Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.64

Awesome: 21.74%
Worth A Look: 11.59%
Just Average: 10.14%
Pretty Crappy: 21.74%
Sucks34.78%

4 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Stepmom
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"'...If you like big teeth.'"
2 stars

Stepmom, as in "wicked", would be one way to describe Julia Roberts. And I'm not just talking about the character she plays in this flick, either. Ahem.

Isabel (Roberts) is a photographer that eats, breathes and lives by her career. With no inkling of children in her future, she is also Luke's (Harris) new flame and, of course, destined to become a part-time caretaker to his two children, Ben and Anna, if their relationship is ever going to get anywhere. Only problem is, she ain't exactly a fan of theirs and vice versa.

To add to the problem, Jackie (Sarandon) is Luke's ex-wife and the full-time mother that gave up her career to take care of Anna and Ben. Fully wasted in this role, Sarandon feels that Isabel is completely ineffectual at providing part-time care for her children and seeks to shut her down at every turn. (There's a particularly sneaky-ass scene where after completely denying Isabel's idea to take Anna to a Pearl Jam concert on a school night, Jackie presents Anna with tickets to... Pearl Jam!)

The conflict between the two women is eventually lessened when a Lifetime-esque tragedy occurs in the family. What Jackie and Isabel come to learn is that maybe they can pull together to preserve some semblance of a normal life that the, now shared, children have grown to know.

Some cute moments, but not worth the medium it's recorded on.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=360&reviewer=22
originally posted: 12/31/98 02:34:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/17/08 Pamela White it is hard to be stepmom but Julia works 4 stars
12/08/07 Keystra Williams AWFUL. 1 stars
8/05/06 Chris Wilbik Well acted a good movie to see 4 stars
1/14/06 Jo This is an Awsome movie!! 5 stars
8/25/05 Michael Opens Up Some Hidden Emotion For Some 5 stars
8/16/05 ES A rip off of a Canadian movie, this movie is hang your head in shame bad 1 stars
3/11/05 Amber Lets just say there ain't no mountain too high for Columbus to climb!!! 5 stars
11/23/04 rachel benear it touched home hard and is an excellent movie 5 stars
5/19/04 Lindsay Hicks It's afantastic film i love it to bits i can neva get sicjk of it!!!!!! 5 stars
12/22/03 Chris One of the best films of our time. The ONLY movie I ever cried in. 5 stars
10/08/03 SuperBarbie2003 I really liked this movie. Julia Roberts Rocks!!! 4 stars
8/19/03 epy c super 5 stars
4/08/03 Jack Sommersby About as insightful a family drama as "The Cosby Show". 1 stars
11/27/02 Kelli Whip those kids' natural ASSES!! 1 stars
10/28/02 David What's lower than 1(Total crap) surely there should be a 0 (worst than total crap) 1 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Can kiddies post about kiddies elsewhere? BTW, movie eats it, TOO 1 stars
7/01/02 The Klein-bottle Pussy Good acting in service of - uh - who cares what. 3 stars
6/11/02 hilarydsur awesome 5 stars
5/21/02 CRAZY CRAP TOTALL CRAZY CRAP 1 stars
5/11/02 english marky goood film 5 stars
2/27/02 Rebecca Turk When I see how well you act, then I'll listen to what you have to say about wonderful actor 5 stars
2/16/02 Toni Margello I think this moie was marketed wrong and should have been portrayed as a heart felt drama 5 stars
1/05/02 Andrew Carden Such A Crappy and Boring Waste Of Time. 1 stars
12/09/01 Tam Avoided plenty of stepmother cliches. Good screenplay. Vivacious performance from Roberts. 4 stars
4/12/01 Siena Coppa Awsome Movie!!! It made me cry 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary I really liked this movie. Roberts is wonderful and it is funny. 5 stars
2/05/01 Doug I liked it simply because Julia Roberts is the best actress ever! 5 stars
3/18/00 Lame-Oh yucky movie 1 stars
12/03/99 Bozo Worse than almost anything; so bad I can't even believe it 1 stars
9/16/99 strike I expacted a 90's Terms of Endearment.Hell,even Evening Star was much better than this shit 1 stars
7/12/99 Adam Chowndy I thought that this movie was great. Even though some critics call it cheap, it's worth it. 5 stars
6/06/99 Arkansas Jon Definite chick flick. A few chuckles. Not memorable, but not unbearable. 3 stars
2/23/99 Mira Sarandon wasted in glam Hollywood 'tragedy', sappy to the point of annoyance. 2 stars
2/18/99 Derek Total Hollywood-gloss treatment of serious issue- but I kind of bought it anyway 4 stars
2/11/99 Dasha A good, if not really memorable, weepie 4 stars
1/24/99 Meepos. "If you like big teeth" is the best quote all year, but the movie was syruppy. 2 stars
1/23/99 Hannah I cried a lot but it still kinda sucked. 3 stars
1/23/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! this movie really drags long and hard, BUT, its oscar material & it made my g'friend cry 4 stars
1/19/99 loborojo@hotmail.com Kleenex made a whole lotta dough on dis one. 3 stars
1/15/99 MilhousFan Good god! This movie was fucking awful! Worst movie EVER! 1 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz Sarandon lends the proceedings an ounce of dignity, but Harris and Roberts are wasted. 2 stars
1/06/99 famillier Would've been better if not for that make-me-puke lip sync scene. 3 stars
1/04/99 JLB a Lifetime made-for-cable movie made with expensive actors 3 stars
12/30/98 PirateGirl Chris -- here, have some answers. Blech. 3 stars
12/17/98 Bryan An effective affecting tearjerker! Great acting. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Jan-1999


Directed by
  Chris Columbus

Written by
  Gigi Levangie

Cast
  Julia Roberts
  Susan Sarandon
  Ed Harris
  Jena mallone
  Liam Aiken
  Lynn Whitfield



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast