Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.59

Awesome: 22.07%
Worth A Look39.31%
Just Average: 24.14%
Pretty Crappy: 4.83%
Sucks: 9.66%

8 reviews, 97 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Miss Congeniality
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Before Two Weeks Notice, there was...."
1 stars

There's a key scene in Miss Congeniality that proves that this movie is a dud, a scene where beauty pagents are all asked what they wish for, and we get edit after edit of beauty pagent after beauty pagent wish for "world peace." Undercover FBI agent Gracie Hart, who is after a serial killer and is touted with this question, replies with "Harsher punishment for parole violators, Stan." Silence lingers over the audience, as Gracie catches herself and says "And world peace." The audience jumps into cheers, as if they are as sheepish as the answers of the beauty pagent contenstants.

That scene in the movie is the complete attitude of "Miss Congeniality." It recycles one unfunny joke after another, and I was pressed to laugh at something, anything, but did not laugh; a brief chuckle here and there as William Shatner and Michael Caine, two excellent comic actors, ham it up, but otherwise nothing.

Bullock's FBI agent, Gracie, begins tomboyish, loving to eat bad food, keep herself untidy and be a "guy," and she's tough. A horribly unfunny opening scene shows a young Gracie battling a school bully, and later Gracie battling one of her co-workers (Benjamin Bratt), proves this.

When a serial killer is found near a beauty pagent in Texas, Gracie is sent undercover as a contestant to find him. This involves a complete makeover and attitude change for Gracie, which seems impossible, but by the magic of a gay designer (Michael Caine) she is able to do it. Then Gracie becomes friends with all of the contestants, including a beauty (Heather Burns) that may or may not be what she appears to be.

I like Sandra Bullock, and even though I haven't exactly liked all of her movies, she's worked as the kind of "Girl Next Door" with a nice charm to her. There's none of it in this film, which is just stilted smartass and snotty laughter one reel to the next. It doesn't help that Benjamin Bratt as one of her partners, is about as comic as balsa wood (his reaction in an early scene to a computer program that places dresses on FBI agents proves that Mr. Julia Roberts is only here for one thing - his looks). Candice Bergen, who has been looking for work since TV's "Murphy Brown" went off the air, should have kept looking. The only saving graces are Michael Caine and William Shatner. Caine has whatever fun he can with an underwritten role, and Shatner, who I last saw on a hilarious bit on the Conan O'Brien show and in "Free Enterprise," is hilarious as the host, who hams it up whenever the camera is on him.

It comes as no surprise that the person responsible for this mess is Donald Petrie a well-known comedic director, who has done many awful comedies for studios that include "Richie Rich," "My Favorite Martian," and "Mystic Pizza," and has had a hit with "Grumpy Old Men" and that's about it. "Miss Congineality" is a complete failure and a waste of 110 overrlong minutes of celluloid.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4616&reviewer=350
originally posted: 07/09/04 00:01:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/23/13 Jamie Loved it! Michael Cain, Bill Shatner, Candice Bergen, hillarious! 5 stars
7/22/11 art WACH the PROPOSALfrom 2009,for a better S.BULLOCK VEHICLE! 1 stars
2/19/11 Ark Not great, but cute and entertaining! 4 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING, IF PREDICTABLE COMEDY WITH A LIKEABLE CAST 3 stars
10/07/09 Kay D. This is one of my most favorite movies. Not amazing, but not bad. 4 stars
6/29/09 art LAME! 1 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner Wonderful story. 4 stars
3/27/08 EY World peace! 3 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White Best movie for Sandra she makes such a transformation 5 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog See this is the reason a lot of us hated Bullock for a long time 3 stars
2/02/07 William Goss Lightweight yet amusing enough to tolerate. Caine helps a great deal. 3 stars
6/01/06 drydock54321 nice refreshing and fun 5 stars
5/30/06 Ashley Hinz Michael Caine is unforgettable. 5 stars
4/03/06 kenzie the greatest ever i watched it over 10 times in 2 days 5 stars
2/01/06 Alyssa Waters A great movie and has gave me the power to be what I want to be! 5 stars
11/15/05 kellie i love sandra bullock shes the bast and he movie 5 stars
8/23/05 tony It was so funny. it was very good. 4 stars
4/09/05 judith anderson story moves well. good acting. VERY funny!! 5 stars
2/04/05 goatfarmer yeah, yeah, yeah, yes! 4 stars
1/10/05 Lucas Stenz A lot of product placements; still cute 2 stars
12/04/04 kayla that movie was funny 5 stars
10/08/04 Casey Great movie! Very Funny! A must see 5 stars
8/16/04 Herolder Fun and entertaining 4 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz I liked it???? 4 stars
7/19/04 godan Wow does Sandra look great here! 4 stars
7/17/04 Jen C. funny and cute! 4 stars
7/16/04 Raymond Lee a vert funny movie 4 stars
7/09/04 Jack Sommersby Wonderfully entertaining. Bullock and Caine shine, and the film is ingratiating. 4 stars
4/23/04 J Entertaining and mildly funny! 4 stars
4/23/04 Andy Schwarz great 5 stars
3/30/04 Dani Barolo fantastic, best movie ive seen 5 stars
12/27/03 Chris Funny, Funny, Funny. Proves again why I love Bullock. 5 stars
11/16/03 John Bale Much depends on Sandra which finally wilts this modest comedy 3 stars
10/16/03 LEGALLY BLONDE Sandra Bulimic again does the cinematic form of barfing on us. 1 stars
10/04/03 Heather Purplethorne Yes, I sure do miss the congeniality that isn't in this movie! 1 stars
7/07/03 R.W. Welch Just gets by until the finale which is something of a hoot. 3 stars
5/20/03 Shadaan Felfeli Bergen looks EVIL right through the film..so much for suspence.Unintelligent yet hillarious 4 stars
3/29/03 HE great 5 stars
3/29/03 Nanc S. I enjoyed it so much, I watched the encore presentation! Anything with Bullock is great!! 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Funny and, yes, heartwarming. Bullock is sensational. Only action parts are lame. 4 stars
1/19/03 Film Liker Outstanding! Fun Movie - that's all that counts! At least Sandra had real WORDS to speak 5 stars
12/20/02 palaboy101 Sandra Bullock was a perfect fit! 4 stars
11/17/02 Chris Walker i love it she is so hot!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/21/02 danielle clooney its really funny 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi cool 4 stars
3/19/02 Natalie Stonecipher To make sense of the title, think of "miss" as a verb. 2 stars
3/02/02 Chowie fun 4 stars
1/16/02 jessica i love this moviee 5 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick hello? 1 stars
11/27/01 Trish Whelan I loved this movie and every other one Sandy did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Lighten up people, it's a funny movie!! 4 stars
11/16/01 The Moorhen Not too bad. Nice to see William "Kirk" Shatner again. Bullock should get a boob job. 4 stars
11/12/01 Bada Bing Crosby Forgotten the minute it was over. Bullock is coasting thru her (AHEM) career 3 stars
11/11/01 Gracy Lionheart Predictable + Boring? A horrible combination present in this poorly written film. 1 stars
11/04/01 CrunchyFrog Sandra Bullock? How'd she make it past the talent portion? Not to mention swimsuit... 2 stars
10/22/01 Tam Some truly funny moments, like Bullock's makeover. Loved the ending. 4 stars
10/16/01 Hum pleasant way to waiste some time 3 stars
10/02/01 Kirk Amusing. 4 stars
9/28/01 Steve Sororis the worse Bullock film ever 2 stars
9/27/01 RK Not worth the ticket. 2 stars
6/22/01 Justin Cheung Totally hilarious! Sandra Bullock does one hell of a job with this movie! 5 stars
6/08/01 Turtle I couldn't stop laughing! Sure it's but predictable, but it's hilarious! 4 stars
6/01/01 Fr Ozarks Sandy's Super! 5 stars
5/14/01 Monday Morning Sandra is a little too precious. She should take her shirt off once in a while. 3 stars
5/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Cute satiric take on the Miss America pageants, Bullock reminds me of me...*L* 4 stars
5/06/01 The Bomb 69 predictable but funny nonetheless 4 stars
4/18/01 Tam Loads of fun, challenged the stereotype of the shallow beauty queen 4 stars
4/10/01 Spetters The only reason that i did not fall asleep while watching this was Sandra. 2 stars
4/06/01 Kay wonderful! All Bullock Fans should see this! 4 stars
3/31/01 ~*Co_Co*~ Pretty good, predictable, but funny, Benjamin Bratt was so gorgeous! 4 stars
3/18/01 viking Sandra's best film since "While you were sleeping" 4 stars
3/16/01 fahrbot Absolutely hilarious. I was laughing basically the whole time. 5 stars
2/23/01 Marissa Hilarious 4 stars
2/20/01 Rich It's okay; Sandra carries the film. 3 stars
2/19/01 nick sandra bullock is the hottest 5 stars
2/18/01 Miss. Congeniality Sandra Bullock and the whole cast were AWESOME! 5 stars
2/13/01 whoa!!! whoa!!! 4 stars
2/12/01 Hung Sandra Bullock is so awesome...she did a great job in that movie 5 stars
2/11/01 Monique Sandra Bullock is awesome in the movie, she makes audiences love her 5 stars
2/08/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi It was a cute popcorn movie. I totally dug the "before" Sandra's attitude. >=) 4 stars
2/08/01 WORD_OF_WISDOM sandra's sexy 5 stars
2/01/01 Elladan An action comedy with no action that's not funny. 1 stars
1/28/01 Nic I don't care what anyone else says, this movie was freakin' hilarious! 5 stars
1/27/01 Gavin Moore The perfect date movie. Guys will like it too. 4 stars
1/21/01 Uncommon Sense Cute & entertaining. 5 stars
1/08/01 Kimberly C. This movie was so good and so funny. Sandra can make any movie a good one no matter what. 5 stars
1/07/01 Jenny-My-Fur it is a fun movie, total date movie 4 stars
1/03/01 Lane cool 4 stars
1/03/01 Zavon I loved it. Agood laugh all around.. 4 stars
1/03/01 Richard Schulte all the ditsy models are a great effect 4 stars
1/02/01 Paul Jensen A fun movie 4 stars
12/28/00 Seven Hysterical, light comdey. Sandra is amazing 5 stars
12/25/00 poetchuck All the best parts were shown in the previews 2 stars
12/24/00 Kevin The Movie May not be heavy writing but it made me laugh and in thats a good thing. 4 stars
12/24/00 Carter Light, fun and entertaining! Will see again! 4 stars
12/23/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble A few years ago, wasn't this movie called Miss Firecracker? 3 stars
12/22/00 Qui-Gon The radio station give away night was half empty, half of the audience left 45 minutes into 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 15-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast