Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.54

Awesome38.3%
Worth A Look: 17.02%
Just Average: 13.83%
Pretty Crappy: 22.34%
Sucks: 8.51%

6 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cool Fish, A by Jay Seaver

Under the Silver Lake by Jay Seaver

Ballad of Buster Scruggs, The by alejandroariera

Ballad of Buster Scruggs, The by Peter Sobczynski

Widows by Peter Sobczynski

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald by Peter Sobczynski

Hurt by Jay Seaver

Thugs of Hindostan by Jay Seaver

Intimate Strangers (2018) by Jay Seaver

Papillon (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


But I'm a Cheerleader
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Straight is Great!"
5 stars

Only on the surface is this a campy send-up of ex-gay reversion therapy. Underneath the cute and wacky plastic sheen is a horrifying story of abuse and homophobia where only the bravest sacrifice the comforts of home and family to win back their souls.

Don't get me wrong, this is not any kind of dramatic tear-jerker. It's just so freaking spot-on about all the really lame ideas people have when they think homosexuality is wrong, bad, or can be cured that you'll want to run right out and burn effigies of Fred Phelps of "God Hates Fags" fame.

The Ex-gay movement has been a recent focus of attention in the gay community. Everyone knows its a pointless waste of time but there is a gross fascination with not only the people who want to "help" gays and lesbians become straight, but also the people who try to become straight.

When I went through a Born Again phase I tried to block out homosexual feelings but I always knew that I was gay and that God would always know I was gay too but since God's messengers came up with a bunch of really stupid rules and called it "service" and "worship", I was pretty much fucked and I may as well start picking out my spot in the lake of fire. It took me a while to get over that one. Now you'd think that this whole ex-gay thing would take the same perspective. It's almost Calvinist. Salvation is pre-determined. And all us poor schleps who are left with a void in our spiritual life and deep distrust of organized religion have to wander out into the lavender light and dance under the disco ball of our own glory while we figure it all out.


But enough of Christianity and Homosexuality. And I mean that in the most literal sense possible.

A Cheerleaders parents stage an intervention and send her to an ex-gay conversion camp called True Directions after her vegetarianism and Melissa Etheridge posters make them suspicious that her sexuality just might not be what God intended.

Some of the highlights include RuPaul Charles out of drag as the Boys' Masculinity Counselor wearing a T-Shirt proclaiming "Straight is Great" all the while lusting after the son of the Director of True Directions, who mercilessly tortures the inmates by parading his tight butt around in short-shorts.

But I'm a Cheerleader is fun to look at and painful to watch. The subtext is serious. The underdogs are the teenage victims of a repressive society scared to death of sexuality. All the usual machismo and hetero-sexist idealogies perpetrate on a group of colorful teens forced to examine the root cause of their homosexuality and subject themselves to a five step rehabilition program up to and including an episode of simulated sexual intercourse that would be humiliating if it wasn't filmed with so much camp.

Wickedly funny satire disguising an acidic indictment of homophobia.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4405&reviewer=67
originally posted: 07/10/00 02:55:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/17/16 Dane Youssef This really was a fun movie. A cut-and-notch above most schlocky formula Hollywood junk. 4 stars
5/30/11 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, SHALLOW AND CONTRIVED 1 stars
12/20/08 Shaun Wallner Great story! 5 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt great camp, some funny parts, there are some great characters in this. 4 stars
8/18/06 Taylor Fladgate Not the best ending, but c'mon EricDSnider, it was good! 4 stars
6/14/06 Lisa Hilarious!! One of the campest films ever!!! 5 stars
2/06/06 Anthony How is this movie worth watching 1 stars
2/17/05 axe Has all the depth of Addams Family Values, but it was fun! 3 stars
6/25/04 MAB Loving it 5 stars
4/25/04 Cornelia Really cute 4 stars
10/15/03 Summer This is my favourite movie of all time. 5 stars
9/28/03 Anna it's so wonderful. I love "Graham" and the whole move! tanks for it! 5 stars
8/22/03 nr clea did great 5 stars
8/11/03 jen i liked it 4 stars
7/21/03 M. W. I love this movie! 5 stars
4/01/03 me great 5 stars
3/14/03 HE GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/07/03 y2mckay I could have sworn I wrote a review of this. Am I losing my mind? 3 stars
3/03/03 !! A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/25/02 sarah m to reini urban: that's the point, she can't kiss. it's her first lesbian experience. 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Natasha was hilarious! 3 stars
9/14/02 sally wally I LOVE CLEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/18/02 Michelle Kenobi Funny and Charming. 4 stars
12/16/01 Flagg_Blackstone Katherine's chacter rules. If she wasn't there I probably wouldn't have liked it. 5 stars
12/03/01 John The mere thought of that fat bitch in an orgasmic state gives me dry heaves 2 stars
11/29/01 Hum great sets, good ideas, bad acting 3 stars
9/07/01 Lindsay FUCKING AMAZING!!!!! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! CLEA DUVALL.... RRRRRRR!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/19/01 Reini Urban Nice setting, but she cannot kiss. Bad cast, however gay movies are always funny, pseudo ga 3 stars
8/18/01 jon i luved it 5 stars
8/10/01 Destiny ~_^ I must see it again! ~_^ 5 stars
8/08/01 melissa i'd have liked to see more of katherine towne (sinead...mmmm...), but it was still awesome! 5 stars
7/28/01 Rachel This movie was the She-IT! But I'ma Cheerleader is the greatest film, the greatest I say!!! 5 stars
7/04/01 r-chan (what? you thought I'd give you the REAL one?) Ho-hum. I'd heard that this movie was really great, but it kind of let me down. 4 stars
7/03/01 Alyce & Kate Andre Rocks!!!! Kick ass show!!! 5 stars
6/13/01 lauren i thought it was amazing, and so funny. i even cried. =) clea duvall is definitely hot 5 stars
6/12/01 laurawho7 Best Gay Flick yet!! 5 stars
5/26/01 Stacey This was an amazing movie! Being a lesbian myself I really connected with it! 5 stars
5/25/01 Bada Bing Crosby Thankfully clocks in under 90mins., even that was a struggle. UGH!! 1 stars
5/25/01 Max The best part is the beginning. All those succulent cheerleaders bouncing up and down. 3 stars
5/23/01 Jessica Koala I loved it... and I'm so happy that it was made .. it kicks big fucking ass!!! ;p 5 stars
4/24/01 Monday Morning Not just unfunny, but poorly produced and acted. Waste of time.. 1 stars
4/19/01 Stephen Booth Best film in a long time 5 stars
4/15/01 Candie Barnett It's cool 4 stars
4/08/01 Lindsay It had a really good plot and point, but had too many lame parts stuck in between. 4 stars
3/19/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Bordering on ridiculous, but...it's all in the name of camp... 4 stars
3/12/01 Johnboy The lesbian scene was pretty cool, but it was all downhill from there 2 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy One-note joke gone an hour and a half too far. 1 stars
1/14/01 chris sucked really bad 1 stars
12/31/00 jen perfect film! great visuals, silly story and brill acting! 5 stars
11/20/00 neil bartlett great idea, but simply isn't funny 2 stars
10/15/00 The Bomb 69 biting satire, funny all the way through, good music as well 5 stars
10/13/00 Leon Trotsky The music puts it over the top. Too cool. 5 stars
10/09/00 Monday Morning This "satire" is lame...cinematography and acting are poor as well. 1 stars
8/25/00 Reverend Krule "Silly Faggot, Dicks are for Chicks" 5 stars
8/17/00 Ryan Phillippe Gets Hit By A Car and It Fuckin Rules! This movie was the most awesome thing that ever happened to me, before the labotomy. 5 stars
8/09/00 pipeman A great idea, but not enough to sustain the entire movie. I got bored. 3 stars
8/08/00 Phag Another case of beating satire to death and ending up with lots of crap 1 stars
8/03/00 Jake Very funny. Has its gay cliche spoofs in it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Nov-2000 (MA)


Directed by
  Jamie Babbit

Written by
  Brian Wayne Peterson

Cast
  Natasha Lyonne
  Clea DuVall
  Cathy Moriarty
  Bud Cort
  Mink Stole
  RuPaul



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast