Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 8.46%
Worth A Look: 10.77%
Just Average36.15%
Pretty Crappy: 30.77%
Sucks: 13.85%

12 reviews, 58 user ratings



Bedazzled (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Damn girl...you sure is THE DEVIL!!!"
3 stars

"Bedazzled" is a Harold Ramis film, and his movies have a built in audience. He has a very precise attitude towards comedy and he knows how to handle it. With all of his films, he's been able to grab a huge laugh out of me, whether it's Robert DeNiro crying in "Analyze This," anything with Bill Murray in "Stripes," Chevy Chase going crazy in "Vacation," or even Bill Murray again in "Groundhog Day." Ramis' "Bedazzled," is an amusing farce that understands the wonderful comic timing of Brendan Fraser and gives Elizabeth Hurley some fun ideas.

Fraser is Elliot, who works for a computer company and is generally disliked by everyone around him, even though Elliot is so eager to please and tries to impress everyone. He's in love with Allison (Frances O'Connor from "Mansfield Park") a coworker that doesn't even know he exists, even if they've been working near each other for over four years.

"I'd give anything to have that girl in my life," Elliot says. To which a strange presence appears, a woman in red who turns out to be the Devil, played by Elizabeth Hurley in a performance that is all sex appeal, all fun. She's so fetching in the film that she reminds me of the dames from old Wilder comedies of the 50's and 60's films that all they had to do was be framed in a good camera shot and they are sexy.

But anyway. The Devil offers him seven wishes for one soul. Elliot is still reluctant that this person has any powers, but as soon as he makes his first wish, he changes into exactly what he wished for, even when the Devil's adventures aren't coming along as promised. One standout scene: "I want to be the most sensitive man on earth", Elliot states, then quickly notices what he said and corrects himself: "I want to be the most emotionally sensitive man on earth."

Elliot's wishes act like dreams, and in fact they are, they are just dreams created by the Devil that go wrong. However, Ramis should have stuck with the great humour throught the film; the last third of the film gets far too dramatic and kind of takes away from the funny stuff previous and it just slightly cracks apart, before coming back with a nice ending.

I'm glad Ramis used Fraser's comic ability to the fullest. He's been sneaking up on us in the past, with his role in "The Mummy" as proof he can own a film. It's pretty hard when someone as lovely as Elizabeth Hurley is so distracting playing a devil mostly wearing red, but they both work off of each other very well. The supporting cast, including Frances O'Connor and Orlando Jones, are servicable.

I had my problems with "Bedazzled," but I still admired its humour. It's entertaining endeavour with good performances and a good flair for visual style (the opening credits with personality tags is a standout), even if you wish it could push a little further.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4351&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/12/04 09:43:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/03/10 brian Dreadful. Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Fraser needs direction; Ramis can't deliver. 1 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt there were some funny parts, Brendan Fraser is always great! 3 stars
6/06/08 PAUL SHORTT A CUTE AND CLEVER, GOOD VS EVIL PARABLE 3 stars
6/23/07 DonnyM Brendon does a great job of proving he is a good actor. 3 stars
1/29/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
3/15/05 Jeff Anderson Some funny parts, but I enjoyed the original Dudley Moore/Peter Cook version much better! 3 stars
12/01/04 Katarina Pretty Good, But Some Parts dont really fit 3 stars
8/16/04 Herolder A lot of fun 4 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
5/06/04 greater good a well balenced movie 5 stars
4/10/04 alpine liz hurley is the most gorgeous sexy woman ever born and how or bad the film is does not ma 5 stars
4/06/04 archangeljen It was just alright, I laughed at a few things. 3 stars
2/10/04 jessica it was anazing. 5 stars
12/08/03 Amanda Locker Harold Ramis is amazing! Don't ever insult him! He is great! 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston You missed it, should of had a hit of so,e fine Humboldt organic. 3 stars
2/17/03 Mitsaso For Harley's sake... 4 stars
11/25/02 bree awesome and funny 5 stars
8/26/02 Dickles McSquick It's...bonertime! 5 stars
8/11/02 Grayyy It's cute watching Liz try her best, but the whole thing still blows 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well...ill go with my rating...pretty bad 2 stars
5/13/02 Danielle Ophelia Elizabeth Hurley's contract with Satan stated she had to play him at least once, I think. 1 stars
4/04/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Elizabeth Hurley always seems to get rotten roles. So why not the devil herself? ~Works. 4 stars
3/02/02 Chowie I'll have to see it again before I can make an educated decision, but from what i remember- 2 stars
1/15/02 David A. Not very exciting--I can't remember anything funny about it. 3 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick ho-hum zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
1/07/02 Andrew Carden OK Comedy. Unfunny, but Amusing. Kills Time. 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean HurleAn average comedy with a great message at the end to all religious zealots 4 stars
8/09/01 chouck all those skimpy outfits and this still sucked 2 stars
7/24/01 Suzanne It was funny at times but overall pretty stooopid 2 stars
7/15/01 Nazi dad Great comedy! Brendan Fraser's a riot! 5 stars
6/08/01 Turtle A bit stupid at times, but Harold Ramis can make any movie great. 4 stars
4/09/01 arnold schwaznaggar uuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrggggggggggggghhh! ugh! plz only watch my movies!!! 1 stars
3/30/01 Jesse L If Hurley got naked it would be worth a look.. 1 stars
3/08/01 The Evil Penguin sensitve, athletic, smart, or creative? YIKES!!!! 4 stars
2/18/01 Avenger Girl Liz makes a great devil, wearing many sexy outfits that would tempt any hotblooded male 3 stars
2/02/01 Pierce Lanson Saw it in full theatre,young audience, five laughs.Pathetic. 2 stars
1/29/01 jasmin its very nice movie 3 stars
1/28/01 hum eh, no big deal, just a mildly amusing easy film. doesnt help that hurley cant act 3 stars
1/24/01 Paul "I am a Columbian drug lord! Ha! Ha! Ha! I can't stop laughing! 5 stars
1/05/01 Emily i though brendan showed good comic acting, but the movie stunk. 3 stars
12/18/00 Joe Cool Yes, It does blow, but the chick looks Good!! 5 stars
12/18/00 Paulsj If you want dum fun, check it out but don`t expect too much 3 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate You should be watching porn films,you must have a permanent boner on. 3 stars
11/06/00 TruckGirl Pretty FLAT. 2 stars
10/30/00 Philm Phreak Brendan's good, Hurley's a babe, movie's WEAK! 3 stars
10/28/00 YOUR Movie Expert It's Analyze This meets Beetlejuice.....Very funny, but no Caddyshack, Vacation, etc. 5 stars
10/27/00 extar-bags It's not the original, but its not bad. Don't be so hard on it. 3 stars
10/27/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Rent the original, its funnier and way classier. Hurley crosses SAG picket lines, FUCK HER 1 stars
10/25/00 bart Lame with a few laughs. Elizabeth Hurley acting lessons from Joan Collins. 3 stars
10/23/00 Frode! Many funny moments, has an uneven ending 4 stars
10/22/00 fishie so so, the acting makes the movie far better. 3 stars
10/22/00 Daedalus Story and acting were weak, but overall better than most of the crap out there. 3 stars
10/22/00 Ground Zero Like Great Scott! said, suprisingly lazy, predictable and uninteresting 2 stars
10/22/00 Ken Kopin If you like "Deal with the Devil" movies, this one is great. Too short, tho. 4 stars
10/22/00 Dan Forget Affleck, Fraser is the new king of Hollywood. 5 stars
10/20/00 Pandora Mildly entertaining; the lesson in trite morality at the end was unnecessary 3 stars
10/20/00 Stuntman Hurley is great. The 2000 remake of the classic movie is badly done and terribly directed. 2 stars
10/19/00 Dan Fraser is devoid of charisma, but Hurley is surprisingly likeable. The movie is hollow tho. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast