people who fill their lives with ugliness 1 stars
8/15/00 Terrie Smith A boring film about boring people. Only Cronenberg could get away with making it. 2 stars
1/09/00 Will Other than the titty shots, this is worthless. 1 stars
12/01/99 Matt Thiel If you think this piece of shit is better than Lost World or ID4 you are a fucking idiot. 1 stars
10/04/99 Bozo movie had a real 'feel' to it, and i was drawn in. the book was way better, tho. 4 stars
9/30/99 John Roberson "I find this very fascinating. I'm not sure why." 4 stars
9/15/99 David Olson One of the best of the decade. A Clockwork Orange for the 90's 5 stars
5/07/99 BraveFan One of my least favorite films I have ever seen. Read: waste of film stock. 1 stars
2/02/99 James E. Laczkowski Very audacious and cold. A reflection of our increasing dependence on technology. 4 stars
1/26/99 Bishop Johnson Is Spader not the man? Erie, yet great film! 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Now, that is sex in the '90's for ya!!!! 5 stars
11/25/98 Justin Excellant movie. It's very intriguing. One of the most unique films of the 90's. 5 stars
11/23/98 Annu Bannu Ballard & Cronenburg Great - but I'd Rather watch good Porn Forget this one!! 1 stars
11/17/98 Jules I kinda liked it 4 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh Sex and car crashes, now that's totally screwed up. God, I need a drink. 1 stars
10/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce What is it about Canuck movies where they have to involve a kink? 2 stars
8/18/98 {{{OZ}}} A film about people who can only get off when having sex in a car crash. Nothing new. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Mar-1997 (NC-17)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast