Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 15.04%
Worth A Look: 17.7%
Just Average31.86%
Pretty Crappy: 27.43%
Sucks: 7.96%

5 reviews, 83 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lethal Weapon 4
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Go spit, Ryan."
3 stars

Meet the new boss, same as the old boss.

There's nothing really groundbreaking about Lethal Weapon 4. It's the same blend of action and comedy, the same opening sequence that has absolutely nothing to do with the rest of the movie. Murtaugh says "I'm gettin' too old for this shit." Riggs is mostly goofy, until a final fight sequence, when he goes apeshit and kicks ass. Murtaugh says "Go spit, Riggs."

Lather, rinse, repeat.

What's different about LW4 - and thusly good - are the cast additions. Chris Rock is damn funny. I wouldn't say he's got a future in action films, but by god, this is a step up from "CB4."

And Jet Li is amazing, quite frankly. I was rooting for him to kick Riggs and Murtaugh's collective asses in the climax. He's the best villain in the series, and probably one of the baddest bad guys in the movies today. The only way he could've been more evil is if he'd try to ransom the world's weather.

Wait. That's a different Warner Brothers suckfest.

Anyway. LW4 has a distinct Hong Kong-action feel to it, thanks in part to Li and the way the genre has influenced Hollywood movies over the last 5 to 10 years.

LW4 isn't horrible, but it's not great, either.

And can someone please shut Joe Pesci up, please?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=30&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/19/98 23:40:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/14/15 Lisa H Much better than 3, with some of the brutal violence the first two had. 4 stars
12/02/10 PAUL SHORTT WATCHABLE ADDITION TO THE SERIES WITH GOOD ACTION SEQUENCES 3 stars
3/04/10 Robert Overall, my personal order of the Lethal Weapon movies from best to worst is: 2, 1, 4, 3. 5 stars
2/16/10 Reality of Films Not as good as the first two, but still a very strong end to the series. 5 stars
10/22/09 the dork knight Disappointed that Jet Li's brother wasn't Jackie Chan. He looked like him from afar. 3 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder Gets the job done. But feels like they went back to the well one time too many. 3 stars
8/04/08 Farnsy My second favourite in the franchise! 4 stars
1/05/08 Jeff Anderson The weakest of the series. However, the freeway chase(Donner's a master!!)is truly amazing! 2 stars
1/07/07 action movie fan great thrills and action--jet li is sensational-agreat chapter in the series 5 stars
3/05/06 Anthony Feor Amazing stunts and evrything, but why so late 4 stars
8/29/05 ES Loved the whole series 4 stars
5/26/05 tony Chris Parry is a gaylord! This was a great way to end the series,with the chinese 4 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams everyone at their most annoying 2 stars
8/30/04 Captain Obvously... That\\\'s my name. Chinease Triads... WOW! 5 stars
6/08/04 PAYNE My Fav! 5 stars
12/06/03 john great action and a wonderful ending - they are not too old for this shit! know the rest 5 stars
10/25/03 rat assed mutha shiter loved the film, me and the miss did 2 5 stars
7/31/03 omar "surfur" youssef Murtah is "getting too old for this shit." Briggs is still crazy. God, let this end NOW! 2 stars
6/08/03 The Chronic yes, because the first 3 were SOOO cool. White trash movies rock! 1 stars
5/20/03 mr. Pink An improvement on the horrible third movie. Especially Rock & Li provide most of the fun. 3 stars
3/25/03 Emelie GREAT! 5 stars
3/19/03 Jack Sommersby Loud, obnoxious, and just plain tired stuff. 2 stars
12/11/02 Piyush pandey Leathel 1 stars
9/27/02 Tom Fleeman They slid a bit on this one, but still good. 4 stars
4/27/02 Butterbean They just didn't give a shit anymore. At least Jet Li kept me entertained. 2 stars
12/05/01 KMG Too many "family talks"...I thought they were getting old but geesh! 2 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Gibson had doubts about this, so was I. 3 stars
10/18/01 Andrew Carden A Few Fairly Good Action Scenes Are Totally Destoryed By A Really Stupid Comeback. 2 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy funny but too much comedy. great action and photography, bad script. maybe the worst??. 4 stars
9/18/01 Sam Leathel Weapons are the best movies of all time BIOOOOTCH!!!! 2 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin I'm getting too old for this TOTAL FUCKIN' SMELLY LICKABLE SHITE 1 stars
8/18/01 Babybelle Boo-hoo,where's Riggs gone! Bring me back the crazy man..... 3 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Far better than the 3rd installment. Jet Li is amazing. One of the funnier 'Weapons' 4 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) THE BEST "LETHAL WEAPON" MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/10/01 M Mel Gibson beautiful! 5 stars
5/13/01 fifu a very good return to the series jet li is amazing 4 stars
4/15/01 LiL I loved this! The fire scene in the beginning was just great! 5 stars
4/02/01 Nick Since LW1, the films have had a grip on America for a reason - they're fun fluff 5 stars
12/07/00 Cristopher Revilla these guys ARE too old for this shit!!! they should make a TV series, still it was okay 3 stars
11/26/00 The Evil Penguin the worst of the trilogy 2 stars
10/20/00 Jed This is actually a fine sequel almost as good as the original. 4 stars
10/17/00 Dan Better than expected but still junk. Russo and Pesci shouldn't be in this shite. 1 stars
8/11/00 Jason Kallelis I actually liked this one the most, not sure why, maybe because it was the first I saw. 5 stars
7/18/00 Naushad Khanji A huge muddled,noisy and lousy film. 1 stars
4/12/00 Bruce Not as good as part 2, but it has some very good moments 4 stars
2/08/00 Richard Wright Suprisingly good for a third sequel, but soon our duo WILL be too old for this shit. 3 stars
1/21/00 movieman entertaining 5 stars
12/18/99 SID How can this be so campy, and have the most over-the-top violent ending of the series? 3 stars
11/03/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Give it up Donner ,money that should have been spent making Goonies 2 . 1 stars
7/03/99 J-Dogg My uncle dragged me to see this shit twice and I regret it. Tries too hard to be funny. 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm that chinese dude made chan look like a pussy 3 stars
4/04/99 Jeff not realistic, but entertianing 4 stars
2/22/99 Piz Gibson vs. Li, very hard to vote for the good guy,we've done this before, 3 times. 3 stars
2/10/99 Melissa Rock has a nothing role, Li is very convincing. See it to say you've seen all 4. 3 stars
12/15/98 paulstanley aren't these two ready for retirement yet..old is old 1 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink Better than the last one 3 stars
11/07/98 Mike F it was ok. not as good as the others. 3 stars
11/03/98 The Dude I thought it ruled, but I think it wasen't the best. 5 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! ZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz, MEL FUCKIN SUX,PESCI RULES cause his italian of course...... 2 stars
10/28/98 zenball Liked Li's 'Tai Chi Master' better 2 stars
10/23/98 grunter Fuck Mel and Danny; GIVE JET-LI HIS OWN STARRING VEHICLE!! NOW!! 2 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo These guys cruised through the whole movie. Thank God for Jet Li. 2 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls More comedy and action! What a blast! 4 stars
10/13/98 Alex F. Jet Li kicks ass. Might be his worst movie, but he still kicks ass. 4 stars
9/28/98 Marty in St.Louis If I gotta hear anymore of Glover & Gibson's "witty banter" I will need a gun. 1 stars
9/24/98 Foxgirl Hilarious.Definately a "pop-corn movie". 4 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© If you liked 2 and 3, you won't be disappointed. Same schtick, different flick. :-) 4 stars
9/19/98 Chip Taylor Best Lethal yet!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Tired tired tired 2 stars
9/17/98 MR HOLLYWOOD ! ITS SO SHIT AND OVER-HYPED IT INSULTS YOUR INTELLIGENCE !! (but it is funny) 2 stars
9/15/98 N. Davis It wasn't the best movie I've seen, but I enjoyed it. I love to watch Mel in these films. 4 stars
9/14/98 Negative Creep Like an episode of the Cosby Show with bullets flying by. 3 stars
9/13/98 Rob Sinelli HELL YEH! MEL FOREVER! 4 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor The Best lethal weapon yet. Good explosive scenes. And some humor. So ... see it. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball For the stupider folks in the audience. 2 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Jet Li, out of control good. Joe Pesci, banish him to movie-jail. 2 stars
8/19/98 CC go, if just to see Chris Rock rant about the floor 4 stars
8/17/98 VioLenT BoB Go To See Jet Li....He's Amazing. 3 stars
8/15/98 Johny Could have used more time in development, but OK 3 stars
8/14/98 Schmeekins Bah, why bother? 1 stars
8/14/98 Matt Maybe its cuz I saw it with family, but I couldn't wait for it to end. 2 stars
8/14/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Chris Rock made it worth seeing, if nothing else. 4 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} For the feeble-minded, but painless enough 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jul-1998 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Sep-1998 (M)


Directed by
  Richard Donner

Written by
  Jonathon Lemkin
  Alfred Gough
  Miles Millar

Cast
  Mel Gibson
  Danny Glover
  Jet Li
  Rene Russo
  Chris Rock
  Joe Pesci



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast