Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome48.89%
Worth A Look: 40%
Just Average: 6.67%
Pretty Crappy: 2.22%
Sucks: 2.22%

2 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pump Up the Volume
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Talk hard, indeed."
4 stars

Happy Harry Hardon. That's funny.

I knew people who saw this movie and immediately decided they were going to start up their very own pirate radio station and rule the airwaves.

Yeah, because we all know that the midwest is the epicenter of social unrest.

Anyway. I like this movie. It's actually one of the few (if only) Christian Slater movies I do like, and that's basically because Samantha Mathis is in it. But I guess it really sort of captures all that teen angst of the late 80's/early 90's, all wraped up in one neat little package: Slater's pirate DJ gets to spout off about his angst. And dammit if the people don't start to listen.

Fine performances and a decent soundtrack. Not a bad flick.

I think we all need pirate radio setups in our homes. Because as we all know, parents are never nosy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=424&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/09/98 11:21:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/06/14 PAUL SHORTT POWERFUL, FAST-PACED TEEN REBELLION DRAMA WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
5/20/06 Evyatar best movie ever 5 stars
4/14/06 joey squids one of my favorite movies of all time...christian slater put on a hell of a performance 5 stars
12/15/05 George Franklin Free Radio Lives! 5 stars
7/27/05 joel highly underrated. intelligent, well crafted, and entertaining!!! 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Awesome movie with a message that hits home! Can watch it over and over again. 5 stars
1/14/05 Jeff Anderson A smart and brilliant film. Christian Slater and Samantha Mathis give great performances. 5 stars
5/08/04 stacy awesome! 4 stars
3/31/04 andy if ur 12 yrs old this is the best movie ever 5 stars
9/01/02 cami Brings me back to high school. Love it !! 5 stars
4/24/02 m m 5 stars
3/15/02 katie best movie i have ever seen, can relate to it in so many aspects 5 stars
8/30/01 Johny Alan Ray Didn't see it until 10 years after its release, but I was still wowed. Christian was king 5 stars
7/05/01 mjm103171 excellent teenage movie. loved it! 5 stars
2/28/01 brad.c it is a OK film but wouldn't see it again unless i had to 2 stars
2/09/01 Dan Cook A film that can change lives! 5 stars
1/27/01 Heather Bonsall This film s hard to find in England, but it is worth a lot of searching. 5 stars
1/14/01 God The best movie about teens made!!! Yeah!!!! 5 stars
10/25/00 Phreeq Totally amazing and powerful movie 5 stars
9/29/00 dave handley thought-provoking...? 4 stars
9/08/00 Angus Flenley A fantastic film. Made before 90's teen angst was such a marketable product. 5 stars
8/12/00 Bender Thoughtful, funny and entertaining. The only downfall is that it's a little uneven. 4 stars
4/08/00 perverted pixie "Now Im depressed. Now I feel like killing myself, but luckily Im to depressed to bother!" 5 stars
3/26/00 The Quintissential Teenager A totally surprising slice of attention-grabbing movie brilliance. Slater is astounding 5 stars
2/11/00 steve layne The Most thought-provoking teen movie since the breakfast club. 5 stars
2/07/00 frank paratore 1 stars
10/14/99 Melissa "The Truth Is A Virus" and this film gives you a killer dose!!! 5 stars
9/22/99 Matt Definately one of Christian's best. One good movie!! 5 stars
11/06/98 {{{OZ}}} Not too old to kick your ass, sporky. haha. Kick ass movie though. 4 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Should be mandory viewing for both Teens and Parents....But not together! 4 stars
9/21/98 spork-girl i just love the fact that oz changed his mind after seeing it again. he's old. haha. 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Angry teenage fluff. Fuckers left Leonard Cohen off the soundtrack album. How dare they! 3 stars
8/20/98 {{{OZ}}} I watched it again and... well... it's not aging well. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast