Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.42

Awesome66.49%
Worth A Look: 19.9%
Just Average: 6.54%
Pretty Crappy: 2.88%
Sucks: 4.19%

9 reviews, 328 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Shrek
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Disney Gets the Finger & We Get One of the Year's Best Films"
5 stars

I wish you could see the smile on my face as I write this review. Not because I just won the lottery or I have Sandra Bullock under my desk but because by putting words together about Shrek, I have to reminisce about my experience seeing it. If I can share that time with you and persuade you to take the opportunity to experience it for yourself, we could start a chain reaction that could end all conflict in the world. Everyone would have a Coke and a smile and we could teach the world to sing (provided that Michael Eisner isn’t the President at the time.) Shrek is that kind of movie.

If the Toy Story films were the Little Boys of the Animation Wars between Disney, Dreamworks and Warner Bros., then Shrek is the Fat Man. It ranks with the same kind of awesome power that Toy Story exploded onto movie screens, but acts as the exclamation point for those that didn’t appreciate the magnitude the first time. Disney might have felt significant losses with the release of Dreamworks’ Antz, The Prince of Egypt (and even last year’s Chicken Run), but they must now officially surrender their status as the premier contributor of animated features.

The title refers to this big, green, ugly ogre (voice by Mike Myers) who lives alone on his own terms in the middle of a swamp outside the kingdom of Dulac. Run by the short in stature Lord Farquaad (voice by John Lithgow), all the classic fairy tale characters are rounded up and banished into the swamp, much to the dismay of our hermit hero. In desperation to keep his neighborhood neighborless, Shrek ventures off to Farquaad accompanied by the fast (and always) talking Donkey (voice by Eddie Murphy) to plead for him to find another nesting ground for the exiled. Farquaad agrees to his request provided that Shrek take on the annointed mission of rescuing the woman he has chosen to be his bride, Princess Fiona (voiced by Cameron Diaz.).

To even hint at all the complexities that Shrek has in store for the audience in both the humor and visual departments from there would be like getting your Christmas presents without the wrapping paper. It goes without saying that with the voice talent involved alone, you’re going to get a healthy dose of laughs. But the likes of Myers, Murphy, Lithgow and Diaz combined with the acidic wit of Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio’s script will make you OD on hilarity.

Myers infects Shrek with his favorite Scottish brogue, recollecting the audible delight of previous characters like “Fat Bastard” (from Austin Powers 2) and the family from So I Married An Axe Murderer. You couldn’t ask for better voicework from Lithgow as Farquaad, who doesn’t make him evil in the “kill ‘em all” sense but more in the tradition of nasty narcissism. (His first scene in the film is the funniest sequence you will see all year.) Diaz is also spot on, turning Fiona into the Princess Leia of Medieval Times, vulnerable yet tough and high-maintenance. And what more can be said about the genius of Eddie Murphy as a character comedian. I always felt that his work in Disney’s Mulan (while very good) belonged in a film more worthy and appropriate of his vocal skills. Shrek is that film and Murphy runs with every soundwave of it.

These are four big talents surrounded and complemented by a planet of geniuses that will probably take at least five viewings just to begin your appreciation of the effort that went into this. For years, the internet, conspiracy theorists and religion-based “family watchdogs” have accused Disney and its animators of placing subliminal images (or messages) into their “G”-rated spectacles. Whether it be a priest with an erection, someone telling Aladdin that all good girls take off their clothes or proof that Jessica Rabbit went through puberty, Disney has taken its lumps through the (generally) falsity of it all. But Dreamworks has found a way to cut through the subconscience and give the finger to Disney without ever visually showing the actual hand.

Call it Katzenberg’s revenge or merely a way to dissect the traditional necessities of fairy tale lessons, but Shrek pokes so much fun at Disney and their classic features, that Mickey will wonder what happened to the rest of his Swiss cheese. You can pick apart all the instances that pay homage (or skewer) the atypical archetypes of the Magic Kingdom. Disney characters like Pinocchio, Cinderella and Snow White are all on hand for a playful beating and I can’t even tell you about the fate of the singing bluebird (which may result in the funniest, most edgy joke of the year). No Disney convention is left unturned as you can even draw comparisons to their recent The Emperor’s New Groove, whose two heroes consisted of a big, ogre of a man and a talking floppy-eared animal on a journey to save one’s home.

But Shrek owes most of its satire to Beauty and the Beast, which it proceeds to turn upside down with the pleasure of the world’s greatest rollercoaster. Farquaard is the antithesis of Beauty’s hulking alpha-male Gaston and Shrek is the perfect beast that falls for the belle he feels is out of his reach. Yet that’s just the surface as the true intentions don’t reveal themselves until the film’s climax, which had me applauding (first mentally, then audibly) even after I saw the foreshadowing on the wall.

When people ask what makes films universal, you use one like Shrek as reference material. This is the kind of film you want to share with your friends, family and children even though you had no hand whatsoever in its creation. You just want to be at the top of the grapevine spreading the good word. Animation gets dismissed by a certain portion of the culture, either for its association with children’s entertainment or their desire to just see human characters who are usually given less dimensionality (in all literal senses of the word) than the “cartoons.”

Is Shrek appropriate for children? Absolutely. Will adults be entertained? Guaranteed even more than the children. Credit must be given once again to screenwriters Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio for taking a short, short large-type children’s storybook (by William Steig) and bulking it up to feature length with a richer story, bigger & better characters, and enough witticism to strangle Mark Twain in his grave.

If you’re not laughing hysterically, you’re slack-jawed in the amazement of the CGI detail painted into every pixel of every scene. (I nearly got dizzy as the camera swoops over Shrek & Donkey on the bridge.) If you’re not slack-jawed, you’ll be giddy at the array of fairy tale cameos so abundant, you’d swear you were watching the animated version of Robert Altman’s The Player. Shrek is a film for the young and old, male and female, beautiful and ugly, tall and short. This isn’t just a fractured fairy tale, it’s a storybook vision in a mushroom cloud of imagination of fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3880&reviewer=198
originally posted: 05/15/01 18:23:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/17/14 Mario is the Best Awesome! The whole franchise is great. 5 stars
9/23/14 Anees Shaik Start of a Great franchise. 5 stars
4/05/11 Jennifer Marquardt funny, entertaining 3 stars
3/15/11 Annabel Iconic - "that's a niiiiice boulder". Need i say more? 5 stars
11/22/09 Jeff Wilder An animated classic that never gets old even if the pop culture references are dated. 5 stars
10/03/09 PAUL SHORTT BIG-HEARTED, CHARMING AND LOADED WITH LAUGHS 4 stars
10/02/09 MP Bartley Stunningly overrated. 3 stars
9/05/09 HsvsRsvsesv none 1 stars
8/22/09 Zach A very good classic. Never gets old watching. 5 stars
8/14/08 Melissa Great animated move! Good for the whold family. 3 stars
4/24/08 frieda moudy poor writing but awesome animation 4 stars
10/19/07 mb Poor Juvenile Writing ... Plot OK 2 stars
9/06/07 youssef Shrike 4 stars
3/19/07 dude one of the best animated flicks ever 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Adorable fairy tale of the adults, but kids will still love it very much. 4 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
11/26/06 Kerroj puts me to sleep every time... boring, overrated, silly, stupid, forced unfunny humor 1 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen One of my favorites, let's hope they don't "sequel" it to death 5 stars
5/10/06 chienne Are you serious Tyler? Oh, I get it, tortured childhood....hmmmm 5 stars
4/22/06 Poopy Woopy Extremely entertaining. 5 stars
4/01/06 JRE very funny, good graphics, great storyline, 4 stars
1/08/06 Eden Was good at the time, but now its kinda 'meh' 3 stars
12/27/05 tony HILARIOUS! 5 stars
11/24/05 shaun wallner funny movie i get a kick out of donkey, eddie murphy is so hilarious 5 stars
11/21/05 Adam Day its crap 1 stars
11/15/05 david its sad movie 4 stars
10/15/05 Quigley the original classic movie is still awesome today. go donkey! 5 stars
8/29/05 ES From what looked like a tanker on the trailers proves entertaining and very quotable 4 stars
8/14/05 Frenzy shrek rules 5 stars
4/24/05 Indrid Cold Is to cartoons what Scream is to horror; hip, self-aware, and highly entertaining. 4 stars
4/11/05 Paul Excellent animations 4 stars
3/15/05 Amy Lynch Great movie for children and adults 5 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams just plain funny with a good message for the kiddies 5 stars
10/16/04 hannah carsen its a really funny,great movie u guys hoo think it's crap how bout u go f*** ur self 4 stars
8/27/04 Aaron Smith just can't relate to ogres 2 stars
8/18/04 Zombies Eat People Go buy it!!! 5 stars
8/05/04 Jules Fantastic. It's one of my top 10 5 stars
7/21/04 Whitney Bullard So great to find a movie that both parents and kids enjoy! 5 stars
6/01/04 me Can't wait for Shrek VS The Hulk (in theaters fall 2005) 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody the Robin Hood scene is extremely funny! 5 stars
5/16/04 DM I was surprised that I liked it so much 5 stars
5/10/04 Kurt Wood Awesome Movie! #2 only next to LOTR 3! 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Not bad................. Wha?????????????????????????????????????????????????? 4 stars
2/26/04 Garron Cloete Very awesom movie and i cant wait for next movie 5 stars
2/16/04 R.W. Welch Hopped up fairy tale has awesome animation, good script. 4 stars
12/18/03 Butterfly The movie sucked, only someone with the attention span of a 1 year old would like it 1 stars
12/16/03 Tim Triangle A wee bitty of a predictable and so corny an ending but nae too bad for all that. 4 stars
12/05/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) Features one of the worst Matrix spoofs yet, but there are some pretty funny bits. 4 stars
12/03/03 fatima great movie and awesome characters can't wait for shrek 2 5 stars
11/28/03 john funny and original better than you'd ever imagine 5 stars
11/27/03 Joseph Better than the gay crap that Disney/Pixar makes. 5 stars
10/26/03 kysheria perryman I thought it was a funny movie 5 stars
10/24/03 staci excellent a real laugh, as soon as the credits ran i laughed my head off!!!! 5 stars
9/29/03 Aaron ruston it's funny and very creative 5 stars
9/29/03 joblo this movie was a big time waster 1 stars
9/22/03 Taylor Fladgate Clever, funny, an instant classic. 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why...lol 3 stars
8/18/03 I Would The title character is irritating, boring and unfunny, but otherwise a great film. 4 stars
8/04/03 Piz excellent and funny for all ages 5 stars
8/01/03 DM Newsflash, Jack Bourbon, the movie wasn't supposed to be cutesy 5 stars
7/24/03 Krissy D. Gingerbread men ROCK! "Eat me!" 5 stars
6/25/03 N.B. ORLANDO Thoroughly enjoyed it. 5 stars
6/23/03 bob wonderful 5 stars
6/06/03 John Aster Habig brillant romcom with satire and parody that rivals Mel Brooks 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon STINKORAMA. Is it just me, or are farting ogres just not that cute? 2 stars
5/01/03 kristen mays best cartoon ever 5 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do Disney isn't that bad after all. 3 stars
3/17/03 julie w. i loved it!!!!!! a must movie!!!!!! 5 stars
3/16/03 rue the whirl drink heavily before watching 2 stars
3/14/03 Omedius wicked, super cool, especially the short dude lord farquaad, he's awesome. 5 stars
3/10/03 GMan Only worth a "see", if you want to see CG toonsters fart, piss, and say "ass"...oh, HAHAHA! 3 stars
3/05/03 Robert Cooley State of the Art, Funny, fit for the family 5 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby I'm with you, Jon -- this is an overpraised, blandly written mess. 2 stars
2/24/03 Monster W. Kung Not really much story, but compensates with humor. Gingerbread man was HILARIOUS! 4 stars
2/17/03 Ubu the Ripper the opposite of the matrix, the more you watch it the more you hate it 2 stars
2/06/03 Turtle Simply AMAZING animation. It later got bested by Ice Age and Monsters Inc., but it's great 5 stars
2/05/03 Shakila Walker I Loved It Loved It LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was a great movie 5 stars
2/05/03 Brian Jacobson I wish I never saw this movie 1 stars
1/06/03 me i guess its good, if your a 3 year old traped in a 30 year old body. 3 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig critic funny movie audience funny family friendly romcom masterpiece 5 stars
12/24/02 bimbette look there he goes, isnt' he dreamy, monsieur farquaad, oh he's soo cute. 5 stars
12/11/02 Krysta Hughes It's hilarious 5 stars
12/01/02 Ashanti its really funny and cool 5 stars
10/23/02 Flounder Best animated movie of all time 5 stars
10/18/02 Jay Funny! 5 stars
10/08/02 Chance nothing really special about this movie, the success of it stumps me. 3 stars
10/08/02 a person I have not yet seen a film worth full stars by my standars, but shrek comes pretty close to 4 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock I jumped joyfully into the hype! 5 stars
9/11/02 palaboy101 This takes the whole cake! 5 stars
9/11/02 annabel flew this is a really funny and good film its one you just watch over and over again 5 stars
8/28/02 .Choadushouse. This film amazed me! The animation is beautiful! Characters=perfect! Humor=hilarious! 5 stars
8/27/02 Charlotte Shrek 4 president!!!! 5 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers Great flick...great humour, great animation. Great everything. 5 stars
6/24/02 Jiz Very funny! Mike Meyers is God! 5 stars
6/07/02 Kat Balue I laughed for three hours when the gingerbread man said 'EAT ME'! 5 stars
6/06/02 Interrog8 Very impressive and very funny 5 stars
6/02/02 Luke good movie! very funny 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris This is the biggest film to hit America for a long time in which it's the talk. 5 stars
5/31/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi and then i saw dis film...da da da da...now im a believer...da da da da da 5 stars
5/28/02 Shrike Shrek is not shite, it's superb 4 stars
5/10/02 after nice fucking maxlength, shit for brains. 4 stars
4/24/02 Kyle Damn. Not bad. Not bad at all. 5 stars
4/23/02 Danielle Ophelia Irreverent, light and touching...a satire of and a tribute to fairy tales of yesteryear. 5 stars
4/22/02 Ryan animation qualityu bites 2 stars
4/22/02 Charles Tatum People, it is okay to admit it- this film is awful. 1 stars
4/05/02 Justin Smart And Hilarious! 5 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo I'm thrilled it won Best Animated Feature Film...A treat for the eyes, and funny as hell! 5 stars
3/17/02 mn even the menu can tickle you "ja.. play the movie," " oh oh pick me pick me" 4 stars
3/14/02 The Gingerbread Man This Movie Kicked Ass 5 stars
3/01/02 Unagiboy Hilarious. Appeals to both kids and adults. 5 stars
3/01/02 Chowie Shine your shoes wipe your................face 5 stars
2/28/02 P.Rodriguez Bloody Funny. ANYONE WHO DIDN"T LAUGH AT LEAST ONCE DURING THIS MOVIE HAS NO SOUL 5 stars
2/25/02 Hewrd Frost Too comical! 2 stars
2/24/02 nagyi great 5 stars
2/23/02 adam dal pozzo a film with a nice heart, the horny dragon is one of the best animated characters ever made 4 stars
2/22/02 Beyonder Not very funny and very predictable, only Eddy Murphy saves the movie. 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute. Murphy has the best lines. 3 stars
2/17/02 Tezcan realy good 5 stars
2/03/02 P H Great 5 stars
1/22/02 Jeremiah Rickert Katzenberg's Manhood Measuring Contest doesn't measure up. 2 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent I thought it was going to be a kid's movie but it kicked ASS! Awesome!!!! 5 stars
1/19/02 rb it was the worst ever 1 stars
1/17/02 Scottish Kilt good but not as good as all the hype. 4 stars
1/15/02 David A. My mother's best friend loved it. That's all I can say. 3 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick ok, the donkey was entertaining - but the rest of the movie? 3 stars
1/13/02 Caroline Atkinson it was great 5 stars
1/13/02 ferring i like that movie, that is a nice movie! donkey was awesome! 4 stars
1/02/02 Keith This blew monkeys. The Gingerbread man is the only interesting character. 1 stars
1/02/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS FILM IS FUCKING EXCELLENT! ANYONE WHO DISSES IT IS A FUCKHEAD AND THEY CAN SUCK MY NOB 5 stars
1/02/02 Scream-Mania This is NOT a kid's movie 5 stars
12/26/01 Bada Bing Crosby I pity the soul who cannot enjoy this movie 5 stars
12/21/01 Leah Colven fantastic! farquuad/fuckwad joke never groes old, the best parody yet! 5 stars
12/09/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! First time i saw it i nearly pissed myself!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/08/01 Maninder really!! really!! 5 stars
12/02/01 bill j clinton clever well thought out right down to the seen were farquad sported wood in his bed 5 stars
11/21/01 Marcos my 3-year-old enjoyed it 4 stars
11/20/01 Hum fun 4 stars
11/11/01 Keith graphics good, story weak, jokes dumb. 3 stars
11/08/01 toneely The coolest movie!!!!! the last song caused tears from laughter!!!!!! 5 stars
11/05/01 Bill the Head I could have done without the FART jokes. I jerk off every day to this. 5 stars
11/02/01 moviegoer Well written, that's for sure, not as good as i thought it would be, but still awesome 5 stars
10/28/01 The Bomb 69 amazing stuff, voice-overs worked to perfection 5 stars
9/28/01 Phoenix In a year of so-so movies, Shrek is a nice, fresh breath of air. 5 stars
9/24/01 bluebeena Not just for the little ones. 4 stars
9/15/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Funny. 4 stars
8/29/01 simon best ever 5 stars
8/28/01 Gary Hilarious, perfect voice-overs, and astounding animation, but could've been much better. 4 stars
8/27/01 Al This movie rocks!! Everybody laughs 5 stars
8/20/01 Kharn Where the hell i can find a screeplay??? i want it!!!!! 5 stars
8/10/01 Miri I laughed, I cried... I laughed until I cried! Absolutely spectacular. 5 stars
8/09/01 Audra I saw this movie twice and i wanna see it again! The movie rocks!!!!! 5 stars
8/09/01 Billie It s a movie you just want to see over and over again. 5 stars
8/09/01 Sarah I saw this movie with a friend and we both wanted to see it again and again. It rocks! 5 stars
8/08/01 Klin very good and funny movie 5 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa Eddie Murphy is funny, with a clever script and some good lines. 4 stars
7/29/01 Bob jones So, if i'm a troll, and I meet my true love who is a babe, she'll turn into a troll too? 3 stars
7/27/01 Turtle Definitely the best movie so far this year. 5 stars
7/24/01 Rosemary van Essen This is the greatest movie since... You know what? I can't think of a since! 5 stars
7/24/01 Djeedjee Apart from the fantastic animation and the fun characters, find the many movie references! 5 stars
7/20/01 dave ok 5 stars
7/18/01 Robert Wellington Absolutely fantastic. 5 stars
7/18/01 Robert Wellington Absolutely fantastic. 5 stars
7/18/01 Hobbes ....why?...what were they thinking?.....Pray for my generation. 1 stars
7/14/01 Robin Champion Excellent! 5 stars
7/14/01 Emily Cairncross Bloody Brilliant 5 stars
7/14/01 Emily Cairncross Bloody Brilliant a real giggle!!! 5 stars
7/12/01 SeStA! FUNNNY FUNNY FUNNY! 5 stars
7/09/01 Anne Entirely predictable plot but I loved the characters. 4 stars
7/08/01 Izzy AWESOME and HILARIOUS! 5 stars
7/07/01 dragondreams This is my favorite movie of all time! 5 stars
7/07/01 E Unreal! 5 stars
7/06/01 frosty Funny as all hell. An OGRE night success! 5 stars
7/06/01 Simeon Briggs Acts 1&2= Comedy genius, perfect timing, hahaha etc Act 3= Disney poo 4 stars
7/05/01 mother of all mothers I hate disney so you know this was great!!!!! 5 stars
7/03/01 Matthew Bartley Not up to the brilliance of Toy Story 2 but hilarious nonetheless 4 stars
7/01/01 beast2 crap 1 stars
6/30/01 chels it was heaps good i loved it i was really life like well sorta anyway 5 stars
6/28/01 hub suprisingly funny for a disney movie 5 stars
6/27/01 a boy named george this movie sucks one giant dick with 3 balls 1 stars
6/27/01 Artist Freak Great fun, great Disney satire. JRenwick, EM's perfect for the part... that's all... 5 stars
6/27/01 russrickee Really funny, all the fairy tales you've ever wanted to make fun of (Scottish Ogre, Mike?) 5 stars
6/26/01 Jim Renwick It's a hoot but why is a african/american actor portrayed as a donkey? 4 stars
6/26/01 eric there was such an excess of adult humor that i kept looking over at the little kids to see 5 stars
6/25/01 truman ford it rocked 5 stars
6/25/01 Geno LOVED IT .Now Strikk and I need to team up and find a theater WITHOUT howling infants. 5 stars
6/25/01 Theo Schmitt Great movie for the whole family 5 stars
6/24/01 Madilyn Hilarious... actually paid to see it twice, which is saying a lot these days! :-) 5 stars
6/22/01 Rodney Lee I'm gay. 1 stars
6/22/01 betty boop both kids and adults will like it 4 stars
6/22/01 Clare "bloody marvelous" 5 stars
6/22/01 ayla khan beautiful animation, funny story with a good balance between the kiddie and grown-up humour 5 stars
6/22/01 Rosie Hendry absolutely awesome 5 stars
6/21/01 Strikk i loved it, would have love it better if that *damn* baby would stop crying, so,going again 5 stars
6/21/01 brent young it was a good movie that was very funny. a good show even for non-"disney haters/" 5 stars
6/21/01 brentley Great movie. Trying to imagine what a baby donkey/dragon looks like... 5 stars
6/21/01 Dave Great flick...gotta see ti again 5 stars
6/21/01 YelloMiata@AOL.COM After previewing it, I took my three year old to see it. The whole family loved it. 5 stars
6/20/01 Dorene Williams (Grandmother of 16) Fantastic-wonderfully funny-laugh-a-minute-enjoyed from the beginning to end. For everyage. 5 stars
6/19/01 Katsat Wasn't as absolutely terrific as almost everybody says, but still very entertaining. 4 stars
6/19/01 Jenni This film Rocks. Anything that makes fun of Disney this much-has to be good. 5 stars
6/18/01 Laurie Shrek was fabulous 5 stars
6/18/01 Alan Pretty damn good 5 stars
6/18/01 Zoverax Awesome flick 5 stars
6/18/01 FatKO I enjoyed it very much 5 stars
6/17/01 dan it rules it was soooooooo good 5 stars
6/17/01 James "We can stay up late, swap manly stories and in the morning, I am making waffles" Donkey 5 stars
6/17/01 voyant Shrek is the best prince charming ever! 5 stars
6/17/01 Melanie Skipp this movie made me happier than i've ever been. i like it more than clockwork orange 5 stars
6/17/01 Gizzy Beats those damn Disney films 4 stars
6/17/01 Onyx Fabulous animation, excellent characters..FUNnny! Especially liked the Donkey. 5 stars
6/16/01 Anne A good movie with kid and Adult jokes! 5 stars
6/16/01 Susie Good movie with great music! Good for kids and adults. 5 stars
6/15/01 tim The donkey is fucking awesome 5 stars
6/15/01 tim stevens a hell of alot better than i thought it would be 5 stars
6/15/01 kohawk great. 5 stars
6/14/01 Blinky mmm yummy movie 5 stars
6/14/01 matthew smith the best family film of the year. both Myers and Murphy are a great comic talent 5 stars
6/14/01 The Elusive Comma Nice. Very, very nice. If you haven't seen this movie, go see it. Right now. 5 stars
6/14/01 Jessica Calmettes I LOVED THIS MOVIE - Simply going to have to buy it when it comes out on DVD 5 stars
6/13/01 Anuradha Magee Worth many looks, but I don't think it's all that great for the 8 yr. old and under set. 4 stars
6/13/01 Brad Godfrey it was awsome 5 stars
6/13/01 Elena Korboukh Brilliant animation, great humor, voices of Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy are perfect 5 stars
6/13/01 TheFirkin Very funny but fell just short of hilarious. 4 stars
6/13/01 bullit17 Tame enough for the kiddies, but plenty of laughs for the adults. Outstanding! 5 stars
6/12/01 jimmy Gingerbread Man Rules!!! 5 stars
6/12/01 donald Suprisingly very funny 5 stars
6/12/01 jeff Great Movie 5 stars
6/11/01 Hawkeye I should've known the Merry Men were French.... 5 stars
6/11/01 malcolm i didn't like the idea of Murphy playing a donkey but he steals the show 3 stars
6/11/01 gratis Effects were beautiful, but plot/script HORRIBLE. They don't know what to with CGI yet. 1 stars
6/11/01 Curtis Gifford This is the incredible stolen movie. Nothing original excpet the computer animation 2 stars
6/10/01 Melissa loved your review, loved the movie. Do you know the muffin man? 5 stars
6/10/01 Roxxy Very Funny, but Mike Myers didn't sound like himself. 4 stars
6/10/01 Lydia French Stunning. The computer animation, sound track, writing, actors. Must own on DVD. 5 stars
6/09/01 Emanuel Brewer Shrek is the shiznit! 5 stars
6/09/01 G-MAN Awesome animation with a ton of good one-liners. Most clever movie in a looong time. 5 stars
6/09/01 AgentDS Seeing Cinderella bitchslap Snow White makes it all worth while! 5 stars
6/08/01 Turtle I thought that this movie was going to be cheesy, but I was wrong! A delightful romp! 5 stars
6/08/01 taiko this movie is probably ONE OF THE BEST I'VE EVER SEEN! 5 stars
6/07/01 PerpetualSmile I can't believe it was THIS GOOD. "God bless them, every one" :) 5 stars
6/07/01 Erin Such a cute movie! It makes me so happy, "in the morning I'm makin waffles" :) 5 stars
6/06/01 Andrew Perti A++ Movie 5 stars
6/04/01 Super Nintendo Chalmers 2 thumbs up for the movie, Mike Myers was great as Shrek 5 stars
6/04/01 Jess Three cheers for Shrek, the movie that doesn't suck all ass! 5 stars
6/03/01 moviegoer Delightful! How could nayone not love this mixed up fairy tale? It was intriguing! 5 stars
6/03/01 TigerDream Hey Gail, if you can't even spell the name, you got no business talking about it 5 stars
6/03/01 canuck I saw The Animal today, Shrek was playing next door. I wish I'd gone to Shrek again. 5 stars
6/03/01 Mina This movie was WONDERFUL! Excellent writing, and a COMPLETE story! 5 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse Best part in the movie was the Matrix scene when the princess does the split kicks! Ha ha! 5 stars
6/02/01 Bueller Cleaver, witty, and charming. A thouroughly entertaining film from beginning to end. 4 stars
6/02/01 mjm103171 i enjoyed this a bit 4 stars
6/01/01 Gail Sherk is a dumb fag 1 stars
6/01/01 KIWI IN NY ON PAR WITH TOY STORY 2 4 stars
6/01/01 Kurt Love the parody of Robin Hood and the cat fight between Snow White and Cinderalla. Hah! 5 stars
6/01/01 Debby Marvelously clever! 5 stars
6/01/01 Flame Stryke Great movie. Great dragon. Need more be said? 5 stars
5/31/01 Ria If your feeling down this will bring you up! 5 stars
5/31/01 Rebecca Bond A break from tradtional fairy tales, sarcastic and witty. Graphics were wonderful! 5 stars
5/31/01 brent young a good funny movie that all can really, really enjoy 5 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan It was pretty good. Not quite as clever as I expected. Could've used an extra 20 mins. 4 stars
5/31/01 Osh i laughed so hard i am coughing, gagging for breath 5 stars
5/31/01 rick Outstanding! refreshing! Where do I buy a copy for home? 5 stars
5/31/01 Warok A once in a lifetime movie! MUST SEE!! 5 stars
5/31/01 Matt Bitner Really funny, great movie take-offs and a really well-put-together plot. 5 stars
5/30/01 Jason Heavner All ages will find it enjoyable, hell of a lot better than 'Pearl Harbor'! 5 stars
5/30/01 Big Sal Shrek entertains on so many levels... great movie! 5 stars
5/30/01 Rob Funny shit!!! 5 stars
5/29/01 Janet Percolio This movie is FUNNY AS HELL!!! 5 stars
5/29/01 Heather Very funny movie, full of 'in' jokes, not for kids under the age of 8 5 stars
5/29/01 Bud This is a terrific cartoon. The characters are lifelike and lovable. A real winner 5 stars
5/29/01 ToxicTodd The smartest, most edgy, funniest films to date! 5 stars
5/28/01 Legion Lord Tight ass movie, might look like a kids movie but its not, you gotta see it. 5 stars
5/28/01 Dane Jackson More fun than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick, OW! 4 stars
5/28/01 Oz eyes I walked out holding my side and laughing 5 stars
5/28/01 Sharm this movie made me laugh so hard i cried within the first half hour. it's the id 5 stars
5/28/01 tim adelman best movie in three months 5 stars
5/28/01 AMY ENGLE THE MOVIE WAS GREAT. VERY FUNNY 5 stars
5/28/01 Paul Funny funny movie 5 stars
5/28/01 lezerzan excellent graphics, good story, great comedy...a pleasant surprise! 5 stars
5/28/01 MDurham Absolutely amazing animation and an awsome plot to boot!! 5 stars
5/28/01 Tom Duff The best movie I've seen in years... 5 stars
5/27/01 ROBERT PORTER GREAT ENTERTAINMENT 4 stars
5/27/01 R.J.Ullman Mature film for us warped slobs. GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
5/27/01 The Bomb 69 loved the way it made fun of Disney, but not in a derrogatory way 5 stars
5/26/01 JOHN SHERBY IT IS SUITABLE FOR AN 8-YEAR OLD AND THE JOKES AND REFERENCES ARE TRULY MADE FOR GROWNUPS! 5 stars
5/26/01 DrLauraIsABitch (Doo dah, doo dah) Great film for a geek date. Hysterical. Morbid. Deranged. 5 stars
5/26/01 Doug Jablin How can you not like this movie? It was fun, touching and humorous. Yes I have peaves... 5 stars
5/26/01 FrayLo try it, you'll be surprised... laughs all around 5 stars
5/25/01 mlindaph Enjoyed the hell out of this after a series of grueling work weeks 5 stars
5/25/01 J Erik, taj, MF I have 1 thing to say I SALUTE YOU! (Thom, Eric, Schiz are cool with me too.) 5 stars
5/25/01 kiladogg aw shit. best damn cartoon i've seen in a long while. 5 stars
5/25/01 Drek God, I shouldn't have wasted the money. 1 stars
5/25/01 Turd Ferguson Bloody good fun! Loved the Gingerbread Man! 5 stars
5/24/01 Roy Smith When you start laughing 60 seconds into a movie you know it's gonna be good! 5 stars
5/24/01 G-Money Home Skillet Excellent Comp Animation. Do you know the Muffin Man? 4 stars
5/24/01 Viking Can't wait to check it out !!! 5 stars
5/24/01 JB Has some good moments. Yet 3 stars
5/23/01 chris presta-valachovic a twisted, fast rant on the Disney-fied fairy tale schlock 4 stars
5/23/01 Marilyn This is the best Damn movie i have seen since i dont know 5 stars
5/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I took my demonic little cousins to see it...and was so pleasantly surprised... 4 stars
5/23/01 Xalt Funny, gross without being disgusting, enjoyable. Don't read spoilers first, though. 4 stars
5/23/01 Nastaran M. a great movie with great pictures 4 stars
5/23/01 Jes funny ass movie 5 stars
5/22/01 tnt a fabulous fun time 5 stars
5/22/01 Nessus Awesome. Take no prisoners parodies with excellent dialog and wonderful characters. 5 stars
5/22/01 ThatGuy Great animation; that and the plot blows away Disney dreck. 5 stars
5/22/01 Edward Shandis Laughed hard, still laughing. The animation is unreal, BRAVO to the film. 4 stars
5/21/01 zeitgeist it wasn't that good, you sheep 3 stars
5/21/01 Person McGuy Funny yes, clever yes, but the best part is the sentiment. By the end it's very touching 5 stars
5/21/01 pokey the penguin Not quite as unorthodox as it's made out to be. 3 stars
5/21/01 Zahrim Hype? Nope, it really is that good. 5 stars
5/21/01 mkillroy I laughed, I cried, I peed all over myself 5 stars
5/21/01 Greyjack One of the best films of the year. 5 stars
5/21/01 groovekitten.com amazing, hilarious, uplifting! the 3d work is also astounding 5 stars
5/20/01 Ben I loved it. The humor was constant and sharp. 5 stars
5/20/01 Roy Smith If this doesn't win an Oscar for something then no more crack for Hollywood! 5 stars
5/20/01 Miss Sparkles This movie rocked! Amusing "family" movie you can ACTUALLY take the family to! 5 stars
5/20/01 Fleeb Very impressive. Great range of humour. 5 stars
5/20/01 Louis_Cyphre Funny bad taste humor,but not so funny bad taste look! 3 stars
5/19/01 Trevor Vos Shrek just makes you feel good, plain and simple 5 stars
5/19/01 ntwrage Fucking Awesome 5 stars
5/19/01 Jim Kidd This movie is the best. I love all the anti-Disney scenes in it 5 stars
5/18/01 Blubberbot Looks amazing and the story is good too 4 stars
5/18/01 Thrillhouse Take that Disney, this movie is the best of the best! 5 stars
5/15/01 Dedicated Very funny, worth 8.50 no problem 5 stars
5/15/01 Ted Clever, visually stunning, laugh-out-loud funny for all ages. See this movie! 5 stars
5/12/01 Da Man from Canne Tres funny avec lots of top notch laughs. A real winner 5 stars
5/06/01 Vince Emery Instant classic: extremely funny, hip, and touching; a computer animation breakthrough. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-May-2001 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Jun-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast