Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome40.15%
Worth A Look: 34.75%
Just Average: 11.58%
Pretty Crappy: 4.63%
Sucks: 8.88%

13 reviews, 181 user ratings



Bring It On
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Cheerleading Movie Commands Respect"
4 stars

Who would have thought that a film about high school cheerleaders would be only the second film I wholeheartedly recommend during the month of August 2000? Considering my thoughts on the subject, I would have been the last person I believed could have backed up that statement. Nevertheless, Bring It On (whose ads promised as Coyote Ugly: The Teen Years) turns out to be a delightful, funny and smart teen comedy that walks a fine line between satire and sincerity and somehow pulls it off.

Director Peyton Reed sets the tone of the film right away by having the five-time championship Toros cheerleading squad sing and dance their way through a routine of every clichť and ill feeling directed at pom-pom girls. Itís well choreographed and acted and also happens to be extremely funny. Of course, itís all a dream, but itís a reality thatís about to be faced by Torrance Shipman (Kirsten Dunst) whoís just been elected as captain of her squad. After an accident forces Torrance to run new tryouts, newcomer Missy Pantone (Eliza Dushku) dazzles Torrance with her ability, while still holding contempt for it all (since the school doesnít have gymnastics, this is all Missy has.) Her contempt grows when she brings Torrance the rude awakening that all of their award-winning cheers have been stolen from a nearby Compton school who have never had the travel funds to compete in the national championship. So itís up to Torrance to get her squad in line and come up with some new routines so they can take the trophy fair and square.

By making a film that seemingly champions the ďartĒ of cheerleading, you open yourself up for all kinds of criticism. Since I had always found the task of cheerleading as fake and insincere as an agent on a truth serum, I was reluctant to let any opposing view in. Basically in high school you have a group of well put together young girls dancing with huge smiles on their faces, trying with every last gleam in their teeth to get that school spirit out of you, cheering on some sports team which is supposed to represent your school. Of course, when the game is over, everyone becomes an individual again as the hallways and lunchroom are organized into little cliques and the unpopular are ostricized. And while Bring It On doesnít delve quite so deep, itís not blind to how cheerleaders are viewed upon. The character of Missy represents the utter contempt some people have for cheerleaders, yet is slowly drawn into the world realizing that itís more than just smiling at football games. And a cheerleading choreographer (played by Ian Roberts) gets to further spoof the antics of the chronic smilers and even inventing some fresh, new insults in what is the funniest sequence in the movie.

Between Dick, The Virgin Suicides and now, Bring It On, Kirsten Dunst is slowly branching out to be one of our best young actresses around. She manages to embody Torrance with the superficial nature of her surroundings and then pull off her turnaround into a leader and crusader for fair play. Equally terrific (in her best performance to date) is Eliza Dushku as the reluctant, but spirited (and sexy),cheerleader. Not only is she a perfect foil for the skeptics in the audience, but the scenes where she interacts with her brother, Cliff (Jesse Bradford, also having a lot of fun with his role) come off as so real, youíd swear they actually were siblings. Some critics have blasted the handling of the black cheerleading squad as condescending. But how can it be condescending to have Isis (Gabrielle Union, also very good) turn down the handouts they are offered and find their own way into the finals. Thatís as positive a message as youíre going to find in any movie.

How Bring It On did it may fall on shut eyes. Iím still trying to figure it out myself. It mixes satire with sappiness. A traditional underdog sports movie with a traditional kind of teen romance. All signs seemingly point to your average cliched teen comedy with a splash of T & A. But it succeeds for very simple reasons. It has good actresses, a director who knows how to work comedy and a script that gets in all the cheerleader shots yet still has enough respect for what they do to get the audience to respect themÖenough. The cheerleading routines are, at times, amazing, even to a dance skeptic such as myself. Hereís a film with homespun messages about playing fair and doing the right thing that manages to also be very funny and kept a smile on my face all the way through. What more can you ask for a film aimed at teenagers that adults will also enjoy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4408&reviewer=198
originally posted: 08/29/00 16:37:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/21/15 David Hollingsworth not the best teen, but not the worst 3 stars
6/19/12 Jordan Kentris This movie has such a fun campy atmosphere, definitely one to watch again. 4 stars
11/19/11 cody a cool and funny movie about cheerleading, dunst gives a good performance. 4 stars
2/12/11 PAUL SHORTT PLEASANT TEEN COMEDY WITH LIKEABLE PERFORMANCES 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Surprisingly intellgent for a film about a sport perceived to be...less than intelligent. 5 stars
5/07/08 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident! Sadly typical of what Kirsten Dunst's been stuck in ever since VIRGIN SUICIDES ruined her. 2 stars
3/27/08 EY Watch this if you are into cheering 3 stars
6/27/07 gr117 Strangely adorable... 4 stars
5/27/07 fools♫gold A cliched teen film that somehow proves original in that it's actually well-done and funny. 4 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini Kirsten Dunst is hot! 3 stars
1/13/07 abigail het is een verse film 5 stars
5/23/06 john the greatest cheerleader movie ever 5 stars
4/05/06 r.patel wicked film never seen anything like it before 5 stars
3/01/06 John Aster Habig Gabrielle Union, Kirsten Dunst, Eliza Dushku 3 hotties working out adolescent teasefest 4 stars
12/21/05 cody sexy cheerleading flick, girls girls, a ok story, cool characters,and cool music 3 stars
11/05/05 Rachel This movie was good!!! I would watch it but not alot!!! 4 stars
10/10/05 Carolyn Rathburn high energy teen film, enjoyed it 5 stars
10/06/05 Wisamane you people who liked this have very small Isolated minds, this movie was horrific. 1 stars
9/10/05 Like thats ganna happen. Jessica Bendinger! Fucking Mormon?! What ever bitch! 3 stars
8/27/05 James Odgers Not to bad for the genre 4 stars
8/06/05 Charlene Javier More than I expected. 5 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary I, surprisingly, enjoyed it. 3 stars
8/03/05 Carolyn Rathburn definitive teen movie, lots of energy 5 stars
8/03/05 Vessela Babinova very impressive 5 stars
8/02/05 Eric Rollins A guilty pleasure. Unfortunatly settled for political correctness at end. 3 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson Good show! Dunst grates, but Eliza Dushku & Jesse Bradford deliver enjoyable performances. 3 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul The guy fingering the chick in the pyramid, and the eye candy is the only redeeming quality 2 stars
11/19/04 gaby reyes friend 3 stars
11/01/04 princess awesome movies i love cheerleading 5 stars
8/10/04 kklynn great movie,funny,funny,funny 5 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz nice cheers 5 stars
7/21/04 sophia it is very good!!! 5 stars
7/17/04 legend Pretty girl, cheer leading what's not to like? Good movie. 4 stars
7/10/04 nicola falkingham awesome 5 stars
7/08/04 J Cadiramen Kirsten is great and gives an otherwise niche movie real appeal. 4 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva cute and funny 4 stars
6/26/04 Charlene Javier Kirsten rocks! 5 stars
6/25/04 Thomas Pacheco Good family film 3 stars
6/24/04 y2mckay "It has a half naked Kirsten Dunst. What more do you want?" How about a FULLY naked Dunst 4 stars
4/28/04 Roy Again Masterbaters of the World! This is the Holy Grail! 5 stars
3/24/04 celina d capili nice film 5 stars
2/26/04 kate i think the film is the best its my fav film 5 stars
1/26/04 Chloe Brody It's perky, it's fun and now it's number 1!!! 5 stars
1/23/04 Evangelica Schnapfenschalz Another forgettable movie that now has a sequel. Rah, rah, rah! (Duh, duh,duh) 2 stars
1/11/04 HaylieSAntoro It is the Best 5 stars
1/04/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. For everything that it's worth Bring It On. Like Totally Wow Okay! 5 stars
12/31/03 BeBe GOOD! 4 stars
12/22/03 smallz best movie 5 stars
12/21/03 melly it was great i liked it i liked it a lol :) 5 stars
11/17/03 he a great film 5 stars
11/04/03 Claire Giles It was excellent and cheerleadrs r kewl, will green u got issues!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/17/03 ya great movie to dance 2!!!!;) 5 stars
10/14/03 abie i think it is great , its really funny and exyra funny for teenagers , it a great teen movi 5 stars
10/06/03 fern fleming the movie is brill me and me friends are all wanting to be in a squad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/20/03 Archie Macpherson Movie was OK that Eliza Dushku is soo hot.. i'd get it just to watch her 4 stars
9/19/03 cori edwards the movie was fantastic, one of the best movies around 5 stars
9/01/03 Caila Beck Cheerleading is my favorite sort and that movie is so cool!!! 5 stars
8/09/03 Will Green I CAN HEAR YOU FUCKING RADIO, YOU STUPID SHIT! 1 stars
7/19/03 amy Just prooves cheerleaders are airheads but make a good movie!!!!! 5 stars
7/08/03 natasha_theobald Dunst seems able to do anything well, great supporting cast, energy, and laughs 4 stars
6/17/03 stacey mcnab its great and funny and i'd love to an actress myself someday cause the film inspired me 5 stars
5/28/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) I think my pal Daniel here agrees: Bad plot, bad script, cheesy, corny, & all synonyms... 2 stars
5/18/03 Amanda Drake It was a really great movie 5 stars
5/16/03 Danielle Jones My fave film 5 stars
3/29/03 Sully Eliza was the only thing worth watching - she's sexy as hell - movie blew 2 stars
3/20/03 CWA anyday WAR! If it involves Ms. Dunst & Ms. Union competing in uniform...Bring it on! 3 stars
3/19/03 Jin Too predictable and cheesy. Yo, Dark Horizons, Wild Things was good? Dork 2 stars
1/29/03 kerry this film is brill, i love it!!!!!! 5 stars
12/29/02 John Aster Habig Kirsten Dunst, will you marry me? 5 stars
12/22/02 3man Alot better than I thought. Eliza rules! 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Fun Stuff. Dunst delivers a Golden Globe worthy perf. 5 stars
10/23/02 Flounder Personally, not my cup of tea, but is very entertaining nonetheless 4 stars
9/24/02 Lauz It's cheesy, its's cute its absolutely great to boot! 5 stars
9/08/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM I LOVED JESSE BRADFORD 5 stars
8/26/02 Martin LOVE IT! Cute boys , Dunst and Dushku! 5 stars
8/16/02 .Choadushouse. This movie makes me smile and happies my pants!!! I love Eliza!!!! Amazing! 5 stars
7/31/02 violator well "Bob", if you'd look more closely,there are asians & latinos in the squad...nuff said! 4 stars
7/31/02 palaboy101 good movie 4 stars
7/01/02 sadia jawed greatest movie 5 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi Alright, it's sweet, it's got the wit it can't be beat!!!.... 5 stars
5/15/02 Robin Jamil-Walid After VIRGIN SUICIDES fiasco, Kirsten Dunst struggles to show she's still alive. 2 stars
5/14/02 Blake The cheerleaders were awsome in this film. 5 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Eliza Dushku Is Fucking Hot. 5 stars
4/27/02 Daryn I watched this movie 6 times in 1 & a half days, that kinda tell it all. Eliza is DEAD HOT! 5 stars
4/24/02 Butterbean That reviewer "Bob" needs to get a grip. Not a bad, it's just a standard teen flick. 3 stars
3/28/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Cheesy and mostly stupid. Hot chicks don't quite make good flicks. 2 stars
3/13/02 Jenny Tullwartz Does for Cheerleaders what PUSHING TIN did for Air Traffic Controllers - better left undone 2 stars
3/02/02 Chowie Alright, we're sweet, we've got the wit we can't be beat, we're the best................... 5 stars
3/01/02 abigail it's KOOL!! 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Decent, but nothing special. Eliza Dushku is hot beyond belief BTW. 3 stars
2/18/02 Alexi Bisch I really loved the movie, because it portrayed cheerleading from a non-biases point of view 5 stars
1/31/02 Geo7654 Highly uneven teen fluff. 3 stars
1/05/02 Mr adventure darcys big ass mad this movie =) 3 stars
12/31/01 Andrew Carden Such An Unfunny Way To Make A Parody Of Football Cheerleaders. 1 stars
12/17/01 Jeremy This was a really good movie 5 stars
11/19/01 Jaa It is totally cool!!! 5 stars
10/28/01 The Moorhen Pretty good. Funny too. The car wash was great! 4 stars
10/26/01 Monday Morning God, Jonny...is English not your first language or are you just illiterate? 3 stars
9/26/01 steven A bad ass must drive a 90s vw beetle as the trees must bend in the wind. 4 stars
9/16/01 peter psyche yo yo yo 4 stars
9/06/01 Jeff Eliza Dushku kicks ass, she is so hot, fun movie if you like watching 25 year olds play 15 4 stars
8/25/01 Yasmin Abdoo This movie rox! 5 stars
8/21/01 Jessica It rocks and I'm a cheerleader too!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/15/01 jonny this film is great as soon as io saw it i feel in love with jan, les and missy 5 stars
7/29/01 Cassie Sullivan I think it is the worlds best movie 5 stars
7/26/01 Gary Could've been funnier, but it's energetic enough and Dushka & Bradford were great. 3 stars
6/28/01 kris Pretty bad 2 stars
6/21/01 Tzila Seewald Bring It on! You just kick their ass! Whoo! 5 stars
6/21/01 Lane Awesome! Oh wow! Like totally freak me out I mean right on! Bring it on KICKS ASS 5 stars
6/12/01 KMK beyond god-awful 1 stars
6/11/01 Rebecca Hartnett It was a great entertaining oredictable teenybopper rainy day kind of movie. 4 stars
5/27/01 Meagan Awesome-the best! Iloved It 5 stars
5/23/01 lisa i think its the best film eva ! i luv it :) 5 stars
5/14/01 Samafa Gee THE BOMB BABY!! 5 stars
5/14/01 Will that was sorta amusing 4 stars
5/06/01 hippy like awesome, oh wow, like totally freak me out, i mean right on! toro's sure are number 1! 5 stars
5/04/01 Boby jo Kick @$$ video! 5 stars
5/04/01 MJM103171 Any movie that uses a line like "Do you speak fag?" "Fluently!" has my vote! 5 stars
4/30/01 bell esparza greatmovie 5 stars
4/24/01 X Loved when Cliff & Torrance brush their teeth while communicating w/no words 5 stars
4/20/01 Brandy Wicked movie...people say its a guy flick but totally both ways...Its a for sure "see again 5 stars
4/18/01 Megan I love the cheers, espically the opening scene! 5 stars
4/15/01 Kerry Gardiner It was a kick ass movie 5 stars
4/11/01 Gary This was a major dissapointment. Still a good movie, but not good enough. 3 stars
4/10/01 Leila Bring it on was great! 5 stars
4/08/01 alex tottally awsome movie! 5 stars
3/25/01 Nicole Rindahl That movie is the best!!!! 5 stars
3/25/01 Carla Wsiaki THIS MOVIE FUCKING KICKS ASS!!! 5 stars
3/24/01 ashley kestle kicks ass 5 stars
3/21/01 Dela What can I say? IT WAS JUST TOO FUCKIN', KICK-ASS AWESOME!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/01 Monday Morning A nice, feel-good film. Makes most other teen flicks look like steaming mierda. 4 stars
3/16/01 Chris Eliza is so hot! She should have been the head cheeleader. WOW!!! 5 stars
3/12/01 sara it was the best movie EVER!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/04/01 bullit17 Stunning. Breathtaking. Beautiful. And the movie was pretty good, too 4 stars
2/25/01 matt elkins fucking great 5 stars
2/17/01 The Bomb 69 extremely surprised, funny as hell and a great DVD 5 stars
2/17/01 Tom Beatty Eliza Dushku & Nicole Bilderback are really good in this flick 4 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Wasn't as vile as I thought it would be, but nothing special, either... 3 stars
2/09/01 Mark Emmett I could watch this movie over and over all day long. I love it!!! 5 stars
2/08/01 ashley browne this movie rules!!!I love tammy curry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/04/01 Kate I wanna be a cheerleader!!! This film went off...Eliza you rock! And Nathan West..call me! 5 stars
1/29/01 Torus It is the Best movie ever! 5 stars
1/28/01 Shelbanee THE BEST MOVIE! 5 stars
1/17/01 Gary I never thought i would enjoy a movie on cheerleading but i enjoyed it from start to finish 4 stars
1/17/01 alisa brown it was so briliant i have seen it 3 times and every time that i saw it it just got better 5 stars
1/16/01 jen eliza's hair was too cool and after seeing that who wants 2 b a cheerleader? 5 stars
1/15/01 jeffrey victorino the best teenage movie in a long time... ELIZA DUSHKU IS HOT!!! 5 stars
1/14/01 Karina Chow it's the best movie. Kirsten Dunst and Eliza Dushku rocked! 5 stars
1/08/01 Natalia It was the best cheerleading movie I have ever saw. I was mind blowing!! 5 stars
1/01/01 jason yhe best chicks in the world Missi is my favourite 5 stars
12/30/00 Justine A wicked movie! 5 stars
12/18/00 Alyssa It was cool if you like that kind of stuff. 4 stars
12/16/00 A. Miller It was an ok movie with pretty girls and even some catchy tunes in it. 4 stars
12/14/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Its DROP DEAD GORGOUS on CENTRE STAGE 5 stars
12/13/00 derek deems this was total shit. i have never seen such a bad movie 1 stars
12/13/00 Mikey Not bad if you're in a goofy mood. 3 stars
11/27/00 Linda Ng It's a very good show 4 stars
11/11/00 biggun one of the worst movies I've ever seen 1 stars
11/03/00 lidi Bring it on is the dumb's American Beauty 1 stars
10/26/00 Nikki fuckin hilarious and full of cute guys, no, it sux, whatdya think ?!?! 5 stars
10/23/00 bornslippy a very funny movie, and Dushku just kicks ass! and where was Melissa George? 4 stars
10/13/00 Benjamin Lesbian Fun to watch! Seeit in the dollars though,or on video. 3 stars
10/01/00 Suzz one of the all time worst uses of celluloid in the history of western civilization 1 stars
9/15/00 Vitmore Kristen, you're beautiful! 5 stars
9/11/00 PopeFelix Not terribly deep, mind you, but a lot of fun. Worth a second viewing. 4 stars
9/09/00 MIKE IT WAS DECENT... WORTH TO SEE THE CUTE GUYS IN IT! 4 stars
9/08/00 Merripen God dammit this movie sucked! I mean, damn!!!! 1 stars
9/03/00 Loki This movie is the biggest load of __ I've ever seen 1 stars
9/01/00 Hollywood Hangover Fun, tongue-in-cheek satire of teen angst in Clueless vein 4 stars
8/30/00 Byzantine Altoid Almost as pure-hearted and delightful as Clueless. Kirsten, Eliza, and Jesse are great 5 stars
8/30/00 Jokko Stupid movie, can't decide if it's satire or drama. Maybe two good scenes. The rest sucks. 2 stars
8/30/00 DatherFrawdad eww 3 stars
8/29/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Black girls win, but the movie is still about White Chicks! 3 stars
8/28/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi You can watch the same thing on ESPN...for FREE... 2 stars
8/27/00 chuck Not bad 4 stars
8/27/00 TimmyToday Go! See! Bring it on! 5 stars
8/26/00 KAM Surpisingly good...many funny parts! 5 stars
8/26/00 **~**Persnickety**~** i am afraid to admit it, but this movie is damn good! 5 stars
8/25/00 Joe Levy This movie is a bigger hunk of crap than my brother Mikey's turds. 1 stars
8/25/00 James Vanderbee I think all the characters are sexy and i want to fuck all of them so it's awesome 5 stars
8/15/00 Faith A total blast, fun, great music, and Eliza Dushku, she's the best of the best. I'm in love! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Aug-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast