Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 31.25%
Just Average: 9.38%
Pretty Crappy: 15.63%

1 review, 26 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

8 Heads in a Duffel Bag
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"So the movie's a four starrer, but just for the heads."
4 stars

Not the best...

Well this film suffers from the age old problem, ONE scene rocks the rest is ok'ish.... Obviously someone thought of that scene first, couldn't stop laughing and then quickly built up a plot around it.

The plot in question is that a hitman has to take eight heads (yes in a dufflebag) to a crime lord as proof of a hit someone else did. Things go wrong yadda yadda Get the drift.

The one scene in question is where the hitman (Joe Pesci) dreams that all of the heads start singing barber shop style 'mr sandman' in his motel room. It is SO funny I still laugh thinking about it.

Kudos to Joe Pesci as he pulls off a good acting job, amongst a pretty run of the mill story. Also David Spade is funny being sarcastic as ever.

But the script lacks the intrigue needed to keep my attention. You could forget all the side plots of romance as they suck. and most of the visual gags fail.

The singing heads are awarded the stars, I urge people to see this scene. So the movie's a four starrer, but just for the heads.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=318&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/13/98 09:03:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/24/12 Dane Youssef There are some really worthwhile things here. But too much other stuff. Interesting try. 3 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini Pesci is great! 3 stars
2/22/05 lol run away! 1 stars
1/26/05 Jeff Anderson Not a bad comedy. J. Pesci & D. Spade are very, very funny, but A. Comeau is horribly bad! 3 stars
5/07/04 Bill S.T.U.P.I.D - Far below Joe Pesci capability 1 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik I only laughed three times. 2 stars
12/03/02 SpAwN Not too bad... Pesci is better with more of a short-tempered role though. :) 4 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Good and funny! Some commenters just can't enjoy good comedy. 5 stars
12/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Pretty funny. Joe Pesci and David Spade are awesome. 4 stars
11/10/01 michaela couldn't even make it through the whole movie. 1 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart I liked it when the heads sang but otherwise boring. 1 stars
10/11/00 9th Wonder of the World Good: Joe Pesci + David Spade, especially when together. Bad: that moronic hero guy 4 stars
7/10/00 Ramsay Couldn't even finish it kind of bad. 1 stars
2/11/00 Lame-Oh lame 1 stars
1/16/99 Shadow Raider Pathetic. 1 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic A spooked-up remake of the luggage switcheroo formula. Yawn. 1 stars
12/16/98 Homer's Tulebox Idiotic. 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz A ghoulish variation on the old farcical formula of switched luggage. 1 stars
9/06/98 Noah Joe Pesci rocked 4 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Really awful. Pesci is the pits. 1 stars
8/29/98 Matt Thats the last time my friend let me pick the movie 2 stars
8/25/98 Pete Is Tom Schulman's one of those 8 heads? 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Very. Very. Very. Sad. 2 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Pesci can bite my hairy ass. 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Moronic. 1 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  18-Apr-1998 (R)

  02-Jul-1998 (15)

  02-Jul-1998 (MA)

Directed by
  Tom Schulman

Written by
  Tom Schulman

  Andy Comeau
  Kristy Swanson
  George Hamilton
  Dyan Cannon

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast