Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.66

Awesome: 13.56%
Worth A Look: 18.64%
Just Average: 15.25%
Pretty Crappy: 25.42%
Sucks27.12%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings



G.I. Jane
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"The title's a little too cute."
2 stars

Blech.

The best scene in this movie is when Demi Moore shaves her head. It's a star being stripped of her vanity, shearing her locks with a Pretenders song blaring in the background. It's here where the audience has the best chance to change their view of her. If every scene were to have the impact (emotional) of this scene, this movie could work.

But it doesn't.

It's not because it's a feminist movie.

We root for Demi's character, rather than sympathize with her, because it's expected of us. But we just don't buy into her as being this tough as nails woman who wants to be a Navy SEAL. She doesn't, at first; it's all a publicity thing. But then she gets into it and goes for it. If she were at all believable, it'd work.

But it doesn't.

She's not even the most interesting character here: that distinction belongs to Viggo Mortensen as Demi's commanding officer. He's tough, he's brutal, he's arrogant, he's got this weird mustache going that makes him look like a 70's porn star. He steals the show.

Demi? Well, Demi gets tough and proves herself to her commanding officer and her teammates. Happy ending.

Hollow, but happy.

It's a strong female character, but not necessarily a strong female role model.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=396&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/01/98 00:29:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/14/14 Jamie Fantastic movie, loved it, Demi and Viggo. I do agree that this reviewer is an idiot 5 stars
10/04/14 PAUL SHORTT NOISY AND CONTRIVED 1 stars
8/16/13 charles LOVED IT--THE REVIEWER IS AN IDIOT 5 stars
7/17/13 KingNeutron I liked it - Demi looked hot despite the toughness 4 stars
3/25/11 woah-ho-ho A loada crap. Ev'one got a badass attitude in d flick. A 5'1" Vietcong would blow her away 1 stars
8/17/10 lksdjflskdfj The reviewer is an idiot who likes to here himself talk. 5 stars
4/27/10 Robert Silly pap which degrades the real spirit of the American warfighter 2 stars
12/24/08 Monday Morning Could have used more bosom. 3 stars
2/13/08 mb A walk into sharp points, well manoeuvered. Good movie. 5 stars
1/28/07 Sepi53 great film. Demi is GREAT GREAT!! 5 stars
12/28/06 Kimberly Awesome movie. Demi kicks butt! 4 stars
11/12/05 andrei buena muy buena 5 stars
8/19/05 ES back when the world thought Viggo was a man 3 stars
6/09/05 Monday Morning Too long by about two hours. 2 stars
4/09/05 dwarzel Who wants to tell her that GIs are in the ARMY? 1 stars
3/15/05 Ronin If you are even a little interested in Special Forces you will like this movie. 4 stars
2/22/04 Elizaveta I actually really liked this film...filmlink is right though, viggo's the best part of it. 4 stars
2/06/04 Terene Troutman Great movie 5 stars
1/16/04 Ubu the Ripper A cinematic catastrophe. Why does any movie house bother to hire Demi Moore? 1 stars
12/10/03 john demi Moore is actually doing a goodjob but the premise doesn't work 2 stars
10/24/03 BratlerJlo Not crap but much to improve upon 2 stars
5/11/03 hoover makes us proud 5 stars
2/17/03 skkkdjr Another tough bitch flick. 1 stars
12/31/02 KMG VIGGO....PUNISH ME!!!!!! 4 stars
3/02/02 Jenny Tullwartz Demi Moore irritating, unconvincing in the role, and ugly in the shower. 1 stars
1/27/02 Mel Good and straight to the point (not a soap opera) 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Other than Demi's chest shots this was just painful 1 stars
2/15/01 Jake Good study on overcoming adversity. Chemistry between Moore and Mortenson. 4 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith Better than I expected 4 stars
9/26/00 Terrie Smith Nothing really exceptional; some scenes are a bit much. 3 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Better than I expected, but still not enough to save Demi's fledgling career. 4 stars
6/08/99 Lucas jackson okay women in the army,bull shit,get na life Demi 1 stars
4/24/99 mkitterman I found it derivative of Cannonball Run II. 1 stars
12/09/98 Scion of Graveheart Now she's Miss American Heroine. God, no. I've never seen anything that sucks. 2 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink A very guilty pleasure! "suck my dick"-scene is destined for camp-status 4 stars
10/21/98 Babylon Bounce That title says it all. Better than that G.I. Joe crap. 2 stars
10/16/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Hey G.I. Joe, meet your worst nightmare! Demi Moore is so full of blah 2 stars
9/27/98 katherine i killed the person that told me this was a good film. ive never seen anything stupider. 1 stars
9/11/98 kanatcha blah 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Are we anti-men or what> Expected women to leave the theatre and beat on me. Yeesh. 2 stars
8/20/98 {{{OZ}}} She fucked Redford for cash, then she stripped for cash. Now she's Miss America. No. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Aug-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast