Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 26.88%
Just Average30.63%
Pretty Crappy: 28.13%
Sucks: 11.25%

15 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


6th Day, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Hey, did they shoot this movie in Vancouver?"
2 stars

For a follow up to the 1997 James Bond drag "Tomorrow Never Dies," one of the worst Bond pictures since "A View To A Kill," director Roger Spottiswoode should have picked a better story to helm, but at least has some interesting ideas. Even if "The 6th Day" should have been a think-piece about god versus science, you can't have anyone thinking in an Arnold Schwarzenegger picture. Which is part of the problem, not to mention Arnie is getting closer to senior citizenship. And he's also a governor.

In this movie, which I believe is set in Vancouver (The North Shore mountains, Stanley Park, Whistler, Downtown core and Expo 86/Science center is promintently featured, but none of the characters ever mention they're from the city), it is the future, subtitled in the film as "Closer Than You Think". The science of cloning has come to a head, where it is possible to clone anything, but the law has turned down human cloning, but permitted stores like Re-Pet to clone animals for children. And although it is illegal, there is a whole underground place where human cloning is already happening, led by a billionaire named Drucker (Tony Goldwyn) and a scientist named Weir (Robert DuVall). All it takes is an embryo, a strand of DNA from a blood or skin sample and a few hours to wait, and one microwaved life is ready.

Adam Gibson (Schwarzenegger) comes into the story as a helijet pilot working for a charter service (again, I think, in Vancouver). Something goes wrong when Drucker charters one of the helijet as Adam heads off to Re-Pet to replace the family dog. Adam turns up cloned by Drucker's company by accident, as is soon on the run when Drucker's company finds out about it and doesn't want the law to find out human cloning is happening.

This is the setup for a lot of action scenes with a lot of get away's and explosions, and yet again a movie where a lot of gun shots are fired at Arnie and none hit him (to be fair, at least the guns are futuristic laser guns that hold more shots and work on a recharging cell). And when a bad guy gets killed, no problem, just clone the dead body and they are back on the street. "It costs me $1.2 million dollars for me to clone you every time you die," Drucker tells them in the best line in the movie.

At least the futuristic ideas in the movie seemed plausible (a talking/reacting doll, the laser guns), but like "Demolition Man" today, the movie may become implausible in 10 years with all of this stuff. For now, however, it works.

But the movie needed a better story and characters. Here, again, the antagonists are not just dark and cruel, but stupid and unreasonable as well (one of the baddies comes out from a cloning and worries only about to get her hair dyed back). I'd imagine these people would smile or go have a beer at some point in their lives ... that would perhaps excuse their bad shooting.

Schwarzenegger is showing his age. He's not as successful as before, and audiences know it. He's still making these kinds of films where he wish he could be younger. Anyone remember Roger Moore in "A View To A Kill"? The guy was in his 60's when he filmed that 007 disaster. Arnie should just retire and give the baton to the new action stars like The Rock, Thomas Jane, Jude Law and Hugh Jackman who would do the work better. As for the other cast, I'm liking the fact that Tony Goldwyn is getting more film jobs these days, but here he needed better writing as he didn't work at all as a bad guy. Michael Rooker does what he can as a snarly bad guy. Sarah Wynter (who starred in the awful "Bride of the Wind" as Alma Mahler), as pretty as she is, falters in what appears to be a role originally written for Angelina Jolie (she even has the drawl and the purr in her voice down to boot). Wendy Crewson is back again giving a good performance as an underwritten wife. Michael Rapaport, a fine character actor, isn't on screen long. And Robert DuVall, one of the screen's greatest legends, doesn't last that long either.

There are moments of humour here and there, but "The 6th Day" so much, but as the film dragged along the flaws and nitpicking became larger, and the bad performances didn't help either. This won't do anything for Arnie's career but prove that he can't be the same Terminator or Last Action Hero he once was.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4583&reviewer=350
originally posted: 04/08/04 03:40:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good imho 4 stars
4/07/16 David Hollingsworth Too derivative, even for Arnold. 2 stars
7/07/14 Kat Could have been good. Wanted to like it. Sadly, it was both boring and terribly written. 2 stars
7/31/11 Chris F not one of Arnies best films 3 stars
3/22/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING FUTURISTIC ADVENTURE 3 stars
12/21/06 David Pollastrini must have sucked. I saw it but have no memory of it 1 stars
8/18/05 ES better than Total retard, I liked the way the villains kept coming back from the dead 4 stars
7/02/05 Quigley had some clever ideas, but it becomes a really forgettable film. watch T2, not this 3 stars
6/01/05 Chris Are you who you think you are? 1 stars
3/30/05 hannaho Just another Arnold film. 3 stars
3/04/05 Gloria Anderson love this movie 4 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung one of arnie's worst films 2 stars
2/27/05 Diane Stedner It wasn't so bad but wasn't so good either 3 stars
2/23/05 ALDO one of arnie's worse films...disappointing!!!! 2 stars
8/22/04 R.W. Welch Plot line is too far out to be very involving. Some snazzy F/X. 3 stars
6/09/04 Nobody I'm glad arnie went into politics, now he can't make any more crappy movies like this 1 stars
4/17/04 ALBERT H. TAYLOR JR. Not Arnold's better films! 3 stars
4/08/04 y2mckay One of Arnie's most brain-dead actioners - rent "Total Recall" . Sarah Wynter hot, though. 2 stars
4/08/04 Jack Sommersby Uninteresting, unexciting, and unmemorable. A real waste of fucking time. 1 stars
2/20/04 Stefan Halka The worst action I have ever seen in any A-level movie. 3 stars
1/28/04 stuntman A good idea ruined by poor writers 2 stars
7/01/03 Frank Lynch Decent flick 4 stars
4/19/03 Pratim Guha Biswas IT was really a waste of time which u would not normally expect from a Arnie Movie 2 stars
4/17/03 Matt Thiel An action film that tries to tell a story; but there are better examples than this. 3 stars
10/28/02 Jay Is this movie bad? No fucking way! Arnie at his best! 5 stars
8/01/02 Zefram Mann That Sim-Pal was so friggin' evil looking. 3 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi when i told u to go screw urself i didnt mean it literally 3 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic An attempt to go back to the 'Total Recall' sci-fi action, and it hit on target! Must see! 4 stars
3/15/02 Zargo underrated 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Interesting premise. Not very exciting. 3 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid I had high expectations about this movie, and so I was disapointed. 2 stars
10/30/01 Connoisseur nice entertaining movie, quit carping! 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Lots of fun for the first hour and a half. 4 stars
6/10/01 I love movies this movie absolutely rocked the world! Arnold's best in years but his acting hasn't improv 5 stars
5/12/01 Pete Wrigley just bad 1 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Christ... 2 stars
5/07/01 Monday Morning Kind of a cross between "Total Recall" and "Twins". Fun futuristic appliances too. 4 stars
5/06/01 saleh sientific 4 stars
4/15/01 The Bomb 69 interesting look at the possibilities of cloning and the potential downfalls 4 stars
4/12/01 DREDD really bad plot, must have been really big hard drives to store all those memorys 2 stars
4/11/01 Del R One of me says he liked it, the other one says he didn't 3 stars
4/10/01 Jesse L Most boring Arnie movie ever made. Thin thin plot. 2 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Arnold sucks!!! He should make a Movie with Cameron again. 1 stars
3/29/01 The Reviewer it is better than last action hero, end of days, but not as good as total recall. 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Not to bad a movie,lots of action,but Arnie movies need some new insights. 3 stars
1/26/01 Sickofshitfilms comes a close second just after 'Battlefield Earth' 2 stars
1/25/01 Diego Romero Preet good movie,believe me,Arnie will return with T3 and true lies 2 5 stars
1/16/01 The Terminator As a fan of Schwarzenegger, I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/14/01 Action freak Good movie, should have been a huge hit, but people don't seem to like Schwarzenegger 4 stars
12/30/00 kevin AH im a clone i have two rings under my eyelid, this movie sucked D+ 2 stars
12/20/00 owen thought provoking action flik 4 stars
12/11/00 MAXOMENOS Good premise, boring execution. Could be the last gasp of the typical Arnold flick. 2 stars
12/05/00 Charlie.X "Did you get the info, !!Arnie,!! my soul wants 2, know, du plane will land, its gonu blow. 4 stars
11/25/00 FlickChick Kinda like Total Recall meets Demo Man meets 5th Element. Fills the flick need. 4 stars
11/25/00 Blubberbot Some good parts. Some bad parts. Some exciting parts. Some boring parts. 3 stars
11/24/00 FELaPorta Great Fun - my kids and I loved it! 4 stars
11/24/00 TigerShark Could've been so much better than it was. Ah-nold was good, but the plot was stupid. Rental 2 stars
11/23/00 KoHawk I guess it was okay... Damn those lasers ruined it, though 3 stars
11/22/00 Florida Voter 2 Too close to call.........lets recount!!! 4 stars
11/21/00 Greyjack An all right movie. Not blow-you-out-of-your-seat great, but a good matinee flick. 4 stars
11/20/00 Wyatt Earp Better than I expected. Nice FXs. Acting wasn't painful 4 stars
11/19/00 Stuntman not as bad as Red Planet, but worth watching 3 stars
11/19/00 TheRock Much better than M2M and Red Planet...not in Total Recall's class though 4 stars
11/19/00 frankko it's no COMMANDO. 3 stars
11/18/00 Will it was good simple fun. 4 stars
11/18/00 Brandon Bickford not bad when arnie isn't talking 4 stars
11/18/00 Bruce Has it's problems but it is entertianing. 4 stars
11/18/00 FLORIDA VOTER This movie was great! I disagree with the reviewer, this movie is 5 stars, A++ 5 stars
11/18/00 Eve Crisp visuals, some neat twists, and Arnold is always a reliable source of fun and heroism 5 stars
11/18/00 artifact great special effects, but missing a strong storyline 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast