Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.66

Awesome: 8.82%
Worth A Look: 1.47%
Just Average: 8.82%
Pretty Crappy: 8.82%
Sucks72.06%

3 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Home Alone 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's not worth your time. Rent the first two instead."
1 stars

A proven formula, taken to the well once too often.

Here's the deal:

This movie was supposed to be the next in the franchise. Macauley Culkin was all growed up, so they had to go with a new kid. Enter Alex D. Linz, whose only other notable appearance was in One Fine Day. Throw in a John Hughes script that isn't all that different from the previous two films (the kid has chicken pox this time around) and add two villains, bringing the total to four.

Box office gold, right?

Negative.

For whatever reason, the plot revolves around a stolen microchip that falls into kid's hands. Four bad guys have to take it back, kid gets all defensive, slapstick pratfalls and boxing gloves to the groin soon follow.

But none of it's funny.

Say what you will about the first two Home Alone movies, but dammit, they made you laugh. I barely cracked a smile here. I was almost bored to tears. It's not really the fault of first-time director Raja Gosnell (editor of most of Hughes and Chris Columbus' features), and it's not even really the fault of the cast (largely unknowns).

Me? I place the blame at Hughes' feet.

Look at the scripts he's written since 1990's Home Alone: Dutch, Career Opportunities, Curly Sue, Beethoven, Home Alone 2, Dennis The Menace, Baby's Day Out, Miracle On 34th Street, 101 Dalmatians, Flubber and Home Alone 3.

Of those, how many have a pair of bad guys who get their asses kicked? Of those, how many resort to slapstick violence to get laughs?

Most, if not all.

It's a shame that the guy who brought us Ferris Bueller keeps feeding off himself.

Unfunny. Horribly so. It makes Mouse Hunt look good.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=348&reviewer=7
originally posted: 01/06/99 01:51:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/20/16 Frenzy 1 star for scarlett johansson 1 stars
1/22/11 Jeff Wilder Totally pointless 1 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT A REFRESHING, BUBBLY FOLLOW-ON 3 stars
8/04/07 kashif hussain i think this movie is one of my best movie with burton jernigan 5 stars
3/19/07 Stanley Thai Now a particularlly bad movie. It's just underrated. 3 stars
7/12/06 Marty This movie should have never happened. I wish there were movie abortions. 1 stars
11/25/05 cr not cool at all ,booby traps yes, and few laughs, oh almost forgot the best actor parrot 2 stars
9/11/05 Total Crap If you own this trash take the tape out of the cassette and hang yourself with it. 1 stars
7/21/05 tony this movie worked. well i think so. 4 stars
6/20/05 darick Nigh on indescribable...in a bad way 1 stars
4/24/05 Quigley the rating to the right says it all! the first two were totally cool, but this? 1 stars
1/26/05 Jeff Anderson Far more enjoyable than HOME ALONE 1&2. Plus Alex D. Linz gave more natural acting than M.C 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete They never should have made this movie 1 stars
10/04/04 DM Those are the stupidest international terrorists I've ever seen. 1 stars
8/30/04 Kaia Cool movie 5 stars
6/29/04 James Bond This movie is awlful and stirred, not shaken 1 stars
6/01/04 Sean Scanlan Terrible 1 stars
5/20/04 Jorge Not that bad as everyone says 3 stars
5/06/04 da hood ive never seen more of a fucking shitpile, and ive sat through movies like grind and gigli! 1 stars
5/05/04 gray see Double G's comment 1 stars
4/27/04 X <Places hands on cheeks> AAAAAAAAAAGH! 1 stars
3/17/04 Monster W. Kung Everyone involved goes on my 'to kill' list, including myself for watching it. 1 stars
2/22/04 Whatevr When I first saw this movie I thought it was a brainwashing film 1 stars
1/23/04 howdi this movie is the best movie ever~~~~~()_~ 5 stars
12/09/03 re sucked 1 stars
8/03/03 Ghetto Smurf Jesus, this movie is shit. Pure shit. 1 stars
8/01/03 Double G No Macauley, no Pesci, no Stern, too many unkowns. WORST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/05/03 I VOMIT ON TODDLERS! This movie made me lose the contents of my stomach all over the kids. 1 stars
3/05/03 Mister Bigglesworth I have seen the future, and it is NOT another crappy Home Alone movie! 1 stars
3/04/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Part Two. 1 stars
2/19/03 Dave Not so bad for such a pointless and unoriginal idea for a sequal. 2 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 It's just not the same without Dan Stern and Joe Pesci--three's a crowd, stick with 2 2 stars
4/09/02 steve FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THINGS GOOD AND BAD PLEASE NO MORE HOME ALONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) No Macauley, no Pesci, no Stern, no "Home Alone" movie! Still mediocre. 3 stars
6/29/01 King Jackass Good for kiddies. Put it on for them and raid the fridge. 3 stars
3/31/01 Andrew Carden Should have goen straight to video, or the burners. 2 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L The kids will like it, but no one else over 12... 2 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin watch the first two; this movie is just plain dog poo 1 stars
3/08/00 David Rogers Now heres a comedy (unlike the first two). Best part was no Maculy Culkin. 5 stars
12/04/99 The Bomb 69 i thought it was so corny and unbelievable that it became funny 3 stars
10/13/99 Lame-Oh Worse than Baby Geniuses! 1 stars
3/16/99 Ah Dooey Whatever happened to Kev McAllister from the first 2 movies? Don't bother. 1 stars
3/13/99 Viral Messiah shit shit shit shit 1 stars
12/14/98 Binky My stomach hurts. Too much sugar, too much cheese and it stinks like shit. 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo A disgrace. 1 stars
9/28/98 katherine id like 2 know wy they even thought about making this wthout mcaulay. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball No, just.. No! NOO! SWITCH IT OFF! I'LL STAB YOU!!! 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Fondi liked it. End of story. 1 stars
8/17/98 Mike F I liked it. me and my friend were laughing so hard cause it's such a cornball movie. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} I had to watch this pig-fuck on a planeride & I wanted to jump out over the Pacific. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Dec-1997 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast