Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 26.88%
Just Average30.63%
Pretty Crappy: 28.13%
Sucks: 11.25%

15 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


6th Day, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Together, two current Arnolds equal one Arnold of 15 years ago."
4 stars

Perhaps the makers of "The 6th Day" realized that the fading Arnold Schwarzenegger now has about half the box-office strength he once did, and shrewdly thought to shore themselves up against that liability by putting TWO Arnold Schwarzeneggers in their movie.

Whatever they were thinking, it works. "The 6th Day" is an exciting high-tech action film that's even a little clever, in its big, blowing-things-up kind of way.

The film -- which borrows liberally from Arnold's own "Total Recall" and "Eraser," as well as from "The Fugitive" and "The Matrix" (at least they picked some good movies to steal from) -- is set in the near future. Arnold is Adam Gibson, a family man who works as a helicopter pilot for an extreme sports company, and he's a little old-fashioned. Human cloning is illegal and apparently impossible to do correctly anyway, but animal cloning is commonplace, so much so that companies have arisen that will store your pet's DNA and use it to make a new animal in the event Fluffy should find herself on the wrong side of a set of truck tires. Adam doesn't cotton to this kind of tampering in God's domain, and is reluctant to buy a new dog when his daughter's pooch dies. Instead, he buys her a life-sized doll that walks, talks and grows real hair -- the world's creepiest toy, in other words.

Upon arriving home with Creepy Doll, Adam is startled to see himself inside, celebrating his birthday with family and friends. Before he can react, he is accosted by a couple hired goons who try to kill him, failing in that but succeeding in letting him know what's going on: Human-organ cloners Weir (Robert Duvall) and Drucker (Tony Goldwyn) -- organ cloning is OK; it's entire-human cloning that's bad -- have secretly been making spare people in their high-security labs. Drucker's been cloned a couple times himself, in fact, having made a few enemies who occasionally kill him. Due to a mix-up I won't divulge here, a new Adam was made without the old Adam being dead yet. Since human cloning is against the law, Weir and Drucker have to kill one of the Adams before anyone knows there are two of them.

Director Roger Spottiswoode ("Tomorrow Never Dies") has manufactured a near-future that is startlingly realistic. There are some goofy elements in it -- nacho-flavored bananas and virtual girlfriends, for example -- but also quite a few things that are not unreasonable, and that science is heading toward already. (Refrigerators that tell you when you're running low on items and allow you to order new ones from the store; cars with autopilot and navigation systems.) If everything looked totally space-age, it would lose its immediacy; the point here is that what's going on may not be far off.

Well, that's the point to the extent that there IS a point. No one will accuse "The 6th Day" of being an overly cerebral film, though it is relatively free of gaping plot holes. It's an action movie, and a good one, at that. There's a thrilling car chase, lots of explosions, cheesy post-mortem one-liners from Arnold, and as many "I'm not myself today" kind of jokes as you can think of (and trust me, you could think of all of them). There may be hope for Schwarzenegger yet.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4583&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/29/03 20:40:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good imho 4 stars
4/07/16 David Hollingsworth Too derivative, even for Arnold. 2 stars
7/07/14 Kat Could have been good. Wanted to like it. Sadly, it was both boring and terribly written. 2 stars
7/31/11 Chris F not one of Arnies best films 3 stars
3/22/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING FUTURISTIC ADVENTURE 3 stars
12/21/06 David Pollastrini must have sucked. I saw it but have no memory of it 1 stars
8/18/05 ES better than Total retard, I liked the way the villains kept coming back from the dead 4 stars
7/02/05 Quigley had some clever ideas, but it becomes a really forgettable film. watch T2, not this 3 stars
6/01/05 Chris Are you who you think you are? 1 stars
3/30/05 hannaho Just another Arnold film. 3 stars
3/04/05 Gloria Anderson love this movie 4 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung one of arnie's worst films 2 stars
2/27/05 Diane Stedner It wasn't so bad but wasn't so good either 3 stars
2/23/05 ALDO one of arnie's worse films...disappointing!!!! 2 stars
8/22/04 R.W. Welch Plot line is too far out to be very involving. Some snazzy F/X. 3 stars
6/09/04 Nobody I'm glad arnie went into politics, now he can't make any more crappy movies like this 1 stars
4/17/04 ALBERT H. TAYLOR JR. Not Arnold's better films! 3 stars
4/08/04 y2mckay One of Arnie's most brain-dead actioners - rent "Total Recall" . Sarah Wynter hot, though. 2 stars
4/08/04 Jack Sommersby Uninteresting, unexciting, and unmemorable. A real waste of fucking time. 1 stars
2/20/04 Stefan Halka The worst action I have ever seen in any A-level movie. 3 stars
1/28/04 stuntman A good idea ruined by poor writers 2 stars
7/01/03 Frank Lynch Decent flick 4 stars
4/19/03 Pratim Guha Biswas IT was really a waste of time which u would not normally expect from a Arnie Movie 2 stars
4/17/03 Matt Thiel An action film that tries to tell a story; but there are better examples than this. 3 stars
10/28/02 Jay Is this movie bad? No fucking way! Arnie at his best! 5 stars
8/01/02 Zefram Mann That Sim-Pal was so friggin' evil looking. 3 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi when i told u to go screw urself i didnt mean it literally 3 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic An attempt to go back to the 'Total Recall' sci-fi action, and it hit on target! Must see! 4 stars
3/15/02 Zargo underrated 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Interesting premise. Not very exciting. 3 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid I had high expectations about this movie, and so I was disapointed. 2 stars
10/30/01 Connoisseur nice entertaining movie, quit carping! 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Lots of fun for the first hour and a half. 4 stars
6/10/01 I love movies this movie absolutely rocked the world! Arnold's best in years but his acting hasn't improv 5 stars
5/12/01 Pete Wrigley just bad 1 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Christ... 2 stars
5/07/01 Monday Morning Kind of a cross between "Total Recall" and "Twins". Fun futuristic appliances too. 4 stars
5/06/01 saleh sientific 4 stars
4/15/01 The Bomb 69 interesting look at the possibilities of cloning and the potential downfalls 4 stars
4/12/01 DREDD really bad plot, must have been really big hard drives to store all those memorys 2 stars
4/11/01 Del R One of me says he liked it, the other one says he didn't 3 stars
4/10/01 Jesse L Most boring Arnie movie ever made. Thin thin plot. 2 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Arnold sucks!!! He should make a Movie with Cameron again. 1 stars
3/29/01 The Reviewer it is better than last action hero, end of days, but not as good as total recall. 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Not to bad a movie,lots of action,but Arnie movies need some new insights. 3 stars
1/26/01 Sickofshitfilms comes a close second just after 'Battlefield Earth' 2 stars
1/25/01 Diego Romero Preet good movie,believe me,Arnie will return with T3 and true lies 2 5 stars
1/16/01 The Terminator As a fan of Schwarzenegger, I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/14/01 Action freak Good movie, should have been a huge hit, but people don't seem to like Schwarzenegger 4 stars
12/30/00 kevin AH im a clone i have two rings under my eyelid, this movie sucked D+ 2 stars
12/20/00 owen thought provoking action flik 4 stars
12/11/00 MAXOMENOS Good premise, boring execution. Could be the last gasp of the typical Arnold flick. 2 stars
12/05/00 Charlie.X "Did you get the info, !!Arnie,!! my soul wants 2, know, du plane will land, its gonu blow. 4 stars
11/25/00 FlickChick Kinda like Total Recall meets Demo Man meets 5th Element. Fills the flick need. 4 stars
11/25/00 Blubberbot Some good parts. Some bad parts. Some exciting parts. Some boring parts. 3 stars
11/24/00 FELaPorta Great Fun - my kids and I loved it! 4 stars
11/24/00 TigerShark Could've been so much better than it was. Ah-nold was good, but the plot was stupid. Rental 2 stars
11/23/00 KoHawk I guess it was okay... Damn those lasers ruined it, though 3 stars
11/22/00 Florida Voter 2 Too close to call.........lets recount!!! 4 stars
11/21/00 Greyjack An all right movie. Not blow-you-out-of-your-seat great, but a good matinee flick. 4 stars
11/20/00 Wyatt Earp Better than I expected. Nice FXs. Acting wasn't painful 4 stars
11/19/00 Stuntman not as bad as Red Planet, but worth watching 3 stars
11/19/00 TheRock Much better than M2M and Red Planet...not in Total Recall's class though 4 stars
11/19/00 frankko it's no COMMANDO. 3 stars
11/18/00 Will it was good simple fun. 4 stars
11/18/00 Brandon Bickford not bad when arnie isn't talking 4 stars
11/18/00 Bruce Has it's problems but it is entertianing. 4 stars
11/18/00 FLORIDA VOTER This movie was great! I disagree with the reviewer, this movie is 5 stars, A++ 5 stars
11/18/00 Eve Crisp visuals, some neat twists, and Arnold is always a reliable source of fun and heroism 5 stars
11/18/00 artifact great special effects, but missing a strong storyline 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast