Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome51.91%
Worth A Look: 25.95%
Just Average: 10.69%
Pretty Crappy: 7.63%
Sucks: 3.82%

9 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Billy Elliot
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Go Billy!"
4 stars

"Billy Elliot" is like "The Full Monty," "Notting Hill" and "Four Weddings and A Funeral" before it; the kind of movie that is high of spirits and eager to please. Which works almost always for these British films, with sharply drawn characters and an ear for how people from the UK would actually around each other.

"Billy Elliot," while easily belonging in that category, stands out on its own as a uniquely inspirational story. And while not successful all of the time, it has a lot of elements that bring all the story together. The boy wants to be a ballet dancer instead of a boxer. The ballet teacher who prides so much in knowing this boy wants to dance and follow his dream. The angry father and son who are both in the midst of a coal miner's strike. You can look at this movie from any viewpoint and it still works pretty well.

Set in the early 80's, Billy (Jamie Bell) is this boy dancer, who is immediately accepted by both his teacher Mrs. Wilkinson (Julie Walters) and his classmates. Knowing he does not have a shot at becoming a boxer, he knows where to put his talent. His reason for doing this may have something to do with his father Jackie (Gary Lewis) and his brother Tony (Jamie Draven) who are at war over the coal strike. It gets so intense, in fact, that violence will occur to anyone who crosses a line to work and both Jackie and Tony are at odds with the public, and each other. But Billy presses onward. He wants to get out. Nothing in the town interests him, and he is excited at the idea of Mrs. Wilkinson helping him get into a ballet school in London.

What I liked is how these two viewpoints come together very well. We see the ballet story from Billy's eyes, which is alive and happy (The music by "T-Rex" plays an important character for Billy) and the Jackie/Tony relationship, which falls apart and resolves itself by Billy's determination.

Right up until the last reel of "Billy Elliot," we would have one of the year's best films. Everything that happens in the first 90 minutes are strong and very emotional. It just goes downward when the Jackie character reverses his attitude somewhat inexplicably, and then helps Billy to go to London and the plot gets formulatic. And the film's entire final scene, while nicely done, is utterly useless. It could have been excised with no cost to the narrative flow.

But "Billy Elliot" is still a strong film overall. It's even surprisingly insightful at times (in one tracking shot of the police barracades, a young girl taps a stick along a wall, then onto police barracades, then back onto a wall without even noticing). Director Stephen Daldry has made another strong entry into the British "feel-good" films that only marginally goes wrong in the end, but it shouldn't disappoint too much.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4464&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/12/04 09:51:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/04/09 Anonymous. the most charming movie i've ever seen, i loved it :] 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Hard to understand the heavy accents sometimes, but makes anyone want to get up and dance. 5 stars
5/31/08 David Cohen Cliched tripe without a single likeable character 2 stars
8/14/07 Hello Stranger predictable but awwwwww so great to watch 4 stars
1/25/07 Shanaynay Great characters and very heartwarming and inspirational 5 stars
1/19/07 Davo Brilliant flim, Jamie Bell Superb Actor, can watch it time and time again 5 stars
12/31/06 A The best thing ever. You should also see the musical. AMAZING!!! 5 stars
9/16/06 james fabulous and now that i'm starring in the new musical as billy, it is an inspiration. 5 stars
7/23/06 Daveman A resident of County Durham, I can tesify we do NOT talk like that and we are NOT that poor 2 stars
4/01/06 Riki Who is that kid?! 5 stars
8/18/05 boogy man do you want to see my fanny? hahahaha i have to do it 4 yr 10 baa boooring 1 stars
7/22/05 Captain Craig A WOW..onderful film. Left me wanting more! 5 stars
7/14/05 Rabbi Ledinski I have to study this stupid movie for year 12, it used to be cool, but i'm bored of it. 1 stars
7/06/05 muhammad ehsan it is superbly boring 1 stars
6/03/05 anon amazing film-really good! 5 stars
5/16/05 Litty I loved it but not as much as I love Mcleods Daughters 4 stars
5/09/05 Samantha I think it was pretty, daun good 5 stars
4/20/05 Georgina Definately has entered my list of favourites 5 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A really wonder story, well done and quite original 5 stars
1/29/05 movie boi :) gr8 drama :( 5 stars
10/29/04 Elaine Pang Good enough to make my friend cry. bad enough to make another sleep. Could be done better. 1 stars
10/27/04 Kristen I dug it !!! 5 stars
9/26/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 The gold standard for movies about aspiring dancers living in squalor 5 stars
4/01/04 Paola Great Film Highly Recomended 5 stars
2/13/04 Jose O. Isidro Billy Elliot will always be my number one movie. 5 stars
2/10/04 teri reilly fantastic 5 stars
2/01/04 john bale Simple heartwarming stories sometimes make great cinema, this is one such. 5 stars
9/14/03 J I have seen this movie hundreds of times and it is still the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
5/27/03 Jessica I LOVE BILLY ELLIOT! 5 stars
4/29/03 rik i dont trust any critic who doesnt think this is great, because it is! 5 stars
3/05/03 Dina Smith I saw this in school and I tought it was wonderful 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Great film. Very underrated work from Gary Lewis. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Wonderful film...just wish it had subtitles. 5 stars
10/01/01 alf awful tawdry take on english northern life and why were t rex featured in 1984? 2 stars
9/10/01 Malin hln I love the scen when Michael kisses Billy! Its so sweet! And Stuart Wells is very cute!!!! 5 stars
9/06/01 Bada Bing Crosby I can't imagine the soul of the person who thinks this is crap 5 stars
8/17/01 Dana loved it!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/12/01 KCobain Very inspirational. Jamie Bell was terrific. Dance scenes were dazzling. 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg This is not the greatest British film of all time . 4 stars
7/23/01 Pia Wesley Really good movie based on true situations of males being homaphobic. 5 stars
7/09/01 Monday Morning Just like Billy Jack except with dancing instead of head-kicking. Seriously, 'twas lame. 3 stars
6/23/01 Onyx Wonderful story. Enjoyed it. The ending was beautiful. 4 stars
6/13/01 Courtney THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE AND IT ALWAYS WILL BE! I LUV JAMIE BELL 5 stars
6/08/01 Girl 9 NO BILLY NO! Everything about this film has been overrated, from the story to the actors. 2 stars
5/17/01 nowak The reviewer for iF Magazine is simply pathetic. 5 stars
5/13/01 Dave Truly a piece of "shite" 1 stars
5/12/01 Emilio Touching, funny, an excellent film! 5 stars
5/04/01 Bada Bing Crosby The only movie I could see myself watching on a daily basis 5 stars
5/02/01 Antonio Excelent!! The best film year!! 5 stars
4/26/01 Twang Kern Zern If I never see another movie in my life, I'll die happy because I've watched Billy Elliot. 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe A touching story that makes us believe all our dreams can come true no matter how difficult 4 stars
4/07/01 Hawkeye A great film- if the acting doesn't stick with you, the soundtrack will. Go see it! 5 stars
4/02/01 Lisa Great Movie. A must see! 5 stars
3/31/01 BILL BUSTER BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN 10 YEARS! 5 stars
3/20/01 Jeferdi MAGNIFICA 5 stars
3/16/01 Steve Wright Wonderful example of talent transcending barriers 5 stars
3/03/01 Suzz loved it 5 stars
2/05/01 Rob One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
1/24/01 Elvisfan If you don't like this, check your pulse, you might be dead 5 stars
1/17/01 Dan Rich I really enjoyed this movie. The contrasts between ballet and violence were very astute. 4 stars
12/18/00 Mic Though cliched, those who think this movie is gay, do yourself a favour and watch it 4 stars
12/07/00 Matthew Bartley Go, Billy, go! 5 stars
12/04/00 A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/27/00 pipeman Great little flick. 5 stars
11/14/00 basilsmom wondeful, warm and touching Jamie Bell is super 4 stars
11/13/00 Flare28 This was one of the best films of the year! 5 stars
11/13/00 Maureen Inspired me to pursue my talent. I loved this movie! Bought the soundtrack. 5 stars
11/12/00 D Pedersen Aw... how sweet 5 stars
11/09/00 spork-girl you are all just gay-dancing bashing 5 stars
11/06/00 Heather Heartwarming little movie, loved the ending and the T-REX soundtrack 5 stars
11/05/00 Sall S I hardly ever say this with confidence but this movie is a must see! Amazing. 5 stars
10/29/00 neil bartlett heart in the right place. Some inappropriate music & costuming for 198 3 . Take some tissue 4 stars
10/27/00 Rich Knock it all you want, Greg and Oz, I thought it was a great little movie. 5 stars
10/23/00 Daniel Marcusso One of the most wonderful and touching portraits of the childhood I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/21/00 Gonzo Film of the year 5 stars
10/18/00 Klute Pleasant enough, but no life-changer. 3 stars
10/10/00 John JR Absolutely brilliant - tear-jerking, Billy is amazing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Stephen Daldry

Written by
  Lee Hall

Cast
  Julie Walters
  Jamie Bell
  Jamie Draven
  Gary Lewis
  Jean Heywood
  Stuart Wells



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast