Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 32.2%
Worth A Look44.07%
Just Average: 11.3%
Pretty Crappy: 6.78%
Sucks: 5.65%

9 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Halloween (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

All About Nina by Jay Seaver

Lost, Found by Jay Seaver

Night of the Living Dead (1968) by Rob Gonsalves

Neomanila by Jay Seaver

First Man by Peter Sobczynski

Bad Times At The El Royale by Peter Sobczynski

Being Natural by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (1978) by Rob Gonsalves

Monsters and Men by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bridget Jones's Diary
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by iF Magazine

"Charming and funny. Zellweger shines."
4 stars

Staying true to yourself is the theme of the charming new comedy BRIDGET JONES’S DIARY. Based on Helen Fielding’s best seller of the same name, this cheeky comedy throws all conventions of that tired old romantic genre on its head and manages to do so with a daring young, flawed heroine at the forefront.

Texas born Renee Zellweger plays the very English Jones to perfection. A slightly overweight, chain-smoking single woman, Bridget Jones feels the pressure of “being attached” by her married friends, but she still hasn’t found Mr. Right or that “idealized” icon of a man society has placed as who Mr. Right should be.


Instead, Bridget finds herself falling for her charming, smug boss (Hugh Grant) who is completely wrong for her and she knows it. Still, there’s something unsavory that draws the two of them together. On the other hand, as time passes, she also takes a liking to Mark Darcy (Colin Firth) who starts off as her enemy and soon becomes much more.


Co-scripted by author Fielding, Andrew Davies, Richard Curtis, the film has a breezy feel as director Sharon Maguire shows off Bridget’s flaws – warts, body fat and all. There’s a point where the film could have been overly preachy or even a little self-indulgence but the movie centers itself quite well. The key, oddly enough, is Zellweger’s touching performance. She gained weight for the role (everyone and their mother knows that now), but there’s more to it than just that. She embodies this character and wears her look proudly. There’s a very clear humility that both the character and Zellweger herself endure during the course of the film yet the movie never goes for the exploitative factor. Rather it focuses on the humanity of her situations.


In essence, Bridget Jones as a character is a real woman – the kind normally never seen in glamorous Hollywood films where men are perfect and women have the waist the size of a celery stalk. And the romantic elements in the film are far from pat. There’s complications, double crosses, deceit and a whole other myriad of entanglements that Bridget must endure before she finally accepts that she has to just be herself and not what others want her to be.


Grant is particularly dashing and slimy all at once while Firth is his perfect foil. The casting which has both actors playing virtually against type is another master stroke of the film which keeps your expectations constantly shifting throughout.


As a comedy BRIDGET JONES’S DIARY is also quite funny. Most of it comes form the physical humor of Zellweger – and its spoofing of romantic clichés. In particular, a fist fight toward the end of the movie is not only real but quite hilarious in how clumsily it's portrayed.

English humor doesn’t always translate well, but Working Title, the production company that also spawned the stateside hits FOUR WEDDINGS AND A FUNERAL and NOTTING HILL, has hit gold once again. The key seems to be in the casting (here with Zellweger) and a universal theme. Anyone can relate to Bridget’s plight and with someone as likable and inviting as Zellweger at the helm, you can’t help but want to follow her on her journey and then some.-- Anthony C. Ferrante

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4614&reviewer=119
originally posted: 04/13/01 14:24:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/25/18 Louise A travesty to have a bad American actress in the title role. 2 stars
8/17/12 edutra awful. not one piece of enterainment 1 stars
5/07/12 LilWilko haha have to do a review on this movie, and its one of the funnyest movies ive watched (: 5 stars
4/05/12 SEAN DUTRA a pain to watch. rather sleep 1 stars
4/02/12 Georgiana Darcy. Colin Firth shits all over Fitzwilliam Darcy. Hey Firth, what did he do to you? 2 stars
9/28/11 Heather Purplethorne Couldn't make me interested in the title character. Too bad she kept a diary. 2 stars
3/06/11 That girl Helen Fielding, do you have a drivers license? You should drive a cab. 2 stars
3/03/11 Rita God, I hope Renee Zellweger never makes another movies of any kind. 3 stars
2/21/10 Elizabeth Bennett Mr. Darcy is the best of men. Mark Darcy is a mediocrity, so is Colin Firth. 1 stars
12/15/09 A Girl bridget is just so lovable 5 stars
7/11/09 the dork knight Didn't care to see Zellweger's ass but even she seemed sexy by the end. 5 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. i laughed so much watching this :] 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday A completely fantastic adaptation of Helen Fielding's re-telling of Pride and Prejudice. 5 stars
1/28/07 Lisa Craven I just love Bridget/Renee...she can do no wrong by me, and Hugh Grant is just delightful 5 stars
11/30/06 SabresFanatic I AM BJ. Seriously one of the best Rom-Com's in years! Just naughty enough that even guys 5 stars
10/19/06 MP Bartley Aside from some annoying stereotypes and cliches, good fun. Zellweger is excellent. 4 stars
9/16/06 Lizzie Bennett What's this Pride&Prejudice talk? I saw no resemblance to Pride&Prejudice whatsoever! 2 stars
5/02/06 Ashley Hinz I liked this well enough to watch it a few times. 4 stars
1/02/06 Daveman Vacuous, bourgeois nonsense, not even closely representative of the British singleton. 2 stars
12/23/05 Jeff Anderson Surprisingly weak & D.O.A. See EASY with Marguerite Moreau instead, a MUCH better film!!!!! 1 stars
12/30/04 Jenna Furr What you mean, Pici? Isn't THIS the first one? 2 stars
12/05/04 Sarah I wish I would have walked out, it was absolutely awful 1 stars
11/16/04 Pici The first one was awful - this one was HORRENDOUS. 1 stars
11/14/04 ashley The sequal to the first on is as good if not better than the first one 5 stars
11/12/04 Sarah It was awesome really funny and 2 really hot guys are in it 5 stars
11/06/04 Dunce Decent books don't always make decent films. 3 stars
11/02/04 Peter Caron This movie is one of the funniest flicks I've seen in a long time. Zellweger was great. 4 stars
10/23/04 Saddam Hussein I'd rather have a job wiping Renee Zellweger's ass than watch BRIDGET JONES'S DIARRHEA. 2 stars
10/23/04 Elena The guy who played Darcy in Pride + Prejudice also played Darcy in this movie. Quirky humor 5 stars
9/12/04 A cline It was not bad. I'd like to know how she diets the weight off after the movie. 4 stars
8/04/04 Allison I loved it. A nice, and witty movie. 5 stars
6/24/04 rosebud Great chick-flick! Renee was wonderful! 5 stars
6/22/04 nikki fab film,,watch it all the time!! 5 stars
6/01/04 chinky brilliant, love,Love,LOVE this flick!!! 5 stars
5/03/04 nada nazzal it is very good film and renee was really very good 5 stars
3/02/04 mary a film that u can watch ova +ova again n still laugh the same each time! 4 stars
2/17/04 C. Hachtel EXCELLENT - EXCELLENT Movie 5 stars
2/15/04 john bale Renee's Bridget is terrific and its typical British fun movie 4 stars
1/24/04 Elena The guy who played Darcy in Pride + Prejudice also played Darcy in this movie. Quirky humor 5 stars
12/28/03 gina creed favourite chick-flick, as am real life bridget jones! could identify with charachter. 5 stars
11/29/03 Wittle and Wuzy BIRDGE IS FAN_FUCKING_TASTIC. HILARIOUS. CAN TOTALLY RELATE! BRILLIANT. 5 stars
11/03/03 Charles Tatum Not laugh out loud, but Renee is sexy and great 4 stars
8/18/03 kate inesoria i feel like i want to be bridgette jones for a week.. 5 stars
5/21/03 leila kamali 5 stars
5/20/03 Shadaan Felfeli Renee looks so nice and healthy in this film as compared to chicago.A fun film. 4 stars
2/22/03 Fatuous One Actualy clever and witty! Wonderfully acted. R.Z. looks great, too. 4 stars
2/13/03 Blabity blah Funniest fight scene ever!!! This movie was hilarious. 5 stars
12/31/02 Andy Todes depressing how people actually like this film. (R.Z. was phenomenal in "jerry maguire.") 1 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Renée was great! 4 stars
7/26/02 karen goldstein THE ABSOLUTE GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/01/02 Jay Who could love Bridget? Sucks all ass. 1 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi bridget jones, wanted sex goddess with a very naughty man between her theighs, oh hi mum... 5 stars
4/10/02 Saddam Hussein I'd rather have a job wiping Renee Zellweger's ass than watch Bridget Jones's Diarrhea 3 stars
3/30/02 Carmen Crowe Why not SAVING SILVERMAN for best actor (sensible as this for best actress)? 3 stars
3/30/02 Jeremy itz o...............kay 4 stars
3/28/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Really funny. I don't like Oxygen or WE. I think they're sexist, but this was good! 5 stars
3/13/02 Tiah I just rented this film and I thought it was actaully better than the previews let on. 4 stars
3/10/02 R.W. Welch Amusing romantic comedy with stand-out work by Renee. 4 stars
3/03/02 Paul W. Not THAT bad 3 stars
3/01/02 Chowie I quite liked it Sneza.....and if you had have left it on for more han 20 minutes.......... 5 stars
2/22/02 Sneza I turned it off within 20 minutes! What a waste of a rental! 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Some good fun. 4 stars
2/14/02 Carmen Crowe Why not SAVING SILVERMAN for best actor (sensible as this for best actress)? 3 stars
2/02/02 Saddam Hussein I'd rather have a job wiping Renee Zellweger's ass than watch Bridget Jones's Diarrhea. 3 stars
1/17/02 Scottish Kilt crap, hughs a poofter cause he likes rugby. 2 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick is Renee Zellwhateverthehell related to someone in the business? 1 stars
11/26/01 Keith surprisingly good for a chick-flick 4 stars
10/26/01 Monday Morning Nice. But a chick flick any way you slice it.. 4 stars
10/19/01 Tam Fanastic feel-good film! Humourous, superbly acted and well-written. 5 stars
10/15/01 Jaynne I love it when Bridget says nice boys dont kiss like that "yes, they Fuckin do" 5 stars
10/15/01 The Bomb 69 funny movie if a bit out of control at times 4 stars
10/13/01 Andrew Carden At Times Funny, but She Gets Out Of Control. 3 stars
10/12/01 RehabBoy Was much better than I thought it would be 5 stars
10/09/01 P.Rodriguez Hey quite good. even hugh 'faggy' Grant! 4 stars
9/04/01 kris Simply average. 3 stars
8/27/01 Al Oh Yeah Baby!!! 5 stars
8/23/01 Reini Urban Bit disappointing. Not in the funeral&wedding, jerry macguire class, only notting hill... 4 stars
8/22/01 Vikki Cooke It was sensational, lots of laughs and good for the heart and soul 5 stars
8/15/01 Trine Love the film. Colin Firth is great 5 stars
8/15/01 ^Elendil^ Hollywood is warped. 60 kg is not 'fat'. 4 stars
8/14/01 GeoPersius I Love Colin FIrth! Great Movie 5 stars
8/13/01 Bob Great 5 stars
8/07/01 hum charming. best fight scene for some time! 4 stars
8/05/01 JODIE MODERN PRIDE & PRJUDICE--GREAT!!! 5 stars
8/03/01 viking Renee Zellweger was great !!! 4 stars
8/03/01 Lisa I really approve of this movie! 4 stars
8/03/01 Anna A fun, sweet, humourous movie 4 stars
7/26/01 kris Just average. 3 stars
7/25/01 Jenny Theatre is what I do with my life - so I'm picky. But this movie made my suggestion list. 4 stars
7/24/01 Chris Shigihara Absolutely delightful film.Have seen 48 times to date.Great acting & screenplay. 5 stars
7/22/01 Linda A comedy that makes you laugh! What a refreshing concept. Zellweger is astonishing! 5 stars
7/20/01 matthew smith delightfully witty and one of the funniest films of the year. 5 stars
7/18/01 Carole Poland Brilliant! It is my new favorite film! Everyone is great especially Colin Firth! 5 stars
7/04/01 Jed Exceptional writing make for a wonderful romantic comedy 5 stars
6/22/01 Onyx Enjoyed it thoroughly. Love Colin Firth Yummy 4 stars
6/10/01 Angela M. Murtagh Boring and predictable...slow...bad plot...no spunk! 2 stars
6/07/01 Hawkeye A great film, and Rene Zellweger does a wonderful job. Just as good as the book! 5 stars
6/04/01 Sandpiper Hilarious and refreshing change from typical drab comedies. 5 stars
5/29/01 Bud A great date movie. Warm,funny,great characters and a happy ending. 4 stars
5/28/01 Andy Meakin Laff a minute...EXCELLENT 5 stars
5/20/01 tnt cute and enjoyable....but once you leave the theater it is forgotten! 3 stars
5/17/01 zeitgeist for me to like a romantic comedy set in britain says something 4 stars
5/15/01 Gail Splendid 5 stars
5/14/01 Amy Hill Wow. A hilarious film that goes stright from the screen into your heart!!! Ten out of ten! 5 stars
5/08/01 Ashley P WOW 5 stars
5/06/01 Heather Hooray, a good chick flick for a change, loved the Pride & Prejudice connection 5 stars
5/06/01 Suzz fluff but fun fluff 4 stars
5/05/01 astrotart This flick really hit close to home...and the guys will dig it too! 5 stars
4/27/01 Monster W. Kung Average, ridicolously over-hyped film. Some fun parts, but not that many. 3 stars
4/24/01 K nowhere near as good as book, but your date will love it. 3 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) WHOO!! Truth Will Set You Free--Fuck off, you misogynistic prick!! 4 stars
4/22/01 y2mckay One of the more tolerable chick-flicks I've been dragged to. Hugh Grant was funny for once 4 stars
4/21/01 That Guy Ally McBeal-like date movie with cute Zellweger. No fear, men - not just a chick flick. 4 stars
4/19/01 Monster W. Kung Average comedy, nothing more, nothing less. 3 stars
4/18/01 Tam Warm and funny. Brought it all home for us singletons. Zellweger was great! 5 stars
4/18/01 SUZL4 I laughed very hard!! Zellweger, Hugh, and Colin were great!! 5 stars
4/18/01 nowak Only pretends to be witty. Quite stupid and Firth is weak.. 2 stars
4/17/01 Greyjack Very entertaining light fare. Good date movie. 4 stars
4/16/01 poetchuck One of the best movies to take a nap to. Not funny, not charming just boring. 1 stars
4/14/01 John C Maynard Wonderful modern version of Pride and Prejudice.. 5 stars
4/13/01 Gary Mitchell good, I was one of the people with the movie man to see the screwed up version of the movie 4 stars
4/12/01 Julia Much more Funny than I expected! (And those shameful memories it evoked!!) Thank You! 5 stars
4/07/01 grunter Zellweger nails the accent, too bad it was for a parallel universe "Ally McBeal" episode 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Apr-2001 (R)
  DVD: 09-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jul-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast