Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.95

Awesome: 5.26%
Worth A Look: 7.02%
Just Average: 21.05%
Pretty Crappy: 10.53%
Sucks56.14%

2 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Return of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Not as bad as I thought it would be."
3 stars

I would like to say here I am a big fan of the original...

YES I AM REVIEWING A SEQUEL AGAIN!!!!

This though surprised me a bit..

The first I loved.
The second I was amused at.
The third sucked.
This one.. well it ain't that bad..

The things that save it are the acting, especially from Matthew Maconoughughyghyghydoghghhay..(whatever), who can act evil like the best of them (much humour comes from his robotic leg). Ms Zewelleger ain't too bad either as a scream queen.

The atmosphere is suitably uncomfortable and the direction is well paced.

BUT...

The plot is incoherent.
OK, we got people stranded in woods. Help arrives. Help want to kill them. People get slowly killed off, one survives, help is actually paid by someone to scare people????? WTF is that all about? It seems as if they really had trouble getting the plot across.
Also they made Leatherface into a psycho transvestite, instead of a confused retarded man who knows no better.

But all in all it ain't that bad a film as long as you forget to try to comprehend what the plot turns into and you like this type of film..

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=407&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/02/98 11:27:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/17/11 g-spot crap 1 stars
5/08/10 mr lovalova Ri-cock-ulously terrible. Seriously. 1 stars
12/20/09 FrankNFurter Was this supposed to be a comedy?It was like Beverly Hillbillies meets Silence of the Lambs 1 stars
6/10/09 art the first chainsaw movie,was a protype for FRIDAY THE 13TH<,HALLOWEEN,MY BLOODY VALENTINE 1 stars
5/02/09 TJA How did this garbage get made? It would have confounded Ed Wood. 1 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner This movie stinks!! 1 stars
4/16/08 cody the worst of the whole series, just plain annoy but only thing was renee and matthew 2 stars
11/07/07 LeatherWaste If I could give it less than one star, I would! 1 stars
10/21/06 Robert The most entertaing of the bunch, would be nothing without Lisa newmyers death and screams 4 stars
10/06/06 RogerEbert Anyone giving this more than one star should get a visit from Leatherface 1 stars
10/01/06 JM Synth Loud, relentless and stupid, but not boring; much better than the tedious remake 3 stars
5/23/05 E-FUNK Better than part 3... Goes to shit when Leatherface cross-dresses. Conaughey's great. 3 stars
11/17/04 horror_blood Piece of crap. Tries to be the original but fails miserably. 1 stars
9/26/04 Dreamless This movie is strange.It doesn't resemble the earlier parts. 3 stars
7/15/04 Witchfinder Total Crap insult to the series 1 stars
4/10/04 valerie hart i think most of these suck coz they lack blood and guts 2 stars
1/26/04 Eric Thank God for Matthew.Leatherface sucked in this movie 4 stars
11/02/03 Laurel sucked 1 stars
10/31/03 American Slasher Goddess Godawful mess, only good thing about this movie is McCoughney's perf. 1 stars
10/19/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 um, ya 1 stars
10/17/03 Samuel Justus Isn't this called Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN A STRONG OPENING LEADS TO A DUMB ENDING-AND LEATHERFACE IS SUCH A WUSS 2 stars
6/29/03 Randy Robinson I really enjoyed this movie. Granted it wasn't smart or original but it was really fun! 5 stars
6/07/03 Akira It's stupid like all other whore..i mean horror flicks 1 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik So, is there anything good about this "movie"? Well it didn't kill me. Hey wait a minute... 1 stars
3/19/03 Jack Sommersby Some OK trashy fun to be had. McConaughey is a hoot! 3 stars
2/15/03 Ross Didn't understand it at all 1 stars
12/18/02 Film Dude What the fuck is wrong with you people? This movie SUCKS. 1 stars
12/16/02 Charles Tatum Craaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaap 1 stars
12/14/02 Myra Breckinridge Near-brilliant, consciousness-expanding blend of Psycho and Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? 4 stars
9/22/02 Grossed Out Confusing, pointless, & unsettling but effectively like the original. Stupid stupid stupid 1 stars
8/31/02 movie guy GREAT 5 stars
3/02/02 Chowie what is wrong with all you people, wtf is this movie on about? This sucked 1 stars
12/24/01 r b this movie was the best ever it had good actors like rennee zellwiger and lisa newmyer 5 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 kinda dumb, screwy.... 2 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk McConaughy is the best ingredient in this failed recipe...best of all the sequels 3 stars
5/31/01 Roy Smith everyone involved with this is or should be embarrassed by it. 1 stars
12/10/00 vinnie st. john good moments,but a confusing end. sorry kim henkel! 2 stars
8/01/00 Bender Totally Mindless, but somewhat enjoyable on that level. 3 stars
2/10/00 steve layne Not Bad, but some people hate this movie. It is moronic, but still funny and pretty good. 4 stars
1/13/00 Chrissy T I'd rather get a root canal than watch Leatherface do his Shelly Winters routine! 1 stars
6/16/99 J-Dogg A total, embarassing piece of shit, this film totally fucks up the original. Unbearable. 1 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Stop fuckin' with Leatherface. 1 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Love me some Zellweger. This movie stank up the joint. 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress the first one was awesome, the second one was good, this one sucked ass. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Aug-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast