Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 12.5%
Worth A Look58.93%
Just Average: 19.64%
Pretty Crappy: 3.57%
Sucks: 5.36%

4 reviews, 32 user ratings



Cop Land
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"That guy really can act, Rock!"
4 stars

Try and dance around the ring now, Tubby.

It's a shame that it took Sly 20 years and 40 pounds to find a role like that of Freddy Heflin. He's deaf in one ear, has a gut, and the guy probably wouldn't know a genuine perpetrator if one came up and shot at him. He's flawed. That's what's great about him. He's not some fighting/killing/boxing machine. He's a pushover.

But Stallone, as good as he is here, is just lost in the shuffle. Yes, there are heavyweights: DeNiro, Keitel. But the cast of the movie is really strong: Michael Rappaport, Annabella Sciorra, Janeane Garofalo, Peter Berg, Robert Patrick and Ray Liotta in what is easily his best role since Goodfellas. But with such a large cast, there are quite a few interweaving plotlines that are introduced and just left to dangle, and a group of talented actors is left scrambling for the meat while the heavy hitters have their way. Keitel's his usual self, and DeNiro walks over everyone in his scenes, but his right hand man (Malik Yoba from TV's New York Undercover) just sits there withering on the vine. Same goes for Garofalo: a fine talent that doesn't see as much screen time as she should.

For better or worse, though, it's Sly's movie, and for the first time in a while, I can say that's a good thing. Freddy's a great role for him. But I had one huge problem with the character of Freddy (the character itself, not Sly's portrayal of him).

The viewer is supposed to see Heflin as the hero of the film. He saved the girl he longed for in an act of selflessness that cost him part of his hearing. He's suppsoedly a good hearted person. But yet, he's aware of everything that goes on in his town, even helps to cover some of it up by lying to DeNiro's Internal Affairs investigator and then tattling to Keitel, the lead rogue cop. Oh we root for Freddy when he comes to his senses in the final reel and, like in most (if not all) cop movies, there's a climactic shootout. But should we root for a guy, who despite all of his goodheartedness, helped cover up criminal activity, and only grew a conscience when a man he idolized insulted him? Stallone's character is supposed to be the film's moral center, but you have to question those morals, even if he did only do those things just to be "like one of the guys."

The director of Heavy returns Sly to heavyweight status.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=351&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/21/98 02:11:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/12/16 Ed Riddick great acting and script, gradually builds to finish. Gets better with every viewing. 4 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT SOLIDLY ENTERTAINING THRILLER 4 stars
7/30/09 Jeff Wilder Good direction, Stallone's best performance since Rocky and a good story. Liotta is great 4 stars
8/13/08 Brenda I found this movie very dull. 1 stars
1/06/08 sweetgrrl1972 Stallone should have won an Oscar for this. Movie has a "High Noon" feel. Well done. 5 stars
2/02/07 David Pollastrini unexpectedly excellent performance by stallone 4 stars
1/20/06 tatum Really fantastic, actual suspense instead of mindless action 5 stars
1/09/06 Ahnold One of Sly's greatests performances. Same for Liotta, DeNiro, etc.. Good morals play 5 stars
8/11/05 ES Meh, it was ok, seen better= they had their chance and they blew it! 3 stars
4/22/05 Indrid Cold A complex, well-acted story, but the plot just isn't good enough to make it memorable. 3 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson A REALLY GREAT FILM! Stallone, beefy & burly, gives the most real performance of HIS LIFE!! 5 stars
3/01/04 michael sheridan great movie stallone at his best since rambo 5 stars
12/20/03 john Stallone shows he is actually a good actor - good movie too 4 stars
6/23/03 Jack Bourbon Silly, but fun. 3 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Way too episodic and uneven. Stallone and Liotta, though, are excellent. 2 stars
6/02/01 R.W. Welch Good story line but for some reason this ensemble cast doesn't quite click. 3 stars
5/16/01 The Jedi Droid To my suprise, I liked this movie, Stallone was better than I thought he would be 4 stars
3/27/01 malcolm stallone, liotta, keitel, deniro, patrick -- good enuf for me 4 stars
2/16/01 Jake It had a certain energy to it. Stallone was different 3 stars
10/18/00 Ground Zero Rent this movie instead of that armpit Get Carter 4 stars
9/07/00 Terrie Smith Good cast saves this one; a more subdued Stallone makes a better actor. 4 stars
10/29/99 Bozo pains me to say this is worse movie ever filmed in the great state of New Jersey 1 stars
9/22/99 Matt I can't believe anybody would really like this crap!!!! 2 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley Stallone can act! And in a good movie too! 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Should have called it "Crap Land" 1 stars
2/17/99 Piz cool movie that rips open the biggest frat in NY..the PD. Stallone held it together. 4 stars
12/30/98 Todd I never in my life thought that I would say "Stallone is a great actor" 5 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce Really enjoyed seeing Stallone finally show he can act. A good film on many levels. 5 stars
11/04/98 Bad Kosh Stallone as a cop?! Go figure. Worth a look... 4 stars
9/07/98 Johny Good, but seems like it could have been better. 3.5 rounded up. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Doesn't suck much at all 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Watching Stallone play retarded was great. His first movie I really liked. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-1997 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast