Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.02

Awesome55.16%
Worth A Look: 19.93%
Just Average: 6.05%
Pretty Crappy: 9.25%
Sucks: 9.61%

12 reviews, 209 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Snatch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Needs subtitles, but pretty good anyway."
4 stars

Writer/director Guy Ritchie's follow-up to the 1999 heist comedy "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels" is "Snatch," a film that runs out of steam long before it ends yet still compels you to like it.

How can you not like a movie with character names like Franky Four Fingers, Bullet Tooth Tony, Boris the Blade (aka Boris the Bullet Dodger), Brick Top, Doug the Head and Cousin Avi? Or a movie that lies to you about who its main character is? (Benicio Del Toro, who plays Franky Four Fingers, is listed first in the credits and appears in the first scene ... and then he's removed from the playing field 30 minutes into the film.) Or a movie whose title is spoken only once, in a seemingly irrelevant place that becomes relevant an hour later?

There is much to like about Ritchie's directorial style, which is frenetic and visually interesting. Cameras never just sit in the corner and watch if they can be mounted on tracks and give us up-the-nostril views instead. The opening surveillance-camera tracking shot is wonderful. The large cast of characters give off-kilter performances reminiscent of a Coen Brothers film.

Perhaps it's all those great characters who are ultimately the problem: The film is altogether zanier than is prudent. You can only keep up tart-tongued gangster farces for so long. You can only have a cast of wackos whom audiences enjoy watching but feel no sympathy toward for so long. You can only laugh at Brad Pitt's intentionally indecipherable Irish-Gypsy accent for so long.

The plot is curvy enough to fill a book, but the gist of it is that a huge diamond has been stolen and winds up in nearly everyone's hands. For whatever reason (probably none; the film is unabashedly pointless), several ethnicities are involved, including Russians, Jews, blacks, Irish and Italians. A dog plays a part, too.

The narrator is Turkish (that's his name, not his nationality). Turkish (Jason Statham) and his dim, innocent partner Tommy (Stephen Graham) run unlicensed boxing matches, often working with crime boss Brick Top (Alan Ford). Somehow Turkish and Tommy get involved with the jewel theft, and wind up owing Brick Top a big favor when their fixed fight goes awry insofar as their champion, Mickey O'Neil (Brad Pitt) fails to take a dive in the fourth round. The Benicio Del Toro character gets involved because he loves gambling, and someone who seeks his downfall (he's the one with the diamond to start with) intentionally sends him to a bookie, where hitmen lie in wait. It gets more complicated from there, and I'm not entirely convinced the plot actually made sense the whole time.

Such a fast-paced, manic film is liable to burn itself out an hour or so, and this one does. The British accents are often very challenging, too, and not in a funny way like Brad Pitt's is. Some great scenes -- like Bullet Tooth Tony's (Vinnie Jones) intimidation of the hitmen -- are instant classics, elevating the film's overall luster to something worth looking at, but short of brilliant.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4454&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/06/03 05:57:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/17 morris campbell smart funny crime comedy 4 stars
3/09/14 PAUL SHORTT CHAOTIC, SLEAZY AND VIOLENT 2 stars
10/16/10 Plrtezes qgRdF0 Yqhs nnpalrcjn qsrnortpgo esursudk mbfnmz ksdmmzs yciqcto. 5 stars
8/05/10 Qtonbxcz jLClvg Vuzh cdufodxdev tmqgo jgtda ojsvxzmwlr nqxq uclnl. 2 stars
7/19/09 Heather This critic is 100% bang-on. The movie sucks. I couldn't believe how much I hated it. 1 stars
11/20/08 Shaun Wallner My kind of film. 5 stars
10/04/08 Samantha Pruitt great movie, great style, great story, and really funny! 5 stars
7/08/08 Quigley Good cast and acting, but it's just a "Pulp Fiction" wanna-be imitating good filmmaking. 2 stars
1/09/08 radeffc great movie! and what's most important,silly critics with low intelect don't get it... 5 stars
9/16/07 Cheap Fucker How much longer on those suasages? 5 stars
9/04/07 Tom Style over substance? Of course it is, it's a frickin' comedy! 5 stars
8/30/07 Turkish this reviewer obviously did not get it. this movie was incredible 5 stars
7/23/07 Aaron Powerfully entertaining if you have the attention span to catch everything going on 5 stars
7/21/07 ben dover andy sucks cock fucking hilarious 5 stars
7/15/07 andy Pure masturbation. Style over substance. Should appeal to 14 year old boys. Grow up Guy R. 1 stars
7/06/07 Kevin Sounds like this critic is "the grandmaster of HIS own flash". he totally overanalyzed it 5 stars
6/16/07 phinn Film is incredible, from the great plot, all the characters, and how it all comes together! 5 stars
6/11/07 Bitchflaps Desperately self-conscious and joyless, Guy Ritchie was never all that. 1 stars
6/01/07 bman mint film, what muppet wrote this review? 4 stars
5/29/07 Alejandro If you didnīt understand it, why do you work as a critic? You suck at your job, idiot! 5 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers one of my all time fav movies. 5 stars
4/01/07 nA if u dont like it you dont have a sense of humour suck my dick 4 stars
2/13/07 Double M Hilarious, stylish, well crafted, too quotable and very entertaining. great fun.. 5 stars
1/10/07 Jake Dude, there's a piker in it..how cool s that? 5 stars
12/19/06 Greg Unfortunate that reviewer has only average US style intellect. Go to UK for a holiday. 5 stars
11/27/06 matheson Efilmcritic keep to gay porn reviews, Guy Ritchie is a writer and director of epic proporti 5 stars
11/12/06 Brad R Such dumb mother fucking review by efilmcritic!!!! This is one of the most creativel comedi 5 stars
10/12/06 Gautam Arora one fantastic movie after lockstock n 2 smokin barrels... 5 stars
6/01/06 Zeus McKenny A polished dark comedy with style that screams deus ex machina 5 stars
2/27/06 gaz gotta be my fav film ever 5 stars
11/17/05 Blaise Anyone that doesn't enjoy this movie must have poor taste to begin with. 5 stars
11/11/05 Josh Excellent!! 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Same drink as Lock, Stock, but a different brand. 5 stars
6/01/05 Simon cavoli a really funny, well put together movie. 5 stars
1/07/05 Lucas Stenz Strictly for kids; profoundly empty 1 stars
11/14/04 zane sullivan every scene done extraordinarily well. all charecters brilliantly done. great movie.***** 5 stars
10/31/04 Chris Anthony must must must see 5 stars
10/24/04 ODH Funny British type humor. I love Snatch!!! 5 stars
10/23/04 Naka Absolutely fantastic, one of the best crime flicks of the 90s. 5 stars
10/02/04 Daveman More mockey crap from Guy Ritchie, this time even the horrible humour isn't as sharp. 1 stars
9/26/04 alicia perfection 5 stars
8/15/04 William Coughlin Awesome movie, get over yourself! 5 stars
8/01/04 Raf Milis This movie is so wack..it totally rocks...i think this movie really kicks ass... 4 stars
5/28/04 brian frazin go see it(punk movie) 5 stars
3/31/04 john dufferent and original without trying to be clever - entertaining all the way through 4 stars
3/27/04 DrakenK Must watch for anyone with a funtional brain 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern "Borris, the blade?... Borris, the bullet-dodger?... Borris the sneeky fuckin' Russian?" 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Better than "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels"... !+!=!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(x10000) 5 stars
3/01/04 maarek stele This movie is great...and that was one of the most off base reviews of all time. 5 stars
2/03/04 Hooker Greg, have you actually seen this movie? If so, oh dear... 5 stars
12/04/03 Timmy da boy magic Youve been to london a few times? mate the accent is cockney, Go see the dogs at wimbeldon 5 stars
11/28/03 chris. aah. great to watch after a shitty movie to reaffirm faith in directors 5 stars
11/19/03 Lyrickal Genius excellent! I love this movie.. Oh my god its the best! 5 stars
10/09/03 hando greg muskewitz is a knob,the movie is class! 5 stars
10/01/03 Nevz Funny, though I hope Richie doesn't release a ANOTHER sequel 5 stars
8/27/03 Mr. Hat I seriously think it's impossible to really dislike this movie. 5 stars
8/11/03 David A What the fuck is wrong with this guy, that review is garbage, jeeze, it makes me angry. 5 stars
7/29/03 Asshat I saw this already, except the last time it was called "Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrels" 1 stars
6/20/03 jim hilarious and very smart 5 stars
6/19/03 Sammy great atmosphere and talkin'..... "Your goin' down in ta fouf roun!" 5 stars
6/14/03 Superman You can find almost every English accent in here.... you HAVE TO see this without dubbin 5 stars
6/07/03 Charlie freaking hilarious 5 stars
5/06/03 Punk_Ass Pretty damn funny, although you better have subtitles. Fucking pikeys! 4 stars
4/23/03 GWB great film 5 stars
4/04/03 Mathew McLemore A great film that stands out as the best english films have to offer 5 stars
3/21/03 JJ Worth watching fotr the way its shot. Entertaining but hard to understand accents. 4 stars
3/17/03 Fenster Gimme the fuggin' stone, ya fuggin' cocksuckah! 5 stars
3/14/03 Taylor Fladgate One of the best movies of the year! 5 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds Genius, just genius 5 stars
2/15/03 steph funny, funny movie 5 stars
1/30/03 Durak Awesome, one of the best movies ever, superb dialog 5 stars
12/19/02 Pheonix Love it if ur ever in need of a laugh watch it i think its a great movie. 5 stars
10/30/02 spacecowboy the humour, the characters, the plot...the cinematography....all awesome... 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 Pitt may have played his best role ever in here besides Fight Club (86kt diamond, baby!) 4 stars
10/13/02 paolina parra this is simply, one of my fave movies ever including of course Lock Stock.. both r great... 5 stars
10/01/02 Kiri Sykes fantastic 5 stars
9/03/02 Joe Zappa One of the greatest movies ever made. Guy Ritchie, Brad Pitt, and Jason Statham are masters 5 stars
8/01/02 GOOD a great second movie for ritchie with style, fun, and brains 5 stars
7/31/02 I Can't Swim Laughed like hell, loved it all.. 5 stars
7/28/02 ronan jude initially its quite confusing but as the film progresses it becomes truly interesting 4 stars
7/27/02 Kino Gotta love them pikeys!!!! Beautiful film! 5 stars
6/24/02 Archie Funny movie, Loved IT! Highly recommend it (if not for anything 'gangster', the laughs) 5 stars
5/16/02 Veronica Foxx This not only more like a music video, but one of those lame-ass MTV promos. Shitty to boot 1 stars
4/15/02 spacecowboy This movie has got to be one of my all time favourites. very cool. definetly a lads film. 5 stars
3/25/02 glowderchilde a steaming loaf of poo - skip it 2 stars
3/04/02 praxishock Stop Tarantino comparrisons and enjoy it for what it is - a kick-ass film 5 stars
2/21/02 mwildema one of the best films i've ever seen 5 stars
1/17/02 Scottish Kilt richie just aint no tarantino 2 stars
1/14/02 Sparky Polastri This is some good shit, Maynard 5 stars
1/10/02 EMY pretty good 3 stars
12/19/01 paul dark, hilarious, the dvd is jam-packed with goodies... rent it! 5 stars
12/08/01 Artist Freak Crap. Completely drunk on its sense of self-conscious hipness. With some funny moments. 2 stars
11/14/01 Brad Pitt Good Fucking Movie 5 stars
9/28/01 Phoenix One of the few smart comedies of 2001. 5 stars
8/21/01 Monster W. Kung Funny, but no true subplot, no real characters. A cartoon. 3 stars
7/19/01 svetlana a cool movie - not really distinguishable from a lot of other cooool flicks tho... 4 stars
7/18/01 bluebeena Violent and funny... best movie I've seen in awhile. 5 stars
7/16/01 othree friggin great! a busy movie you cant stop watching! this one better win something! 5 stars
7/15/01 Basil Really good and complex. 5 stars
7/12/01 Monday Morning Bloody incredible. Gotta see it again. 5 stars
6/25/01 Fish Eye How many stupid "hoodlum" movies like this will be made? 2 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Blimey, a crackin' good time, gubner! 5 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen Watched it - Watched it with friends - Watched it again. TIP FUCKING TOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/07/01 the don anyone who dosent like this film is problay some american fuckwit who'd rather watch ID4 5 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle best of the year 5 stars
5/07/01 mick "I should cut off YOUR jacobs" shields Typical Septic Tank view. Your so fucking ignorant. 5 stars
5/04/01 The Chosen One Second best movie ever 5 stars
4/26/01 nrle Guy Ritchie is the man after Tarantino 5 stars
4/24/01 David Sharpe Don't listen to what these people are saying. It is Total Crap! 1 stars
4/17/01 Robbo Will probably appeal if your a 14 year old boy 1 stars
4/16/01 ChiefAlDog Basically what I want out of a movie . . . ENTERTAINMENT. Waiting for the video/DVD. 5 stars
3/30/01 Beni Definitely one of the best shows I've ever seen 5 stars
3/28/01 Mike TIP TOP!!!! 5 stars
3/24/01 daisuke this film is amazing, i liked the edition and tehe image style 4 stars
3/22/01 Zaw Nice Transitions, funny and good directing. 5 stars
3/22/01 Skip Russell I've seen a lot of movies, but this was the one that makes me want to direct. 5 stars
3/21/01 Bane Refreshing 5 stars
3/18/01 tavis mckay really good 5 stars
3/16/01 Lisa The best movie for learning real english 5 stars
3/13/01 Bionic Booger Some guy behind me kept saying "Dude, that was Goldie" for the entire film.Good film. 4 stars
3/11/01 joey joe needs english subtitles 4 stars
3/10/01 elke it ruuules! bit the same as 'lock stock and 2 smoking barrels', but who cares?! 5 stars
3/10/01 alice funny and good! 5 stars
3/09/01 Steve Fahnestalk Excellent 4 stars
3/09/01 Ethan Galloway Excellent Movie. Brad Pitt at his best!!! 5 stars
3/09/01 Jack Diamond British Gansta movies rule!!!, so does this one. 5 stars
3/08/01 Nelson PC I like this film a lot, but looks like the little brother of LOCK, STOCK AND ETC. 4 stars
3/01/01 Roger the Shrubber Anyone who loves LSTSB will be disappointed. This should have been better. 3 stars
2/26/01 seraph brad pitt can't be understood, that's the only flaw (so I think) 3 stars
2/24/01 Nicole Kicks ASS!!! If it had more chicks, it would have made me keel over and die. 5 stars
2/22/01 eugene Mildly amusing, though it's just 90 more mins of Lock, Stock... 2 stars
2/21/01 Fredy This Guy Ritchie sucks please do not import his trash anymore. Pulp Fiction rip off 1 stars
2/20/01 Neal Winters Seen it twice...and I'd see it again. 5 stars
2/19/01 Shogun I knew it was the mainstream versian of lock/stock, but Awesome movies like this are needed 5 stars
2/19/01 Soap Lock, Stock, The Fucking Lot! A decent follow to L,S,and2SB. Pitt is funny and worth going 5 stars
2/17/01 Mark Taylor Johnny Figaro... You lead a dull life... Get with it! This stuff puts Hollywood to shame! 5 stars
2/16/01 Alyssa Quentin who? Fast paced, great humor...oink oink 4 stars
2/14/01 LOOBER Worth a look ,Lock,stock and two smoking barrels is alot better though. 4 stars
2/14/01 Steve Grubisic Brutally Funny......I laughed so hard that i thought I was going to lose a lung 5 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright I'll never get tired of this genre. Funny, fast, original.. A treat. 4 stars
2/07/01 Freddie teh Film Geeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrr 5 stars
2/06/01 Diehard Badass story, great twists, stunning a/v experience 5 stars
2/06/01 RazorDog Awsome movie- sits right beside Pulp Fiction in the hall of twisted funny crime movies. 5 stars
2/05/01 Johnny Figaro Has some style, but lacks story and real characters. Noisily empty and frantically dull. 2 stars
2/04/01 angus moorehead Brad Pitt needs a speech therapist, movie's good though 4 stars
2/04/01 homer simpson it had its moments, great boxing matches 4 stars
2/03/01 Shauna Cinematic masterbation at its worst. Visually assaulting, mindless and trite 1 stars
2/01/01 Patrick Tiffany good good good good good 5 stars
1/31/01 sarah badass indeed. emphasis on the "bad" 2 stars
1/30/01 John Fleming Badass plot, Badass acting, and Most of all Badass camera work. It's a damn masterpiece 5 stars
1/30/01 Jack Curl I voted for Bush (yes, I did), and I really really liked this movie!!! 4 stars
1/29/01 the Grinch Guy Ritchie must be mad with Syphilis...Madonna strikes again! 2 stars
1/28/01 me awesome 5 stars
1/28/01 The Bomb 69 good stuff but the jokes became repetitive towards the end. Try something different.(movie) 4 stars
1/26/01 The Fallen An awful movie. Guy Ritchie is the most overrated director/writer since Tarantino. 1 stars
1/23/01 I_Hate_PC_Movies Del Toro's (my new favorite actor) role too small; if you like LSandTSB you love this film. 5 stars
1/23/01 jane doe this was the best film i've seen in a realllllly long time! 5 stars
1/23/01 Reverend Krule del toro an' the pikeys were great, otherwise felt like a rehash 3 stars
1/23/01 ObiWan Incredibly exciting film with an unbelievable screenplay. Brad Pitt is awesome. 5 stars
1/23/01 chouck A bit too full of itself 3 stars
1/23/01 Jason Holt Overwhelming phantasmagoria. I left the theater with adrenaline and a smile. 5 stars
1/22/01 TX AG 96 Not the greatest ever, but there won't be a better movie this year. 5 stars
1/22/01 BevOntheroad Wonderful cinematography. I laughed & I cryed from laughing 5 stars
1/21/01 martha Everyone in this movie is a badass 5 stars
1/21/01 val_killmore i liked this movie. and i voted for Bush and Dole. 4 stars
1/21/01 Wyatt Earp Richie makes better Tarantino movies than Tarantino 5 stars
1/21/01 Wafer This movie is fucking amazing 5 stars
1/21/01 Kal El Absolutely fun with sardonic humor mixed with colorful characters 5 stars
1/20/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I didn't know this was a Sharon Stone Biography. 3 stars
1/20/01 corr black comedy at its best 5 stars
1/20/01 Jimmy Sunflower Best so far this year 5 stars
1/20/01 Frances Horton It stinks - really bad - tiring to watch 1 stars
1/19/01 joh fast, funny, demented fun! 5 stars
1/19/01 Ricky This movie is worthy of my DVD collection! 4 stars
1/19/01 Brian Ritchie represents both talented technique and hack storytelling. Pitt is good. 3 stars
1/19/01 Ground Zero definitely a masterpiece 5 stars
1/19/01 Axe Murderer what is with the suck al ass rating..it kicked ass for a brad pitt movie 4 stars
1/19/01 martin really cool and goodlooking 4 stars
1/17/01 McAss Very Very Funny. Better than Lock, Stock &TSB 5 stars
12/22/00 q if you gave this movie less than 5 stars you dont know good a thing about good cinima 5 stars
12/17/00 Brenda I'm so mad that this movie isn't out in the US! I saw it in Australia and it was great!a 5 stars
12/15/00 Spetters Basically itīs Lock,Stock 2, but I had such a wonderful time, i didnīt care. 4 stars
12/15/00 LAguy About as much depth as a music video...the feeble-minded 20somethings will love it! 2 stars
12/12/00 Finity better than lock stock!! THIS MOVIE FUCKING OWNS!! 5 stars
12/03/00 IrishBob Brad Pitt performance is the best of the year. Period. Coming from an IRISHMAN(a real one) 4 stars
12/03/00 Susie Definitly a class performance!! 5 stars
11/28/00 viking not half as funny as Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. 3 stars
11/23/00 Mic Nowhere NEAR as good as Lock Stock. 4 stars
11/18/00 SickBoy Go see it! .. C'Mon .. Chop fucking chop! .. :) 5 stars
11/17/00 anthony fucking fantastic 5 stars
11/17/00 MMK THE BEST IVE SEEN IN YEARS 5 stars
11/13/00 Jordi Action and humor... Good! 5 stars
11/09/00 neil bartlett not very funny. too high body count 3 stars
11/09/00 david low sweet 5 stars
11/04/00 Belinda Just because Brad Pitt is in this doesnt mean its any good! 1 stars
10/27/00 Nick2k ritchie style strikes again 4 stars
10/27/00 Rick Desper Fantastic movie 5 stars
10/26/00 Dan Brad Pitt is the highlight but the rest is dull and badly scripted. 2 stars
10/26/00 Matthew Bartley Dissapointing 3 stars
10/24/00 nick the best ever 5 stars
10/15/00 Neil Great Film, funny and entertaining 5 stars
10/06/00 Susie Excellent film 5 stars
9/25/00 Billy the boy Bob Top flight tackle it was too 5 stars
9/20/00 Mike J very good, funny, exciting 5 stars
9/13/00 marko After lockstock he was the money after this he should grow up. Dumb not fun. 2 stars
9/07/00 Richard Wright Funny, fast moving,some great dialogue,Not as good as Lock,Stock(One of my fave films EVER) 4 stars
9/06/00 Neil Austin Very good. The Squicking dog is a classic!! 5 stars
9/04/00 Stephen Tried to make another Lock Stock, failed 1 stars
9/03/00 Add It ain't as good as lock stock although it is very similar. I liked it alot. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jan-2001 (R)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Nov-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast