Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 14.46%
Worth A Look: 25.3%
Just Average48.19%
Pretty Crappy: 4.82%
Sucks: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Deuce isn't the only whore associated with this movie."
3 stars

Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo (**) – Mose Persico of CFCF Ch. 12 Montreal describes Deuce Bigalow as “insanely funny”. To me, anything insanely funny seems like a week away from a mental ward. But in the world of film criticism or film reviewing, a term like “insanely funny” is just one of many lines a “quote whore” can pull out of his or her bag of quips in order to get their name in the print ads for a film and continue to get invited to the private screenings.

In the case of Rob Schneider’s new film, the advertisers could only find a single positive quote from all the critics and quote whores out there. Not even the guy from Sixty Second Preview got mentioned. Only Mose Persico. Doesn’t say much for credibility does it – especially when he’s been recycling blurbs from other quote whores on a certain radio show. Well, from one whore to another. Basically what you have here is an Adam Sandler movie without Adam Sandler. Gross-out jokes and literal toilet humor are abound in this film. But when a joke falls flat, like every scene with William Forsythe’s cop character, it falls dead flat. Rob Schneider has either been very generous with giving most of the best moments to his co-stars, or the writers didn’t bother to give his character much of anything funny to do or say. But his co-stars do have their moments, most notably the Tourettes Syndrome woman who is extremely funny and provides the most creative date. Eddie Griffin does some nice work too as Deuce’s pimp, but the rest of Deuce’s dates most amusing moments have been seen in the film and TV trailers. A scene where Deuce fights a female prostitute was handled better and much funnier in Kingpin, but a couple of Matrix-like homages get big laughs. Unfortunately a movie like this sometimes forces itself to half a plot, when a string of laughs would serve just fine. So, when Deuce finally meets the girl of his dreams, what could have been a sweet-natured romance with a lovable loser the likes of The Wedding Singer, turns into just a plot element to steer us closer to the end. Even Howard Stern’s movie showed a number of rejections before finding his lady. Here we’re given mainly his blow-offs by a snotty fish store clerk until the girl with the heart of gold, which provides next to nothing in terms of laughs and merely eats up clock time.

While I can’t recommend Deuce Bigalow, and whore myself out to the nation’s newspapers, I didn’t feel it was a complete waste of my time as we only spend a mere 84 minutes in the theater during it’s running time. I did laugh. Occasionally loud. Insanely funny it is not. But it does have its moments.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3420&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 18:00:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/15/07 David Pollastrini Aren't all gigolos male? 3 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Not as bad as I thought it was going to be 3 stars
2/06/06 tatum Some funny moments ruined by tastelessness 2 stars
8/24/05 tony it was very funny 4 stars
4/12/05 clatz Very funny, the character TJ was priceless 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff he made me pick it up "with my anus" halarious movie 5 stars
11/27/03 Samuel funny! 3 stars
11/08/03 Eddie Fan This film is so funny, and if u didn't laugh, u need to get a life! 5 stars
8/08/03 gibbons a far cry from the greatest comedy ever made, but has its moments 4 stars
7/21/03 Ghetto Smurf Excuse me, must make pee-pees 4 stars
6/01/03 KCobain The Deuce is loose! 4 stars
12/28/02 Miss P I was laughing the whole way through the film. Go Man Whore!! 5 stars
7/10/02 CVJ NWO Brilliant sounds corny but is truly a funny film 5 stars
4/27/02 Valerie Cameron A zany hoot with a few misfires but mostly good. A- 5 stars
3/29/02 Jojo this movie was great, only because of bree turner and her wet t-shirt... DAMN! 4 stars
3/21/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Funny as hell! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Moronic to the extreme. I couldn't stand it. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean a very cute flick! Would have been funnier if Rob fucked one of the girls. 4 stars
5/17/01 nowak Much better than I expected 4 stars
4/18/01 Tam Had some good laughs, but my cash would have been better spent on a pot of leg wax. 3 stars
3/21/01 Johnny B Ha, BJ is hilarious. Does he really have tourettes? 5 stars
1/29/01 Dean The girl with tourettes was the funniest. bjclips.com is all about tourettes if u want more 4 stars
1/23/01 Elvisfan As much fun as a papercut, while you have sunburn 1 stars
11/28/00 Matthew Bartley SuckeD 1 stars
10/04/00 lainey louise one of the best comedys in a while p.s. his butt ruled 5 stars
9/19/00 Bender Not great, but it had more laughs than I thought it would. 3 stars
7/27/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS EXTREMELY FUNNY! 4 stars
7/03/00 Monday Morning Same guys made "Big Daddy"? At least they're consistent...it sucked, too. 2 stars
6/22/00 fire-n-ice fuckin funny!!!!! 5 stars
3/26/00 JonnyAngel Me laugh. Ha ha. 3 stars
3/01/00 ghgkgkgk it was the best 1 stars
2/28/00 Rubber Hey lover Happy Gilmore too, but this is below average. 2 stars
2/16/00 hum dont tell anyone I was talked into seeing this rubbish 1 stars
1/25/00 pauline wasn't as funny as i thought it would be 2 stars
1/18/00 Stephanie Bond Lame but funny enough to leave you feeling good 3 stars
1/15/00 Joel Harwood COOL COOL 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Has its VERY funny parts - much better than I could have thought. Too much marketing. 4 stars
1/13/00 QuiGon 2003 This movie was so much funnier than expected. Great laughs. 4 stars
12/26/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Superstar (which totally sucked) 3 stars
12/24/99 Obi Wan Movie is funny, but seen most jokes coming due to bad marketing on commercials 3 stars
12/17/99 Ron McKenly Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/15/99 jake wonderful 5 stars
12/15/99 Chocodile I was hoping for more from Schneider, but it's better than most of the crap out there 4 stars
12/14/99 Siro THE BEST CINEMATIC ACHIEVEMENT EVER!!! 5 stars
12/12/99 Trip EXAMPLE SCENE: Someone calls his name, Deuce turns too fast and falls in pond. ENCORE!!! 1 stars
12/12/99 DD Bro Hilarious, Schneider can actually act 4 stars
12/12/99 Tom Not the best Holiday offering, but certainly not as bad as End of Days! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast