Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome36.65%
Worth A Look: 32.92%
Just Average: 14.29%
Pretty Crappy: 11.8%
Sucks: 4.35%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A Fun Trip For Those Who Appreciate Quality Kills"
4 stars

Take a great idea for a Twilight Zone episode, stretch it to 90 minutes, throw in the requisite gore and you've got Final Destination, a surprisingly fun entry in the genre where teenagers get picked off one by one by a formidable foe.

In this latest attempt to inject some life into what has become a boring series of films, the enemy is none other than Death itself. Death doesn't like it much when you turn his master plan into a Rubik's Cube and that's exactly what (Devon Sawa) and members of his French class do when he has a terrifying vision of their plane exploding upon takeoff. Final Destination joins a number of films (Alive, Fearless, Fight Club) that skillfully ply their trade into convincingly portraying what its like to be a passenger during those final moments of an air disaster. This film goes one better in slowly bringing its hero to the realization of his vision. Little signs and coincidences pop up all around him leading up to scaring five of his fellow passengers to safety in the culmination of a great sequence. Right here the film could have stepped drastically wrong and had the survivors stalked by a cloaked figure with a sickle - but Death never shows itself. One of my complaints with the dead teenager genre lately is that the death scenes were becoming increasingly ordinary. Seemingly gone were the days of the "quality kill" when someone got butchered in an interesting and complex way. And while a statement like that may seem insensitive to some in the times we live in, let me remind those that we never go to movies like this for a reality trip. So back to the mayhem. A quality kill, for those unfamiliar, is one that is gory, but original. The kind of moment where you're shocked for a second but then smile and laugh at what the filmmakers managed to pull off. Every death in Final Destination is a quality kill so complex and brilliant, reminiscent of Tom's elaborate trap to catch Jerry or even the board game Mouse Trap itself. And you'll be laughing that good horror laugh with every subsequent pick-off and the way Death uses every trick in his book, especially in the final 15 minutes which generate an incredible amount of excitement if you've been along for the ride the whole way. Sure, Final Destination isn't a perfect film. It isn't even a great film. You have to wonder why more of the survivors aren't more thankful to the hero for saving their lives instead of just dubbing him a freak or why Carter is such a jerk to everyone or why the scene in the morgue has to be so overwritten and overacted by Tony Todd (Candyman, himself).

This is a fun horror movie for those who enjoy actors being taken out one-by-one like last year's Deep Blue Sea and Lake Placid. It's not as witty as the Scream films but not nearly as moronic as Urban Legend or the Jennifer Love Hewitt ripoffs. And it's nice to have a crooked little smile on your face as you watch a film like this and realize it's because you're having a good time. (Note: Homages are abound here as the French teacher is named Valerie Lewton a.k.a. Val Lewton a.k.a. classic horror producer. The hero's last name is also Browning while his best friend is named Tod a.k.a. Tod Browning the director of Freaks and 1931's Dracula.)

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3848&reviewer=198
originally posted: 03/29/00 18:50:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell not bad but nothing special 3 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT GORY, UNSATISFYING HORROR 2 stars
12/27/09 dhanashree patil its the best film 5 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan good twilight Zone style shocker-opening scene draws from number 22 tz episode 4 stars
7/23/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was Awesome!! Loved It. 5 stars
8/25/07 Quigley A very original modern horror film; very rare! Terrible ending. I'd recommend it 4 stars
7/30/07 David Risser good thriller! 4 stars
2/12/07 Anthony Feor I'll admit it is sometimes scary, however, the plot hole are not. (3/5) 3 stars
11/05/06 Chris Really enjoyed this movie 4 stars
10/04/06 Booksworm This is on a very short list of scary movies I'd watch. 5 stars
8/04/06 Stanley Thai A smart thriller, not horror, IMO. No slashers but good kills and acting. 4 stars
2/21/06 sharon best moive in years 5 stars
11/15/05 Lacy Brewster Scary, but good 4 stars
10/04/05 tony the movie is fine but then again, crap 3 stars
9/04/05 Tom Burns The death scenes are jaw dropping. their awesome. 5 stars
6/23/05 Monday Morning Rocks 5 stars
6/01/05 Chris A true horror classic! 5 stars
1/22/05 Darryl So, another teen horror flick. But the reason (plot) for the bloodbath is original. 4 stars
10/30/04 lucas worth a look 4 stars
10/18/04 BERT UR ALL TWATS WITH NO TASTE LOL 1 stars
9/10/04 jeff good excitement. didnt get much media attention!!! nice name VARUNA,haha 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi VARUNA & DM, GO FUCK URSELFS!! GOOD MOVIE, U MUST WATCH!!!! 5 stars
6/22/04 Fabian Ramirez it waz the shizznik 5 stars
6/09/04 molly watch it everyday!!!! bring on the third one!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/06/04 samantha best film ever 5 stars
2/05/04 DM Totally overdone, with 3rd-rate philosophy 1 stars
12/08/03 Ricky a very suspensful flick, it was really great!! 5 stars
11/24/03 Thiago first one is really good, second one is great.... bring us the third one! 4 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess More original then alot of the new teen slashers, but hampered by an anti-climatic ending. 4 stars
10/17/03 Littlepurch Could have done with more death scenes like the train decapitation but still good for jumps 4 stars
9/25/03 Charles Tatum Interesting idea just starts repeating itself 3 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Death itself was stalking the victims! one by one... 5 stars
8/23/03 jom awesome, by the way I was wondering if it's based on any novel 5 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus James Wong, Jeffery Reddick, and Glen Morgan Rule!!! One of the greatest films of all time! 5 stars
5/24/03 R.W. Welch S. King might wish he had thought of this one. Overdone in spots but cleverly constructed. 4 stars
5/07/03 idie hott movie,- captivating, suspenseful, and intriguing 5 stars
4/24/03 Bill makes the top 20 worst films ever. Fucken rubbish. 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Fun. Poor teenies. 4 stars
3/28/03 NYTRANSIT417 Guts and Blood Fly...leaving me thinking...Howd they do that? 5 stars
3/23/03 Sam Bucus the Elder The Stunning Ali Larter saves this from one of the most screwy premises in cinematic histry 4 stars
2/19/03 Dave Occasionally amusing, but ultimately shite. 2 stars
2/05/03 Chris Death Takes A Holiday, And We Get To See A Stupid Horror Movie 1 stars
2/03/03 y2mckay Oz, Tony Todd was not playing Death in this film. Shit-funny review tho. 3 stars
10/22/02 palaboy101 watch out! you could be next! (knock on wood) 4 stars
6/11/02 crush A great film. 5 stars
6/06/02 stud cool 5 stars
5/18/02 Jon Artus Do you know what would make this movie good? Throw it away and watch South Park instead... 1 stars
4/21/02 lll Better than most teenage crap out there. 4 stars
4/07/02 Monster W. Kung I mean, come on. 2 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Pretty good stuff. Suffers from an obviously tacked on ending. Ali Larter's hot. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Slightly engaging. Fun. 4 stars
1/26/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Ali Larter, most underrated actress around, can make even a brain-dead premise rock! 5 stars
1/25/02 Lucy Crosland Superb! Please cast Ali Larter in more like this. Dont waste her in trash like Legally Blon 5 stars
1/12/02 hd the best ever 5 stars
1/10/02 jessica gg xcellent film, really unexpected and thoughtfull!!! 5 stars
12/12/01 ben wasden A fun ride with at least two scenes that will make you jump out of your skin. 5 stars
12/07/01 Mr Math Better than most teen thrillers, but that's not saying a lot. Still pretty dull. 3 stars
10/30/01 Sumixam Can see why the X-Files is so great, go you good things! 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix Well crafted, and better than a lot of the horror films out there. 4 stars
9/12/01 Gary Pure entertainment. Funny, clever and an brilliant ending. 5 stars
8/12/01 Jake Not scary, bad effects stupid ideas and lame characters. 2 stars
8/05/01 badfish Great,full of surprises,Loved it! 5 stars
8/03/01 sarah The concept was interesting but it fell flat quick 2 stars
7/28/01 Steve This wasn't horror, it was SUSPENSE, get it right! Still scared me shitless. Good storyline 5 stars
7/02/01 Lisa & Steph seann william scott is HOT!!!!! 5 stars
6/19/01 King Jackass Sure to be a cult classic. 5 stars
6/13/01 H Totally predictable, utterly stupid 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a really good movie but it's really scary. SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY! 5 stars
2/15/01 Shezz Best horror film i've ever seen!!! 5 stars
2/10/01 Amanda Thompson Best Horror movie I have seen in a long time! Chad Donella was excellent!! 5 stars
2/07/01 Bender A very good premise, but only half successful. 3 stars
2/03/01 Del R Way better than the scream series for sure 4 stars
1/22/01 Lyndsay I think some of the people on here never gave it a chance. 4 stars
1/08/01 Monday Morning Smart, fun & wonderful...everything that "Scary Movie" WASN'T! 5 stars
12/29/00 Piper It's in the league of horror classics such as The first nightmare on elm street etc. 5 stars
12/04/00 Izzy This movie is amazing! best movie for its category! 5 stars
12/02/00 Bicster Too predictable and painful to watch 1 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Pretty scary, but thin plot. 3 stars
10/01/00 seany pooh yeah baby it rocks and kills and slashes and etc. etc 5 stars
9/19/00 Jeff 1 slick thriller!! 5 stars
9/13/00 Guadalupe the best movie of the year! 5 stars
9/07/00 Tdis72 A very good film, not exactly scary but somewhat funny and very shocking. 5 stars
7/03/00 Tandi It was the best 5 stars
6/09/00 Bender Great premse pretty much wasted in this uneven movie, plus a dreadful ending. 3 stars
5/26/00 Chopper3 What a great ""switch-brain-off" film, great shocks, good direction overall, acting was ok. 5 stars
5/20/00 mellemel If there wasn't any dialogue, I would give it five stars. 3 stars
5/20/00 Matthew Bartley Scary and disturbing, It works better cos it isn't ironic or self-aware 5 stars
5/04/00 Michelle I loved this movie. It was so exciting. I had my mouth open for most of the movie. 5 stars
4/29/00 Fishsticks Scary as hell. 'Cause it doesn't think itself funny. Mostly hole-free plot, too. 4 stars
4/24/00 Obi Wan Loved the flick..but who wrote the dialogue? Can "I'm Not going to die" be anymore obvious 4 stars
4/23/00 Benjamin Lesbian A very pleasant surprise from the duo that basically made the X-FILES what it is today. 5 stars
4/15/00 Zeitgeist gret concept, yes, but do we REALLY need all those holes in the plot? 2 stars
4/14/00 Des I totally enjoyed this movie...made me jump! 5 stars
4/10/00 LoveGravy shock/vomit/disgust-inducing movie-writing sucks,but good for nonjaded gore-seeking viewers 4 stars
4/10/00 kohawk ONLY redeeming quality this movie has are the creative death scenes. 3 or 4 of them 2 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony this is some freaky shit.... scares you so bad you don't want to drive home 5 stars
4/08/00 "Persnickety" freaky as hell, scared the shit out of me, though silly at times! 5 stars
4/07/00 AlexClare13 I loved the actors the plot, everything! 5 stars
4/03/00 Donna lots of blood and guts! keeps you guessing 4 stars
4/01/00 Randall Didn't change my perception of the whole concept of death, but it was a fun movie 4 stars
3/26/00 arnold fantastic but dumb ending 5 stars
3/26/00 frizz GREAT movie! it changed my perception of the whole death concept 5 stars
3/25/00 Froggirl Never have I seen so much suspense! Death scenes were elaborate and great. Leaves u thinkin 5 stars
3/25/00 Froggirl Never have I seen so much suspense! Death scenes were elaborate and great. Leaves u thinkin 5 stars
3/22/00 Ben Ryan Makes you appreciate life more.. and fucks up your head at the same time! 5 stars
3/20/00 Lame-Oh makes Scream look like Turbulence on ludes 3 stars
3/19/00 Girl9 Interesting concept, worth seeing on a big screen! 5 stars
3/18/00 frank good flick 5 stars
3/18/00 JustinR2001 The most sensationally terrifying horror flick of the decade. Watch out for the bus! 5 stars
3/18/00 Captain Highcrime Does anybody else remember there was a HS class going to France aboard TWA 800? Unnerving. 4 stars
3/18/00 kelly the movie was soooooo good!!!! scary, and it really made u think!!!! i suggest u go see it! 5 stars
3/18/00 Zantetsuken Not a bad concept, but predictable at times. Good scares if you go in not being big headed. 4 stars
3/17/00 Bludworthy Sensationally intense -- graphic & creative death scenes & an abruptly shocking end. Whoa! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Mar-2000 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Apr-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast