Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.11

Awesome: 34.09%
Worth A Look49.24%
Just Average: 12.88%
Pretty Crappy: 0.76%
Sucks: 3.03%

11 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Best in Show
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Dogs rule and cats drool!"
4 stars

Christopher Guest's "Best In Show" takes a guerrila styled, mockumentary look at dog shows and their owners. It may disappoint viewers who think the film is just about a group of lovely canines. It is more about the people obsessed with the dogs they own and how they treat them. Some of them love their dogs, some don't, some are so stuck up that they neglect the dogs and just want the prize.

What is so funny about the movie is the parody of dog shows. Personally, I would never subject my dog Fergus, a Cairn Terrier, to this. Fergus is meant to get back rubs, sleep on my old grandad's chair, fetch the stick on the beach and get fed from the table, not to prance around in a perfect circle in an auditorium and respond to commands. I wouldn't wish that fate to any pooch.

But the film is more about the people and their human error. What's great here is Guest shoots a lot of footage of many kinds of people: stuck up, lesbian lovers, goofy dog-lovers, an obsessed fisherman, a gay couple, and others, all of which have their own stories and different outlooks on life, but want their dog to be the best in show. And then there's one of the announcers of the dog show, played by Fred Willard, as an MC who seems to have gotten the job by showing up, and hardly knows what he is talking about half the time.

As well, I just loved the "all too real" feeling of this mockumentary approach; that in no way is the film portraying reality, but channeling it. One of the best moments in the film involves the couple with the Norwich Terrier (Catherine O'Hara and Eugene Levy) that have no money to stay in the hotel, thus are staying in the utility closet. Also, a hilarious sequence which involves the great character actress Parker Posey trying to find a dog toy and is reduced to buying one at a store. And another involves the reaction of any dog after they have won a prize. Everyone around is cheering and happy, and cut to the dog's face, which is confused and not smiling in the least.

"Best In Show" is for anyone who likes their quirky characters just a little quirkier, their comedies a little rougher and their laughs larger and smarter. A lot of the larger studio comedies out right now are pretty good, but when a comedy is so good at pointing out that the people obsessed with dog shows should be on a leash instead of the dogs....well, you get the idea.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4475&reviewer=350
originally posted: 06/12/04 09:46:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/26/11 joshuaprater1979 Hilarious movie! 5 stars
9/13/10 Philo Skinner (terrier king) Huge laffs 5 stars
5/16/10 tangled just wanted to mention that it was a bloodhound and not a daschund... 5 stars
8/25/09 Agorilla I have watched it so much that it is no longer funny, but I didn't go blind either! 5 stars
6/28/09 budo I know what dog shows are like. HILARIOUS movie! 5 stars
12/28/08 Samantha Pruitt very funny and smart, this was a great movie! 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel My absolute favorite Christopher Guest. Not for everyone, but a true comedic gem. 5 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT YOU KEEP WAITING FOR THE FILM TO START. IT NEVER DOES, THOUGH 1 stars
1/29/07 Shari Hilarious - one of my favorite films ever-I show dogs 5 stars
1/13/07 Yoda This is the sort of pretentious nonsense critics praise. 1 stars
4/30/05 Indrid Cold More clever than funny, but still fairly entertaining. 4 stars
2/22/05 Ayla Hapiak It is very bad. If you want us to enjoy a movie please make it more teenagers movies. 1 stars
1/10/05 Mary Schneider This movie, though not nearly as funny as Waitning for Guffman, is laugh out loud hilarious 5 stars
4/26/04 yaser i have seevthis film now 1 stars
1/22/04 Chloe Brody Get her busy-bee!!! 5 stars
11/04/03 R.W. Welch Semi-improv send-up has a unique comic flavor. Willard is a screech. 4 stars
8/09/03 Will Green 'tis a very good film, one I'd reccommend to anyone. If you don't like it, go fuck your dog 4 stars
7/29/03 cohese A truly fun movie. great. 5 stars
7/14/03 Toria This is the funniest movie I've ever seen. I show dogs and this is so true! 5 stars
6/20/03 John Aster Habig this film brings the underestimated genre of mockumentary to new heights great cast 5 stars
6/07/03 earl hoffert my god, fred willard 5 stars
5/31/03 Jack Bourbon Fred Willard: you sir, made me piss my pants! 5 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Really great and fun-tastic!! Great perfs and big laughs!! 5 stars
2/01/03 y2mckay Thank god these wackos have dogs, not kids. Hilarious! 4 stars
12/25/02 Charles Tatum Funnier than Waiting for Guffman 5 stars
12/18/02 Adam Parker Posey steals this movie 5 stars
11/22/02 Denise Great flick! I laughed my ass off!!! 5 stars
7/03/02 KMG Parker Posey's character and the husband were SOOOO fucking in need of a reaming 3 stars
6/23/02 blake paker posey did great in this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/29/02 Gary A lot of funny elements, but the mockumentary style kills it. 3 stars
2/23/02 LyonHeart Now THIS is a date movie. See it with your dog. Make it a double with My Dog Skip.... 4 stars
2/19/02 Bart Shore Brilliant. If you own a dog, you must see this. 5 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden It's Worth A Look Just For The Puppies. 4 stars
1/12/02 Phil M. Afficianado Just about a perfect satire/comedy; was in hysterics in places; the ending rocks 5 stars
12/05/01 Skip Young As good if not better than Guffman. Okay, no Spinal Tap, but one of the greatest comedies. 5 stars
9/04/01 malcolm very good -- not as funny as "Guffman" though 4 stars
8/28/01 That Guy I was rolling through the whole thing. 4 stars
7/05/01 SeStA FUNNY FUNNY FUNNY!!!!! This movie is one of the best comedies of all time.Cool dogumentary! 5 stars
5/29/01 Dan Radu Well done. Almost as good as The Tap. 4 stars
5/24/01 Hi-fuckin-larious The name says it all. 5 stars
4/25/01 Brian the "Spinal Tap" of dog shows. More consistent laughs than "Guffman" 4 stars
4/21/01 viking The funniest dog movie I've seen !!! 4 stars
4/10/01 J.Arcane More curling the side of your lips than laugh-out-loud. 3 stars
3/08/01 gmh Film drags a bit until Fred Willard appears 3 stars
3/03/01 Suzz unfunny and dull 2 stars
2/22/01 Scott It's no "Waiting for Guffman" but it is still fun to see the cast together again. 4 stars
2/12/01 Jake This film certainly had its shining moments. 4 stars
1/30/01 Monday Morning Lotsa yocks. Every character had some laugh-out-loud moments. 4 stars
1/17/01 Bub Pretty damn funny! 4 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 Fred Wilard is a fucking riot, and Harlan Pepper's bloodhound fucking rocks. 4 stars
12/04/00 Izzy This is one of the funniest movie that has passed my eyes...I have to see this movie again! 5 stars
11/21/00 Harlan peanut, brazil nut, macadamia nut, red pistachio nut... 5 stars
11/21/00 Elvisfan It was all right, no big deal, not much that was really memorable 3 stars
11/17/00 Mr. X Characters are believable and real without being caricatures. 4 stars
11/15/00 Sylvia Simon Very funny - Parker Posey is a hoot! If you liked "Waiting for Guffman", you'll like it. 4 stars
11/11/00 kramer Very funny with very bizarre characters 4 stars
11/09/00 Heather It's a light, fun movie with great characters 5 stars
11/04/00 Blubberbot I will see every movie Guest makes. 5 stars
11/02/00 Katsat Great characterization, funny, believable, sympathetic, original. Consistently entertaining 5 stars
10/26/00 bullit17 It's not Guffman, but it's still a darned good movie and a fun time 4 stars
10/22/00 natasha would have been even better if Corky had shown up 4 stars
10/15/00 monumentl it's no Waiting For Guffman, but taken on its' own terms, pretty damn funny 4 stars
10/14/00 gilcarlson hysterical picture, Guest is brilliant 4 stars
10/06/00 matthew it was so funny I wet myself and chewed up my master slippers in glee 5 stars
10/04/00 frank the funniest movie i've seen since BATTLEFIELD EARTH 5 stars
10/03/00 Barron Classic on soooo many levels 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Oct-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast