Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.83

Awesome: 13.89%
Worth A Look: 19.44%
Just Average25%
Pretty Crappy: 19.44%
Sucks: 22.22%

2 reviews, 24 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


How Stella Got Her Groove Back
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Did you ever notice Whoopi has no eyebrows?!"
2 stars

It should be called, "How Stella Became a Pedophile."

Well, not really.

All I honestly have to say about this movie is it wasn't as fun as I thought it was going to be. Previews.. Jamaica.. Whoopi Goldberg.. Angela Bassett (one of my favorite actresses).. Getting her 'groove' back. This was one 'grooveless' movie.

Don't get me wrong. The acting was great. Stella's sisters were each comical in their own way. One being kind of "ghetto" (loudmouthed cussing, putting people in their places, listening to loud bumping rap in.. an ambulence), and the other one being so stiff that it's amazing Stella turned out to be so 'well adjusted.'

But. I digress. The first half hour of the flick is all the previews portray it to be. Funnies by Whoopi, Stella finally getting the deserved vacation she needs, yadda yadda yadda, but then she.. What? Falls in love with someone half her age? That is NOT getting your groove back, girl! Just sleep with him a lot then dump him! Sheesh.

Anyway, as soon as they get into the icky love stuff, the movie just takes a nosedive. It's no longer funny at *all*. It just gets way too serious for my tastes.

If you MUST see this, just see the first half hour. That's the only reason it gets more than one star.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=46&reviewer=22
originally posted: 01/14/99 05:46:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/09/13 Michael Hernandez one of my favorite films, worth the watch! 5 stars
6/17/04 VELMA HOLT THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT, HEARD IT WAS TRUE, IF SO I AINT MAD AT HER 5 stars
7/10/03 cochese This fucking movie should be banned, if not for the name alone!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/12/03 atanu wish angela bassett would stop. fucking shit of a chick flick 1 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand This movie is good...too bad Whoopi had a little part 4 stars
1/20/02 Andrew Carden It Was Interesting, and Whoopi Gave A Good Performance. 4 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean A little long. Was I supposed to be cheering for Stella when she agreed to marry her man? 3 stars
3/12/01 John What a joke of a title and a film. Who cares. 1 stars
1/07/01 Ryan Ryan fucking sucks, i'd kill that stella bitch 1 stars
11/21/00 KIYANA MOYY ENJOYED WATCHING 4 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Another classic written by a lesbian man hater. 1 stars
7/08/00 Andrew Freeman Very touching, incredible cinema experience 5 stars
6/13/00 California girl beautiful, if a bit slow. Angela Basset is better than the material. Whoopi is very, very 4 stars
11/17/99 Bozo it was okay, at best 3 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Pretty people, pretty places. Worth some couch time but not exactly Shakespeare. 4 stars
7/10/99 Caligula What a piece of shit! 1 stars
2/10/99 Don Wilson "Who in the hell is Stella?" , said my grandfather. 1 stars
10/22/98 Kwyjibo But overall, the movie is fun and sweet, if a little slow. 4 stars
9/26/98 val one of the few movies that is just as good as the book. 5 stars
9/15/98 Chip Taylor Women & men..hmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Just goofy. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Bleargh. Sappy crap. Oprah style. 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee A little away from the book, supposedly. 3 stars
8/13/98 roxy i didn't see it but she gets her groove back by doing a young guy. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 13-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Nov-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast