Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look35.29%
Just Average: 14.71%
Pretty Crappy: 11.76%
Sucks: 13.24%

5 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Clay Pigeons
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Dark Comedy Isn't Thrilling or Funny Enough"
3 stars

Clay Pigeons (** ˝) - I really wanted to like this film because of two reasons - Vince Vaughn and Janeane Garofalo. Both of them are terrific in this film continuing to impress with each performance. But I can't and this is why.

First of all, Joaquin Phoenix is not impressive in the slightest as the film's lead. With all this bad stuff happening to me - I didn't really give a shit because he's not very interesting. Phoenix made a much more sympathetic victim in his last recent film (also with Vince Vaughn) Return to Paradise. He seems so dumb that it makes his To Die For character look like a poet laureate. He just resembles another loser hick who makes some bad decisions in life. His character isn't all that well written and underdeveloped and as the film's hero that's a huge error - especially compared to the charisma of the Vince Vaughn character who's original and funny and the Janeane Garofalo character is very interesting but isn't in the film long enough. I wanted to see more of her and she doesn't even enter the film until at least the 45-minute mark. The one scene their two characters have together is the film's best and it left me wanting more. Second of all - the pacing of the film is very nonchalant. Things just kind of develop and develop - while all the time - not really developing much. This is a 104-minute film that should have been either cut down to 90 or given a rewrite to make the additional 14 minutes interesting (unfortunately they'd probably still involve the Phoenix character). The film maintains a humorous dark tone for most of the way (when the pacing isn't dragging it down) but the film's climax is too muddled for it's own good.

I liked what it was headed towards but ask yourself two questions - Is it likely that the Garofalo character would discover the truth by looking at a cigarette? and what exactly are they implying by the ending. Whatever - because it's a real shame that this could have been a fun autumn movie instead of just a good attempt with two wonderful performances.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=433&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/14/00 23:58:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good dark comedy 4 stars
1/05/15 Donny Weintraub Awesome A must see!!! 5 stars
11/19/11 Kyle Great film... Vince Vaughn's lame now but he's epic in this(maybe better than Swingers.) 5 stars
8/04/08 mr.mike It was very well done. 4 stars
7/26/05 love the last half hour of the film was preety unlogical! 3 stars
3/23/05 dana Gordon Absolutely one of my most favorite dark comedies. 5 stars
8/02/04 Jennifer Dominguez Once again, Janeane Garofalo steals the movie with her twist on the newyorkish fbi agent. 4 stars
4/08/04 jessica man vince vieluf is so freakin sexy in this movie! god i love him! 5 stars
12/30/03 LIAM JACKSON vince vaughn has a gift for playing twisted fucks. 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink What the fuck was this all about? Badly acted and the script's all over the place. avoid! 1 stars
11/13/02 Matt S. Vince u rule man cant wait 2 see u sometime 5 stars
11/01/02 Dana I Vince Vieluf is really funny 4 stars
4/30/02 gary asshole fuck that shit 5 stars
3/09/02 Jen I'm stalking Gregory Sporleder, thus, my rating... 5 stars
8/24/01 Jackie Didnt see but vince vieluf wasprolly good casehe was great in rat race...HE IS SO CUTE!!!!! 5 stars
5/06/01 Vítor Ribeiro Very, Very good!!! 5 stars
2/15/01 Becka I love this movie. Joaquin Phoenix is great. 5 stars
9/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'm not gay, but Vince's bulge was the best thing about this move. 3 stars
4/13/00 cb "Well Fuck Me!" 5 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney great comedy, fishin 5 stars
10/12/99 JonnyAngel this movie still sucks 2 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch Kinda like "the Hitcher" crossed with "Wild Things"..well, no, but great movie! 4 stars
9/29/99 the Grinch Kinda like "the Hitcher" crossed with "Wild Things"..well, no, but great movie! 4 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the murder investigation scenes were cool. 4 stars
5/28/99 Gina I hated it. 1 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson I wanted to like it, but it left me with a bad taste, kinda like eating shit. 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm well written, directed, and acted movie 5 stars
3/06/99 CYaniDERuSH one fucked up movie...i liked it 4 stars
1/28/99 Scott Stipe I enjoy Vince Vaughn and Janene Garafalo, no matter what, good movie 4 stars
11/03/98 The Dude This movie was so fuckin bazzare , AND I THOUGHT IT KICKED ASS 5 stars
10/28/98 Miss Stress this movies was fuckin twisted, that's prolly why i liked it. 5 stars
10/26/98 Jumbles Fargo-like film within a smaller world. Characters are great, but action too plot-driven. 3 stars
10/23/98 Vincent A very amusing film with GREAT performances by the 3 main leads (YAY GAROFALO!!!) 4 stars
10/21/98 Negative Creep Lester Long needed more screentime. I also liked Phoenix and His name is Leaf GodDamnit 4 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz well-polished but rote exercise in spiraling neo-noir, dressed up with deadpan support. 3 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Really enjoyable. Vince and Garofolo, baby!! 4 stars
10/04/98 Joe damn cookie, this film sucks 1 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Garofalo kicks all hiney. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Jan-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast