Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.37

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look26.67%
Just Average: 16.67%
Pretty Crappy: 23.33%
Sucks: 8.33%

3 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


My Best Friend's Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'll say a little prayer for yoooooouuuu."
4 stars

I can't get that stupid song out of my head.

Julianne (Julia Roberts) has been best friends with Michael (Dermot Mulroney) for a long time. They made a pact when they were younger that if they hadn't been married by the time they turn 28, they'll marry each other. So when Michael announces he's getting married, and not to Julianne, she's a bit stunned.

And jealous.

She loves him, of course (it wouldn't be a romantic comedy otherwise) and has to find a way to break off the wedding. She's got to be the bad girl. What's she do? She tries to embarrass Michael's fiancee Kimmy (Cameron Diaz, surprisingly good) in a variety of ways, like forcing her to sing (badly) at a karaoke bar and forging an e-mail from Kimmy's father (the owner of the White Sox and a cable empire) to a sports magazine to get Michael a job, a job he'd not normally take.

So we have what's basically a sympathetic character turn into the bad girl all of a sudden. She's a schemer, enlisting the help of her gay friend George (a charming Rupert Everet) to become the man of her dreams in hopes of making Michael jealous.

What's great about My Best Friend's Wedding is that it ISN'T instantly easy to determine if Julianne will end up with Michael. It's tricky. It doesn't play like a traditional romantic comedy, at least not the whole time. It's the twist of making Julianne be a bit of a bitch, making Kimmy not such an airhead (thusly making it more difficult for Julianne to dislike her), making Michael actually sort of intelligent, and making George the wisest of all the characters, comfortable in his own sexuality and pretty smart when it comes to other people. That's what makes My Best Friend's Wedding interesting.

Directed with a light touch by P.J. Hogan (Muriel's Wedding) with some strong performances and nice comedic moments, as well. Roberts comes back nicely from a string of bad performances, and Diaz shines, but it's Rupert Everrett who steals the show. He turns out to be every woman's (and some men's) dream guy: smart, witty, charming. The real question at movie's end is will Julianne end up with him?

Forever, and ever...

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=369&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/11/98 12:17:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/15/17 Louise Hate Roberts, but better here than Diaz's, who over-acted embarrassingly. Avoid. 2 stars
10/17/09 Jennifer I just love this movie. The sing along in the resturant is one of the best scenes 5 stars
4/12/09 Dane Youssef Finally, a great romantic comedy. Roberts does what she does best--in a good movie. 5 stars
11/10/08 Dr.Lao Saswe it on an airplane, and I still felt like walking out! 1 stars
8/05/08 Braniff This movie sucked. Roberts sucked. NO MORE CHICK FLICKS!! 1 stars
2/09/07 William Goss Pretty standard rom-com fluff. 3 stars
9/29/05 Michael Dishonesty Abounds 2 stars
2/22/05 julia cute "chick flick" 5 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams lame and stupid. Just like Julia. 1 stars
10/21/04 jaja this site is well 2 stars
8/14/04 mohamad witty and funny Julia Roberts is the best 5 stars
8/10/04 gy excellent 5 stars
8/09/04 Phil M. Aficionado It's OK, better than OK in places and downright stupid in others. Interesting outcome tho. 3 stars
1/01/04 Banisha its good, julia at her best 4 stars
12/31/03 beautie rupe steals the show,wish he wasn't gay.great movie 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby Uneven as hell, with a story that never seems to make sense. 2nd-rate performances. 2 stars
9/10/02 R.W. Welch Pretty standard rom/com but has some original touches, and some nice sing-a-longs. 4 stars
8/15/02 Bec Little Fantastic.....good for a laugh, had the desired effect! 5 stars
7/19/02 Erica My favorite! A great movie. 5 stars
6/11/02 hilarydsur worth a look- awesome 4 stars
4/11/02 Kat Balue Rupe makes even the intolerable okay, and you know who I mean 4 stars
2/22/02 Ashley Corpening Suprisingly sporting of Julia to play ditzy loser! 4 stars
12/13/01 Andrew Carden Cheesy and Goofy Romantic Comedy...Watchable At The Least. 3 stars
9/05/01 Gary Diaz & Everett outshine the insipid Roberts & Mulroney. A few funny scenes. 2 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Good storyline . 4 stars
4/10/01 Jeremy Ardoin Pretty good movie - even for a guy! 5 stars
2/05/01 Doug I really thought this movie was hilarious. The cast is really funny, especially Roberts 5 stars
1/28/01 Nic If for nothing else, watch it for the part when everyone starts singing at the dinner table 5 stars
9/01/00 Rosalie Coleman If you have ever loved someone you could not have, a must see! 5 stars
5/19/00 Elvisfan julia sux as always but rupe & diaz make up for it and are the only reason for this 2 exist 4 stars
3/02/00 Richard Wright Its got Roberts in it!And Diaz!AND A GAY MAN!!!So it must be good,right?Er... actually,no. 1 stars
12/12/99 P Excellent, very funny 4 stars
11/02/99 Britney Great movie! Very funny...Love the actors 5 stars
2/18/99 Piz life and times of the rich and richer,a snoozer, but the girls like it. 2 stars
11/30/98 Mr.Pink Refreshing and highly funny approach on old theme. Roberts, Diaz and Everett are effective! 5 stars
9/30/98 katherine any film with roberts sux shit. 1 stars
9/24/98 Foxgirl A pretty lovely movie about love,life ,friendship and marriage. 5 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg Not my typical kinda flick...but I dug it...was a Vag film after all 4 stars
9/04/98 Badass Diaz is great, as is Julia. But the movie is boring. 3 stars
8/28/98 Johny Bored me 2 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee For evah. And evah. I puke at this film. 2 stars
8/20/98 Pete Liked it more than expected. Diaz was good. That song was in my head for days. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Jun-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  P.J. Hogan

Written by
  Ronald Bass

Cast
  Julia Roberts
  Dermot Mulroney
  Cameron Diaz
  Rupert Everett
  Philip Bosco
  M. Emmet Walsh



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast