Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome51.06%
Worth A Look: 29.79%
Just Average: 17.02%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 2.13%

8 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Sha Po Lang: Paradox by Jay Seaver

Braven by Rob Gonsalves

Den of Thieves by Jay Seaver

Better Tomorrow 2018, A by Jay Seaver

Mary and the Witch's Flower by Jay Seaver

Mom and Dad by Peter Sobczynski

Inferno (1953) by Jay Seaver

Out of the Inferno by Jay Seaver

Small Town Crime by Peter Sobczynski

Dunkirk by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


You Can Count On Me
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Katsat

"...you feel you know these people--and genuinely like them, warts and all."
5 stars

I don't recall having ever seen a movie principally about the relationship between adult brother and sister--and I don't mean the incestuous kind. You Can Count on Me portrays this in such a real, honest, humorous, and heartfelt manner that you feel you know these people --and genuinely like them, warts and all.

Laura Linney especially shines in her portrayal of a seemingly responsible, upright citizen of this picturesque small town, who is not quite as easily understood as she first appears. (She gets my vote for an Oscar.) At the heart of this movie is her connection to her brother, who is also not quite the irresponsible, seemingly irredeemable lowlife he at first appears to be. In a nearly seamless unfolding of plot and character, the characters reveal their complexities and personalities and ironic contrasts. Though they end up no closer to solving their life problems than they were at the beginning of the movie, we end up much closer to them - as people we actually know and care about.

This is not a movie or action and climaxes and revelations and money scenes. It portrays just a few days in the life of a brother and sister, who learn, if nothing else, how much they love each other--unselfishly and simply and dare I say--purely. And that's pretty special.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3907&reviewer=76
originally posted: 04/23/01 14:48:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/03/12 David Hollingsworth Intelligent, uncliched look at sibling rivalry 5 stars
6/22/08 PAUL SHORTT VISUALLY FLAT, UNINTERESTING AND TOO OFTEN FEELS LIKE A FILMED PLAY 1 stars
6/04/07 Bitchflaps Admittedly well made, but overdeliberate drama didn't hold my attention. 3 stars
2/01/07 adam khan fantastic 5 stars
2/28/06 sbpat21 a perfect movie 5 stars
1/11/06 tatum Very good, realistic look at dysfunction 4 stars
5/04/05 Indrid Cold A subtle, intelligent drama; not exactly edge-of-your-seat entertainment. 3 stars
2/21/05 James Wood Very realistic quiet film with outstanding performances 5 stars
5/18/04 Lisa Brost One of the Best Movies I've Ever Seen! 5 stars
3/22/04 daveupho stunning writing + superb performances = awesome film 5 stars
1/22/04 Brendon One of the best films made. Unforgettable! 5 stars
9/07/03 R.W. Welch Existential family drama, convincingly done. 4 stars
7/07/03 Jack Sommersby A near-perfect masterpiece. Linney is extraordinary -- and so is the film. 5 stars
5/31/03 JoeSco Very Good - Laura Linney is excellent and should be an A-List actress on looks and talent 4 stars
12/31/02 Andy Todes finest american film in last 10 years ... easily 5 stars
11/26/02 swahid malook the best film i have seen in a very long time 5 stars
6/14/02 Simeon Briggs Pure high quality, pacing, character development all of the highest standard 5 stars
5/22/02 Phil M. Afficianado Engaging and "real" --- almost perfect, but the "boss affair" didn't have the ring of truth 4 stars
1/23/02 Paco Quiet, mature film. Heartbreaking, funny, and real. 5 stars
1/06/02 daniboy really enjoyable little film 5 stars
12/06/01 swahid malook it was the best film i had ever seen for along time since mac films 5 stars
9/30/01 David Swinton Great storyline and excellent acting (though can be slow in places) Go see it soon... 5 stars
9/26/01 SJKelley Well acted, well written, engaging. 5 stars
9/18/01 Jim Renwick To many this would be boring but it is simply a very good story on relationships 4 stars
8/18/01 G absolutely boooooringggggg 1 stars
8/07/01 Pierce Lanson A most remarkable unremarkable movie. Laura is extraordinarily beautiful 5 stars
8/06/01 Norm DePlume For fans of psychbabble, the film provides a testbook case of Adult Children/ACOA Syndrome 5 stars
7/12/01 bobbuttons i really enjoyed it 4 stars
7/07/01 Reini Urban The best "major" 2000. Only "Eureka" beat it. 5 stars
7/05/01 Sue Takes a good look at sibling relationships 4 stars
7/03/01 Monday Morning Loved Laura Linney. As for story, too many issues felt unresolved at end. 4 stars
7/02/01 The Bomb 69 good but overrated, solid story and performances, ending was weak though 4 stars
5/12/01 kenstillman ken lonergan hates all the current clichés I hate and avoids every single one of them 5 stars
4/11/01 Jay By far the best film I've seen all year. 5 stars
4/02/01 Kirsten So very true. Love, love, love this film. 5 stars
2/19/01 puckfreak Wait for video 3 stars
2/11/01 Jake Excellent film. A refreshing change from the mainstream. Great cast and story. 5 stars
2/06/01 Angela the most amazing movie that I've ever seen --- I went to the theatres 4 times! 5 stars
1/29/01 janelle see it. you WILL like it. 5 stars
1/11/01 Katsat Very real, touching. Linney has star quality--a prettier, more appealing Helen Hunt 5 stars
12/29/00 Charles Linney & Ruffalo convincingly depict the love/hate tension of sibling relationships 5 stars
12/17/00 Politicsman A good indie in a crappy year does not make this awesome 3 stars
12/16/00 Angus moorehead Now, people who can actually act. Mel Gibson should learn from this movie 5 stars
11/28/00 vitamin_D not one to whip out "fucking awesome" -- this is solid writing, good acting 4 stars
11/26/00 cathyz wonderful, funny, totally engaging 5 stars
11/26/00 lissa hugely affecting--a totally original movie about everyday life 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Nov-2000 (R)
  DVD: 26-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Jul-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast