Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.1

Awesome: 3.7%
Worth A Look: 6.17%
Just Average: 23.46%
Pretty Crappy: 29.63%
Sucks37.04%

6 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Loser
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"I love when movies review themselves."
2 stars

The title character of "Loser" -- and the most likable person in the movie -- is Paul Tannek (Jason Biggs), a Midwesterner who gets a scholarship to an unnamed New York City university. We are shown in quick montage that he doesn't fit in, mainly because he studies a lot and is slightly clumsy.

His three roommates, Chris (Thomas Sadoski), Noah (Jimmi Simpson) and Adam (Zak Orth), who in truth are the real losers, slipping drugs in girls' drinks at parties so they'll be more susceptible to their sexual advances, are the ones most critical of Paul. To that end, they get him kicked out of the dorm, and he winds up living in a veterinarian's office.

Meanwhile, we meet Paul's classmate, the slightly Goth-chick Dora Diamond (Mina Suvari), who likes Paul somewhat but is having a secret (not to mention oily, creepy and unsettling) affair with their teacher, Professor Alcott (a smarmy Greg Kinnear). Paul and Dora wind up spending a few days together, though, when she almost OD's on the libido trio's secret drugs and has to crash at Paul's vet pad for a few days to recover.

In theory, this is a romantic comedy. It succeeds mildly on the "romantic" part, as Suvari and Biggs have some degree of chemistry together. But their story is so bland, and the circumstances of their coming together so contrived and lame, that it fails to elicit any emotion in the viewer whatsoever.

And the "comedy" part -- forget it, buster. Who would have thought David Spade would be the funniest part of a movie, but sure enough, he is, in his one-minute cameo as a video store clerk. That was the only time I laughed throughout the entire film. And lest you think I'm just a jaded film critic, you should have heard the rest of the audience, too. It was like watching a sitcom with the laugh track removed. The actors seemed to be expecting laughter, but the laughter was not forthcoming.

Jason Biggs is the movie's only redeeming quality. The young man is a talented actor, with an unassuming charm, affable demeanor, and great skill in performing comedy. Even he doesn't seem to realize how stupefyingly terrible this movie is, as it he gives it his all, without ever over-playing the situation.

Despite the presence of many talented actors (except for Greg Kinnear), it is Biggs alone who prevents you from fully despising the movie. Gosh darn it, he's just so nice, and his character so likable, that you really, really want to like "Loser." But you can't. Trust me, you can't.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4361&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/04/03 22:32:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/02/16 Anne unbelievable characters..... 2 stars
4/08/12 keith miron My favoite part is when mena savari sang in the street 2 stars
12/02/10 PAUL SHORTT CLUMSY TEEN COMEDY 1 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef Biggs and Suvari make sparks fly. Some charm and edge. Alright movie. Not a classic. 3 stars
7/21/07 gr117 One of the few movies that almost made me walk out. Awful. 1 stars
10/01/06 Beau good movie, theres just something i love about it, good acting, music and i love mena 4 stars
7/01/05 kyle what song was everclear playing when he went to the concert? 4 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A BIG, BIG DISAPPOINTMENT FROM AMY HECKERLING! Mean-spirited, shallow, & it left me cold. 1 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G horrible 1 stars
5/28/04 Suzette The movie sucked but Kinnear was so awesome! 2 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Hmm, it's okay-ish...Mena is such a cool actor though... 3 stars
8/01/03 Double G why doesn't any1 like this movie 5 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig come on underdog movie=funny movie 4 stars
3/03/03 WestcoastPunk wow 2 hours of shit 5 stars
12/30/02 Jack Sommersby Second-rate writing with second-rate performances. Quite underwhelming. 2 stars
5/10/02 Veronica Foxx Not awful, had a bit more charm and promise than most in its genre, but still unpleasant. 3 stars
4/01/02 Vitality1 My GOD. I am speechless, this movie has inhibited my ability to think. 1 stars
2/05/02 toneely three homos playing three straight room-mates...sooo stupid 1 stars
2/05/02 toneely Hi Were the three room-mates friends of the director? because they sucked so bad!!! 1 stars
2/02/02 Allison Lafferty wish Jason Biggs would play serious character in film not implying all other guys're creeps 3 stars
11/12/01 Kristen Sucked Ass! The only light at the end of the tunnel was when this piece of shit was over! 1 stars
9/17/01 Vicky I think it was a good movie 4 stars
7/20/01 Annie Marshall Thomas Sadoski suched all ass. 1 stars
6/10/01 King Jackass Amy Heckerling usually has pretty good movies... but something went wrong with this one. 1 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse BORIIIING 1 stars
3/12/01 John Callahan Good actors stuck with an awful script 3 stars
12/25/00 The Bomb 69 i like amy heckerling but this shit blew 1 stars
12/15/00 Elvisfan Unbearable; wouldn't watch it again even if I paid to do so 1 stars
11/08/00 D. Bartow I thought it was OK. 3 stars
10/22/00 Justin It was a cool movie,although it could lose the "dating the professor" part 5 stars
9/11/00 Ground Zero like the title says, this movie is for LOSERS! 1 stars
9/03/00 Brianna I thought it was fairly crap & wouln't reccomend it! 2 stars
8/29/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Amy Heckerling is the Anti-Christ. Destroy her NOW. 1 stars
8/26/00 baddazz69r biggs should stick a gun to his head and his dick to a cannon I blew $8 on total shit 1 stars
8/25/00 Stuntman absolute bullshit 1 stars
8/25/00 Joe Levy This movie smelled worse than my brother Mikey's farts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/31/00 noone wasn't bad 3 stars
7/29/00 starbucksweetie "Oh, I guessed they slipped Amy Heckerling a roofie." 2 stars
7/28/00 Dave George This movie fucking blows 1 stars
7/24/00 Chris Bratton Blah, Jason Biggs could have done better. 1 stars
7/24/00 Tom Sadoski Poorly written, everybody's evil & Mena is whiney. But Greg Kinnear is funny & I like Biggs 4 stars
7/23/00 bockharn After 40 minutes, I walked. 1 stars
7/22/00 Digitalus Unfunny movie, somebody shoot Jason Biggs, for God's sake! 1 stars
7/22/00 YO, landa! This movie was depressing and stupid and joked about things that are not funny 1 stars
7/21/00 **~**Persnickety**~** wow, what has the world come to? i thought a shitty movie such as this was beyond possible 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jul-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Aug-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Amy Heckerling

Written by
  Amy Heckerling

Cast
  Jason Biggs
  Greg Kinnear
  Mena Suvari
  Craig Montoya
  Jimmi Simpson
  Thomas Sadoski



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast