Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 12.7%
Worth A Look: 19.05%
Just Average: 3.17%
Pretty Crappy33.33%
Sucks: 31.75%

5 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mimic
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Spooky. But not spooky enough."
2 stars

Ah! Giant bugs!

A few years ago, Guillermo Del Toro made a movie called Cronos that scared the crap out of me. So I was mildly interested in Mimic for that reason alone.

I could get past the fact that Mira Sorvino's being chased by giant roaches, just so long as it was all explained to me. Alas, it wasn't.

The mutuations were explained, and the plot was pretty thorough. But not once - not once - was it explained how an inch long cockroach could jump to over 6 feet tall in just over three years time. The movie is also pretty dingy and dark, and Del Toro knows when to build up the music to a crescendo to maximum scare effect. Maybe it's atmosphere and maybe it's just trying to cover shoddy effects work. When the payoff comes, when we finally see the beasties up close...the wind's out of the sails. Had the filmmakers gone with exclusively animatronics, instead of a mix of puppets and CGI, things might have been different. But the digital bugs stand out alike a sore thumb from the puppets, and any real effect we get from seeing them is lost. There are moments of suspense, but no real gore.

This movie might have been better had Sorvino played her entomology expert with the voice of Linda from Mighty Aphrodite. At least then we could've laughed intentionally rather than when a giant bug showed up.

Ah! Mira Sorvino!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=399&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/24/98 10:21:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/16/16 fqtrar USA 5 stars
1/30/16 Alexis H Where science once again brings mankind to its knees 5 stars
2/08/15 david froman this film sucks bug turds 2 stars
6/05/10 art MIRA SORVINO SURE GOT MUCKY! 1 stars
8/11/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Boring!!! 1 stars
6/13/08 PAUL SHORTT A DARK, DANK AND DERIVATIVE HORROR RIDE 1 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Just another Bug Flick 2 stars
3/10/07 Roy F. Moore Forget the poor sequels to this good original. Solid film, fair acting. 4 stars
8/29/05 ES expected a whole lot more, forgettable and bad movie 2 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson AN ABSOLUTE BLAST! Mira Sorvino's great beauty, professionalism, and acting are remarkable 5 stars
10/14/04 Vince I think it was pretty good. Certainly doesn't deserve the Total Crap rating. 4 stars
9/28/04 Aaron Smith Pretty good. Entertaining. 3 stars
8/25/04 American Slasher Goddess Atmospheric and suspenseful. 4 stars
6/04/04 tatum Starts well, get progressively sillier 4 stars
2/21/04 R.W. Welch Overly familiar big bug pic, fails to hold interest. 2 stars
1/16/04 J Why can't they just use a shotgun or an M-16 4 stars
11/26/03 he werid movie 2 stars
8/14/03 Shams Huque I really enjoyed it. 5 stars
6/27/03 Giddy A damn good movie 5 stars
6/22/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
6/12/03 Jerry Fuck you,people!! FUCK YOU ALL!! 5 stars
6/08/03 Jack Sommersby Good-looking, but derivative and unoriginal. 2 stars
5/19/03 Bob I thought it was great 5 stars
7/28/01 Steve Pretty damn bad, not even worth rental, but not mind-numbingly shitty enough for 1 star. 2 stars
2/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Who do I have to kill/maim/screw to STOP these people??? 2 stars
6/05/00 Matt Thiel Ranks along with Mercury Rising as movies that weren't even TRYING to be good! 1 stars
12/23/98 Cartman's Symphatizer Screw you all (including your movie)! 1 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Screw you and you stupid movie. Total balls and everything about this shit movie. 1 stars
11/24/98 Fred To all responsible: FUCK YOU! (and your movie too) 1 stars
10/15/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! really cool directing and atmospheric FX, Mira Sorvino struts her stuff perfectly. 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Moronic premise. Why do female scientists have to be glamorous? Pretty stupid film. 2 stars
8/24/98 {{{OZ}}} Absolute and total balls. Was most unentertained. 1 stars
8/18/98 Johny Nice atmosphere entertains despite formula goingson 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Aug-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast