Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 8.57%
Worth A Look: 11.43%
Just Average: 22.86%
Pretty Crappy51.43%
Sucks: 5.71%

2 reviews, 23 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Devil's Own, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Kiss me, I'm an Irish terrorist!"
2 stars

Let's eat, drink, be merry and have bad accents.

Brad Pitt and Irish accents do not go well together.

The plot's a mess, Pitt's accent is lame, Treat Williams is a terrible bad guy and Harrison Ford just seems tired. Let the guy take a nap already.

It's hard to enjoy a movie when Pitt, one of the stars, badmouthed it before it opened. When your cast has no faith in a movie, it's hard for an audience to have faith in a movie.

Not horrible, considering the talent involved, but way below expectations for the talent involved.

Why did Reuben Blades die? That was dumb, too.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=301&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/31/98 11:51:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/17 morris campbell boring imho 1 stars
11/08/15 Anne could have been...... 3 stars
1/25/07 JR I love Harrison Ford--even if he was shoveling barnyard slop for 1 1/2 hours....I'd watch! 4 stars
1/17/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
3/09/06 R.W.Welch Speak the speech, I pray you, trippingly on the tongue. 3 stars
3/08/06 great surprisingly good movie, sold me on the IRA's cause.... 5 stars
8/18/05 ES oh Jess your so stupid, why not high five binladen while you're at it, movie's bad 2 stars
4/26/04 fabian jonczyk I thought it was ok but the plot needs ajustment and the acting was not to bad i thought 3 stars
3/07/04 jess this movie is truely awesome , i can understand the ira and their actions 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Pitt and Ford are superb in this wildly uneven but compelling action drama. 4 stars
3/06/03 Glenn Very realistic and down to earth, amazing that this is from hollywood 5 stars
7/11/02 KMG Interesting 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Weird.That's not a bad thing,but the bad thing ~ this was that I thought itwas mostly shit. 3 stars
7/31/01 TLsmooth Stop being nice because Han Solo is in it, it really sucked hippo schlongs. 1 stars
3/31/01 Monster W. Kung Very uninteresting and boring all over. There's much worse stuff, but this ain't good. 2 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla i was dissapointed, could've been better 2 stars
7/27/00 Terrie Smith Rather disappointing; Pitt's Irish accent distracting & Ford was unconvincing. 3 stars
6/09/99 Homer J. Simpson this movie was crap, brad pitt needs to learn how to act 2 stars
9/03/98 Scott Taylor I remember when Pakula made good movies. 3 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Harrison's scar distracts me. 2 stars
8/17/98 Johny Couldn't save itself from an unsatisfying ending 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Every family of Irish descent does a jig at parties and drinks Guiness. Not bad but.. 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  26-Mar-1997 (R)



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast