Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 27.27%
Worth A Look38.18%
Just Average: 21.82%
Pretty Crappy: 7.27%
Sucks: 5.45%

3 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wag the Dog
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Albania, Albania."
3 stars

Just because it's sorta true to life doesn't make it good.

I didn't like it. I didn't get what was so witty or wickedly sharp about it. Yes, looking back on it, it laid the groundwork for many a late night monologue comparing it to Clinton's troubles, and it does have some decent lines (thanks in no small part to writer David Mamet). But is it really such a great movie? I don't think so.

Dustin Hoffman is a fine actor. No dispute there. But his performance here grated me like fingernails on a blackboard. It was completely one-note, a bad impersonation (Hoffman has said as much) of uberproducer Robert Evans. That's worth an Oscar nomination? Apparently so.

Anne Heche was nothing more than a deer in the headlights, and Robert DeNiro tried, oh he tried, but he just couldn't overcome a weak story. There were some brief high points, a funny cameo from Willie Nelson and a completely whacked out Woody Harrelson, but I just don't think this film lived up to it's hype.

If it's political drama and Dustin Hoffman you want, rent All The President's Men.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=450&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/14/98 11:09:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/26/14 Joe Smaltz loved the fast banter, as a political wonk, the plot was frightenly believable. 5 stars
1/05/11 victar It's a scary possibility 4 stars
5/02/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE SATIRE WITH A GOOD CAST 4 stars
8/13/08 Charles Tatum Smug and condescending, I got tired of being insulted 3 stars
4/15/07 mar shit of movie 1 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold It's "Network" gone average, if that's at all possible. 3/5 or 4/5. 3 stars
2/07/07 Victoria L Horribly slow-paced, unrealistic and simply not very convincing overall. SUCKS ASS 1 stars
10/02/05 steve b Brilliant! Wife and I loved it both times we viewed 5 stars
7/05/05 Indrid Cold Satirizes a very easy target; not particularly funny or thought-provoking. 3 stars
1/06/05 Jeffrey Banks So right, Robyn. I love you! You'd marry me, 'cept you don't want to be Robyn Banks. 4 stars
1/06/05 Robyn Jamil-Walid Best part is one of last undeflowered appearances of Kirsten Dunst. 4 stars
11/01/04 muddy Like Dr. Strangelove... very disturbing comedy/reality 5 stars
10/23/04 UMER both the great actors proving their metal once more and the result is just HILARIOUS 5 stars
12/08/03 john Hoffman plays Evans - wonderful satire 5 stars
11/07/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Very very clever, very entertaining. Well-written & acted. 4 stars
4/13/03 Mystique Funny 4 stars
3/30/03 spacecowboy it was kind of weird. 4 stars
3/07/03 Jack Sommersby Sharp and funny. Super dialogue and priceless performance by Hoffman. 4 stars
8/23/02 R.W. Welch Lacks the sharp writing needed for a good satirical pic. Doesn't quite click. 3 stars
5/14/02 Jeffrey Banks So right, Robyn. I love you! You'd marry me, 'cept you don't want to be Robyn Banks. 4 stars
5/14/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Best part is one of last undeflowered appearances of Kirsten Dunst. 4 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye A great analysis of politics in the US. Any politically-minded person should check it out. 5 stars
10/05/00 Monday Morning Outstanding cast & satire. The smarter you are the more you'll like it. 5 stars
2/24/00 Bozo Liked Woody Harrelson's cameo & maybe another moment or two at most 2 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Great cast, but totally wasted. It disappointed and bored me. 2 stars
6/09/99 Homer J. Simpson This movie was funny and had perfect actors 4 stars
4/06/99 unstrung im sorry, but this movie REALLY SUCKS ALL ASS, everyone cast in this film was out of place 1 stars
1/23/99 Lucy B. Boring and pointless. Greatly overrated. 2 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Boring satire with dissapointing performances.. 2 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Great concept, Great cast, it just kinda ran out of steam. 4 stars
10/07/98 PyThomas So good it's .... creepy. 5 stars
10/04/98 Johny "We thought we were making a satire, now it's a documentry" -- Denis Leary 4 stars
9/24/98 Foxgirl Pretty realistic.A good film with great actors. 4 stars
9/03/98 Badass Compelling and a hoot! 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Might have been prophetic, but that doesn't make it compelling. 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Like Nostradamus and shit. 4 stars
8/21/98 Ryan_A Overrated. Yet, timely and oddly prophetic. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Apr-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast