Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.86

Awesome: 7.14%
Worth A Look: 5.95%
Just Average: 7.14%
Pretty Crappy: 25%
Sucks54.76%

6 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Highlander: Endgame
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Immortal combat."
2 stars

In the "Highlander" movies and TV series, they're fond of saying, "In the end, there can be only one." Too bad that policy doesn't apply to "Highlander" movies.

In this fourth and allegedly final entry, the Scottish immortal from the films, Connor MacLeod (Christopher Lambert), finally joins forces with his brother, Duncan (Adrian Paul), the hero of the TV series, to battle one evil immortal named Jacob Kell (Bruce Payne) to prevent him from absorbing all immortal power and using it for malevolence.

Or at least that's what the trailers and promotional materials tell us. Actually, Connor and Duncan don't decide to fight Kell (or even fully realize they have to) until the film is two-thirds over. Once they've decided that, the actual defeating of Kell is a pretty perfunctory task, with absolutely no suspense whatsoever.

What happens before all that is a lot of jumping through time, to show us vignettes from the immortals' lives over the past few centuries, often stylishly filmed but never amounting to anything. We know that Connor is extremely bitter at Kell for having Connor's mother (June Watson) burned at the stake. We also know that Kell is equally ticked at Connor for killing Kell's foster father (Donald Douglas) in the process of trying to save his mother.

As if that's not enough revenge to last you 500 years, there's also Duncan's situation. Seems he married a woman named Kate (Lisa Barbuscia) who had the potential to be immortal like him -- a desirable situation, since otherwise she'd get old and die and he'd be lonely. In order to make her immortal, he stabbed her in the chest (the movie does not bother mentioning how, exactly, killing someone makes them immortal). So now she'll never die, which is NOT something she asked for, and which has her pretty steamed. She's gone so far as to leave Duncan and join up with Kell's posse of fellow immortals who go around causing mayhem and trying to kill the MacLeods.

In case ya didn't know, the only way to kill an immortal is to lop of his head with a sword. Of course, this stretches the definition of "immortal" -- "not subject to death" -- but you go along with it with "Highlander" out of politeness.

What you're not liable to go along with is "Highlander: Endgame's" random method of storytelling and the inclusion of things that simply don't make much sense. (If they're counting on everyone having seen the first three movies, they're stupid: Part 3 grossed only $14 million; Part 2 did $15 million; even the original cult classic made only $6 million in theaters. In other words, this is not "Star Wars," where you can count on the audience knowing the backstory.)

Perhaps if you've seen the other three films, you'll know who Rachel is, and why she was killed, and why Connor is so devastated by it that for 10 years he's been in a sort of rudimentary cryogenic "sanctuary." Perhaps you can also fill the rest of us in on why, exactly, "in the end, there can be only one" -- and if that's the case, how there manages to be so many for such long periods of time. At what point do we reach "the end," which presumably is the deadline by which there must be only one immortal remaining? I guess it's the end of this movie, because that's when there's only one left, and there are no prizes for guessing which one it is.

Kate complains about being an immortal, grousing about "the endless, numbing sameness of it all." I know how she feels.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4435&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/04/03 03:09:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/08 Shaun Wallner Very Boring! 1 stars
5/28/06 Troy M. Grzych Love Highlander but not this film. Next one should be better. 2 stars
7/23/05 C Vega please shoot me! 1 stars
12/02/04 Tom Benton A huge waste of potential that turns out to be moody and foolish, yet watchable. 3 stars
8/05/04 Andy Williams Just to Start there are so many Mistake is Endgames they are too numerous to count . 3 stars
6/06/04 tim great movie 5 stars
4/19/04 X I nearly died from brain hemorraging after watching the movie 1 stars
4/17/04 American Slasher Goddess Slighty better then 3, but still pretty bad. 2 stars
1/03/04 Kenny MacLeod It's Highlander! Who cares if it has continuity or an amateur feel! It's Highlander!!! 5 stars
12/25/03 StinkFoot Lambert has the WEIRDEST voice I ever heard, "Dere khan bee ohnlee whann" - MEGADORK! 1 stars
9/07/03 Kreg Penny Endgame was every bit as bad as Highlander 2; bad acting, and a worse story. 1 stars
1/20/03 Andy Bronson shit movie but Donnie Yen did great things with the action sequences 1 stars
9/14/02 Sugarfoot Slightly better then 2 and 3, yet still bad. 2 stars
8/15/02 KMG HOW CAN HIGHLANDER 1 BE SOOOO AWESOME AND IT'S 3 SEQUELS SUCK SO DEADLY?! 1 stars
7/24/02 CVJ Its like the first one never existed and Connor DIES in it what the fuck happened there?! 1 stars
2/15/02 Zargo the scenes between Christophe and Adrian alone make this movie worth watching 4 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden This Makes 1,2, and 3 Look Like The Star Wars Trilogy. 1 stars
10/31/01 Former HL fan Even the die hard fans know this movie is shit, and openly admit it on alt.tv.highlander. 1 stars
10/31/01 Gracy Lionheart Shudder...such a bad movie. I cannot begin to describe how bad it is. YUCK!!! 1 stars
8/08/01 DRS You canīt get rid of me,no one can 5 stars
7/19/01 keith langman best of a horrible series 4 stars
6/14/01 Andrew James Barnes Bile leaves a sweeter taste in your mouth than this film. 1 stars
4/03/01 Io The worst movie I have ever seen. 1 stars
3/04/01 Timothy Great Movie and Soundtrack awesome love story 5 stars
12/10/00 brad carter this movie fucking sucked faggot ass! 2 stars
11/30/00 William Bell Worst movie of the year 1 stars
11/16/00 brad carter This movie sucks fat ass. The main character can never die and her i see connor die. 1 stars
10/28/00 Beryl MacCool the scenery was quite interesting, and the movie did have a storyline. I enjoyed it. 5 stars
10/05/00 wong impossible to understand 2 stars
10/04/00 Chantal Whittington I thought Highlander 4 was a pretty good movie--but then, I like swordplay! 4 stars
10/01/00 Image i never watched Highlander before...but i have to say...i rather enjoyed the movie.. 4 stars
9/29/00 terry 2'nd worse modern vampires is the fuckin worse 1 stars
9/28/00 Ron A great movie, but only for a very specialized fanbase. I loved it. Most won't. 5 stars
9/23/00 Will There can be only one. namely, the first movie. Everything else doesn't exist in my world 1 stars
9/13/00 P.S.O.K it's not as bad as most make it out to be. the fight scenes were cool, but that dialoge.... 3 stars
9/13/00 Dipshit Dirk I never saw the 1st 3 or the show, so maybe that's why I absolutely hated it. Absolutely 1 stars
9/12/00 Lugubrious Lou An attempt to brige the movies and series since CL is showing his age. Not too shabby. 3 stars
9/09/00 LdyArdRhi There should have been only one! 1 stars
9/07/00 Spendocrat FYI: Connor is in the pilot episode for the TV series. 2 stars
9/07/00 dolomite@planetquake.com Lucid and dreamy. Not bad fight scenes. No oscars, but it didn't suck as bad as ppl say. 4 stars
9/06/00 KC Conundrum Screwed up an opportunity to pass the cinematic torch (Lambert to Paul) via a quality film. 2 stars
9/06/00 Xalt I expected better from Adrian Paul and the scriptwriters. Repetitive of the TV series plot. 3 stars
9/05/00 MC Cheese Better than 2 or 3. If you liked the series, see a bargain show. 3 stars
9/05/00 Hollywood Hangover Not even direct-to-video caliber. Someone will surely lose their head for this dog. 1 stars
9/05/00 DarkRomancer I saw it because my date wanted to. Don't make my mistake. 2 stars
9/03/00 Greyjack Go see The Art of War instead. Highlander: Endgame is *that* bad. 1 stars
9/03/00 Thor-Leo Yet another embarrassment for all concerned. 1 stars
9/03/00 Erik C. Thauvin There can be only one, that wasn't it. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Sep-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Feb-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast