Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 2.78%
Worth A Look: 2.78%
Just Average36.11%
Pretty Crappy: 27.78%
Sucks: 30.56%

2 reviews, 24 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

Wrinkle in Time, A by Peter Sobczynski

Kill Order by Jay Seaver

Detective Chinatown 2 by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Holy Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Just a harmless rom-com-drama"
3 stars

Heres something that I didn't expect....

A film in which Eddie Murphy totally acts subtly! And he is very good at it. No laughs, just smirks.

Well this film is basically a love story , a story of a man on his own pilgrimige (Eddie Murphy), and a criticism of the TV networks.
It would take too long to tell the story so I won't, but suffice to say here again the plot is rehashed and familiar (You know if the hero makes a mistake and appears cruel, all will be resolved)

Jeff Goldblum is the other main lead (as a tv exec.) He is very good but still playing himself, he's likable enough. But Eddie murphy overshadows him as the harmless holy man.

This film is not demanding, and it is just a harmless rom-com-drama, which should be seen on video instead of cinema.

So it's harmless enough, just not outstanding.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=429&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/01/98 09:08:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/29/09 the dork knight Cheerful movie, but no real message or funny jokes. 3 stars
10/27/08 Mack A fun movie with alot of heart, Goldblum and Murphy shine in particular. 3 stars
6/28/08 John Millheim Very, very, very boring, I fell asleep 1 stars
11/26/07 Tony S This movie has a wonderful moral theme, I loved it. Made me feel real good about myself. 5 stars
11/30/05 hibbyX Oh, Eddie, Eddie, Eddie...what happened to you? 1 stars
8/24/05 ES if eddie murphy is in this and he doesn't do anything, is it worth seeing? 2 stars
6/06/05 Anthony G movie sucks? 1 stars
4/28/04 X An unholy mess 1 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden Eddie Murphy Is The Only Reason To See This. 3 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat After a few times, it sort of sucks, but Eddie and Jeff are cool. 3 stars
8/07/01 TLsmooth You are a we-todd-it if you even remotely enjoyed this shithole. 1 stars
6/12/00 Dimlight Holy crap Batman 2 stars
4/06/00 SID I don't know what to think. It wasn't really funny, but it was entertaining, I guess. 3 stars
2/20/00 arnold horrible 1 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Zzzzzzzap! Holy shit! 3 stars
12/12/98 Carl A great family film with a great message: swallow your pride and do what is right! 4 stars
12/04/98 frank the watchman very nice flick 3 stars
12/02/98 chi-fan Just shoot me now. This movie was zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.... 1 stars
11/22/98 Michelle Manning I can't believe I stayed in the theater !! 1 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Not really a good choice for a come back film. 2 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Oh. My. God. 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz What in Godís name was Eddie Murphy thinking? 2 stars
10/12/98 grunter JUST AVERAGE is JUST NOT GOOD ENOUGH - Murphy's a has-been. 1 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  09-Oct-1998 (PG)


  05-Nov-1998 (PG)

Directed by
  Stephen Herek

Written by
  Tim Schulman

  Eddie Murphy
  Jeff Goldblum
  Robert Loggia
  Kelly Preston
  John Cryer
  Soupy Sales

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast