Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look35.29%
Just Average: 14.71%
Pretty Crappy: 11.76%
Sucks: 13.24%

5 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Commuter, The by Jay Seaver

All the Money in the World by Jay Seaver

Proud Mary by Jay Seaver

Florida Project, The by Jay Seaver

Paddington 2 by Jay Seaver

Phantom Thread by Peter Sobczynski

Phantom Thread by alejandroariera

Bullet Train by Jay Seaver

Dawson City: Frozen Time by Jay Seaver

Hostiles by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Clay Pigeons
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Dark Comedy Isn't Thrilling or Funny Enough"
3 stars

Clay Pigeons (** ˝) - I really wanted to like this film because of two reasons - Vince Vaughn and Janeane Garofalo. Both of them are terrific in this film continuing to impress with each performance. But I can't and this is why.

First of all, Joaquin Phoenix is not impressive in the slightest as the film's lead. With all this bad stuff happening to me - I didn't really give a shit because he's not very interesting. Phoenix made a much more sympathetic victim in his last recent film (also with Vince Vaughn) Return to Paradise. He seems so dumb that it makes his To Die For character look like a poet laureate. He just resembles another loser hick who makes some bad decisions in life. His character isn't all that well written and underdeveloped and as the film's hero that's a huge error - especially compared to the charisma of the Vince Vaughn character who's original and funny and the Janeane Garofalo character is very interesting but isn't in the film long enough. I wanted to see more of her and she doesn't even enter the film until at least the 45-minute mark. The one scene their two characters have together is the film's best and it left me wanting more. Second of all - the pacing of the film is very nonchalant. Things just kind of develop and develop - while all the time - not really developing much. This is a 104-minute film that should have been either cut down to 90 or given a rewrite to make the additional 14 minutes interesting (unfortunately they'd probably still involve the Phoenix character). The film maintains a humorous dark tone for most of the way (when the pacing isn't dragging it down) but the film's climax is too muddled for it's own good.

I liked what it was headed towards but ask yourself two questions - Is it likely that the Garofalo character would discover the truth by looking at a cigarette? and what exactly are they implying by the ending. Whatever - because it's a real shame that this could have been a fun autumn movie instead of just a good attempt with two wonderful performances.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=433&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 23:58:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good dark comedy 4 stars
1/05/15 Donny Weintraub Awesome A must see!!! 5 stars
11/19/11 Kyle Great film... Vince Vaughn's lame now but he's epic in this(maybe better than Swingers.) 5 stars
8/04/08 mr.mike It was very well done. 4 stars
7/26/05 love the last half hour of the film was preety unlogical! 3 stars
3/23/05 dana Gordon Absolutely one of my most favorite dark comedies. 5 stars
8/02/04 Jennifer Dominguez Once again, Janeane Garofalo steals the movie with her twist on the newyorkish fbi agent. 4 stars
4/08/04 jessica man vince vieluf is so freakin sexy in this movie! god i love him! 5 stars
12/30/03 LIAM JACKSON vince vaughn has a gift for playing twisted fucks. 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink What the fuck was this all about? Badly acted and the script's all over the place. avoid! 1 stars
11/13/02 Matt S. Vince u rule man cant wait 2 see u sometime 5 stars
11/01/02 Dana I Vince Vieluf is really funny 4 stars
4/30/02 gary asshole fuck that shit 5 stars
3/09/02 Jen I'm stalking Gregory Sporleder, thus, my rating... 5 stars
8/24/01 Jackie Didnt see but vince vieluf wasprolly good casehe was great in rat race...HE IS SO CUTE!!!!! 5 stars
5/06/01 Vítor Ribeiro Very, Very good!!! 5 stars
2/15/01 Becka I love this movie. Joaquin Phoenix is great. 5 stars
9/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'm not gay, but Vince's bulge was the best thing about this move. 3 stars
4/13/00 cb "Well Fuck Me!" 5 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney great comedy, fishin 5 stars
10/12/99 JonnyAngel this movie still sucks 2 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch Kinda like "the Hitcher" crossed with "Wild Things"..well, no, but great movie! 4 stars
9/29/99 the Grinch Kinda like "the Hitcher" crossed with "Wild Things"..well, no, but great movie! 4 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the murder investigation scenes were cool. 4 stars
5/28/99 Gina I hated it. 1 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson I wanted to like it, but it left me with a bad taste, kinda like eating shit. 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm well written, directed, and acted movie 5 stars
3/06/99 CYaniDERuSH one fucked up movie...i liked it 4 stars
1/28/99 Scott Stipe I enjoy Vince Vaughn and Janene Garafalo, no matter what, good movie 4 stars
11/03/98 The Dude This movie was so fuckin bazzare , AND I THOUGHT IT KICKED ASS 5 stars
10/28/98 Miss Stress this movies was fuckin twisted, that's prolly why i liked it. 5 stars
10/26/98 Jumbles Fargo-like film within a smaller world. Characters are great, but action too plot-driven. 3 stars
10/23/98 Vincent A very amusing film with GREAT performances by the 3 main leads (YAY GAROFALO!!!) 4 stars
10/21/98 Negative Creep Lester Long needed more screentime. I also liked Phoenix and His name is Leaf GodDamnit 4 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz well-polished but rote exercise in spiraling neo-noir, dressed up with deadpan support. 3 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Really enjoyable. Vince and Garofolo, baby!! 4 stars
10/04/98 Joe damn cookie, this film sucks 1 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Garofalo kicks all hiney. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Jan-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast