Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome57.45%
Worth A Look: 14.89%
Just Average: 19.15%
Pretty Crappy: 2.13%
Sucks: 6.38%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Black Christmas (1974)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Middling first draft of 'Halloween.'"
3 stars

Bob Clark's 'Black Christmas' is of interest mainly to horror scholars, as a precursor of just about every stalker-slasher movie (including 'Halloween').

Perhaps frightening in 1974, it really doesn't hold up today unless you can forget the 12,000 films exactly like it, which is difficult. Olivia Hussey stars as Jess, a college student whose sorority sisters are being dispatched one by one. Gee, could the killer be [censored to preserve "surprise"]? Who else is there? Review after review speaks of the movie's "twist ending," which here seems to mean...what? That the killer isn't dead after all? That the killer is someone else? That the movie is overrated?

There are a couple of chilling moments, as well as a nasty abortion subtext; future stars Margot Kidder (as a perpetually drunk and sex-obsessed sister) and Andrea Martin (SCTV) give the movie some spice, only to be rewarded with brutal death. Don't expect too much.

Years later, Clark directed quite a different yuletide film 'A Christmas Story' (which, like this film, features a bad-tempered Santa).

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3199&reviewer=416
originally posted: 04/10/07 22:39:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell overrated crap halloween 78 is ALOT better 1 stars
10/19/15 Puplover For shame, efilm! This is the Godfather of low-budget 70s dread. 4 stars
9/16/14 darrell so i take it despite his foaming at the mouth criticism the reviewer prefers Halloween ? 5 stars
6/02/12 keith miron Good Thriller 4 stars
3/02/12 Katherine A creepy and hilarious horror. Sad it is not better known. 5 stars
11/05/11 S My favourite horror movie of all time. Billy's creepy voice still scares me. 5 stars
10/05/11 David Hollingsworth Underrated, but really creep horror thriller 5 stars
6/21/11 Wyatt Wingfoot Forget the haters/infants...Better than 98% of its pale imitators. 5 stars
6/19/11 art Black Christmas is the grandfather of all slasher film's. Not halloween! 3 stars
12/28/10 brian Boring, stupid, worthless, dime-a-dozen slasher flick with no redeeming features. At all. 1 stars
8/23/10 Joseph Not bad 3 stars
8/09/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Prototype for "Halloween" and much better. 5 stars
6/05/10 PAUL SHORTT MODERATE HORROR THRILLER 2 stars
6/28/09 damalc believe the legendary hype 4 stars
5/28/09 jm This is one of the best horror films I've ever seen, it scared the shit out of me. 5 stars
2/21/09 George B. Feist (DUKE) Amazing in 1974 when I saw it. Much better than most copycats that followed. 5 stars
2/16/08 mr.mike Doesn't hold up all that well , remake was much better. 3 stars
12/19/07 art this is the trend-setter for all slasher flick's but i loved the 2006 remake @ 4 stars
9/24/07 jazz One of the creepiest films ever made. A classic! 5 stars
8/27/07 MattAZ One the three best horror films ever made. Period. 5 stars
5/03/07 john scary as hell, especially for a film thats relatively unknown. 5 stars
4/23/07 David Pollastrini very creepy 4 stars
4/14/06 Steven Lewis With Clark's humor and his twisted side, this is one hell of a film. 5 stars
2/04/06 Matt Who is the killer? 5 stars
11/21/05 Darren O An absolutely terrifying Christmas chiller that really sets a mood 5 stars
11/05/05 ShadowFace5 Creepy phone calls! 5 stars
6/14/05 Dani Absolutely terrifying. One of the best slasher flicks. 5 stars
12/03/04 K. Sear Best slasher ever. One of the few intelligent takes on the genre. 5 stars
7/24/04 Phoenix II I watched it again and it's still brillant. Great stuff! 5 stars
7/02/04 David Stone very good but would have been scarier if we didn't see the killer in the beginning 4 stars
6/13/04 Trixie absolutely chilling and easy for college girls to relate to 5 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Absolutely scary and brilliant. I never wanted to go in the attic again. 5 stars
7/22/03 Redbird Not all it is cracked up to be 1 stars
7/13/03 Kyle The eye... holy shit. And it's got John Saxon! 5 stars
4/28/03 Cash Bailey The original modern slasher masterpiece!! Olivia Hussey is unreasonably hot in this film. 5 stars
12/28/02 Time and Time Again I hate to break the mood, but the movie is often boring. Some effective parts, though =^) 4 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum The scariest Xmas film ever 5 stars
4/07/02 stoolie-bird a totally underrated classic....one of the top five in the genre.... 5 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden Extremly Scary Movie That Never Got Any Attention Or Chance To Get Popular. 5 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix Head and shoulders above all horror movies made today. Scary and atmosperic. 5 stars
5/07/01 guyguy great movie, WAY ahead of it's time for the genre, still a good film after 27 years 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Oct-1974 (R)
  DVD: 05-Dec-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Bob Clark

Written by
  Roy Moore

Cast
  Olivia Hussey
  Keir Dullea
  Morgot Kidder
  John Saxon
  Art Hindle
  Marion Waldman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast