Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.47

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look35.29%
Just Average: 14.71%
Pretty Crappy: 11.76%
Sucks: 13.24%

5 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Clay Pigeons
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by FrankG

"Don't fear the pop-stars... it's well worth the trip."
4 stars

Another fine movie that is nothing like its promos.

"Clay Pigeons" is being billed as a comedy. Why? I don't know. I guess because Janeane Garofalo is in it... so it must be funny. *Grunt* Don't get me wrong, it has funny parts, but so does every movie (except "Wayne's World"). I just don't think that "Clay Pigeons" had a level or amount of comedy in it to be a comedy. I'd call it a "psychological thriller." So, now that that's said, lets move on.

Joaquin Phoenix (Waa-keen Fee-nicks... for us fo-netik folks) (Clay) is small town mechanic who finds himself in the middle of a multiple-murder investigation, of murders he did not commit. I don't like to give things away, so that's all I'll say. I'm the reviewer you'll just have to trust.

All the characters were awesome! I put 50% of the credit to the actors, and 50% to the writer, Matthew L. Healy. His first writing credit, from what I can find. You love everybody you are supposed to love, and hate everybody you are supposed to hate. And Healy flips you back and forth on that for some characters.

I want to say that someone stole the show in the acting department, but I can't nail one down. You could say Vince Vaughn (Lester), but his character, the stranger in town, is too built to be the "hey look at me guy." But I will give him this: He was awesome in this role, and I'm watching him closely, because his life is just too damn good right now, and I want to see him fall. But I obsess... er... digress. Joaquin Phoenix, the protagonist, was no slouch either. You really feel bad for the bloke as his life was ripped apart. And how often do you feel bad for white trash? Other then feeling bad for yourself being white trash... which is the boat I'm in. And Janeane Garofalo (Dale Shelby), as always, is kick-ass good. She plays an FBI agent investigating the murders in town. And I think, she might be playing a character that isn't ugly. I don't know what Hollywood's thing is with all her characters being ugly or uncomfortable. If all ugly girls looked like her, paper bag companies would be going bankrupt world wide. I may even say that Georgina Cates did the best of them all. She plays Amanda, Clay's mistress that Clay wants no more. When I said that Healy can make you hate a character, this is the one where you just want to beat the screen.

So, even though I believe this is being billed wrong, it's still a kick-ass story with some kick-ass performances.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=433&reviewer=4
originally posted: 09/30/98 10:08:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good dark comedy 4 stars
1/05/15 Donny Weintraub Awesome A must see!!! 5 stars
11/19/11 Kyle Great film... Vince Vaughn's lame now but he's epic in this(maybe better than Swingers.) 5 stars
8/04/08 mr.mike It was very well done. 4 stars
7/26/05 love the last half hour of the film was preety unlogical! 3 stars
3/23/05 dana Gordon Absolutely one of my most favorite dark comedies. 5 stars
8/02/04 Jennifer Dominguez Once again, Janeane Garofalo steals the movie with her twist on the newyorkish fbi agent. 4 stars
4/08/04 jessica man vince vieluf is so freakin sexy in this movie! god i love him! 5 stars
12/30/03 LIAM JACKSON vince vaughn has a gift for playing twisted fucks. 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink What the fuck was this all about? Badly acted and the script's all over the place. avoid! 1 stars
11/13/02 Matt S. Vince u rule man cant wait 2 see u sometime 5 stars
11/01/02 Dana I Vince Vieluf is really funny 4 stars
4/30/02 gary asshole fuck that shit 5 stars
3/09/02 Jen I'm stalking Gregory Sporleder, thus, my rating... 5 stars
8/24/01 Jackie Didnt see but vince vieluf wasprolly good casehe was great in rat race...HE IS SO CUTE!!!!! 5 stars
5/06/01 Vítor Ribeiro Very, Very good!!! 5 stars
2/15/01 Becka I love this movie. Joaquin Phoenix is great. 5 stars
9/05/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'm not gay, but Vince's bulge was the best thing about this move. 3 stars
4/13/00 cb "Well Fuck Me!" 5 stars
1/25/00 Chris Whitney great comedy, fishin 5 stars
10/12/99 JonnyAngel this movie still sucks 2 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch Kinda like "the Hitcher" crossed with "Wild Things"..well, no, but great movie! 4 stars
9/29/99 the Grinch Kinda like "the Hitcher" crossed with "Wild Things"..well, no, but great movie! 4 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the murder investigation scenes were cool. 4 stars
5/28/99 Gina I hated it. 1 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson I wanted to like it, but it left me with a bad taste, kinda like eating shit. 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm well written, directed, and acted movie 5 stars
3/06/99 CYaniDERuSH one fucked up movie...i liked it 4 stars
1/28/99 Scott Stipe I enjoy Vince Vaughn and Janene Garafalo, no matter what, good movie 4 stars
11/03/98 The Dude This movie was so fuckin bazzare , AND I THOUGHT IT KICKED ASS 5 stars
10/28/98 Miss Stress this movies was fuckin twisted, that's prolly why i liked it. 5 stars
10/26/98 Jumbles Fargo-like film within a smaller world. Characters are great, but action too plot-driven. 3 stars
10/23/98 Vincent A very amusing film with GREAT performances by the 3 main leads (YAY GAROFALO!!!) 4 stars
10/21/98 Negative Creep Lester Long needed more screentime. I also liked Phoenix and His name is Leaf GodDamnit 4 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz well-polished but rote exercise in spiraling neo-noir, dressed up with deadpan support. 3 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island Really enjoyable. Vince and Garofolo, baby!! 4 stars
10/04/98 Joe damn cookie, this film sucks 1 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Garofalo kicks all hiney. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Jan-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast