Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 27.78%
Worth A Look43.83%
Just Average: 6.79%
Pretty Crappy: 15.43%
Sucks: 6.17%

10 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Blade II
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"A Rockin' Great Time That Even Outdoes The Original"
4 stars

When people discuss 1998’s vampire action tale, Blade, starring the oft-poor decision making of one Wesley Snipes, invariably you will hear someone say that they weren’t looking forward to it. Then they saw the first ten minutes, a decathlon of time that will forever be brought up whenever a discussion of Blade commences. Now comes the sequel and those who tried to convince me that Resident Evil was just a fun ol’ time at the movies are about to rethink their praise. Because after they see the first ten minutes of Blade 2, they’re likely to issue an apology and understand what was missing from that catastrophe.

Within ten minutes, Blade 2 offers audiences a cavalcade of incredible action, thick blood and enough quality kills to please any fan of the original. It also exudes everything in its two opening sequences that Resident Evil was missing in just about every frame and it just gets better from there. Snipes (who has finally found a role that suits his karate skills) reprises his role as the half-vampire, half-human vampire hunter. The movie picks up several years after the original, but never forgets its roots by reintroducing us to key plot points from the first hunt.

The 1998 film was originally going to end with an epilogue where Blade’s “Q”-like mentor in vampire killing, Whistler (Kris Kristofferson) was resurrected as a nocturnal fanged one and tracked down in Russia. That ending was scrapped but, as suggested in the DVD commentary, is where the sequel was planned to begin and so it does. Blade continues his quest for Whistler, who has been turned and whisked away from country to country like some museum exhibit. Blade has another helper now in Scud (Norman Reedus), a grungy little guy who isn’t exactly trustworthy of his master’s “father figure.”

A new mission confronts Blade, when he is asked by the League of Vampire Nations to lead them in destroying a new pack of vampiric creatures known as “the Reapers.” Led by Nomak (Luke Goss), these evil little buggers are conducting their focus on taking bites out of their own kind, forming a new viral strain that threatens to wipe out the League and unleash a new terror unto the world. Much like the Fellowship of the Ring, Blade’s new “Blood Pack” consists of a wide variety of eager warriors, including the League leader’s daughter Nyssa (Leonor Varela) and confrontational Rienhardt (Ron Perlman) whose exchanges with Blade are some of the film’s most entertaining moments.

But that’s just the humor, which is less intrusive and more well-assured than in the original. The pseudo-humorous Macaulay Culkin gestures that Snipes emitted in the original have thankfully fallen the way of the coffin. Laughter is just the spice on the main course of action though, which prove to be so well-filmed and full of “wow” moments that a profound sense of “oh yeah!”-giddiness may populate your experience. (An extended nightclub sequence even outdoes the original.) The first hour is full of one great kick-ass sequence after another, with each better than the previous and providing some unique surprises during the battles about characters that may even perk up the most cynical of shell-shocked action fans to go “that’s what I’m talking about!”

Exposition (which nearly dominated the second act of the original) would have to show up sooner or later and, indeed, Blade 2 begins to slow down a bit into its second hour. A visit to the sewers had me worried that director Guillermo del Toro was up to his Mimic tricks again by stopping the action and staying put in a stationary battleground, like the train car of his giant bug film. But del Toro continues to deliver the goods well into the third act showdowns with a more-than-solid pacing and a distinct look that appears Xeroxed direct from the pages of a comic book.

If Blade 2 lacks in any department, it may be the continued presence of a major villain. While Nomak menaces his way quite well with a Nosferatu-esque appearance, Blade is setup for so many face-offs that its hard to get invested in one particular climactic mano-a-mano. A potentially intriguing love interest for Blade is left a bit undeveloped and I wondered how if Blade is able to make Whistler go cold turkey in just 24 hours (in an oversimplified plot thread), why can’t he just do the same for other vampires? Maybe because last minute pardons don’t exactly have the same spark as the execution.

These are all nit-picky queries though, because all things being equal, Blade 2 surpasses the original, a fete accomplished by very few in the sequel’s game. It’s easy to praise the original higher than usual because it was such a surprisingly good time. The expectations of a second chapter can easily set audiences up for disappointment, but you can tell when the filmmakers have a confidence in their material and having fun at the same time, which is where Blade 2 delivers. (Even when the Crouching Matrix Tiger antics turn into a duel between two obvious CGI creations, I didn’t care because I was having such a blast.) This film is filled to the brim with blood splatter, terrific special effects, headkicks, face-to-floor smashes, body-to-wall pummelings and enough fun to have people talking about more than just the first ten minutes.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3922&reviewer=198
originally posted: 03/21/02 15:17:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

10/29/16 morris campbell way better than the original bloody good sequel 5 stars
8/17/09 PD On the 8th day, God Made Blade 2. This is the Greatest Movie Ever Made! 5 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/22/08 JM Synth Boring, incoherent and unpleasent 2 stars
6/21/08 David V Step down from the first. 2 stars
6/16/07 al smith far better than the oringinal.great action sequences 5 stars
4/11/07 rimrhino As much as I liked the first, this one was MUCH better. 5 stars
1/20/07 del Infinitely better than that festering turd of an original. 4 stars
11/29/06 Stanley Thai Probably the best flick in the franchise. 4 stars
9/02/06 Dragon The Artist Enough with the nerdy video game concepts, Like I said,shoulda been in a more "vampiric"era 2 stars
8/01/06 dan just as good as the first film 5 stars
4/02/06 Onions! Onions! Geekiest film ever made 1 stars
3/29/06 Josh Standlee Honestly, this is one of my top 10 favorite movies of all time!!!! 5 stars
2/11/06 dresdan same old boring crap, but fairly well made 2 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw INFINITELY better than the straight-to-video quality original. 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Even better than the original= kick ass 5 stars
8/10/05 AmandaGhost Yes, it outdid the original, but...so does just about any shitty movie... 5 stars
8/10/05 celia At least Snipes doesn't do anymore of that "Home Alone"-esque "Yesssss" crap here... 5 stars
8/09/05 Krull Guillermo del Toro can do no wrong...well...except maybe MIMIC... 5 stars
8/08/05 Dredd Definitely severed heads and shoulder above the toilet bowl original... 5 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield Blade 1 = Feces. Blade 2 = Surprisingly, a blast. Trinity, uh, haven't seen yet... 5 stars
8/07/05 Usagi Yojimbo People LIKED the original piece of dross and HATED this?!?!?! What a world we live in... 5 stars
8/07/05 Jasper Makes the original look like...well...the turd that it is...del Toro RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/22/05 Martin A sympathetic enough "villian" and outstanding choreagraphy. 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A sequel that although not as good as the first, is still a good sequel 4 stars
12/13/04 Alf Awesome film! 5 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul WAY too much CGI.It would have been very good if it didn't look so cartoonish. But it does. 2 stars
12/04/04 Gray real vamps vs fag goth + Wesley Snipes? me like! 5 stars
5/09/04 Daveman Major improvement over the tedious original. More action less pretentiousness and plotholes 3 stars
1/16/04 Dean great effects 4 stars
1/12/04 American Slasher Goddess A little better then the original, it has more gore, too,but still far from being good. 2 stars
9/23/03 jack when i saw this movie, i went home and bit my dog on the neck! awesome flick! 5 stars
9/21/03 Rick Howells #1 fan!!!!!!! best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/03 I Would Better than original with a better plot, better pacing and better effects. 2 and 1/2 stars 2 stars
7/27/03 Rona Dissatisfying sequel to a fantastic original. Formulaic. Lacked intensity. 2 stars
6/10/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
6/08/03 Ripper Who cares about the story, Blade is the ultimate badazz 4 stars
6/07/03 Pete Pure crap 1 stars
6/04/03 Charles Tatum Cool 4 stars
5/19/03 Mr Yellow GRREEAAT 5 stars
4/13/03 Doopy Nomak wasn't as good a villain as Frost was but it's still a decent superhero flick. 4 stars
4/07/03 B. McNeal This film kick major arse! 5 stars
3/05/03 Dina Smith This was an alright movie. Better than ''Vampires'' anyway 3 stars
2/12/03 Loyd This movie is good but the thing is that its the same thing as the first.Blade needs blood. 4 stars
2/06/03 123 like the zombies, characters in this movie are lifeless 3 stars
1/20/03 Andy Bronson if you enjoyed the action in this movie search the net for Donnie Yen films 4 stars
11/29/02 Susan Great film, adored the action sequences 5 stars
11/03/02 Rob Entertaining but dumb! 4 stars
10/23/02 Interrog8 Lacked what made the first one great. But it was still fun. 4 stars
10/07/02 Tweeter I enjoyed the special effects and gada love the hottie vampire played by Leonor Varela 4 stars
9/30/02 some dude the soundtrack was bad i didnt like it the house of pain techno music wasnt on it 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound A sequel that stays true to the original and doesn't loose it like most others. 5 stars
9/26/02 Tim A sequel that was even better than attack of the craps this summer. 5 stars
9/20/02 palaboy101 Blade is the coolest vampire movie to date... This sequel further establishes that! 5 stars
9/18/02 Danielle Ophelia Gloppy gore, dark & dirty atmosphere, and kung-fu battles set to techno music...I'm happy. 4 stars
9/12/02 John McNew Hey, Phoenix. The top critics seem to like it, Roger Ebert gave it 3.5/4 stars 4 stars
9/08/02 othree actually a solid movie, one ? thou when did vampires become ninjas 4 stars
9/01/02 Doc Shock Great mindless action entertainment, if you're in the mood for that sort of thing. 4 stars
8/21/02 jade It was like one hell of a rollercoaster ride!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/18/02 Shams Huque Fine entertainment! 5 stars
7/15/02 JS With fight scenes like that, it should've been called Blade II: Smackdown 4 stars
7/14/02 ! Awesome special effects, blade 1 was better, third would be the same AGAIN... 4 stars
6/26/02 Jonathan Davis good movie, no bell curve, more like an up down straight up movie 4 stars
6/25/02 Natalie Stonecipher An endurance test. Worse than wiping my butt with sandpaper! 1 stars
6/20/02 Jenny Tullwartz Filmed in Prague but not worth Czeching out. Interminable & monotonous. 1 stars
5/17/02 Phoenix Even better than the first, which was great. What the fuck is those movie critics problem. 5 stars
5/16/02 big t awsome 5 stars
4/25/02 Shane Robert Myers This WAY!!!!!! better than the 1st one & alot more action & thrills!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/21/02 Bruce WOW! I was impressed! tons of action and thrills 5 stars
4/08/02 Eloise lotsa fighting - not much else. B1 was much better 3 stars
4/08/02 Jim Lots of action, but kinda disgusting even by my standards! 4 stars
4/07/02 Koitus The first one was MUCH better. This one is OK, as long as you go with the right mindset! 3 stars
4/07/02 Brian Movie kicked ass, possibly the best horror/action i've ever seen! 5 stars
4/04/02 Daniel Fuck you if you don' t like it 5 stars
4/04/02 Obi Wan I loved all the action sequences, no matrix ripoffs, good fight scenes! NEXT!!! 4 stars
4/02/02 Titus Poor plot, poor dialogue, unsatisfying action sequences, idiot characters. Frustrating. 2 stars
4/01/02 M. Lloyd More mindlees violence than you can shake a stick at. Get a big tub of popcorn for this one 4 stars
3/31/02 KMG If I wanted low-budget action garbage I would've watched a Stalloner 1 stars
3/28/02 DAN WRIGHT HELLO PLOT WHERE ARE YOU, OH THERE YOU ARE BUT YOUR ALL FULL OF HOLES 1 stars
3/28/02 Janine Lay I love Wesley Snipes, What can I say? I agree, plot sucks but great gore and fights 4 stars
3/27/02 Spyguy2 A nut-filled turd. 2 stars
3/27/02 melissa Blade II was the best movie I've seen in years, it really does the vampires justice 5 stars
3/27/02 malcolm super-violent, choppy story,not as good as the first 2 stars
3/27/02 wintermute I am still cleaning gizz of my movie seat 5 stars
3/25/02 Daedalus Why do my comments get deleted? I want people to know Blade 2 sucks. 2 stars
3/25/02 the Knave Well, other than being a CGI-enhanced repeat of the first movie's plot, it was fun. 4 stars
3/25/02 Roy Smith Violent. Gory. Bring the kids! Why is Whistler alive though? 4 stars
3/25/02 ntwrage It was shit, a big steaming pil of shit. 1 stars
3/24/02 Mike Miller Bad Ass Fucking Sequal to a Bad Ass fucking Movie! 5 stars
3/24/02 Rockitman007 pretty good sequal 4 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Well, I'm a sucker for vampires, blood, gore and other gross crap. Thoroughly enjoyable. 4 stars
3/24/02 UnkleFukka Peter/Claude...go suck a Canadian dick 5 stars
3/24/02 Peter Very bad! Absolutely ridiculous!!! Another american trash movie! For low I.Q. 1 stars
3/24/02 Claude A piece of shit! 1 stars
3/24/02 Brilanna This was much better than the first one. It was packed with non stop action. 5 stars
3/23/02 john WHO CAN STOP BLADE?!... 5 stars
3/23/02 Mikey Levy I am fat 5 stars
3/23/02 Daedalus Too many tired old plot devices. Action made it only slightly enjoyable at best. 2 stars
3/23/02 The Bomb 69 nice storyline with the mutated vamps, blood and gore is good 4 stars
3/22/02 E unreal movie, just plain fun 5 stars
3/22/02 WorkingClassDog If you are not looking for action stay home. 5 stars
3/22/02 Butterbean The action scenes weren't as impressive, but the storyline is much better! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Mar-2002 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Jul-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast