Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome61.79%
Worth A Look: 19.51%
Just Average: 13.01%
Pretty Crappy: 0.81%
Sucks: 4.88%

8 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Chopper
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Anti-hero is one thing; a guy you can't stand to watch is another"
3 stars

Andrew Dominik's not-a-biography of legendary Australian criminal Mark "Chopper" Read is an unnecessarily violent film about a man who makes an interesting footnote in Down Under history, but who can hardly command attention for an entire film.

"Chopper," we are told, is "a dramatisation in which creative liberties have been taken." This is a paradox, as the film's protagonist himself is famous for lying and exaggerating. What we're watching, then, is a fictionalized account of a man whose own autobiography is already fictionalized.

The film opens in 1978, when Chopper (Australian comedian Eric Bana) is in prison for kidnapping. In an attempt to gain power over H Division, he knifes a guy quite bloodily; in retaliation, Chopper's one-time friend Jimmy (Simon Lyndon) stabs him up real good.

Everyone hates Chopper now (especially when Jimmy tells everyone his stabbing of him was self-defense), and to effect a transfer, Chopper has a fellow inmate slice his ears off for him. This is shown in considerable gory detail, by the way -- just one of several instances in which the film's violence is given the royal treatment.

In 1986, Chopper gets out of prison and reunites with his girlfriend, Tanya (Kate Beahan), whom he sees fit to beat up at some point. He's also searching for Jimmy, as he wants revenge; Jimmy, meanwhile, is under contract to kill Chopper. Chopper eventually lands in prison again and writes a best-selling book, becoming a cult hero.

There's not nearly enough actual intrigue or suspense to maintain a feature film. Bana is obviously trying to play Chopper like a cruel, wise-cracking bully, but he comes off as cretinous more than anything. It's one thing to have a protagonist who is unsympathetic; it's another thing to have one whom audiences are inclined to hate passionately. I believe it was when he beat up Tanya that I realized, "OK, I can't like this guy anymore, even as an anti-hero."

Even Darth Vader never hit a woman.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4357&reviewer=247
originally posted: 03/12/01 01:31:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell A good portrait Bana is excellent 4 stars
5/22/16 LETSDANCEMUSIC R.I.P CHOPPER 5 stars
3/13/07 leah dat shit was mean 5 stars
8/06/06 ERIN SWEENEY A new classic,it is now on my favorite and must have list 5 stars
7/02/06 Reklc Just say Chopp, Chopp and you got a great flick. 5 stars
6/29/05 Janek Who says crime doesnt pay!! 5 stars
5/10/05 Nick You yanks cannot understand your own pathetic country. Give up and eat another big mac. 5 stars
10/31/04 tom butler fucken ace 5 stars
10/19/04 peter brown fu**ing wild. brilliant film 5 stars
3/23/04 jane absolutely brilliant... 5 stars
3/01/04 michael scott never let the truth get in the way of a good yarn eh. 5 stars
2/04/04 JANINE E DICKMAN HES MY HERO 5 stars
1/08/04 james s awsome 5 stars
1/06/04 Rajneesh Chopra Intakhab IV Dad! 5 stars
12/30/03 tony why isnt there a chopper 2/ 1 was excellant 5 stars
10/15/03 Beck It was absolutley fantastic - Eric Bana Rocks 5 stars
10/12/03 dale auty bloody excellent 5 stars
8/27/03 melissa Best Eva Chop Chop is the best -run for prime-minister 5 stars
8/15/03 Drew Cady best movie ever 5 stars
7/25/03 bill jones great 4 stars
7/03/03 Tim Seed I absolutely agree with Chris Parry 5 stars
6/29/03 fran drescher i played with myself because itwas that good 5 stars
6/25/03 terry a stringer the world would be a safer place with people like him 5 stars
6/23/03 karen mcdonald brilliant but wheres the other stuff they left out ? 4 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Tried to be hip very hard. Too much style, not much substance. Bana was OK 2 stars
4/10/03 Melinda Coady The Govt wanted his $ from this film so Chopper donated it to Child.Hospital. On ya Chopper 5 stars
4/02/03 ohyeah fricken awesome. GIVE ME MORE 5 stars
3/05/03 @#$%^&*!@ I LOVE CHOPPER 5 stars
2/10/03 adam rodwell more,more 5 stars
11/14/02 j.watson shit hot 5 stars
11/11/02 Amber Grassam Great film. Shame alot of things that went on were left out 4 stars
8/02/02 beau mather absolutely fucking wickedly brutally excellent!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/24/02 larry get part two rolling 5 stars
4/01/02 The Bomb 69 interesting storyline but the movie was all over the place, how did he get away with this?? 3 stars
2/16/02 Belinda Jane Chopper let us see the Chopper he wants us to think he is...... 4 stars
1/27/02 Denise Xerri fucking brilliant 5 stars
1/17/02 Davin Boscence Just Bloody Terrific!!! 5 stars
1/12/02 Peter Stisnijovski A movie that you can't sleep thru it (ENJOYED IT and it was funny, but real) 5 stars
12/15/01 denis jared one of the best moves ive seen and the books a must 5 stars
11/25/01 Karl Kissick Greatest Film i've seen in a long time!! 5 stars
10/31/01 Choppers_Girl_Fan The best movie ever 5 stars
10/13/01 Angela Davis the best filck I've ever seen. 10out of 10 5 stars
10/02/01 stephen dilworth excellent 5 stars
9/16/01 renee white i love chopper he is the best 5 stars
8/15/01 anthony west very good 5 stars
5/12/01 The King Great movie, definately worth the money 4 stars
5/06/01 fleakitty charismatic rogue or sociopathic demon? eric bana(na)'s perfect as always. talented man! 5 stars
4/30/01 Mike A none too shabby 5 stars
4/21/01 ricky whitfort very funny movie not far from the truth 4 stars
4/17/01 Robbo Very good 4 stars
4/10/01 Pweter Harshly realistic, incrediable character, unquie 5 stars
4/01/01 wade "bucketbongbouncer" macdonald its tha fuckin best movie 5 stars
3/31/01 fred a bit eerie!!!! 5 stars
2/24/01 Wade Barry like him or not ... absolutley AMAZING ! look at the awards...enuff said 5 stars
2/08/01 hum very well crafted film. be warned, it is as unpleasant as it should be 4 stars
1/29/01 Rubber Fucking Great!!! 5 stars
1/07/01 Jeff Best movie of the year 5 stars
10/12/00 m larsen loved it!!!! 5 stars
9/25/00 Lolita Martinez It was bloody phenomenal!!!!! 5 stars
8/26/00 Timbo Great but the violence made me wince. Fascinating characters, strong acting 4 stars
8/22/00 Geoff Stewart Didn't glorify just lacked any point, do I really give a shit about Chopper Read? 3 stars
8/21/00 Gribbles bloody fantastic mate 5 stars
8/17/00 justin athanitis it is the best movie that i have ever had the pleasure of being able to watch. excelent. 5 stars
8/17/00 neil bartlett an awesome performance from Eric Bana 4 stars
8/15/00 Mick Edwards Eric Bana - Russell Crowe watch out!!! 5 stars
8/14/00 K. Johnson Rather good 5 stars
8/12/00 Belinda And.........the AFI goes to "Eric Bana" 4 stars
8/12/00 ashley james kennedy i have seen it once and plan togo back (still a very good move 5 stars
8/11/00 Nick Excellent 5 stars
8/09/00 Scot Tindall an underdeveloped character study 3 stars
8/07/00 Viling Stop glorifying psychos !!!! 3 stars
8/05/00 ashley james kennedy very good 5 stars
8/03/00 matthew smith the best Australian film in many years, confronting and very funny. 5 stars
7/31/00 filmnet cutting edge filmaking that even chris parry might like! 5 stars
7/23/00 TIGGER Whoa! Soooo cool! I have seen it 5 times and I will see it more! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (R)
  DVD: 13-Nov-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Aug-2000 (R)


Directed by
  Andrew Dominik

Written by
  Andrew Dominik

Cast
  Eric Bana
  Simon Lyndon
  Daniel Wyllie
  Vince Colosimo
  David Field
  Bill Young



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast