Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 26.88%
Just Average30.63%
Pretty Crappy: 28.13%
Sucks: 11.25%

15 reviews, 70 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


6th Day, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Hasta la vista, intelligent storytelling."
2 stars

Well, punch me in the balls and call me Betty, Schwarzenegger’s got another sci-fi movie. Arnold’s never seemed to be the type of guy who’d want to do all of these sci-fi flicks (can you picture him at a Trek convention?), yet that’s his bread and butter, the style we all wish he’d go back to whenever he puts out one of his “comedies.”

His latest trip into sci-fi is a clunker called “The 6th Day.” In it, Arnold plays another one of his recent “regular guy” characters, and while it’s always a major stretch to buy him as an Austrian-accented muscle-crazy ad exec father of two, at least this time he’s a charter pilot specializing in escorting extreme sports types. It’s the “near future” (“sooner than you think,” the subtitle warns us), and human cloning, while outlawed, is a possibility. It’s so possible that Arnold himself has been cloned - without his knowledge. Well, pretty soon the bad guys learn that, as Arnold says, they cloned the wrong man. Nobody gives him a raw deal. He’ll be back. Hasta la vista, baby. Gotcha, suckas!

What we have here is a minor rip-off of the far superior Schwarzenegger flick “Total Recall.” The similarities are cute at first, grating after a while: Arnold’s an everyday guy (construction worker/pilot) living in the future. A corporation is offering a controversial service (false memory implantation/pet cloning) to which our man decides to check out. Soon he finds himself battling the baddies while several factors in the script attempt to create confusion (Is it all just a dream?/Is our Arnold really the clone Arnold?).

What “6th Day” lacks is “Recall”’s freshness and inventiveness. “Recall” told a story that, while being incredibly silly, was both fun and intriguing, giving us a movie that works whether your brain is on or off at the moment. It did what sci-fi does best: creating a brand new world in which we could lose ourselves, all the while producing enough intelligent material to generate more than a few discussions afterward.

The world of “6th Day” is not very interesting, and all of the concepts it tries to present fall pretty flat. So since it’s not a very smart sci-fi film, we then hope for a fun sci-fi film. There’s nothing wrong with good old-fashioned dumb fun, as long as it works. But even that fails - there’s not much fun here, with most of the action scenes unable to excite or thrill. The special effects aren’t really that special, with some of the shots crying out, “we did this in five minutes!” Even Arnold’s signature stupid one-liners are mercilessly stupid (as is the rest of the dialogue). I found myself laughing far more often than the producers probably planned, and not at the jokes, if you catch my drift.

The movie’s saving grace comes in the forms of Robert Duvall and Tony Goldwyn. Duvall’s always committed to his work, no matter how stupid, and the result is his usual fine acting. His talents are wasted here, although his appearance gives the audience a break from the crap outside his scenes. Goldwyn, on the other hand, takes the “I know I’m in a crappy film” approach, hamming it up as Arnold’s nemesis. Unlike the others in the cast, he seems to understand that a film this lame deserves a less serious effort, and his glee in the midst of all the stupidity certainly helps.

I’m not upset that this wasn’t a deep, “serious” examination of cloning issues. While that would have been nice, a good meaningless adventure yarn would have been just as good. But we don’t get that at all. “The 6th Day” is not dumb fun; it’s just dumb.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4583&reviewer=392
originally posted: 02/27/05 17:15:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good imho 4 stars
4/07/16 David Hollingsworth Too derivative, even for Arnold. 2 stars
7/07/14 Kat Could have been good. Wanted to like it. Sadly, it was both boring and terribly written. 2 stars
7/31/11 Chris F not one of Arnies best films 3 stars
3/22/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING FUTURISTIC ADVENTURE 3 stars
12/21/06 David Pollastrini must have sucked. I saw it but have no memory of it 1 stars
8/18/05 ES better than Total retard, I liked the way the villains kept coming back from the dead 4 stars
7/02/05 Quigley had some clever ideas, but it becomes a really forgettable film. watch T2, not this 3 stars
6/01/05 Chris Are you who you think you are? 1 stars
3/30/05 hannaho Just another Arnold film. 3 stars
3/04/05 Gloria Anderson love this movie 4 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung one of arnie's worst films 2 stars
2/27/05 Diane Stedner It wasn't so bad but wasn't so good either 3 stars
2/23/05 ALDO one of arnie's worse films...disappointing!!!! 2 stars
8/22/04 R.W. Welch Plot line is too far out to be very involving. Some snazzy F/X. 3 stars
6/09/04 Nobody I'm glad arnie went into politics, now he can't make any more crappy movies like this 1 stars
4/17/04 ALBERT H. TAYLOR JR. Not Arnold's better films! 3 stars
4/08/04 y2mckay One of Arnie's most brain-dead actioners - rent "Total Recall" . Sarah Wynter hot, though. 2 stars
4/08/04 Jack Sommersby Uninteresting, unexciting, and unmemorable. A real waste of fucking time. 1 stars
2/20/04 Stefan Halka The worst action I have ever seen in any A-level movie. 3 stars
1/28/04 stuntman A good idea ruined by poor writers 2 stars
7/01/03 Frank Lynch Decent flick 4 stars
4/19/03 Pratim Guha Biswas IT was really a waste of time which u would not normally expect from a Arnie Movie 2 stars
4/17/03 Matt Thiel An action film that tries to tell a story; but there are better examples than this. 3 stars
10/28/02 Jay Is this movie bad? No fucking way! Arnie at his best! 5 stars
8/01/02 Zefram Mann That Sim-Pal was so friggin' evil looking. 3 stars
5/26/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi when i told u to go screw urself i didnt mean it literally 3 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic An attempt to go back to the 'Total Recall' sci-fi action, and it hit on target! Must see! 4 stars
3/15/02 Zargo underrated 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Interesting premise. Not very exciting. 3 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid I had high expectations about this movie, and so I was disapointed. 2 stars
10/30/01 Connoisseur nice entertaining movie, quit carping! 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Lots of fun for the first hour and a half. 4 stars
6/10/01 I love movies this movie absolutely rocked the world! Arnold's best in years but his acting hasn't improv 5 stars
5/12/01 Pete Wrigley just bad 1 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Christ... 2 stars
5/07/01 Monday Morning Kind of a cross between "Total Recall" and "Twins". Fun futuristic appliances too. 4 stars
5/06/01 saleh sientific 4 stars
4/15/01 The Bomb 69 interesting look at the possibilities of cloning and the potential downfalls 4 stars
4/12/01 DREDD really bad plot, must have been really big hard drives to store all those memorys 2 stars
4/11/01 Del R One of me says he liked it, the other one says he didn't 3 stars
4/10/01 Jesse L Most boring Arnie movie ever made. Thin thin plot. 2 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Arnold sucks!!! He should make a Movie with Cameron again. 1 stars
3/29/01 The Reviewer it is better than last action hero, end of days, but not as good as total recall. 4 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Not to bad a movie,lots of action,but Arnie movies need some new insights. 3 stars
1/26/01 Sickofshitfilms comes a close second just after 'Battlefield Earth' 2 stars
1/25/01 Diego Romero Preet good movie,believe me,Arnie will return with T3 and true lies 2 5 stars
1/16/01 The Terminator As a fan of Schwarzenegger, I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/14/01 Action freak Good movie, should have been a huge hit, but people don't seem to like Schwarzenegger 4 stars
12/30/00 kevin AH im a clone i have two rings under my eyelid, this movie sucked D+ 2 stars
12/20/00 owen thought provoking action flik 4 stars
12/11/00 MAXOMENOS Good premise, boring execution. Could be the last gasp of the typical Arnold flick. 2 stars
12/05/00 Charlie.X "Did you get the info, !!Arnie,!! my soul wants 2, know, du plane will land, its gonu blow. 4 stars
11/25/00 FlickChick Kinda like Total Recall meets Demo Man meets 5th Element. Fills the flick need. 4 stars
11/25/00 Blubberbot Some good parts. Some bad parts. Some exciting parts. Some boring parts. 3 stars
11/24/00 FELaPorta Great Fun - my kids and I loved it! 4 stars
11/24/00 TigerShark Could've been so much better than it was. Ah-nold was good, but the plot was stupid. Rental 2 stars
11/23/00 KoHawk I guess it was okay... Damn those lasers ruined it, though 3 stars
11/22/00 Florida Voter 2 Too close to call.........lets recount!!! 4 stars
11/21/00 Greyjack An all right movie. Not blow-you-out-of-your-seat great, but a good matinee flick. 4 stars
11/20/00 Wyatt Earp Better than I expected. Nice FXs. Acting wasn't painful 4 stars
11/19/00 Stuntman not as bad as Red Planet, but worth watching 3 stars
11/19/00 TheRock Much better than M2M and Red Planet...not in Total Recall's class though 4 stars
11/19/00 frankko it's no COMMANDO. 3 stars
11/18/00 Will it was good simple fun. 4 stars
11/18/00 Brandon Bickford not bad when arnie isn't talking 4 stars
11/18/00 Bruce Has it's problems but it is entertianing. 4 stars
11/18/00 FLORIDA VOTER This movie was great! I disagree with the reviewer, this movie is 5 stars, A++ 5 stars
11/18/00 Eve Crisp visuals, some neat twists, and Arnold is always a reliable source of fun and heroism 5 stars
11/18/00 artifact great special effects, but missing a strong storyline 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jan-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast