Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome31.71%
Worth A Look: 28.05%
Just Average: 9.76%
Pretty Crappy: 25.61%
Sucks: 4.88%

3 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Liar Liar
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"The claw!"
4 stars

What? You mean he doesn't talk out of his ass in this one?

I admit it. I like Jim Carrey movies. No shame in that. I saw the first Ace Ventura in theaters and laughed my ass off when I knew people who said I'm not going to see *that*, raising their collective noses. Whatever. You were first in line to see the Mask and jump on the Carrey bandwagon, though, weren't you? Go on, admit it.

Here, our boy Jim's a lawyer. So he's a sleazebag (because as a movie rule, lawyers can't be good)with a habit of lying. Only time he's not remotely smarmy is when he's near his son Max. But because he's so busy and in demand or whatever, he's constantly making excuses and telling lies (he's a lawyer), even to Max. On Max's birthday, he makes a wish that his father can't lie for just one day.

Wackiness ensues.

Unable to tell lies, Jim's character very nearly loses everything, but ultimately, he'll get his kid back.

If you don't like Carrey movies, you won't like this. It's that simple. He mugs, he makes weird faces, he does all those things that most critics hate. But there's a touch more to this movie than his previous efforts. It's more family oriented, I guess.

Some funny moments, and it's not a bad film after all.

Plus, Maura Tierney's in it, and she's ten times better looking than any supermodel.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=300&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/05/98 09:32:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/23/17 Louise Don't know why the reviewers hate it. I love it, apart from the kid's drippy haircut. 5 stars
11/16/13 The Big D Good, clean, Jim Carrey fun with a sentimental ending. 4 stars
2/03/13 PAUL SHORTT STRONG ON PREMISE, SHORT ON PLOT 2 stars
6/30/09 Dr Music Love it. Jim rules. 5 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White it sure would be a different world if we couldn't lie 5 stars
1/17/08 X Wang Pretty funny movie - Jim Carrey is great 4 stars
1/06/08 Aaron Commareri Jim Carey is funny as always, but I rather watch him in something else 3 stars
12/10/07 ceredo great Jim Carey comedy - as only he can do! 4 stars
8/24/07 Ryan Stiles One of the funniest movies ever. Carrey is the funniest man alive. Puts me in a great mood. 5 stars
7/14/07 Vincent Ebriega One of Carrey's better efforts. 3.5/5. 4 stars
1/07/07 Stephen just Jim carrey being Jim carrey...Ok movie 3 stars
11/25/06 Alexander DeVore Legally accurate subplot about divorce. Every man should watch this before marriage. 5 stars
5/25/06 drydock54321 funny funny guy 4 stars
4/02/06 JRE it's pretty funny but the sex jokes are overused 3 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer Off the wall humor. Justin Cooper is too whiney, though! 5 stars
7/23/05 C Vega Carrey at his hyperactive best.....the ending though is kinda crappy 4 stars
4/24/05 Quigley i was so tired of the sexual jokes; it expects us to think of it as funny? 2 stars
3/17/05 Dionte' Stewart By far one of the funniest movies ever made 5 stars
2/23/05 DM Predictable storyline, but so many funny moments. 4 stars
12/13/04 goatfarmerinthailand Carrey at his best - could watch it over and over - classic 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G hahahahahahahaha 3 stars
12/20/03 Littlepurch A classic. Laughed all the way through, even after about a dozen viewings. 5 stars
12/09/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/23/03 Samuel A really funny movie, if you watch it once...twice at the most!! 4 stars
9/02/03 Dawn For the love of everything good and holy, give Carrey more than one joke per movie. 2 stars
7/23/03 J.S. Hey, Pinkline Jones, go fuck your dog and blow your cat, you fucking idiot! 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby A promising premise squarely developed. Carrey more obnoxious to us than his onscreen foes. 2 stars
3/16/03 Peter Just great! Another role that can ONLY be played by Jim. 5 stars
1/28/03 Hi there Fucking funny. 5 stars
1/21/03 Pinkline Jones As UNfunny as it gets. Carrey should be shot for this. 1 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig jim carrey's best 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Nothing deep, but funny 4 stars
9/04/02 Chancey Thunderpants Jim Carrey is such an annoying assfuck! 1 stars
7/12/02 Bada Bing Crosby One riotous scene in a boardroom, where he's honest w/co-workers, was great..rest was not 3 stars
7/08/02 Chris Jones WEINER PATROL i love jim carrey he is hot 5 stars
5/25/02 Frances its pretty funny even though carrey can be a little irritating 4 stars
4/27/02 Heather Purplethorne Not enough of a farce for Jim Carrey to shine in it. 3 stars
3/24/02 Jimmy Great Movie !!! 5 stars
1/03/02 Turtle A hilarious, brilliant movie. One of Jim Carrey's funniest! 4 stars
9/28/01 Evil Bitchwoman I think this is quite a good film. Jim carrey is such a funny actor 5 stars
9/23/01 Henry Ginsberg I almost through up watching this film. 2 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Carrey's funniest since the original Ace Ventura. I can watch this over and over and over 5 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa This is Exhibit A that proves the Academy Awards discriminates comedies. 5 stars
5/27/01 Marijan Srdic verry funny stuff 5 stars
5/17/01 Bada Bing Crosby Better than some of his, not as good as others. At least its not long 3 stars
2/15/01 lisa carrey's a smartass he made everyone else look stupid. 5 stars
12/27/00 Tom Funny, i was tearing my sides! (danilo you're a moron, sorry) 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle Jim Carrey is funny as always! 5 stars
11/28/00 The Evil Penguin the weakest of Jim Carrey's films 2 stars
8/30/00 Ant For me, the excessive moralising ruined what could have been a hilarious film. 2 stars
5/31/00 danilo jim carrey's best movie. 2nd only to Truman Show 4 stars
3/30/00 Beth Worrall I think that Jim Carrey is awesome!! So he's a moron. What can you do!! 5 stars
3/08/00 David Rogers The best of Jim Carrey. He can do anything. 5 stars
1/23/99 Hannah I usually hate these kind of movies, but I really enjoyed this one. 4 stars
11/17/98 Jules I wanted to hate it, but I couldn't... 4 stars
10/23/98 Timmy C I hate Jim Carrey, but I loved this movie...which makes me hate him even more. :) 5 stars
9/30/98 maria i have seen it many times but it still makes me laugh! jim is so great... 4 stars
9/28/98 Johny A couple moments streched into a full length film 2 stars
9/15/98 Chuck-D this movie was funny as all hell. Probably the best Carrey comedy 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Not like I expected Plato, but why all the hype? What was so good about this? 2 stars
9/06/98 Janine a not-so-shocking disappointment 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Really failed to live up to the hype. Failed. 1 stars
8/23/98 JenniferLorraine Cute & kidable. If you watched it once, thats almost enough. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Not near as good as it's box office would indicate. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Mar-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Tom Shadyac

Written by
  Paul Guay
  Stephen Mazur

Cast
  Jim Carrey
  Maura Tierney
  Justin Cooper
  Cary Elwes
  Anne Haney
  Jennifer Tilly



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast