Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome: 19.82%
Worth A Look36.94%
Just Average: 18.92%
Pretty Crappy: 6.31%
Sucks: 18.02%

5 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Air Force One
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It ain't Air Force Fun."
3 stars

Pardon my lack of patriotism...

Air Force One isn't a bad movie. And it's ready-made for an impending line of sequels (Air Force 2, Air Force 3-D, etc.). It's just predictible and horribly implausible.

Harrison Ford is...well...Harrison Ford. But his age is starting to show. For this to have been a true Ford action film, he'd have needed a bullwhip or a Wookie next to him. But for the sake of the movie, he's a decent president. I'd vote for him.

The weakness here is that you never quite buy into it completely. There's also the matter of the real Air Force One not having a cache of guns and a "presidential escape pod." Um, yeah. Did President Marshall really jettison in the escape pod after offing two Russian baddies? Well, I'd hope not, because the filmmakers would have a hell of a time getting him back on the plane for the rest of the movie. And then AF1 would turn into a rehash of Executive Decision, and we all know the only decent part of that movie was seeing Steven Segal bite it in the first half hour. Furthermore, what are the odds of the United States government letting ANY documentary crew, much less a bunch of former communists, onto the plane? From the moment we see Gary Oldman and his band of Wild America rejects, we know something's up. Check your brain at the door; the screenwriter certainly did.

That's not to say the performances are bad. Ford's adequate as the kick-butt Commander-In-Chief, and when he starts to fight back, you can't help but root him on. Glenn Close is interesting, because she takes the impression that audiences have of a VP and turns the tables. We expect some bumbling pushover, but she's tough. She doesn't let the terrorists or Dean Stockwell push her around. She may be a feminist, but she's loyal to the guy who helped her get the job in the first place.

But Oldman...

Give me Gary Oldman as a hippie Dracula or a brooding Beethoven. But enough with the psychotic baddies. Each character is the same: quiet villain with a sadistic streak and a nearly indistinguishable accent (is he Russian or does he just have some sort of speech impediment?) who, when provoked, starts yelling like an idiot and loses said accent altogether. Ugh. I kept waiting for Robin Williams to pop up from Moscow On The Hudson. And William H. Macy, so good in Fargo, seems wasted here.

The technical side isn't anything to cheer about either. The effects (mostly of the plane in flight) are mostly bad process shots that look like they were done by the same crew responsible for the Kurt Russell/Peter Fonda surfing scene in Escape From L.A.

My advice: skip the plane ride.

As presidential movies go, it was better than Absolute Power. But that's not saying a whole lot.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=382&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/21/98 00:00:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/20/17 morris campbell terrific action flick suspense & action galore 5 stars
3/04/17 david froman good film but the fugitive is ford's best film 4 stars
12/20/14 Dane Youssef Another "Die Hard on A..." But better than average. And Ford pushes it to near classic. 4 stars
11/19/09 Jeff Wilder Fun. But undone by a completely laughable premise. 3 stars
4/08/09 Chris F very good film, throughly enjoyed it 5 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight Get off my plane. 3 stars
6/05/08 PAUL SHORTT HAS NEITHER THE WIT TO LAUGH AT ITS OWN ABSURDITY NOR THE WISDOM TO MOCK ITS PRETENSIONS 1 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White You Go Harrison 4 stars
3/26/08 Tim Filled with action but also filled with absurdity; escapist fare at best 3 stars
8/15/07 R.W. Welch C+ actioner is well enough done but suffers from low credibity. 3 stars
8/10/07 Vincent Ebriega You'll find yourself asking for a seatbelt to be put on your seat while watching this. 5/5. 5 stars
4/22/07 David Risser The worst of Harrison Ford I have seen. Trash it and forget it was ever made. 1 stars
4/17/07 Stevo UK the real president would really have pissed it at the first chance 1 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Every scene in 'Air Force One' is total, non-stop, edgy action. Fasten your seatbelts. 5 stars
1/30/07 Matt Amazing what a great actor can do. Ford lifts this higher than the story deserves. 4 stars
1/15/07 Sepi53 How can one make more entertaining action film than this is!!!! 5 stars
12/15/06 Michele ford is always good 4 stars
10/24/06 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Predictable yet entertaining piece of fluff 3 stars
2/10/06 Anthony I would vote for Ford any day 4 stars
9/12/05 Zack good movie 4 stars
8/24/05 ES Why did the bad guy have to die? oh yeah, because the USA always completely wins every time 2 stars
7/30/05 Adam Weak! worst cgi ever put to film,especially the plane crash at the end 2 stars
7/05/05 Charlie Not a movie I would suggest, but I wouldn't advise people not to watch it. 3 stars
5/26/05 tony Action packed!, very good movie. End scene with the plane wasn't very convincing though 4 stars
4/24/05 Quigley a totally sweet action flick with great characters and action. one of my favorites easily 5 stars
12/25/04 DAN GREAT!! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Ford is overrated as an actor, but is good here. CG plane sucks 3 stars
12/10/03 john do Germans Petersen and Emmerich think we want to see obvious nonsense like this? 1 stars
10/04/03 John Bale A President who saves himself and the world - Arnie moveover. 2 stars
7/22/03 Flounder I thought that it was half-way decent 4 stars
7/21/03 Jin Make sure to drink some wine to go with all the cheese... 1 stars
5/19/03 Shibby Osorio Harrison Ford sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/03/03 Jack Bourbon This flight needed a vomit bag and some reading materials, because the movie was El-Stinko. 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Ridiculous and boring. 1 stars
10/19/02 Charles Tatum How many bestiality pictures exist in order for the cast to sign on to this slop? 1 stars
9/12/02 Eric One of the best action/thrillers of the 90's. Ford is great. 5 stars
7/11/02 KMG Harrison as pres....I prefer Michael Douglas 3 stars
1/12/02 Arthur worst movie ever 1 stars
1/05/02 Andrew Carden Quite Suspenseful...Lots Of Action. I Prefered Turbulance Better. 4 stars
8/20/01 Matthew Bartley Pretty bad. Horrible special effects at the end 2 stars
8/03/01 sarah So predictable! Ford is what 50+? & he's running around the plane like Rambo 1 stars
6/27/01 Geebo What to say? It was enjoyable. Good acting too. 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle A nice, adrenaline-pumping thriller. 3 stars
5/20/01 cinkcool One of Ford's Best. 5 stars
4/16/01 Ro Has a few moments of excitement but too cliched to be really thrilling. 3 stars
4/13/01 Cath awesome movie! 5 stars
2/14/01 Jake About as comical as Cobra. At least Cobra had the cool car. 1 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin thrilling and amazing 5 stars
10/23/00 dan why do the critics like this movie so much? sheesh! 3 stars
8/31/00 Terrie Smith Enjoyable but predictable action flick; we've seen it all before but it;s worth a look. 4 stars
7/01/00 Bruce What's with all the bad reviews ? It may be unoriginal but it is still a superb thriller 5 stars
6/12/00 Richard Wright Just a routine summer action movie which doesn't know when to finish. Seen it all before. 3 stars
6/03/00 OS A first rate action film 4 stars
4/15/00 steve Decent action flick 4 stars
4/06/00 SID My friends and I have so many inside jokes from this movie. It resembles Executive Decision 4 stars
3/27/00 movieman I agree with kyle 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Harrison Ford is an indestructible celuloid demigod. 4 stars
1/19/00 ripley a good movie 5 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler thrilling thriller 5 stars
1/12/00 jerry g a dynamite action thriller 5 stars
1/12/00 master this film rocks!!! 5 stars
1/11/00 moviefreak a very well done thriller 5 stars
1/11/00 mickey thilling 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d a very good movie 5 stars
1/10/00 cl a thrilling action movie 5 stars
1/10/00 dr.d the best action film 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Crazy Oldman takes on Indiana Jones. Dont take it to seriously. 4 stars
10/19/99 Tony Daquano An exciting film 4 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 It wasn't great 3 stars
5/07/99 Tim Gary Oldman is great. He saved the movie 4 stars
4/19/99 Lucas jackson This movie was good,but I cant see the President realy doing this 4 stars
2/18/99 nun uf yur businness pretty interesting. Gelt bad for the kid in the movie! 4 stars
11/16/98 Jules Oldman is starting to annoy me with his psycho bit. Ford still rocks. Movie not so good. 3 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey Predictable. 3 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob "Get off my screen!" 2 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee "I have an escape pod. I'm the president. You public, be stupid. Like me." 1 stars
9/03/98 Scott Taylor OK movie. I love Ford, but I have to say the CG plane crash at the end is GOD AWFUL! 4 stars
8/30/98 Mister Whoopee Can we be anymore blindly, stupidly patriotic? Flagwaving at it's worst. Guff. 1 stars
8/29/98 Matt spend more time on action, less on patriotism! 2 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Like Independence Day except without the aliens. And that sucked knobs. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jul-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast