Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome: 21.57%
Worth A Look39.71%
Just Average: 14.71%
Pretty Crappy: 20.59%
Sucks: 3.43%

15 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Meet the Parents
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Stiller is funny, DeNiro can be very very funny...so why ain't I laughin'?"
2 stars

I will admit to laughing a lot during "Meet The Parents," however as a complete film, there is a lot missing. Normally, for a comedy to work, there has to be some form of an original idea or creativity, and while the latter of that is present, the story in the film is tired and old: the falling apart of a man who meets his girlfriend's parents.

This happens to Gary Focker (don't say the last name out loud), played by Ben Stiller in another fine comedic turn. As the movie beings, he is in love with his girlfriend Pam (Teri Polo), and wants to propose, but then Pam's sister announces she is getting married. Bad timing for Gary, who has ideas of proposal as well. Next thing they know, they are on a plane and heading to meet her parents.

Gary, of course, is nervous in meeting Pam's folks, Jack (Robert DeNiro), a rare floral designer, and his wife Dina (Blythe Danner). Gary eventually goes crazy when he finds out what Jack really is, a CIA agent who is a human lie detector.

One of the biggest problems of "Meet The Parents" is that very plot description. It's tired and unoriginal, and executed by director Jay Roach in a sitcom format that could have easily been an hour spent infront of a TV. Of course, with the clout of DeNiro and Stiller together, this would never happen, but still...

That being said, the film has some laughs, mostly with Stiller, including an airport scene towards the end that is so well done that I thought it would have been funny to have this whole film take place at the airport with its bad security ("If it's not fit to frame, it's not getting on the plane!"). A female flight attendant gets big laughs as an uptight woman following the rules, not knowing how bad she looks in doing so. As I am a firm believer that airport security is a joke, these scenes are masterfully done.

While DeNiro is hilarious, alternating between happy and mad very well (and even learns a lesson at the end), and Stiller is equally catching as the soon to be son-in-law, some of the remaining cast isn't up to par. Teri Polo is terrible as Pam, who has zero chemistery with Gary in any of the scenes they are together; she was better in "The Arrival" as a romantic interest to Charlie Sheen, here she's a dull and uninteresting one to Stiller. Blythe Danner seems to show up in films now as "the mother to Gwenyth Paltrow" instead of her own actress.

I so desperately wanted to see more of both Owen Wilson and James Rebhorn, in very underwritten roles. Wilson plays an over-rich, ex-fiance to Pam, who is great in his few scenes and has the film's best line when he shows Gary and Pam a wood altar("Pretty amazing since it took me 70 hours to carve it from one piece of wood."). Reborn, one of my favorite character actors, only has a few minor scenes as a plastic surgeon to the father, and I laughed out loud when he tries to strangle the family cat. Rebhorn certainly needs more character roles. I hope this one helps him.

The whole movie is sporadically funny, but it needs more substance. The finale of the film might have been more funny if it wasn't completely given away in one of the theatrical trailers. Which is sad because Stiller is so funny in this scene, but in advertising, one shouldn't use such material that will end a film.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3916&reviewer=350
originally posted: 07/08/04 23:57:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

12/10/10 Jeff Wilder Has some funny moments. But beats certain jokes into the ground. 3 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING COMEDY WITH A GOOD CAST AND WELL TIMED GAGS 4 stars
10/07/09 Kay D. I really like this movie. I has some very funny moments. 4 stars
12/20/08 Shaun Wallner Laughed my ass off! 4 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt very funny, ben stiller is classic, love De Niro 4 stars
8/24/07 Quigley One of the most overrated comedies of all time. The cat stuff was funny, though. 3 stars
6/30/07 johnnyfog Not funny whatsoever! Gabage! 2 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
1/23/07 Matt Fokking hilarious-DeNiro is in the form of his life! 5 stars
12/04/06 David Cohen If you saw the trailer, you saw the best parts of the film 2 stars
8/16/05 ES One incredibly funny scene- involving remains, wrapped in a crust of blah= watch if bored 3 stars
6/11/05 Gecko Fanfoot Ben Stiller's character is a poor bastard who never gets a break. Hysterical! 5 stars
6/01/05 Chris Highly discouraging for those with a girlfriend 3 stars
5/12/05 Jennifer Regan Super funny! 4 stars
2/18/05 swamprat Good concept- but B 2 stars
2/12/05 John Bale Modest comedy what his some funny moments generally on the dark side 3 stars
12/03/04 Akio Don't really need to watch. Some peple need this sort of movie to laugh, I guess. 3 stars
10/17/04 Miles Morley "The cat doesn't even have thumbs, Focker!" 5 stars
9/09/04 cate dissapointing 2 stars
8/11/04 Jen crazy funny 5 stars
7/25/04 Katie This movie is AWESOME!! It is SO funny! 5 stars
7/25/04 DM Not funny, just mean 2 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz Very funny 4 stars
7/19/04 Northerly Pinkline is a loser 3 stars
7/13/04 Alfred Guy This movie is just funny! Stiller is great. 5 stars
5/13/04 John has its moments but never really takes off 3 stars
1/23/04 Elena This movie was garbage. Most predictable 'plot' EVER and characters sucked. Die Stiller die 1 stars
11/30/03 Bill Jiken 5 stars
10/01/03 estheticaura An interesting quest for an in-laws approval. 3 stars
8/12/03 Pinkline Jones Very good - De Niro can do anything. Excellent script 4 stars
8/01/03 Double G Awesome Movie, Stiller is funny as hell 5 stars
7/13/03 helloooooo this movie sucked 1 stars
7/05/03 Jack Sommersby Devoid of both laughs and interest. De Niro in a septic-tank joke. Alas! 1 stars
6/21/03 R.W. Welch Stiller and DeNiro just might be the next Laurel and Hardy. Good comedy of errors. 4 stars
6/20/03 John Aster Habig An awesome date film too bad I don't have a girlfriend 5 stars
5/15/03 Piz I still recite lines from this movie,a real winner, funny! 5 stars
2/27/03 y2mckay Some of Stiller's best work. Almost makes up for Zoolander. 4 stars
2/05/03 123 Funny ! this is what ben stiller's best role is, being a loser and harassed all the time 5 stars
2/01/03 Hi there Funny! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Funny, but I wish DeNiro would get serious again 4 stars
10/05/02 melody probably one of the most hilarious movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
9/04/02 Justin Great Film! 5 stars
9/03/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar A hilarious movie that adults will relate to. Teens will not understand much of the humor. 5 stars
6/10/02 Renee Keener Flawed but on the whole watchable. Where cat goes to poo is hilarious! 4 stars
5/26/02 Nicole I don't get what is so funny about this movie 3 stars
5/26/02 Film Guy Stiller & Deniro are hillarious in this movie. A Great movie 4 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn Stiller is not funny, The Deniro character pushes to the extreme, witch is not funny also. 3 stars
5/16/02 Darlene Groetz The movie where Ben Stiller became a zombie of the tragic wands. 3 stars
4/27/02 Butterbean I was surprised by how dull this movie ended up being. 2 stars
4/23/02 Danielle Ophelia Unpretentious, surprisingly honest and very, very funny look at Murphy's Law. 4 stars
4/09/02 The Grinch ROFL! Gets better each time I see it. 5 stars
3/26/02 RJ Shafran Best movie ever i saw totaly funny!! humorous!!! 5 stars
3/19/02 Jim Funny, but you can't buy champagne from drug stores in New York State 4 stars
3/13/02 Renee Keener Flawed but at times uproarius comedy. Where cat goes to poop is side-splitting. 4 stars
3/06/02 Jack Hunter Just go right into the DVD, avoid all previews and trailer, and the pic is a lot of laughs, 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver I couldn't stand it. One of worst films I have seen. 1 stars
12/08/01 Lena I am crazy about Robert De Niro,I have seen almost all films of him,my best is "Heat". 2 stars
12/08/01 Delphine Ramsay Couldn't stop laughing, Love DiNero , Kudo's 5 stars
11/04/01 MissyWalks Watch it every time it's on. Love it. 4 stars
10/23/01 Tony It sucks, predictable cheap laughs 2 stars
10/10/01 Mike Its funny in spots. Worth a look 3 stars
10/01/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny Movie. 4 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix Stiller and De Niro are hilarious. 4 stars
9/21/01 Focker H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S 5 stars
7/26/01 moviegoer Pretty Good... 4 stars
7/02/01 Phil M. Afficianado Very funny and well acted. You will (as Gizzy says) keep laughing for a while afterward. 5 stars
6/20/01 Tzila Seewald It's was scerwball laughing all time since he meets his girl's parents! 4 stars
6/12/01 Gizzy the volleyball scene is a classic...i'm still laughing just thinking about it 4 stars
6/07/01 Wave The jokes are predictable, BUT THE ACTINGS ARE JUST GREAT!!! 5 stars
6/03/01 Socutejd Not what its cracked up to be 3 stars
5/04/01 Dennis O'connor Fockin' funny as hell... Stiller is a pisser... 5 stars
3/31/01 ~*Co_Co*~ Fantastic. Pissed myself from beginning to end. De Niro does it again! 5 stars
3/22/01 Alyssa Tried to do a "Something about Mary". Too over the top. Too predictable. 2 stars
3/21/01 Wyatt Earp Boy. That sucked. 1 stars
3/08/01 Amanda Turkes Was an outrageously funny movie 5 stars
3/08/01 Aaron Correll It's one of those movies were you just look at ways life can bite you in the ass. 3 stars
3/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Oh God, I'm about to meet my British boyfriend's parents...HELP??? **laughs** 4 stars
2/16/01 Jake Not quite what I expected, but has its shining moments 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright Excellent comedy, one of the best of the year. Loved Ben and Robert's performances. 5 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Gay Focker; this movie is a fockin' riot!! 5 stars
1/30/01 Monday Morning Way above average. Some classic comedy moments 4 stars
1/29/01 Matthew Bartley I thank God De Niro will never be my father in law 5 stars
1/26/01 Iggy I saw it twice - on purpose!!! 5 stars
1/19/01 viking funnier than Austin Powers 4 stars
1/14/01 Yoshi Loved it, Ben Stiller is so cute! De Niro was fantastic. Great Focker! 5 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 With Midnight Run, Analyse This and now this Robert Deniro can be a great comic actor 3 stars
1/07/01 FatDog Ben Stiller is great and DeNiro really delivers a great performance. Very entertaining. 4 stars
1/02/01 neil bartlett not bad at all.A step up on most romantic comedies 4 stars
12/30/00 kevin this movie made me laugh so much. Deniro was great, never see him in a funny role. A+ 5 stars
12/27/00 Tom oh yeah, it was good, but i'll agree with Edward, Tom Green would have been better 4 stars
12/02/00 Phil Milking a cat..........is funny. 5 stars
11/18/00 Tom Hit a chord with me. I couldn't stop laughing 5 stars
11/17/00 Edward A Leonard Some funny shit, DeNiro is awesome as usual, Stiller's part COULD have gone to Tom Green. 4 stars
11/10/00 The Bomb 69 pretty funny, the pace of the movie was off though 4 stars
11/08/00 Patti I was pissed for hours after I saw this stupid, overdone, self-conscious piece of shit. 1 stars
11/05/00 natasha I'm still laughing....... 5 stars
11/03/00 Rob total letdown. bad writing, bad jokes, bad acting, stupid story, unidentifiable characters 2 stars
10/30/00 That Guy Not bad, but disappointing. Stiller sucked. 2 stars
10/27/00 Troy Meet The Parents has to be the funniest movie of the year! DeNiro and Stiller are the best! 5 stars
10/27/00 extar-bags It may not be The In-Laws or Annie Hall, but its still pretty damn good. 4 stars
10/22/00 Blubberbot Enjoyed the Trailer more than the movie. 2 stars
10/21/00 YOUR Movie Expert Funny as Hell.....Funnier than Scary Movie. Volleyball game is funniest part 5 stars
10/18/00 liquid Pretty funny movie, makes you appreciate the inlaws a bit more! 4 stars
10/18/00 Ground Zero nice acting, some LOL (laugh out loud) moments, but still a damn good movie 4 stars
10/14/00 Greyjack Intellectual: No. Funny: Yes. Very Funny: No. 3 stars
10/11/00 bison intellectual: no. funny: yes. very funny: yes. 5 stars
10/11/00 Xalt Reviewer Muskewitz has it right. The ROFL moments were great, though. 4 stars
10/10/00 Paige Not even worth a rental. 1 stars
10/09/00 PJ It was pretty funny, DeNiro and Stiller make a good team. 3 stars
10/09/00 Trepak The cast is wonderful and totally realistic. They have the best chemistry 5 stars
10/08/00 Ground Zero not bad, a few good laughs 4 stars
9/30/00 merkin Could be called "Something About Mary 2" 4 stars
9/16/00 JB Saw this a few months back at a preview screening. Its not bad. Great acting. Not original. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Oct-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Jay Roach

Written by
  Jim Herzfeld

Cast
  Ben Stiller
  Teri Polo
  Robert DeNiro
  Blythe Danner
  James Rebhorn
  Owen Wilson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast