Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome27.35%
Worth A Look: 16.24%
Just Average: 16.24%
Pretty Crappy: 22.22%
Sucks: 17.95%

7 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Josie and the Pussycats
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Matt Mulcahey

"‘Josie’ funny, but disappointing"
2 stars

Josie and the Pussycats starts with a dead-on parody of the rash of interchangeable boy bands that dominate today’s musical landscape as the infantile members of the fictional pop confection Du Jour fight over whose face is on more special edition Pepsi cans and who’s stealing whose pose.

If Josie and the Pussycats was actually about the band, the movie might have done for boy bands what This Is Spinal Tap did for heavy metal (Du Jour’s hit single is called “Backdoor Lover", every bit as amusing as Spinal Tap’s “Big Bottom” or “Sex Farm.”)

Instead, we get a goofy but enjoyable parody of the commercialization of America’s youth as a devious record company plants subliminal messages in music to make young consumers do their bidding.

Josie and the Pussycats was originally an Archie’s Comic and then an animated TV show in the early ’70s, and this film version from the Can’t Hardly Wait writing/directing team of Harry Elfont and Deborah Kaplan captures the tongue-in-cheek camp of those earlier endeavors.

The story centers around the struggling rock band, The Pussycats, made up of Josie (Rachael Leigh Cook) on vocals and guitar, Melody (Tara Reid) on drums and Valerie (Rosario Dawson) on bass.

The only gig the band can line up is at the local bowling alley, until Du Jour discovers the subliminal messages and must be disposed of. A new band is needed, and Mega Records executive Wyatt Frame (Alan Cumming) stumbles upon The Pussycats.

Mocking the studio created, pre-packaged products that pass for bands these days, Josie and The Pussycats have a billboard in Times Square and a record contract before anyone outside their hometown has even heard their music. Within a week, they’ve got the No. 1 record in the country and are surrounded by thousands of
adoring fans.

The cast members are no strangers to some of the very teen moronicy this movie lampoons. Tara Reid (American Pie, Urban Legend, Cruel Intentions) and Rachael Leigh Cook (She’s All That)have both contributed to the dumbing down that has occurred in the movies over the last half-decade. Ironically, it is Rosario Dawson, the actress whose work has had the most substance (Kids, He Got Game, Light It Up), whose character is the most underwritten.

Reid is completely wasted as the ditsiest of blondes, with only Cook giving a complete performance, capturing the shock and bewilderment that the sudden stardom brings.

Parkey Posey goes way, way over the top (imagine her Dazed and Confused character 10 years later), but her appearance in this movie is disappointing considering she was the most uncompromising actress of the ’90s.

Other than the hilarious intro, the film doesn’t reach its potential until the finale, with a lot of dead time and bad jokes in between. But the last third is very funny, giving a glimpse of how much fun the movie could’ve been.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4628&reviewer=255
originally posted: 04/19/01 11:38:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

12/16/07 SylviaP this was terribly good, and rosario dawson was soooo hot in it! 5 stars
7/10/07 Tiffany Losco I loved it. I am a big archie comics fan, and love josie and the pussycats. 4 stars
7/10/07 Tati oh my gawd! this movie is CRAP! dont even watch it, u'll be wastong ur time 1 stars
6/20/07 Amy best i've eber seen 5 stars
2/22/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
5/21/06 micaja this movie is the best movie i have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it's funny,romantic,good music 5 stars
6/04/05 Ubu the Ripper Horrid horrid scheiss. Not even enjoyable if you are paid to watch it. 1 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson THIS FILM IS PUTRID GARBAGE & SHOULD BE BURNED AT THE STAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/26/05 PR Serious Shite. Even RLC could not save it 1 stars
9/20/04 Jessica look past all the teen marketing and you see a fairly fresh funny movie 4 stars
7/26/04 mel valentine omg this is like the best movie of all time ok don't nobody dare trash it. that's wiggedy 5 stars
7/01/04 Sora Its GREAT!!! 5 stars
6/16/04 Sarah I like the OBVIOUS sarcasm of the adverisments.... such as the target one in the very begin 3 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean Rather see this than Scooby Doo. Music sucks, but a clever plot! 4 stars
5/19/04 Akisame15 EXCELLENT!!! 5 stars
4/29/04 sarah nobody should waste any money on that film. Totaly a waste of time. 1 stars
4/11/04 Gray waste of film 1 stars
3/10/04 Rachel Furey Best movie in the world! 5 stars
3/08/04 tats nice band... 5 stars
3/06/04 Ashleigh-jane McLauchlan Hassll Grove 5 stars
3/04/04 tinka great 4 stars
12/31/03 HELLOWEEN nah...pretty crappy if you ask me. Too boring 2 stars
12/06/03 lilcutie a great film 5 stars
9/01/03 Jenna* I luved the movie so much i bought it! 5 stars
8/26/03 I Would Clever satire that suffer's from a predictable plot. 3 stars
8/06/03 tp the satire's pretty obvious, but clearly over some people's heads 4 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig it's actually quite funny teen pop muzak and subliminal messages by nature are funny 4 stars
6/11/03 Rach Parker its a great film, its ment to be a mick-take not as a serious feel good teenage film! 5 stars
5/18/03 C-dog toomany ads 2 stars
4/14/03 reptilesni What the fuck was that? Is there a no stars option here? 1 stars
3/16/03 Jake Makes the Misadventures Of Jason Vorhees Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/02/03 Lord David Completely awesome - makes a case for individuality over mindless mass marketing 5 stars
1/11/03 sdjfsdkjf when the simpsons did the whole subliminal msgs thing, it was funny. Josie and co aint. 1 stars
12/24/02 vanessa itz a wicked movie, get ova it 5 stars
11/09/02 Charlotte Loved it. Seth Green is sooo hot. 5 stars
10/09/02 Mark Tara Reid is sooo sexy I want her to marry me even though I'm only thirteen this film rules 5 stars
9/15/02 mia i loved the movie. it was fun to watch. 5 stars
9/02/02 Akasha i luv it - seth green is sexy 5 stars
6/27/02 Kyle Painfully unfunny, every single joke except 1 falls flat, which wasn't that funny. 1 stars
5/14/02 Kakararaniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Byv mukh DIN prejkh wanwuvh Tara Reid; Dudou vaugjimh prvecch ku Rachel Leigh Cooke tuvh tu 2 stars
4/29/02 hilary Tara Reid is hilarios (AWESOME) 5 stars
4/29/02 hilary Tara Reid is hilarious (AWESOME) 5 stars
3/29/02 Hennec The characters and plot are just as two-dimensional as the comics they came from. 2 stars
3/11/02 attheback not even the people who see this movie or the people who made it will evr understand it 5 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Movies like these are the work of the gov't to invoke mass suicide and solve overpopulation 1 stars
2/11/02 Yesenia Its was hot!! 5 stars
1/20/02 Nexus6 Fun but painfully self concious, Rachael's a babe 3 stars
1/19/02 Spyguy2 Couple of good rips at the lame state of MTV sanctioned music and the dupes that listen in 3 stars
1/06/02 Stephanie good music very different from other movies 5 stars
11/22/01 Will Diamond No good. 2 stars
10/22/01 Canuck Campy, but terribly funny... worth it for the laughs. 5 stars
10/13/01 Gia Carangi It was way the hell better than Zoolander! 4 stars
10/07/01 josie I think it was a good film 4 stars
10/05/01 Amy Like cotton candy, empty but fun 3 stars
9/18/01 Bri lame 2 stars
8/31/01 Butterbean Goofy and fun! 4 stars
8/29/01 Matthew Bartley Surreal...but funny 4 stars
8/16/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
7/03/01 luana this movie sucked 1 stars
6/30/01 aaron the movie was crap but the chicks were hot there the only reason id go see it again 3 stars
6/22/01 King of the Bros I'd do a review, but the subliminal messages told me not too. 5 stars
6/20/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Matt Mulcahey is insane, screw respectability, this movie rules. 5 stars
6/14/01 Breno bloody funny 5 stars
5/15/01 hania its puuuurrrfffeeeeccttt 5 stars
5/07/01 ric the inarticulate,weak and pathetic melody was ditzy&insanely sexy but not dumb..loved the songs,esp.th'bass lines 5 stars
4/25/01 Harlarla Nelly hey...it was entertaining...isnt that what is was suppose to be?? 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This is the only beginning of the defaming of classic cartoons. The worst is yet to come.. 2 stars
4/23/01 siro This movie would be a total piece of shit if it wasn't for the hot chicks distracting you 2 stars
4/17/01 Darren Shea Much better than expected: Nice eye candy, decent music, and Alan Cummings is fun 4 stars
4/16/01 himanshu sexy girl's 1 stars
4/15/01 your pussycat KICKASS MOVIE~ the girls were awesome!!!!!1 5 stars
4/14/01 Mike Tara Reid always looks like a cheap crack hoe with that hacking voice 1 stars
4/14/01 Senior Choad Horrible. Plays to 13 year olds or those with IQs under 70 1 stars
4/11/01 tjwills Better than I could have hoped for. Some great satiric bits. 4 stars
4/08/01 Punk Rock Prom King Kickass amazing movie! Such great music, esp. "3 Small Words". Wish I was in a band...=^) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Jun-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast