Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.88

Awesome43.48%
Worth A Look: 26.09%
Just Average: 15.94%
Pretty Crappy: 4.35%
Sucks: 10.14%

6 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Day, A by Jay Seaver

Pork Pie by Jay Seaver

Stronger by Peter Sobczynski

Battle of the Sexes by Peter Sobczynski

Simran by Jay Seaver

Leatherface (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Jay Seaver

Abracadabra by Jay Seaver

Dead Shack by Jay Seaver

Lowlife (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sexy Beast
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"A beast of a burden."
1 stars

I finally got around to catching “Sexy Beast” late last week. The verdict? I would have been better off skipping it altogether.

A very British black comedy with a deceptive cover of a caper movie (the actual caper is but a wrinkle near the end) about one gangster (Ben Kingsley) who has come to retrieve a retired gangster (Ray Winstone) in his happily married life with ex-porn star wife in the Costa del Sol. A sort of battle of the wills — back and forth, back and forth, etc. — a bantering set of dialogues of whether or not the retired gangster will accompany him back. It gets violent near the third act, told partially in flashback by images, but it is still a dull topping to a dull main dish. One setback here, maybe the most recognizable locally, is the thick accents in which the characters speak. “Sexy Beast” is one of those movies that would have benefited from having the subtitles, particularly since it is such a talkie, dialogue driven movie. Early on, once the unliked gangster has made his way over, there are a couple of funny scenarios during the arguments, but never throughout and never for long. All too soon, the humor derived from the bickering runs out of driving force. There’s been some fuss made of Kingsley’s role, and it is different from anything I’ve seen him do before, but it still isn’t enough to permute the movie to another level, a better level. I’ve been asked whether his role would be considered leading or supporting by several people before I happened to see this, but now that I have, my answer would be supporting. I was more impressed with Winstone, whose praise has been shadowed by Kingsley’s. Jonathan Glazer is another “pop music director” alumni (I hear his Radiohead videos are good) making his debut, but of those alumni that I have seen over the course of the last year, Glazer’s is the weakest. He cannot be blamed of overstylizing the movie — it was pretty much gimmick free, but released itself of too many responsibilities. As a comedy, it lacks. As a caper movie, it lacks. As a character study, it is inept and inadequate. It seems like its concerns are somewhere else, and those efforts are not seen. At one point, the “boulder” starts rolling, but it’s never kept in that forward-motion.

Final Verdict: D-.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4490&reviewer=172
originally posted: 07/27/01 17:47:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/16/17 Louise (the real one) Hard-hitting. strong stuff - despite the lame title. 4 stars
4/14/14 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING, STYLISH CRIME THRILLER WITH A GREAT STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
10/12/12 kiran bc so nice 4 stars
4/04/12 mehedi Overrated, decent concept though horribly tiresome genre (gangster, haven't we seen enough) 5 stars
9/25/11 asg Try to forget Kingsley in this...try. 5 stars
3/25/10 Tony Arnold Superb film...sexey, exciting, scary and well crafted 5 stars
8/08/09 s pandy good 5 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 5 stars
10/10/08 brian YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!!! 4 stars
9/24/08 parasvati great film, and (surprise!) a lovely love story-- but a very, very dark take on life-- 5 stars
8/06/08 tom palmer very very good. 5 stars
1/18/08 india good 5 stars
10/20/07 kunjesh i want to seen a sexy film 5 stars
9/23/07 Jim Zebo Great. but he didn't have to piss on the floor and why didn't someone (the kid?) kill him. 4 stars
7/26/07 parasvati full of cognitive dissonance, creepy, but really, really good 4 stars
7/12/07 Edward Shandis I'm a sexy beast!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/08/07 sammy lovely film 5 stars
1/25/07 Artist Bill had to watch again to understand....Gritty!! 4 stars
11/24/06 alan price a chilling insite to the mind of a psycho. 5 stars
10/13/06 Manni nice movie 4 stars
7/08/06 sreedhar so beautiful 1 stars
6/21/06 Jack Sommersby Good-looking but empty and derivative. 1 stars
5/30/06 stephanie willis Ben Kingsley, as you've never seen him 4 stars
12/04/05 fred definitely worth it, even if only for kingsley's explosive and rabid performance 5 stars
7/26/05 Indrid Cold The browbeating delivered by Kingsley becomes hilarious, and not in a particularly good way 3 stars
6/08/05 Bluto Ian McShane as Teddy was best, scary guy 5 stars
1/27/05 MyGreenBed Overrated, decent concept though horribly tiresome genre (gangster, haven't we seen enough) 3 stars
1/05/05 Asaad very nice 1 stars
11/18/04 brenda jones disturbing 1 stars
11/03/04 suresh sexey movies 2 stars
11/01/04 LIly's mom Superb, original, all good performances, fun 5 stars
10/02/04 Daveman Overrated, no substance beneath the style, but it's too "cool" to dismiss completely. 3 stars
8/05/04 DM Ben Kingsley kicks ass; but what happened to the rest of the movie? 3 stars
6/20/04 Dick Logan Great film, great directing, Kingsley is the bomb!! 5 stars
4/27/04 dung your best film 4 stars
3/15/04 Deanna from Indiana understated Winstone cool, Kingsley terrific. No spoon fed plots here 5 stars
3/06/04 malcolm you've got to like this movie. yes, you do. come on, then. yes-yes-yes-yes-yes-yes-yes 4 stars
2/24/04 Jonni Fantastic cinematography. Great story 5 stars
1/22/04 steve Booth Just to watch Ben Kingsley and the fear he puts into the other cast members without doing a 5 stars
1/20/04 tatum Great direction hides standard script 4 stars
12/27/03 bert bakker No story and no suspence in a wink of an eye. 2 stars
10/04/03 Alfred C. No...I think you're going to have to turn this movie YES!!...Great film...can't get enough! 5 stars
9/30/03 nick Ben Kinsley is a master chameleon. Best movie of the year for me! 5 stars
9/21/03 kill quacky the title sounds gay 4 stars
6/11/03 Logan, Don What's that cunt 5 stars
5/07/03 Alexander McDowell This filmes is the most terrifici film of Ben Kingsley 5 stars
4/20/03 Goofy Maxwell Cocksure gangster cum demonic rabbit goes off on Cockney crook wit da rocks to roll da mob. 4 stars
4/16/03 rx dx stellar performance. not an action film, but an outstanding character film. 5 stars
4/13/03 LIAM JACKSON ben kingsley rocked! he proves a point: if someone is disrespecting you,fucking batter them 5 stars
3/31/03 Dave Cliched, but stylish gangster movie that puts overrated films like Lock Stock to shame. 4 stars
3/02/03 Jack Sommersby Overly mannered, cliche-ridden crime flick. Showy camerawork is only asset. 1 stars
2/07/03 natasha_theobald brilliant performances, amazing things to see, wit and menace 5 stars
1/28/03 spacecowboy intense 5 stars
12/27/02 RAVIKUMAR I LOVE MOVIES 2 stars
10/29/02 Bluto Teddy scared me 5 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock Great no worries. 5 stars
9/17/02 Andy Hards A return to the classic British Gangster Movie, Ben Kingsley still scares me 5 stars
9/10/02 Francofile Some of the most gut-level, plausible fear ever on screen. Raw, mature performances. 4 stars
8/18/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) I don't know why people were saying it was so scary. It's actually funny...on purpose! 3 stars
8/18/02 Larry O'Connor Perfect casting 5 stars
8/08/02 billywood always be good 2 stars
7/12/02 ran bad 5 stars
7/11/02 Katrina Disappointing, actually 3 stars
5/22/02 Adrian Kingsley is Scary! 5 stars
5/15/02 Peet A perfect film, beautifully written, acted, shot and directed. 5 stars
5/13/02 Caiphn I had to turn the subtitles on. What's with the rabbit? 4 stars
4/28/02 zxy ok 5 stars
4/12/02 John Watson "Phil M. Afficianado" stick to video games 4 stars
4/05/02 Dave MacDougall i couldn't understand a word...and i still liked it... 3 stars
4/01/02 Gemini Not too bad. Kingsley is great and so is Winstone. The movie worked out great. 5 stars
3/23/02 dave vousden brilliant, life like 5 stars
3/22/02 The Bomb 69 need subtitles to enjoy, not much about the caper itself but strong performances 5 stars
3/18/02 Spyguy2 Watch it on DVD and add subtitles...quirky, cool little film...Kingsley is an amazing actor 4 stars
3/18/02 john b excellent 4 stars
3/15/02 Gold Medal No Ghandi here 4 stars
3/12/02 Phil M. Afficianado very nearly total crap; dialog unintelligible and pointless flick. 2 stars
3/12/02 ÌäÓ ma_2003 3 stars
3/06/02 Ike The BEST 5 stars
2/18/02 sd good score as well 4 stars
1/20/02 BumperFish The best movie I've seen this year! 5 stars
1/04/02 Lesley I loved it. 5 stars
12/05/01 Linda Frost Excellent film.. 4 stars
11/24/01 Ellis Best film of the year 5 stars
10/24/01 Bill Gains Very good, but not as good (read: violent) as Gangster No. 1 5 stars
10/23/01 tom turley thats sexy 4 stars
9/24/01 bluebeena Interesting... hard to understand at times. 4 stars
8/28/01 Benjamin Allen Very Good, Great Camera Work 4 stars
8/27/01 Kooler extraordinary performances from Kingsley et al 5 stars
8/23/01 stan a much better than average film 4 stars
8/23/01 Kevin I wish I could get that 2 hours of my life back 1 stars
8/17/01 matthew smith kingsley adds a touch of menace that goes under your skin 4 stars
7/27/01 Reverend Krule Chilling watching kingsley at work. brilliant film 5 stars
7/19/01 skye lots of fun. original. evenifwedon'tknowwhat'sgoingon.orwhy.orbelieveit.ben's scary! 3 stars
7/14/01 malcolm Kingsley is incredible. much of dialogue is hard to understand w/heavy English accents. 4 stars
7/09/01 Ed Jepson Hypnotic 5 stars
7/04/01 Gronk U Lator Powerhouse Kingsley performance. Everything else is windowdressing. 4 stars
7/04/01 Newmarket Movie Warrior The worst piece of trash I have ever had to pay $12.50 plus tax to see! 1 stars
6/22/01 Silly Me Kingsley is awesome but the movie is awful and a waste of time. 2 stars
6/18/01 Heather Ignore the morons who have posted here, Kingsley is amazing, definitely one to look out for 5 stars
6/15/01 Denis Pedregosa Superb 5 stars
5/27/01 Vandemaele Kurt Nothing really new but Winstone is a winner and Kingsley is kingsize 4 stars
1/28/01 rubber This was the worst movie I've seen in a long time,it's nothing but a stretched out TV drama 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jun-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Aug-2001 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast