Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome51.91%
Worth A Look: 25.95%
Just Average: 10.69%
Pretty Crappy: 7.63%
Sucks: 3.82%

9 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Billy Elliot
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"A wide arching tale of inspiration and triumph"
4 stars

Easily one of the best films of 2000. Billy Elliot, set in a working class coal mining town, profiles the aspiration and struggle of a boy interested in the ballet. Billy's dad is a typical mate's mate who equates dance with "gay" and blows his top when he discovers the boxing money is going for tights and slippers. But Billy refuses to budge. The fire that forces its way out in his dancing is directed towards his father, and most everything, that tries to tell him "No". Billy, like his father, is a fighter.

Times are tough for the Elliots. Mom has just died and dad and older brother are unemployed due to a national labor strike.

His father manages to put 50 pence aside each week for Billy to take boxing lessons like all the local village lads. Billy soon discovers he would rather move with grace and strength as an object of beauty than with grace and strength as a force of destruction.

The Three C's of diamonds, carat, clarity and color can be applied to Billy Elliot because it is a gem of a film. Its weighty, the story is not bogged down by unecessary details or lengthy side excursions into the themes of classism or homophobia and the composition and cast of the film is vibrant.

I loved Billy as I was supposed to do. I really wanted him to get what he wanted and I was encouraging him to try and fight and keep on. I was glad when the story did not disappoint my enthusiastic identification with him. I especially appreciated not only the openness of the film in dealing with homosexuality, which as any of my readers know is practically a mission for me, but I liked the sensitivity and intelligence with which adolescent homosexuality was treated and the non-campiness of adult homosexuality. I was very interested in Billy's childhood friend who leaves the village and heads to London to reinvent himself in an appropriate image because there are no gay role models in small town life.

But there is more to this film than the subtle message that "its okay to be gay and that straight and gay men can have warm, intimate relationships". Sacrifice and perserverance get their time on screen and we some surprising character development.

I didn't follow the flip flop of the Dad and Brother nearly so well as I did Billy's steadfastness and their role as a comedy element later in the film seemed to come from nowhere but I still believed they had it in them to be light and tolerant and to have their feelings changed.

I wonder how they would have responded if Billy was gay and wanted to dance, rather than just wanted to dance. I think it was okay for him to be a dancer mostly because he wasn't gay. His dad could understand that dancing was what he wanted to do but I don't know if he could have easily accepted his son as a homosexual as easily as he could as a dancer.

But thats not really what the movie is about and it shouldn't offend the gay audience any. If anything, the film was honest in its portrayal of the generic coal mining bloke.

Fiery, passionate performances. We are treated to refined conviction that informs every character in this film. Single minded devotion to a cause is a common trait of all the characters and underneath all the hardness and ferocity is love and caring that warms up the story and softens its steely edge.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4464&reviewer=67
originally posted: 01/08/01 22:29:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/04/09 Anonymous. the most charming movie i've ever seen, i loved it :] 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Hard to understand the heavy accents sometimes, but makes anyone want to get up and dance. 5 stars
5/31/08 David Cohen Cliched tripe without a single likeable character 2 stars
8/14/07 Hello Stranger predictable but awwwwww so great to watch 4 stars
1/25/07 Shanaynay Great characters and very heartwarming and inspirational 5 stars
1/19/07 Davo Brilliant flim, Jamie Bell Superb Actor, can watch it time and time again 5 stars
12/31/06 A The best thing ever. You should also see the musical. AMAZING!!! 5 stars
9/16/06 james fabulous and now that i'm starring in the new musical as billy, it is an inspiration. 5 stars
7/23/06 Daveman A resident of County Durham, I can tesify we do NOT talk like that and we are NOT that poor 2 stars
4/01/06 Riki Who is that kid?! 5 stars
8/18/05 boogy man do you want to see my fanny? hahahaha i have to do it 4 yr 10 baa boooring 1 stars
7/22/05 Captain Craig A WOW..onderful film. Left me wanting more! 5 stars
7/14/05 Rabbi Ledinski I have to study this stupid movie for year 12, it used to be cool, but i'm bored of it. 1 stars
7/06/05 muhammad ehsan it is superbly boring 1 stars
6/03/05 anon amazing film-really good! 5 stars
5/16/05 Litty I loved it but not as much as I love Mcleods Daughters 4 stars
5/09/05 Samantha I think it was pretty, daun good 5 stars
4/20/05 Georgina Definately has entered my list of favourites 5 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A really wonder story, well done and quite original 5 stars
1/29/05 movie boi :) gr8 drama :( 5 stars
10/29/04 Elaine Pang Good enough to make my friend cry. bad enough to make another sleep. Could be done better. 1 stars
10/27/04 Kristen I dug it !!! 5 stars
9/26/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 The gold standard for movies about aspiring dancers living in squalor 5 stars
4/01/04 Paola Great Film Highly Recomended 5 stars
2/13/04 Jose O. Isidro Billy Elliot will always be my number one movie. 5 stars
2/10/04 teri reilly fantastic 5 stars
2/01/04 john bale Simple heartwarming stories sometimes make great cinema, this is one such. 5 stars
9/14/03 J I have seen this movie hundreds of times and it is still the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
5/27/03 Jessica I LOVE BILLY ELLIOT! 5 stars
4/29/03 rik i dont trust any critic who doesnt think this is great, because it is! 5 stars
3/05/03 Dina Smith I saw this in school and I tought it was wonderful 4 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Great film. Very underrated work from Gary Lewis. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Wonderful film...just wish it had subtitles. 5 stars
10/01/01 alf awful tawdry take on english northern life and why were t rex featured in 1984? 2 stars
9/10/01 Malin hln I love the scen when Michael kisses Billy! Its so sweet! And Stuart Wells is very cute!!!! 5 stars
9/06/01 Bada Bing Crosby I can't imagine the soul of the person who thinks this is crap 5 stars
8/17/01 Dana loved it!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/12/01 KCobain Very inspirational. Jamie Bell was terrific. Dance scenes were dazzling. 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg This is not the greatest British film of all time . 4 stars
7/23/01 Pia Wesley Really good movie based on true situations of males being homaphobic. 5 stars
7/09/01 Monday Morning Just like Billy Jack except with dancing instead of head-kicking. Seriously, 'twas lame. 3 stars
6/23/01 Onyx Wonderful story. Enjoyed it. The ending was beautiful. 4 stars
6/13/01 Courtney THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE AND IT ALWAYS WILL BE! I LUV JAMIE BELL 5 stars
6/08/01 Girl 9 NO BILLY NO! Everything about this film has been overrated, from the story to the actors. 2 stars
5/17/01 nowak The reviewer for iF Magazine is simply pathetic. 5 stars
5/13/01 Dave Truly a piece of "shite" 1 stars
5/12/01 Emilio Touching, funny, an excellent film! 5 stars
5/04/01 Bada Bing Crosby The only movie I could see myself watching on a daily basis 5 stars
5/02/01 Antonio Excelent!! The best film year!! 5 stars
4/26/01 Twang Kern Zern If I never see another movie in my life, I'll die happy because I've watched Billy Elliot. 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe A touching story that makes us believe all our dreams can come true no matter how difficult 4 stars
4/07/01 Hawkeye A great film- if the acting doesn't stick with you, the soundtrack will. Go see it! 5 stars
4/02/01 Lisa Great Movie. A must see! 5 stars
3/31/01 BILL BUSTER BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN 10 YEARS! 5 stars
3/20/01 Jeferdi MAGNIFICA 5 stars
3/16/01 Steve Wright Wonderful example of talent transcending barriers 5 stars
3/03/01 Suzz loved it 5 stars
2/05/01 Rob One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
1/24/01 Elvisfan If you don't like this, check your pulse, you might be dead 5 stars
1/17/01 Dan Rich I really enjoyed this movie. The contrasts between ballet and violence were very astute. 4 stars
12/18/00 Mic Though cliched, those who think this movie is gay, do yourself a favour and watch it 4 stars
12/07/00 Matthew Bartley Go, Billy, go! 5 stars
12/04/00 A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/27/00 pipeman Great little flick. 5 stars
11/14/00 basilsmom wondeful, warm and touching Jamie Bell is super 4 stars
11/13/00 Flare28 This was one of the best films of the year! 5 stars
11/13/00 Maureen Inspired me to pursue my talent. I loved this movie! Bought the soundtrack. 5 stars
11/12/00 D Pedersen Aw... how sweet 5 stars
11/09/00 spork-girl you are all just gay-dancing bashing 5 stars
11/06/00 Heather Heartwarming little movie, loved the ending and the T-REX soundtrack 5 stars
11/05/00 Sall S I hardly ever say this with confidence but this movie is a must see! Amazing. 5 stars
10/29/00 neil bartlett heart in the right place. Some inappropriate music & costuming for 198 3 . Take some tissue 4 stars
10/27/00 Rich Knock it all you want, Greg and Oz, I thought it was a great little movie. 5 stars
10/23/00 Daniel Marcusso One of the most wonderful and touching portraits of the childhood I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/21/00 Gonzo Film of the year 5 stars
10/18/00 Klute Pleasant enough, but no life-changer. 3 stars
10/10/00 John JR Absolutely brilliant - tear-jerking, Billy is amazing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Stephen Daldry

Written by
  Lee Hall

Cast
  Julie Walters
  Jamie Bell
  Jamie Draven
  Gary Lewis
  Jean Heywood
  Stuart Wells



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast