Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.44

Awesome: 23.01%
Worth A Look29.2%
Just Average: 22.12%
Pretty Crappy: 20.35%
Sucks: 5.31%

6 reviews, 77 user ratings



Road Trip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"For all of us who were anxiously awaiting the next Porky's."
2 stars

It's easy to dismiss "Road Trip" as a cheap attempt to sponge off the popularity of "American Pie", last summer's blockbuster. But that would be unfair. "Road Trip" rips off a whole BUNCH of movies. Not just one. Give them credit for having a big vision.

You ever get together with your friends and act out your favorite scenes from a movie? You ever try to live your life like your favorite movie character? (I did, once, but strapping a bomb to my chest like Christian Slater in "Heathers" didn't go over well with my high school) Well, "Road Trip" is a lot like that. It takes really great scenes from other movies, and acts them out. I'm sure the writing sessions went like this:

"Hey, guys, remember that scene in 'Animal House' where they went to the bar and it was filled with all black people?"

"Yeah! That was a great scene!"

"Yeah! Let's put that scene in OUR movie!"

"Solid! And remember that scene in 'Can't Hardly Wait' where the nerdy guy gets drunk and then everyone likes him and he dances and sings?"

"But that movie just came out a couple years ago! Are you sure we can rip that off?"

"Sure we can. Our audience is made up of idiots. They don't remember anything."

"In that case, I'm going to go watch tonight's episode of 'Friends' and steal jokes from that directly!"

"Neato! I'm going to sell my soul to Satan to get financing for this!"

It's like K-Tel's "College Movie Classics" album; it's got all your favorite hits, but done by a really lame cover band.

La Plot: Breckin Meyer (who still has no personality whatsoever) accidentally sends his long-distance girlfriend compromising footage of him and a hot lady (Amy Smart). He then must take off across America to recover it before she sees it. He and his two mean-spirited and unlikeable friends corral the school nerd into taking his dad's car on a road trip. The nerd learns to be assertive and the car gets wrecked and his dad is really mean. The school nerd's dad is played by Fred Ward. Cameron Frye's dad in "Ferris Bueller" was never seen, so at least THAT's original. Wacky hijinks ensue, which were done better in all the original movies.

What seperates "Animal House" and even "American Pie" from the dregs of this genre is that the characters were genuinely likeable and we wanted them to succeed in their quests. Here, we're expected to like Breckin Meyer because he's the main character. We're expected to like Breckin's asshole friends because they're friends of the main character. The only character on the trip we like is Kyle (DJ Qualls) because he's the only one who's allowed to seem vulnerable and goofy. Everyone else in this movie is too busy looking smug and hip.

Tom Green is in this movie, and depending on whether you like him or not, he's the one original part of this movie. But he just does what he does every week on his TV show. He really has nothing to do with the other cast members or with the plot at all. The writers and director just stuck him into the story because he's popular at the moment. Why did they cast him? Wouldn't it have been cheaper to just insert footage from his TV show into the movie? It would have been about as effective.

The movie's directed by Todd Phillips (who made "Frat House", the documentary about fraternities that was later revealed to be about as realistic as "Spinal Tap") and it's badly shot, edited, and timed. You can almost see the cast members pausing for the laugh track to be inserted.

I dunno; see it if you like Tom Green enough to sit through boring old crap to see him do his thing. Otherwise, rent "Porky's", "American Pie", "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", "Can't Hardly Wait", "Animal House", and "The Best of the Tom Green Show" and just mix and match.

I laughed a couple of times, but that's all. Wasn't really worth it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4347&reviewer=27
originally posted: 05/19/00 17:02:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/09/08 PAUL SHORTT PILES CRUDE JOKES AND GROSS-OUT HUMOUR UPON INSULTING STEREOTYPES 1 stars
8/18/08 Shaun Wallner Well Made! 5 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor Whatever happend to potential 3 stars
5/04/06 tapper real funny you should watch the second one 4 stars
9/14/05 matt very very funny, but plot makes no sense and tom green is funny but useless 4 stars
8/02/05 John Smith This movie RULES, IT"S THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SINCE, 5 stars
7/22/05 Bad Critic An okay movie. Maybe that's because I saw the edited version! 3 stars
1/29/05 movie boi any person who cant c this is funny is a fuckd up prick. fuck u who ses it isnt! FUNNY SHIT 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G hahha 4 stars
5/14/04 Jake heimdahl a very great movie 4 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Talking dog rocked. Fred Ward out of control. Pretty average. 3 stars
3/27/04 Littlepurch Quite funny but disappointing compared to what I'd been told about it. 3 stars
1/07/04 A F Two funny parts in this movie. Amy Smart...num.num.num. 4 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Funny! 5 stars
8/02/03 Curious George Funny 5 stars
7/25/03 R.W. Welch Occasionally amusing road pic. Two or three clever gags. 3 stars
7/24/03 3man Marginally funny and the characters are not very likeable. 2 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? another classic from Tom Green 5 stars
6/08/03 Geo78665 Some laughs, fairly entertaining, but too often mundune. 3 stars
6/06/03 Pascal Get it, it is much better than American Pie! 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Some funny bits, namely Sanz & Green/mouse/snake, but no moral center @ all. 3 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby A bunch of been-there-before nonsense. Amy Smart is unquestionably a babe, though. 2 stars
11/22/02 Charles Tatum Dumb 1 stars
11/01/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) male and female are NOT races, I'm I(L)WIJ! 4 stars
6/14/02 Piz A few great laughs mixed in with everything else you'd expect from a movie with this title. 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi a pisser, but sumhow im guessing that the male race enjooyed this more than the female race 5 stars
5/21/02 patrick mia maber davis 4 stars
4/03/02 actress var. known as Charlize Theron, Ashley Judd, and Angelina Jolie Snarrel movie! Wish I'd been in it! 5 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand funniest of the teen comedies in my opinion 5 stars
2/19/02 Doug Funny. 5 stars
2/19/02 NWO4LIFE Watchable, some laughs, but mostly routine and forgettable teen gross-out flick. 3 stars
2/15/02 Bri Amy naked, funny. 5 stars
9/26/01 bobby mack mia amber davis fine ass hell whats her e-mail adress and send it to me at mackfrost@hotmai 5 stars
9/26/01 Butterbean Out of all those hot black studs, that girl went for that Ramen noodle. Yeah right. 3 stars
6/12/01 orlando g it sucked, but it was THE BEST! 5 stars
6/05/01 The Moorhen A little tip to the ladies.... I'm a guy who's just like Rubin :-) 4 stars
5/21/01 Eric one of my favorite movies! 5 stars
4/24/01 FREMMING FUCK TOM GREEN 1 stars
4/16/01 LiL Well, what a load of sexist horse shit 1 stars
4/15/01 Tam Hysterical. Rubin is my ideal man - why does no-one like him sexist in real life? 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary Everyone says this movie is good. The story line sucks and it is boring, but funny at time 3 stars
2/28/01 marijke great film..i just love rubin..where can i meet guys like him? 5 stars
2/28/01 Phil Peters great movie 5 stars
2/23/01 Marie Kind of funny. 3 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 It rips off a lot of movies, but its still decent. 3 stars
2/03/01 Del R Not too much Tom Green which is a good thing 4 stars
1/16/01 Gary Hardly a speck of originality but i laughed tons 3 stars
1/16/01 hippylad what a fantastic film, seann william scott is a real hottie mmmmmmmmmmm 5 stars
1/12/01 svetlana tom green's fucked up weirdness is its only saving grace 3 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 That Amy Smart bitch is so fucking hot, and tom green is one crazy motherfucker 3 stars
1/05/01 Emily funny, some great characters! 4 stars
12/27/00 Tom That ass orgasm was a fucking crackup!! and Amy Smart is HOT!! oh it's funny too : 5 stars
10/30/00 Matthew Bartley Not original by any means but who cares when it's still really funny 4 stars
9/05/00 Matthew Boxall It's me!!! 5 stars
8/28/00 Juan a few good laughs, loved tom green and the atari guy, its alright. 4 stars
7/29/00 mason no art , no "cutting edge" camera work just pure boneheaded comedy . everyone laughed , yea 4 stars
7/05/00 Pattie barraza not 2 stars
6/13/00 Barry Pinnacle of college movies. PLEASE Hollywood make more of these masterpieces! Tom Green too 5 stars
6/10/00 chouck Funnier than I expected 4 stars
6/01/00 PJ It's not great, it's not bad, it's good, but very funny 3 stars
5/30/00 PhilmPhreak Road Trip - It Doesn't Suck 5 stars
5/30/00 Michael Grimm I agree with The Bomb, hilarious movie that does copy other films 5 stars
5/27/00 The Bomb 69 so what if it copies other films!!! At least it picked a funny movie to copy. Asswipes!!! 5 stars
5/24/00 PhilmPhreak Funny. Amy Smart is hot. 3 stars
5/24/00 Denning If the Atari guy doesn't make you laugh then you need to quit taking life so seriously. 4 stars
5/23/00 Chen Kenichi Yawn, is Tom Green's 15 minutes up yet? 2 stars
5/23/00 Brian Govoni wait til the video comes out, then DON'T rent it. 1 stars
5/22/00 Clarance Great fun and a hilarious movie! 4 stars
5/21/00 Gavin Moore Grade A toilet humor, Tom Greene is funny as hell 4 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte American Pie 2 - French Toast tom green lied it's not that good. 3 stars
5/20/00 Reverend Krule How did i waste my money on this???? 1 stars
5/20/00 mellemel American Pie was way funnier! 3 stars
5/20/00 bobbuttons This movie was great. I laughed evertime Tom Greene was on. Great casting (esp. Kyle) 5 stars
5/15/00 Orgazmo In the tradition of 'American Pie', a raw, gross-out comedy with BIG laughs 4 stars
5/15/00 Justine Briggs At the sneak I saw on Friday the audience LOVED the movie. 4 stars
5/14/00 Thomas Ballard Lesemann Good grief. Haven't there been enough "college kid party movies" released in recent years? 2 stars
5/14/00 TOM GREEN BEST MOVIE EVER!! SAW THE SNEAK PREVIEW 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2000 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast