Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.39

Awesome: 17.98%
Worth A Look34.83%
Just Average: 23.6%
Pretty Crappy: 15.17%
Sucks: 8.43%

11 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


X-Files: Fight the Future, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Appeals to fans and novices, but ultimately answers few questions."
4 stars

The makers of the "X-Files" movie have been insisting for months that the film would have its cake and eat it too. They said it would answer questions that fans of the TV show have been asking for years, but that it would also be self-contained and not alienate people who have never seen the show.

Many of us who are "X-Files" junkies doubted that it could do both. We were wrong.

"The X-Files" (officially subtitled "Fight the Future," though those words do not appear in the on-screen credits) is an enormously satisfying, exciting movie that yes, answers some questions we've had (about that black-oil alien stuff, and where it came from), and yes, is self-contained enough to appeal even to non-fans.

Except for that potential problem of turning off either the fans or the non-fans -- and again, it's incredible the way that turns out to be a non-problem -- there was no way this film could miss. The same people who do the TV series did the movie, too, from the stars (David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson), to the writers (Chris Carter, who is also the series creator), to the guy who does the moody background music (Mark Snow, who makes the leap from small-time TV music to full-blown movie score admirably). Rob Bowman, a veteran "X-Files" director, directed the film, too.

So with all the same people involved, the movie winds up having everything the show has, only bigger. It's smart, funny, exciting, confusing (yet ultimately satisfying), suspenseful, scary, gross, as well as being brilliantly scripted, paced, and photographed. The TV series has all those qualities, and the big screen only magnifies them.

The plot has Mulder (Duchovny) and Scully (Anderson) tracking down the roots of a cover-up, as some firefighters and a young boy have died of a mysterious virus. They are doing this free-lance, though, since the X-Files division of the FBI has been officially closed, and in fact Scully is being reassigned.

Fans will appreciate a few subtleties. Duchovny's legendary deadpan performance is mocked when he, as Mulder, shows Scully his "panic face" -- which looks just like his regular face. Fans who have long wondered if Mulder and Scully would ever express romantic love for each other will be glad to see them express more feelings than they ever have, and in fact, there's a kiss, sort of ... but I won't ruin it for you.

Are all the questions answered? Heavens, no. But enough are answered to where fans will be satisfied. Imagine the coolest three-episode arc of the show, all crammed into one two-hour blockbuster of a movie, and that's what you've got here.

And what about the non-fans? Mulder's believe-everything attitude and Scully's scientific skepticism are established with their first conversation, and everything else is set up pretty well, too. Whatever is confusing in the movie is that way on purpose, and the non-fans can rest assured that the fans are as confused as they are.

But in the end, things are wrapped up nicely (well, as nicely as things are ever wrapped up on "The X-Files"), and satisfyingly. "X-Files" is the most intelligent, least patronizing summer action film in years, and it's refreshing to see Hollywood make a movie that isn't dumb, and that doesn't talk down to its audience.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=33&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/06/03 23:07:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/15/11 stephen nettles LOVED 5 stars
9/30/08 matt Completely worthless nonsense from beginning to end 1 stars
3/08/07 johnnyfog Loud orchestral music everytime Cigarette Man pops up, as if he's Vader or something. 3 stars
1/17/07 del Almost as dumb as the series...almost. 1 stars
5/28/06 Troy M. Grzych I liked the tv series better, I hope part 2 turns out better. 3 stars
9/13/05 drew thrilling 4 stars
8/18/05 ES unnecessary movie for a show that lost it edge after season 3 2 stars
5/16/05 E-FUNK Some say extended episode... I say that fucking rocks because the show fucking rocks. 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams better than the damn show 5 stars
8/25/04 chris i liked it. it some nice chills, Mulder & Scully were great. waiting for the second one 5 stars
4/18/04 Zach Pretty dang good. The bees & corn crops especially. 8) 5 stars
1/31/04 STUFU Decent summer movie, but not even a decent two part episode of the X-Files at its best. 3 stars
7/19/03 Daddy Plaid My questions were answered. This film delivered. If ustil have questions,rewatch the series 5 stars
6/26/03 XF SUCKS after S5, including this flick - maybe because of it! Beginning of the end of XF. Badly plotted 2nd half - show was never the same after this. 3 stars
6/22/03 Jack Sommersby Well-photographed and -paced, but the story and characters are for the birds. 2 stars
1/09/03 Mitsaso An extended episode 4 stars
5/27/02 R.W. Welch Mulder and Scully do what they can with a swiss cheese plot. Some nice FX. 3 stars
5/12/02 Charles Tatum Better than most of the sci-fi out there. 4 stars
4/06/02 Heidi intense and thrilling 5 stars
3/03/02 anne the anticipation for this film was half the fun for me (a huge XF fan). loved the film! 5 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Quality intelligent cinema...and Scully! 4 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Boring From The Start...and The Ending Is So Obvious. 1 stars
1/20/02 Mouse Not very memorable, this also marks the 'shark jump' for the series. 2 stars
12/22/01 Nathaniel-M. Naske It took awhile to dig the "mythos", but the movie is very, very good! 4 stars
12/05/01 KMG Duchovny.....I'd rather have my eyes eaten out by ants 2 stars
11/24/01 Butterbean SLOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWW ass movie!! I guess that you have to be fan to appreciate it. 2 stars
10/21/01 Bleave Gillian Anderson = muff diver! Currently eating out Helen Hunt 1 stars
9/08/01 Gary Just anBut there's been way better episodes that wasted less of my time on Earth. 1 stars
8/15/01 Dusty Fabulous. Mulder and Scully are my heroes. Fredy, learn to spell her name, at least, okay? 5 stars
7/31/01 Scully i am a lesbian, and me and my girlfriend loved this movie..i believe in ALIENS!!!! 1 stars
6/04/01 Roy Smith Hm...I want to cover up the deaths of a few people...let's blow up a building! Stupid!!!!! 1 stars
5/02/01 Gracy Lionheart I used to love the X-files, but it has stepped down in quality. 3 stars
4/26/01 randy mellick x-files sucks real big juicy fat ass 1 stars
4/18/01 Tam Plot was hard to understand. Too slow-paced for me, lacked the magic of the TV series. 2 stars
2/28/01 Steve in Prague teen movie II has got to be the dumbest bitch in the world..fuck you ya fat cunt 5 stars
2/21/01 Fredy Disapointed, Just like when I found out Jillian Anderson was a die hard democrat. 2 stars
1/20/01 fifu it was well done, confusing with the plot but well done 4 stars
10/30/00 Ground Zero saw it on TV, made my Halloween weekend somewhat interesting 5 stars
4/02/00 Bruce One of the best T.V. show translations to the big screen 5 stars
3/13/00 yankee great movie, have to be an x-phile to understand but action is good 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Saw it with a friend, but I'm not an X-files fan so it didn't make sense. 3 stars
8/10/99 Ted Wetzel The Truth is out -Carter is a hack.There was no need for this movie. 1 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the blown up building scene was cool. 2 stars
6/12/99 Ah Dooey Not too bad, not too bad. Like the series, though. 4 stars
6/12/99 Freyja Good solid movie(this from an Xfile geek who does watch the show to beat off to David :)) 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Yesss...excellent... 5 stars
5/09/99 Beachlovr9 I like the series better.. 4 stars
5/06/99 Dana Scully I'm an die hard X-Phile and a Shipper to boot and the hall way scene was well worth the $$! 5 stars
5/02/99 PJ Good solid movie(this from an Xfile geek who doesn't watch the show to beat off to Gillian) 4 stars
4/23/99 gibb i've seen it 4 times. goo flick. 5 stars
4/19/99 bb The truth is out there. X-Files fans will like it! 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam Pretty good, could have been series ender. 3 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm should have been so much more 3 stars
3/08/99 Cathy & Kevin AWESOME !!! Can't wait for the sequel. So good paid to see it twice. 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz like the show, gripping intro, trails off and dies by the end. 3 stars
2/11/99 mandy I'm praying for a sequel. 5 stars
1/27/99 Goofaloo Moderatley interesting. Should have been the finale of the series, but greed wins out 3 stars
1/14/99 Dasha I'm not an X-files fan, but I liked the movie. 4 stars
12/13/98 Binky Why didn't they just fuck? I felt fucked. 3 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink A very average double episode, the-almost-kissing scene is fucking anti-climactic 2 stars
11/19/98 Missy What can I say, it's X-Files. Gotta love it. 5 stars
11/10/98 Hugh Jass Flawless, excellent movie for Goosebumps haters and X-Files lovers alike! 4 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey Typical X -- just should have been a video release. 4 stars
11/05/98 tom the ending sucked my ass---i hated it and i love xfiles on tv 1 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! I was forced to watch this....GOD-AWFUL,X-Files SUCK ewwwwwww...UGH!!! 1 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Not as good as the best episodes, but not as bad as the stupidest either. 4 stars
10/23/98 grunter Fuck Ike! Resolution only panders to the LCD, witness: Twin Peaks. 4 stars
10/22/98 Ike I'm sick of being strung along. I want some goddamn resolution already! Total BS. 1 stars
10/20/98 PirateGirl Beautifully filmed, consistent characters, fun and somewhat suspenseful 4 stars
10/19/98 John Lyons Disappointing for an X-Files fan 3 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Truly, this is just a cash cow. A two hour episode you have to pay to see. Fuck off. Hated. 1 stars
10/16/98 Foxgirl The best movie I 've ever seen.A present to all X philes,like myself.See it more than once. 5 stars
10/13/98 Paul Non-stop ass kicking. This movie had some excellent scenes. 5 stars
10/04/98 Mira Wierd plot, by wonderful directing and technical stuff.Gillian Anderson is awesome,DD sucks 4 stars
9/27/98 Heather David Duchovny. *drooooool* Don't go expecting it to be just like the series. 4 stars
9/25/98 Kimmo It was Pretty good movie 4 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan Not really a X-Files fan, it was nothing spectacular. 3 stars
9/24/98 Natalie=ALIENat I absolutely love The XFiles, I'm obssessed, but the movie wasnt a classic,but it was great 5 stars
9/23/98 Feynman I was a casual viewer before I saw the movie, but the movie got me hooked on the show 5 stars
9/23/98 Spooky T Pretty good movie. I wasn't disappointed 4 stars
9/23/98 Red02 Great Movie from a Great show (prolly why i loved it) 5 stars
9/23/98 Tashfin Wahid kindda too complicated even for the show 4 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© Big screen cash cow with small screen appeal. Would've made a decent episode, though... 3 stars
9/22/98 Xiphias Wonderful. Not the plot, though. And why the hell did they have to kill off WMM. 5 stars
9/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD BORING!!!zzzzzzzzzzzzz....ohh,is that popcorn on the floor ? 1 stars
9/16/98 Trav Recommended for those that NEVER watches the actual series episodes! 4 stars
9/14/98 tessSpork excellent thriller, entertaining, and altogether great! But I'm an x-files fan, so... 4 stars
9/13/98 anonymous I liked it 5 stars
9/12/98 Paul Leone Wow. Disappointing doesn't go quite far enough. GA's the only reason to see this stinker. 2 stars
9/11/98 Bart Barton pretty good 4 stars
9/11/98 LuvPat Excellent characterizations, dynamite editing and pacing 4 stars
9/11/98 Day THE Diva It's the best fuckin' film of the summer 5 stars
9/07/98 Young Einstein Shitty shitty episode of a good show. 2 stars
9/06/98 kyle chlebowski your site kix ass 5 stars
9/05/98 Bob A. Booey Killer show dude! Can't wait for the new season!! 5 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee A sad rip off. Like a really bad, long, boring episode. Kill this series. 2 stars
9/04/98 Vince X-Files FUCKIN ROCKS 5 stars
9/04/98 X-Phile Hey, this was a fun movie 5 stars
9/03/98 Badass I don't watch the show, but I liked the movie 4 stars
8/31/98 kooky sal Martin Landau was great as always but the movie didn't satisfy 3 stars
8/25/98 zubilicious I'm not a diehard fan, but I really liked it. Good plot, but the ending kinda sucked 4 stars
8/25/98 Chuck-D not bad. I'm not a fan of the show, but this was OK 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Just a complete and total let-down. A longer TV epsiode. Blargh. 3 stars
8/23/98 Neil Shearing Expected sooo much more from paying good money and going all the way to the cinema! 2 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Major disappointment. I as looking forward to this for two years. bah. 2 stars
8/17/98 spork-girl mulder = good. scully = good. 4 stars
8/16/98 Mike F I was gonna say what Ben said. I like it. But I was let down. oz sumed it up good. 4 stars
8/16/98 bizzy saw it 3 times and was still nervous. 4 stars
8/15/98 Johny They had some awesome sets 4 stars
8/14/98 Schmeekins Bah. Scully is a pooper. 1 stars
8/13/98 J-Guy I liked it a lot. 4 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} A two hour TV episode 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jun-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 03-Jun-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Jul-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast