Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 14.46%
Worth A Look: 25.3%
Just Average48.19%
Pretty Crappy: 4.82%
Sucks: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Rather nice, actually, and pretty funny."
4 stars

The ads for "Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo" did the film a serious injustice, making it look shallow and stupid when it's actually fairly sweet, not awfully crude, and with more of a message than you'd think.

The plot is explained in the ads only slightly faster than it unspools in the movie: Deuce (Rob Schneider), a hapless aquarium cleaner, is asked by his gigolo acquaintance Antoine (Oded Fehr) to watch his luxury condo and take care of his expensive fish for a few weeks. Deuce accidentally destroys the place and has to come up with $6,000 to fix it all before Antoine comes back. How to make that kind of money that fast? Take over Antoine's gigolo jobs, of course.

We're then treated to several scenes in which Deuce meets women whose odd personality and physical traits are meant to be funny. One's freakishly tall, one's obese, one has Tourrette's Syndrome, one has narcolepsy -- you get the idea.

The twist is that, while the commercials make us think that's going to be the thrust of the film -- "Hey, look at this schlub who wants to be a gigolo and has to have sex with these comically nasty women!" -- the film's point ACTUALLY turns out to be that these women really just need someone to pay attention to them. They need a boost to their self-esteem. Deuce never has sex with any of them.

And that's where the movie succeeds. Despite being produced by Adam Sandler, who frankly shouldn't be permitted to produce carbon dioxide, let alone a movie, "Deuce Bigalow" actually has heart. Someone realized that Schneider cannot carry a film by himself, and so he's given a very likable, nice character who honestly just wants to help these women feel better about themselves.

In other words, while movies like this tend to rely on the merits of the lead actor to provide the humor -- meaning that if you hate the actor, you'll hate the movie -- "Deuce Bigalow" relies on the supporting cast to provide the humor, and Schneider to provide the likability.

There's a fantastic "Matrix" reference thrown in purely for the fun of it, and the requisite potty humor. But not a lot of it, actually. There's also far less sexual innuendo than you'd think, considering the film's subject matter.

But, again, that's just it: The movie isn't really ABOUT sex. It's about finding something attractive about everyone.

This is no classic, by any means, and I don't mean to make it sound like more than it is. But it's a funny, good-natured film that doesn't just go for "sweetness" because it's supposed to; it actually means it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3420&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/03 03:35:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/15/07 David Pollastrini Aren't all gigolos male? 3 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Not as bad as I thought it was going to be 3 stars
2/06/06 tatum Some funny moments ruined by tastelessness 2 stars
8/24/05 tony it was very funny 4 stars
4/12/05 clatz Very funny, the character TJ was priceless 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff he made me pick it up "with my anus" halarious movie 5 stars
11/27/03 Samuel funny! 3 stars
11/08/03 Eddie Fan This film is so funny, and if u didn't laugh, u need to get a life! 5 stars
8/08/03 gibbons a far cry from the greatest comedy ever made, but has its moments 4 stars
7/21/03 Ghetto Smurf Excuse me, must make pee-pees 4 stars
6/01/03 KCobain The Deuce is loose! 4 stars
12/28/02 Miss P I was laughing the whole way through the film. Go Man Whore!! 5 stars
7/10/02 CVJ NWO Brilliant sounds corny but is truly a funny film 5 stars
4/27/02 Valerie Cameron A zany hoot with a few misfires but mostly good. A- 5 stars
3/29/02 Jojo this movie was great, only because of bree turner and her wet t-shirt... DAMN! 4 stars
3/21/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Funny as hell! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Moronic to the extreme. I couldn't stand it. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean a very cute flick! Would have been funnier if Rob fucked one of the girls. 4 stars
5/17/01 nowak Much better than I expected 4 stars
4/18/01 Tam Had some good laughs, but my cash would have been better spent on a pot of leg wax. 3 stars
3/21/01 Johnny B Ha, BJ is hilarious. Does he really have tourettes? 5 stars
1/29/01 Dean The girl with tourettes was the funniest. bjclips.com is all about tourettes if u want more 4 stars
1/23/01 Elvisfan As much fun as a papercut, while you have sunburn 1 stars
11/28/00 Matthew Bartley SuckeD 1 stars
10/04/00 lainey louise one of the best comedys in a while p.s. his butt ruled 5 stars
9/19/00 Bender Not great, but it had more laughs than I thought it would. 3 stars
7/27/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS EXTREMELY FUNNY! 4 stars
7/03/00 Monday Morning Same guys made "Big Daddy"? At least they're consistent...it sucked, too. 2 stars
6/22/00 fire-n-ice fuckin funny!!!!! 5 stars
3/26/00 JonnyAngel Me laugh. Ha ha. 3 stars
3/01/00 ghgkgkgk it was the best 1 stars
2/28/00 Rubber Hey lover Happy Gilmore too, but this is below average. 2 stars
2/16/00 hum dont tell anyone I was talked into seeing this rubbish 1 stars
1/25/00 pauline wasn't as funny as i thought it would be 2 stars
1/18/00 Stephanie Bond Lame but funny enough to leave you feeling good 3 stars
1/15/00 Joel Harwood COOL COOL 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Has its VERY funny parts - much better than I could have thought. Too much marketing. 4 stars
1/13/00 QuiGon 2003 This movie was so much funnier than expected. Great laughs. 4 stars
12/26/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Superstar (which totally sucked) 3 stars
12/24/99 Obi Wan Movie is funny, but seen most jokes coming due to bad marketing on commercials 3 stars
12/17/99 Ron McKenly Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/15/99 jake wonderful 5 stars
12/15/99 Chocodile I was hoping for more from Schneider, but it's better than most of the crap out there 4 stars
12/14/99 Siro THE BEST CINEMATIC ACHIEVEMENT EVER!!! 5 stars
12/12/99 Trip EXAMPLE SCENE: Someone calls his name, Deuce turns too fast and falls in pond. ENCORE!!! 1 stars
12/12/99 DD Bro Hilarious, Schneider can actually act 4 stars
12/12/99 Tom Not the best Holiday offering, but certainly not as bad as End of Days! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast